DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 06/18/2024.
Claims 2-20 are currently pending.
Claim 1 is canceled in a preliminary amendment.
Claims 2-20 are newly added.
Claims 2-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Stefan Parkvall et al (US 20170201300 A1) in view of Chester Park et al (US 20140029650 A1).
For Claim 2, Parkvall discloses a method of uplink (UL) transmission implemented by a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU) using a plurality of Sounding Reference Signals (SRSs) (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0073, lines 1-3, a method in the communications network 100 for transmitting data from the wireless device 108 to the RN 106), the method comprising:
precoding, by the WTRU, the plurality of SRSs using first precoding information which is based on the measured one or more DL RSs (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0095 & FIG. 3, step 306, that the wireless device 108 transmits, to the RN 106, at least one SRS precoded with a respective at least one precoder comprised in the subset);
transmitting, by the WTRU to a network entity, the plurality of SRSs that are precoded (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0095 & FIG. 3, step 306, that the wireless device 108 transmits, to the RN 106, at least one SRS precoded with a respective at least one precoder comprised in the subset);
receiving, by the WTRU, an UL grant including an indicator indicating second precoding information (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0103 & FIG. 3, step 309, that the RN 106 may transmit a signal indicative of a selected precoder to be used for the transmission to the RN 106, which signal is received by the wireless device 108. In some embodiments, the RN 106 may additionally or alternatively transmit, to the wireless device 108, a scheduling grant which scheduling grant is based on the selected precoder);
precoding, by the WTRU, UL data symbols using the indicated second precoding information; and transmitting, by the WTRU, the UL data symbols that are precoded using the indicated second precoding information (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0106 & FIG. 3, step 310, that the wireless device 108 transmits data to the RN 106 in accordance with the received scheduling grant. Thus, the wireless device 108 transmits data to the RN 106 using the selected precoder).
Parkvall also teaches, in ¶ 0294, that The RN 106 may request a sounding reference signal of one or more of the beam directions in the subset S in order to assess the channel quality using the different corresponding precoders. However, it should be understood that this action may be optional and that the RN 106 may schedule data transmissions on different precoders (e.g. beams) in the subset S without a preceding sounding reference signal.
Parkvall fails to expressly disclose measuring, by the WTRU, one or more downlink (DL) reference signals (RSs).
However, Park, in the analogous art, discloses measuring, by the WTRU, one or more downlink (DL) reference signals (RSs) (Park teaches, in ¶ 0033, that Based on the estimated channel state information, the transmitting device 200 or the receiving device 300 selects a precoding matrix from a codebook, such as the exemplary codebook shown in FIG. 4 or 5. The precoder selection takes place upon receiving a reference signal that can be used for CSI estimation, for example, a DM-RS reference signal or a SRS reference signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Parkvall with the CSI estimate taught in Park. The motivation is so that suitable precoder can be selected from the codebook to precode transmit signals at a transmitter [Park: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 3, Parkvall discloses a method, wherein the transmitting of the SRSs that are precoded includes sending an indication to the network entity of a set of first precoders (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0176, that The wireless device 108 may transmit the update request to the RN 106 in order to inform the RN 106 that an update of the subset is needed or would be beneficial. Thereby, the RN 106 may prepare for the update of the subset. However, the wireless device 108 may also in some embodiments transmit the update request to the RN 106 in order to receive a permission or instruction from the RN 106 to perform the update of the subset).
For Claim 4, Parkvall discloses a method, further comprising: determining, by the WTRU, a subset, as the second precoding information, of the set of first precoders based on the indicator included in the UL grant (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0103 & FIG. 3, step 309, that the RN 106 may transmit a signal indicative of a selected precoder to be used for the transmission to the RN 106, which signal is received by the wireless device 108. In some embodiments, the RN 106 may additionally or alternatively transmit, to the wireless device 108, a scheduling grant which scheduling grant is based on the selected precoder).
For Claim 5, Parkvall discloses a method, wherein the second precoding information is used to generate any of a beam: (1) in a particular direction; (2) to avoid or to substantially avoid an interference direction; (3) to cancel or to reduce interference between or among the WTRU and one or more further WTRUs; or (4) having a null space that corresponds to an interference direction associated with at least one other WTRU. (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0070 that A Radio Node (RN) 106, e.g. an eNodeB (eNB), or a second wireless device in case of D2D communication, may then configure the wireless device 108 to transmit one or more, or in some embodiments more than one, sounding reference signals weighted by different precoders, i.e. in different beams or beam directions, in the determined subset to further determine upon which beam(s) to schedule uplink data transmissions).
For Claim 6, Parkvall discloses a method, wherein the plurality of SRSs and the UL data symbols are precoded differently (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0106 & FIG. 3, step 310, that the wireless device 108 transmits data to the RN 106 in accordance with the received scheduling grant. Thus, the wireless device 108 transmits data to the RN 106 using the selected precoder). Since the precoder used in step 310 is selected by RN 106, Examiner believes said step 310 precoder is different for that used to transmit the SRS in step 306.
For Claim 7, Parkvall discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the first precoding information is determined by the WTRU based on the measured one or more DL RSs.
