Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in DE on 06/22/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the DE102023116461.9 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character “33” has been used to designate both a washer (last paragraph of page 14) and a regulating nut (first paragraph of page 16).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3 of claim 13, “40” should read ---40°---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“limiting device” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2, 4, 9, 11-13, and 28 recites the limitation "pressure roller" in lines 3, 5, and 6 of claim 1, lines 1-2 of claim 2, lines 1-2 and 4 of claim 4, lines 3-4 and 6-7 of claim 9, line 2 of claim 11, line 3 of claim 12, line 1 of claim 13, and line 3 of claim 28. How does the “pressure roller” in lines 3, 5, and 6 of claim 1, lines 1-2 of claim 2, lines 1-2 and 4 of claim 4, lines 3-4 and 6-7 of claim 9, line 2 of claim 11, line 3 of claim 12, line 1 of claim 13, and line 3 of claim 28 relate to the “at least one driven rotational pressure roller” in lines 2-3 of claim 1? Is there another pressure roller being claimed that differs from the “at least one driven rotational pressure roller”? There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the rubberized end face" in line 5. How does the “rubberized end face” in line 5 relate to the “at least one rubberized end face” in line 4. Is there another rubberized end face being claimed that differs from the “at least one rubberized end face”. Suggestion to change “the rubberized end face” to read ---the at least one rubberized end face---. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9, 12, and 28 recites the limitation "the rubberized outside circumferential surface" in lines 5-6 of claim 9, lines 2-3 of claim 12, and lines 2-3 of claim 28. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the rubberized end surfaces" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation the "pressure roller" in lines 4 and 6-7. How does the “pressure roller” in lines 4 and 6-7 relate to the “at least one driven rotational pressure roller” in lines 2-3 of claim 1? Is there another pressure roller being claimed that differs from the “at least one driven rotational pressure roller”? There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the rubberized end face". How does the “rubberized end face” in claim 23 relate to the “at least one rubberized end face” in line 4 of claim 4? Is there another rubberized end face being claimed that differs from the “at least one rubberized end face”? There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-14 and 20-30 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 1.
Claims 16-19 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 13, 15, 21-22, 24-27, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pintar (WO2009072992A2) in view of Ritter (DE202005020694U1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Pintar discloses a forestry winch which has a rope drum (3) and an arrangement comprising an ejector (1; Figures 1-3) and a rope (4) for a forestry winch, wherein the ejector (1) has a rotational ejector roller (8) over which the rope (4) is guided and deflected, and has at least one driven rotational pressure roller (12) driven by a drive motor (17), wherein the pressure roller (12), by a pressure force, presses the rope (4) guided over the ejector roller (8) onto the ejector roller (8), and a tangential force occurs between the driven pressure roller (12) and the rope (4), wherein the pressure roller (12) is located on a cantilever arm (11) so that the pressure roller (12) can rotate around a pressure roller axis of rotation (axis of shaft 14), wherein the cantilever arm (11) is mounted so that it can rotate around a cantilever arm axis of rotation (axis of shaft 16), and wherein the rope (4) is guided from the rope drum (3) to the ejector roller (8) and over the ejector roller (8), but fails to teach a rope drum driven by a drive motor; and wherein the cantilever arm axis of rotation is located in the vertical direction above a line of application of the tangential force.
Ritter teaches a similar arrangement and forestry winch and further teaches a rope drum (61; Figure 2) driven by a drive motor (page 9, ¶8, cable drum drive); and wherein the cantilever arm axis of rotation (56.2) is located in the vertical direction above a line of application (WLT; see Ritter annotated Figure 3 below) of the tangential force. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the forestry winch and arrangement of Pintar to include the rope drum drive motor as taught by Ritter in order to wind the rope onto the drum after use and include the cantilever arm axis of rotation as taught by Ritter in order to keep the cantilever arm pivot shaft further away from the trajectory of the rope around the ejector roller to prevent wear or damage to the rope.
Ritter, Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claims 3 and 21-22, Pintar discloses the above arrangement, but fails to teach wherein a line of application of the pressure force is separated from the cantilever arm axis of rotation by a first lever arm and the line of application of the tangential force is separated from the cantilever arm axis of rotation by a second lever arm, and wherein the ratio of the second lever arm to the first lever arm is in the range of 0.4 to 1.8.
