DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
in paragraph [0053], line 15, elements 301 and 301a (suction hole 301a and exterior 301) are mentioned to be connected to element 27 in figure 4; there is no element 301a or 301 in figure 8.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
in figure 2, element 32 is not in the specification;
in figure 3, elements 302 and W are not in the specification;
in figure 4, element 3002 is not in the specification.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
in paragraph [0005], line 1, the second instance of “sectional” following “configuration” should be removed;
in paragraph [0037], line 19, “5” following “blowing holes” should be removed as it is used for “circulation air blowing unit 5” in all other figures that contain element 5;
in paragraph [0038], lines 24-25, “warm air blowing unit 7” should be “warm air blowing unit 8” as it is labeled in other areas of the specification;
in paragraph [0082], line 17, “third” before “embodiment” should be “fourth” as described by the header above in line 16 and as used to describe figure 12 in paragraph [0016].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 20-22 read
“wherein the first blowing unit blows the air heated by the heating means onto the sheet conveyed by the first conveyance portion,
wherein the second blowing unit blows the air onto the sheet conveyed by the second conveyance portion, and”.
It is understood by the examiner that the “first blowing unit” and “second blowing unit” should be reversed. Claim 1 of which claim 2 is dependent has the heating means as part of the second blowing portion rather than as part of the first blowing unit. Additionally, the specifications and figures demonstrate the examples in which the first blowing unit is disposed above the second conveyance portion and the second blowing unit is disposed above the first conveyance portion. Therefore, it is understood that the lines should read:
“wherein the second blowing unit blows the air heated by the heating means onto the sheet conveyed by the first conveyance portion,
wherein the first blowing unit blows the air onto the sheet conveyed by the second conveyance portion, and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
5. Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 18-20 read
“wherein a temperature of the air blown onto the sheet by the blowing unit is lower than a temperature of the air blown by the first blowing unit.”
It is understood by the examiner that following the specification, the first blowing unit has the blows the lowest temperature air while the temperatures of the air in the third and second blowing units are higher than that of the first blowing unit. Therefore, it is understood that the lines may read:
“wherein a temperature of the air blown onto the sheet by the blowing unit is lower than a temperature of the air blown by the second blowing unit.”
Appropriate correction is required.
6. Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 reads “shucked”. It is understood by the examiner that it should read “sucked”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“conveyance portion”, “first blowing unit”, “second blowing unit”, “heating means”, “third blowing unit”, “suction portion”, “duct portion”, and “blowing portion” in claim 1 and its dependents;
“first conveyance portion” and “second conveyance portion” in claim 2 and its dependents;
“blowing unit” in claim 4;
“drying unit” in claim 5;
“switching portion” in claim 7; and
“sucking portion” and “discharging portion” in claim 8.
a conveyance belt for a “conveyance portion”;
a cold air blowing unit for a" “first blowing unit”;
a warm/hot air blowing unit that may have additional curing/drying elements for a “second blowing unit”;
a heater or something that heats for a “heating means”;
a circulating blowing unit or one that sources its air from the conveyance portion for a “third bowing unit”;
a fan or blower for a “blowing portion” or “blowing unit”;
a fan or air inlet for a “sucking portion”;
a tube, box, or duct for a “duct portion”;
a dryer or blower or irradiating unit for a “drying unit”;
a transfer or switching section that provides switching or transfer between two conveyance portions for a “switching portion”; and
a fan or air outlet or duct for a “discharging portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the blowing unit" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there are a first, a second, and a third blowing unit. For examination, claim 6 will be interpreted to recite “wherein a temperature of the air blown onto the sheet by the first blowing unit is lower than a temperature of the air blown by the second blowing unit.
11. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “switching portion” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. In the specification, there is a “conveying passage switching portion 5002”, however it is not demonstrated as matching the claim limitations of switching between the first and second conveyance portions. There is also a “reversing portion 4200”, however it again does not demonstrate the claim limitation of switching between the first and second switching portions. The part that demonstrates best fit to match the claim limitations is the unlabeled rollers disposed below the circulating air blowing unit 5 in figures 8, 10, 11, and 12 as they a would allow a switch between the first and second conveyance portions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
13. Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshimoto (JP2014172226A), hereinafter referred to as Yoshimoto 922 in reference to the filing date.