However, Park, in the analogous art, discloses that the first precoding information is determined by the WTRU based on the measured one or more DL RSs (Park teaches, in ¶ 0033, that Based on the estimated channel state information, the transmitting device 200 or the receiving device 300 selects a precoding matrix from a codebook, such as the exemplary codebook shown in FIG. 4 or 5. The precoder selection takes place upon receiving a reference signal that can be used for CSI estimation, for example, a DM-RS reference signal or a SRS reference signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Parkvall with the CSI estimate taught in Park. The motivation is so that suitable precoder can be selected from the codebook to precode transmit signals at a transmitter [Park: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 8, Parkvall discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the measured one or more DL RSs are channel state information (CSI) RSs.
However, Park, in the analogous art, discloses that the measured one or more DL RSs are channel state information (CSI) RSs (Park teaches, in ¶ 0026, that Examples of reference signals include SRS and DM-RS signals. Based on the estimated CSI, the receiver selects a precoder and informs the transmitter of the selected precoder for use in precoding transmit signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Parkvall with the CSI estimate taught in Park. The motivation is so that suitable precoder can be selected from the codebook to precode transmit signals at a transmitter [Park: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 9, Parkvall discloses a method, wherein the indicator is an index to identify the second precoding information (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0081, that If for example, the subset comprises five precoders the wireless device 108 may transmit, to the RN 106, the number five or information relating to the five precoders, e.g. a respective index for each precoder. However, if the subset comprises five precoders but only three of them are unique, the wireless device 108 may transmit only information relating to the three unique precoders).
For Claims 10-17, please refer to the rejection of For Claims 2-9, above.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Stefan Parkvall et al (US 20170201300 A1) in view of Niklas Wernersson et al (US 20170257154 A1).
For Claim 18, Parkvall discloses a Network Access Point (NAP) configured to provide precoding assistance to a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU) using a plurality of Sounding Reference Signals (SRSs) (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0073, lines 1-3, a method in the communications network 100 for transmitting data from the wireless device 108 to the RN 106), the NAP comprising: a processor and a transceiver which are configured to:
receive, from the WTRU, the plurality of SRSs that are precoded (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0095 & FIG. 3, step 306, that the wireless device 108 transmits, to the RN 106, at least one SRS precoded with a respective at least one precoder comprised in the subset),
determine a set of precoders associated with the precoded SRSs that are recommended by the WTRU (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0176, that The wireless device 108 may transmit the update request to the RN 106 in order to inform the RN 106 that an update of the subset is needed or would be beneficial. Thereby, the RN 106 may prepare for the update of the subset. However, the wireless device 108 may also in some embodiments transmit the update request to the RN 106 in order to receive a permission or instruction from the RN 106 to perform the update of the subset),
select a subset of the set of precoders, transmit, to the WTRU, an UL grant including an indicator indicating the selected subset of the set of recommended precoders (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0103 & FIG. 3, step 309, that the RN 106 may transmit a signal indicative of a selected precoder to be used for the transmission to the RN 106, which signal is received by the wireless device 108. In some embodiments, the RN 106 may additionally or alternatively transmit, to the wireless device 108, a scheduling grant which scheduling grant is based on the selected precoder),
receive UL data symbols from the WTRU (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0106 & FIG. 3, step 310, that the wireless device 108 transmits data to the RN 106 in accordance with the received scheduling grant. Thus, the wireless device 108 transmits data to the RN 106 using the selected precoder).
Parkvall fails to expressly disclose to decode the UL data symbols using the subset of the set of recommended precoders.
However, Wernersson, in the analogous art, discloses to decode the UL data symbols using the subset of the set of recommended precoders (Wernersson teaches, in ¶ 0077, that the receiving node 50 decodes the precoded transmission of the auxiliary-elements reference signal using the respective coarse-granularity precoders).
Wernersson also teaches, in ¶ 0077, that the receiving node 50 in one embodiment selects the recommended precoder a multi-granular precoder X,.sub.mg in a multi-granular codebook C.sub.mg , from amongst a subset of multi-granular precoders in the codebook that factorize into any of the one or more coarse-granularity precoders indicated by the codebook subset restriction signaling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Parkvall with the coarse-granularity precoders taught in Wernersson. The motivation is to reduce inter-stream interference at the receiving node [Wernersson: ¶ 0002].
For Claim 19, Parkvall discloses a Network Access Point (NAP), wherein the plurality of SRSs and the UL data symbols are precoded differently (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0106 & FIG. 3, step 310, that the wireless device 108 transmits data to the RN 106 in accordance with the received scheduling grant. Thus, the wireless device 108 transmits data to the RN 106 using the selected precoder). Since the precoder used in step 310 is selected by RN 106, Examiner believes said step 310 precoder is different for that used to transmit the SRS in step 306.
For Claim 20, Parkvall discloses a Network Access Point (NAP), wherein the indicator is an index to identify the subset of the set of precoders (Parkvall teaches, in ¶ 0081, that If for example, the subset comprises five precoders the wireless device 108 may transmit, to the RN 106, the number five or information relating to the five precoders, e.g. a respective index for each precoder. However, if the subset comprises five precoders but only three of them are unique, the wireless device 108 may transmit only information relating to the three unique precoders).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Xu et al (US 20090046800 A1) teaches Techniques for sending a MIMO transmission in a wireless communication system. The transmitter selects the precoding matrix based on the second reference signal and in accordance with the same selection criterion used by the receiver. The transmitter then sends a MIMO transmission to the receiver based on the CQI or MCS information obtained from the receiver and the precoding matrix selected by the transmitter.
/MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412