Ritter teaches a similar arrangement and further teaches wherein a line of application of the pressure force (WLF; see Ritter annotated Figure 3 above) is separated from the cantilever arm axis of rotation (56.2) by a first lever arm (H1) and the line of application of the tangential force (WLT) is separated from the cantilever arm axis of rotation (56.2) by a second lever arm (H2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Pintar to include wherein the ratio of the second lever arm to the first lever arm is in the range of 0.4 to 1.8; in the range of 0.6 to 1.2; and/or in the range of 0.8 to 1.1 in order to provide improved leverage of the cantilever arm and to keep the cantilever arm pivot shaft further away from the trajectory of the rope around the ejector roller to prevent wear or damage to the rope. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 5-7 and 24-27, Pintar discloses the above arrangement and further teaches wherein the generation of the pressure force, a spring device (15; Figure 2) comprising at least one tension spring (S; see Pintar annotated Figure 3 below) is provided, and wherein the spring device (15) is biased so to provide a pressure force on the rope (4); wherein a limiting device (LD) is provided that limits the spring (S) travel of the spring device (15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Pintar to include wherein the spring device pressure force in the range between 50N and 500N; range between 60N and 400N; and/or range between 70N and 300N; and spring rate in the range between 3 N/mm and 10 N/mm; range between 4 N/mm and 8 N/mm; and/or range between 5 N/mm and 7 N/mm in order to apply ideal and improved force onto the rope or ejector roller to form friction force without causing premature wear or damage to the rope and roller. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Pintar, Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claims 13 and 29-30, modified Pintar discloses wherein the driven pressure roller (12) is located on the ejector roller (8) so that between a force application point (BP; see Pintar annotated Fiugre 2 below) of the tangential force and an ejection point (AS) of the rope (4) from the ejector roller (8), there is an angle greater than 0°. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Pintar to include between a force application point of the tangential force and an ejection point of the rope from the ejector roller, there is an angle between 0° and 40; an angle between 10° and 35°; and/or an angle between 15° and 30° in order to reduce a vertical force acting counter to the cantilever arm to prevent premature wear of components. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Pintar, Annotated Figure 2
Claim(s) 2, 4, 9, 11-12, 14, 20, 23, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pintar, in view of Ritter, and in further view of Willenbucher (US20220306432A1).
Regarding claims 2, 4, 20, and 23, modified Pintar discloses the above arrangement and further teaches wherein the driven pressure roller (12) and the ejector roller (8) are rotationally coupled and the pressure roller (12) is in contact with the rope (4), but fails to teach between the driven pressure roller and the ejector roller an entrainment is provided to drive the ejector roller by the pressure roller, wherein the pressure roller has a rubberized outside circumferential surface (“at least one rubberized end face” claim 4) by which the pressure roller is in contact with the ejector roller, and wherein the Shore A hardness of the rubberized outside circumferential surface is in the range of 40 to 80.
Willenbucher teaches a similar arrangement and further teaches between the driven pressure roller (10; Figure 1) and the ejector roller (7) an entrainment (¶0012-0013) is provided to drive the ejector roller (7) by the pressure roller (10), wherein the pressure roller (10) has a rubberized outside circumferential surface (“at least one rubberized end face” claim 4) (25; ¶0045) by which the pressure roller (10) is in contact with the ejector roller (7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Pintar to include the pressure roller as taught by Willenbucher in order to directly drive the ejector roller by frictional engagement of the pressure roller with the surfaces of the ejector roller and pressure roller for transferring the rope through the ejector; and include wherein the Shore A hardness of the rubberized outside circumferential surface (“rubberized end face” claim 4) is in the range of 40 to 80; and/or in the range of 55 to 75 in order to provide optimum frictional characteristics for gripping and moving the rope while reducing slippage. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, modified Pintar discloses wherein the ejector roller (8) has a locator groove (LG; see Pintar annotated Figure 3 below) for the rope (4), wherein the locator groove (LG) has a groove base (GB), and two lateral groove flanks (LF), but fails to teach wherein the locator groove has a flat or domed groove base on which the rope lies, and wherein the pressure roller protrudes into the locator groove of the ejector roller and the pressure roller is designed so that the pressure roller protrudes into the locator groove, and so that the rope is pressed by the rubberized outside circumferential surface of the pressure roller against the groove base, and/or so that the rubberized end surfaces of the pressure roller are in contact with the groove flanks of the ejector roller.
Pintar, Annotated Figure 3
Willenbucher teaches a similar arrangement and further teaches wherein the locator groove (20; Figure 2) has a flat or domed groove base (21) on which the rope (4) lies, and wherein the pressure roller (10) protrudes into the locator groove (20) of the ejector roller (7) and the pressure roller (10) is designed so that the pressure roller (10) protrudes into the locator groove (20), and so that the rope (1) is pressed by the rubberized outside circumferential surface (25) of the pressure roller (10) against the groove base (21), and/or so that the rubberized end surfaces (26a, 26b) of the pressure roller (10) are in contact with the groove flanks (22a, 22b) of the ejector roller (7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Pintar to include the pressure roller and ejector roller as taught by Willenbucher in order to allow for different shapes of rope to be guided through the ejector roller, provide a flat frictional surface when the rope is deformed to improve movement of the rope along the ejector roller, and to directly drive the ejector roller by frictional engagement of the pressure roller with the surfaces of the ejector roller and pressure roller for transferring the rope through the ejector.