Regarding claim 1, Yoshimoto 922 discloses an image forming apparatus (ink jet recording apparatus 10; [0028]; Fig. 1) comprising:
a conveyance portion configured to convey a sheet on which an image is formed by an image forming portion which forms the image on the sheet by ejecting ink (“chain gripper 64 as an example of a transport unit that transports the paper P on which an image is recorded”; [0067]; “includes a first horizontal conveyance path 70A, an inclined conveyance path 70B, and a second horizontal conveyance path 70C”; [0073]; Fig. 1);
a first blowing unit configured to blow air onto the sheet conveyed by the conveyance portion; (blower units 78 of paper cooling unit 23; [0087]; Fig. 1);
a second blowing unit including a heating means and configured to blow air heated by the heating means onto the sheet conveyed by the conveyance portion (“ink drying processing unit 68… heats and dries the paper P… by blowing hot air thereto”; [0081]; UV irradiation unit 74 assist with the image fixing; [0085]; Fig.1);
and a third blowing unit disposed between the first blowing unit and the second blowing unit with respect to a sheet conveyance direction (blower units 77; [0087]; blower units 77 are between the blower units 78 and the ink drying process unit 68 in the conveyance direction; Fig. 1), and including a suction portion configured to suck a part of the air of the conveyance portion (slit holes 96A pull air in from the conveyance portion area via the top and downstream sides of blower box 86; [0099]; Fig. 3 and 6),
a duct portion through which the air sucked by the suction portion flows (blower box 86; [0099]; Fig. 3),
and a blowing portion configured to blow the air flowing through the duct portion onto the sheet (blower fans 88; [0100]; Fig. 3).
Sections of figures 1 and 6 of Yoshimoto are annotated below for a clearer indication of anticipation. Dashed lines in figure 6 indicate estimated air flow direction for a third blowing unit.
Regarding claim 6, Yoshimoto 922 discloses an image forming apparatus as applied to claims 1, wherein a temperature of the air blown onto the sheet by the first and third blowing units is lower than a temperature of the air blown by the second blowing unit (blower units 77 and 78 are part of the paper cooling unit 23; [0087]; ink drying processing unit 68 blows hot air; [0081]). Additionally, it is implied the air blown by the third unit would be warmer than the air blown by the first units since the third blowing units source air from inside the apparatus, which may include hot air, while the first blowing units source air from outside the apparatus (air enters blower unit 77 via slits 96a on the top and downstream sides of blower unit 77; [0099]; air enters blower unit 78 via openings 82A and 84A in the side frames 82 and 84; [0097]; Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim(s) 2, 3, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto 922 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshimoto (JP2014121853A), hereinafter referred to as Yoshimoto 703 in reference to the filing date.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshimoto 922 teaches an image forming apparatus as applied to claim 1, wherein the conveyance portion includes a first conveyance portion and a second conveyance portion disposed adjacent to the first conveyance portion with respect to the sheet conveyance direction and configured to convey the sheet on which the image is formed by the image forming portion (“chain gripper 64 includes… a plurality of chain guides”; [0069]; “chain guide is disposed so as to form the first horizontal conveying path 70A, the inclined conveying path 70B…”; [0075]; Fig. 1),
wherein the second blowing unit blows the air heated by the heating means onto the sheet conveyed by the first conveyance portion (ink drying processing units 68 are disposed along the first horizontal transport path 70A; [0081] and [0085]; Fig. 1), and
wherein the first blowing unit blows the air onto the sheet conveyed by the second conveyance portion (“blower units 78 are provided on the inclined transport path 70B”; [0089]; Fig. 1).
Yoshimoto 922 does not explicitly teach the third blowing unit as blowing the air flowing through the duct portion onto the sheet conveyed between the first conveyance portion and the second conveyance portion.
However, Yoshimoto 703 teaches a similar image forming apparatus to that of Yoshimoto 922 wherein the direction of air from a blowing unit may be changed to be turbulent and/or flowing in various directions towards the conveyance portion ([0134]-[0139]; Fig. 7). With various directions of airflow introduced, air blown by the third blowing unit could be blown onto a larger area of the conveyance portion, including that between the first and second conveyance portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a blowing unit as taught by Yoshimoto 922, such as the third blowing unit, to blow air onto various areas of the conveyance portion as taught by Yoshimoto 703 ([0139]-[0140]).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshimoto 922 teaches the third blowing unit as disposed above the first conveyance portion (blower units 77 are disposed above the first horizontal transport path 70A; [0089]; Figs. 1 and 6) with the blowing portion blowing air downward in the vertical direction (blower fans 88 blow air through nozzles 90 toward the conveyance portion; [0101]; Fig. 6).
Yoshimoto 922 does not explicitly teach the third blowing unit as disposed in a vertical direction above the second conveyance portion and the sucking portion sucking air upward in a vertical direction. However, with respect to the sheet conveying direction, specifically the inclined second conveyance portion, the third blowing unit is disposed vertically above the second conveyance portion and may suck air upward from the second conveyance portion (portion of Fig. 6 as annotated with dashed lines for air flow).
Additionally, MPEP 2144.04 V C on rearrangement of parts reasons that changing the positioning of parts can be considered obvious if the change would not significantly modify the function or operation of the device. If the second conveyance portion were not as inclined and/or the positioning of the third blowing unit were shifted to also be explicitly disposed above both the first and second conveyance portions, there would not be any significant change in the function of the apparatus as taught by Yoshimoto 922. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioning of the third blowing unit to be also be disposed above the second conveyance portion.