Regarding claim 11, modified Pintar discloses the rubberized outside circumferential surface (25 of Willenbucher) of the pressure roller (12) has a width factor of about 1 of the rope (4) diameter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Pintar to include the rubberized outside circumferential surface of the pressure roller has a width in the range of a factor of 0.5 to a factor of 2.5 of the rope diameter in order to provide optimum frictional surface area for gripping and moving the rope to reduce slippage. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 12 and 28, modified Pintar discloses wherein the ratio of the groove opening width of the locator groove (LG) of the ejector roller (8) to the maximum width of the rubberized outside circumferential surface (25 of Willenbucher) of the pressure roller (12) is greater than a factor of 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Pintar to include ratio of the groove opening of the ejector roller to a maximum width of the rubberized outside circumferential surface of the pressure roller in the range between 0.6 and 2.0; and/or in the range between 0.7 and 1.5 in order to provide optimum frictional surface area between the pressure roller, rope, and ejector roller for gripping and moving the rope to reduce slippage. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 14, modified Pintar discloses wherein the ejector (1) has a rope ejector opening for the rope (4), which is delimited laterally by two side plates (11; Figure 3) between which the rope (4) is guided, but fails to teach wherein the side plates have rounded inside edges as curved rope runout edges and the side plates are each made of non-metallic material.
Willenbucher teaches a similar arrangement and further teaches wherein the side plates (36a, 36b; Figure 4) have rounded inside edges (37a, 37b) as curved rope runout edges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Pintar to include the side plates with rounded inside edges as taught by Willenbucher and side plates made of non-metallic material in order to prevent the rope from becoming frayed or worn by contact with sharp edges and tough material. Since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pintar, in view of Ritter, and in further view of Yang (KR20120063054A).
Regarding claim 8, modified Pintar discloses wherein the spring device (15) is fastened to a regulating screw (RS), wherein the regulating screw (RS) is in connection by a regulating nut (RN) with an abutment (A), and the regulating screw (RS) is provided with a screw head (SH), but fails to teach wherein the screw head interacts with the abutment to limit the spring travel of the spring device.
Pintar, Annotated Figure 3
Yang teaches a similar arrangement and further teaches wherein the screw head (251a; Figure 5) interacts with the abutment (232, 232a) to limit the spring (252) travel of the spring device (250). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Pintar to include the spring device as taught by Yang in order to further limit pivotal motion of the cantilever arm and to limit and stop the compression of the spring to a specified amount to prevent premature failure of the spring.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pintar, in view of Ritter, and in further view of Insam (US10647557B2).
Regarding claim 10, modified Pintar discloses the above arrangement, but fails to teach wherein the cantilever arm axis of rotation has some play around a vertical axis.
Insam teaches a similar winch arrangement and further teaches wherein the cantilever arm axis of rotation (A5; Figure 5) has some play around a vertical axis (A4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Pintar to include the cantilever arm as taught by Insam in order for the cantilever arm and pressure roller to self-adjust and align with the ejector roller and different rope sizes to reduce calibration and maintenance time.
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pintar, in view of Ritter, and in further view of Cordrey (US2571341A).
Regarding claims 16-19, modified Pintar discloses the above forestry winch, but fails to teach wherein a rope stopper is located on the rope and a rope stopper catch is located in the vicinity of the rope drum and interacts with the rope stopper;
wherein the rope stopper is in the form of one of a ferrule, a clamp component, and a screw component fastened to the rope;
wherein the rope stopper catch has a V-shaped locator groove into which the rope stopper can be inserted;
wherein in a contact position, the rope stopper located on the rope is in contact with a lower end face on an upper side of the rope stopper catch.
Cordrey teaches a similar cable drum for a winch and further teaches wherein a rope stopper (11; Figures 1-6) is located on the rope (6) and a rope stopper catch (8) is located in the vicinity of the rope drum (1) and interacts with the rope stopper (11);
wherein the rope stopper (11) is in the form of one of a clamp component (12, 13, 14) fastened to the rope (6);
wherein the rope stopper catch (8) has a V-shaped locator groove (15; Figure 3) into which the rope stopper (11) can be inserted;
wherein in a contact position (Figure 3), the rope stopper (11) located on the rope (6) is in contact with a lower end face (LF; see Cordrey annotated Figure 3 below) on an upper side (US) of the rope stopper catch (8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Pintar to include the rope stopper and rope stopper catch as taught by Cordrey in order to anchor the rope to the drum to prevent accidental disengagement of the rope with the drum.
Pintar, Annotated Figure 3
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654