Regarding claim 7, Yoshimoto 922 teaches a switching portion configured to switch between the first conveyance portion and the second conveyance portion (“a joining point between the first horizontal transport path 70A and the inclined transport path 70B”; [0075]).
Yoshimoto 922 does not explicitly teach the switching portion as disposed downward the third blowing unit. However, following the same reasoning from claim 3 with MPEP 2144.04 V C, a change in position, such as shifting the third blowing unit to be directly above both the first and second conveyance portions, and by extension the switching portion or joining point between them being directly below the third blowing unit, would not significantly modify the function of the apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioning of the third blowing unit to be also be disposed above the switching portion.+
16. Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto 922 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of La Vos et al. (US20210402806A1), hereinafter referred to as La Vos.
Regarding claim 4, Yoshimoto 922 teaches an image forming apparatus as applied to claim 1, wherein the first blowing unit includes a suction duct configured to suck the air from an outside of the image forming apparatus (air outside the side plate is brought into the blower box to blow air onto the recording medium; [0006]; “air is introduced into the blower unit 78 through the openings
82A”; [0104]; Figs. 2) and is a blowing unit configured to blow the air sucked from the suction duct onto the sheet conveyed by the conveyance portion (blower unit 78 includes a blower box 98 and blower fan 88; [0103]; “blower fan 88 rotates to introduce air from the introduction port 98A and blow the air downward from the blow-out port 98C”; [105]; Figs. 4 and 5), and the third blowing unit as adjacent to the first blowing unit (“three air blowing units 78 are disposed… on the downstream side of the air blowing unit 77 in the transport direction”; [0103]; Fig. 1 as annotated for claim 1).
Yoshimoto 922 does not teach the third blowing unit as downstream of the first blowing unit with respect to the sheet conveyance direction.
Regarding claim 5, Yoshimoto 922 teaches an image forming apparatus as applied to claim 1, wherein the second blowing unit is a drying unit configured to dry the sheet on which the image is formed (“ink drying processing unit 68… heats and dries the paper P”; [0081]; UV irradiation unit 74 assist with the image fixing; [0085]; Fig. 1) and the third blowing unit as adjacent to the second blowing unit (Fig. 1 as annotated for claim 1).
Yoshimoto 922 does not teach the second blowing unit as disposed downstream of the third blowing unit.
However, La Vos teaches an image forming apparatus with the use of a blowing unit (air knife 70) that resembles the third blowing unit (air circulates as it is sucked up by suction system 81, is filtered by filter 84, goes through channel 85, and forms an air curtain 74 downward toward conveyor 33A/B and/or a sheet 41; [0062] and [0068]-[0069]; Fig. 5), and a drying unit downstream of the blowing unit that blows hot/dry air toward a conveyance portion (drying/treatment station 60 above conveyor 33B; [0063]) ([0065]). The arrangement of the circulating blowing unit before the drying unit is done to stabilize the sheet placement along the conveying path and prevent ink mist from going downstream by creating an air barrier ([0002] and [0026]).
Therefore, it would be reasonable to rearrange the first, second, and third blowing units such that the third blowing unit is upstream of the second blowing unit as taught by La Vos and because the third blowing unit is adjacent to and between the first and second blowing units, the third blowing unit would also be downstream of the first blowing unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioning of the blowing units as taught by Yoshimoto 922 such that the order of blowing units from upstream to downstream is first, third, then second so the third blowing unit acts as an air barrier and prevents ink mist from going downstream as taught by La Vos ([0026]).
17. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto 922 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogasawara et al. (US6354015B1), hereinafter referred to as Ogasawara.
Regarding claim 8, Yoshimoto 922 teaches an image forming apparatus as applied to claim 1, but Yoshimoto 922 does not teach the first blowing unit as having a sucking portion that sucks a part of air from the conveyance portion and a discharging portion that discharges that air suck outside of the image forming apparatus.
However, Ogasawara teaches a configuration for a blowing unit of an image forming apparatus wherein air is sucked in from the outside by a fan (inlet fan 44), falls to the conveyance portion (air in blowing space 50), and is then sucked up through a passage (exhaust passage 42) and discharged by a fan (exhaust fan 62) to the outside in order to prevent moist air condensation build up (col. 9, ll. 40-44, 49-53; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a blowing portion, such as the first blowing portion, as taught by Yoshimoto 922 to also discharge air sucked up from the conveyance portion outside using a fan or the like as taught by Ogasawara for the purpose of preventing condensation build up (col. 9, ll. 51-53).
Conclusion
05 February 2026
/KYRA MELOR VAN KREUNINGEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853