Status of the Application
2. Claim 1-5 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Drawings
3. The drawings filed on 6/18/24 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Nakazawa (US PG Pub: 2024/0380214).
6. Regarding claim 1, Nakazawa discloses:
A power management system that manages power supply and demand in a power grid including a plurality of power balancing resources (e.g., As illustrated in FIG. 3, the power management server 200 includes a manager 210, a communicator 220, and a controller 230. In the embodiment, the power management server 200 is an example of a power management apparatus. The power management server 200 is communicable with the facility 100 via the network 11, and may be considered as a server operating on a cloud) (Para. [0035]), the power management system comprising: a controller that controls a corresponding resource that is a corresponding one of the power balancing resources (e.g., The EMS 150 manages the power related to the facility 100. The EMS 150 may control the solar cell apparatus 110, the power storage apparatus 120, the fuel cell apparatus 130, and the load device 140. In the embodiment, the EMS 150 is exemplified as a device receiving a control command from the power management server 200. However, such a device may be referred to as a gateway or simply a control unit. The details of the EMS 150 will be described below (see FIG. 4)) (Para. [0030]);
and a server that sets power management control to be performed on the corresponding resource by the controller (e.g., The controller 153 may control the solar cell apparatus 110, the power storage apparatus 120, and the fuel cell apparatus 130. The controller 153 may control the load device 140. For example, the controller 153 controls the charge-discharge of the power storage apparatus 120, based on the control command received from the power management server 200. The control command is transmitted from the power management server 200 in accordance with the charge-discharge plan created by the power management server 200.) (Para. [0049]), wherein: the power management control includes a first control instructing the controller to control the corresponding resource based on a power supply and demand plan developed in advance (e.g., The controller 153 may control the solar cell apparatus 110, the power storage apparatus 120, and the fuel cell apparatus 130. The controller 153 may control the load device 140. For example, the controller 153 controls the charge-discharge of the power storage apparatus 120, based on the control command received from the power management server 200. The control command is transmitted from the power management server 200 in accordance with the charge-discharge plan created by the power management server 200 ) (Para. [0049], the charge-discharge plan is interpreted as first control),
and a second control instructing the controller to control the corresponding resource based on an actual situation of surplus power and demand power of the corresponding resource (e.g., In step S20, the power management server 200 may receive the actual value of the demand power or the power consumption of the facility 100 from the facility 100 (for example, the measurement device 160). The power management server 200 may receive the actual value of the output power of the solar cell apparatus 110 from the facility 100. The power management server 200 may receive the latest information of the predicted value of the demand power or the power consumption of the facility 100 from the facility 100. The power management server 200 may receive the latest information of the predicted value of the output power of the solar cell apparatus 110 from the facility 100. The power management server 200 may receive the latest information of the power generation impact information, the power outage impact information, and the like from the external server 300.
In step S22, the power management server 200 corrects the charge-discharge plan for the power storage apparatus 120 based on the actual value of the output power of the solar cell apparatus 110 and the actual value of the power consumption of the facility 100. The power management server 200 may correct the charge-discharge plan for the power storage apparatus 120 based on the latest information of the predicted value of the output power of the solar cell apparatus 110 and the latest information of the predicted value of the power consumption of the facility 100. In correcting the charge-discharge plan for the power storage apparatus 120, the priorities of the respective modes of charge-discharge control are used. Step S22 is an example of the second timing) (Para. [0085]-[0086], Fig. 8, the control based on corrected charge-discharge plan is interpreted as second control);
and during execution of the first control, the server instructs the controller to perform the second control during a period in which at least one of power sale of the surplus power and power purchase of the demand power is predicted to occur in the corresponding resource (e.g., In step S12, the power management server 200 creates the charge-discharge plan for the power storage apparatus 120, based on the predicted value of the output power of the solar cell apparatus 110 and the predicted value of the power consumption of the facility 100. In creating the charge-discharge plan for the power storage apparatus 120, the priorities of the respective modes of charge-discharge control are used. Step S12 is an example of the first timing.
In step S14, the power management server 200 transmits the control command to the facility 100 in accordance with the charge-discharge plan created in step S12. The control command may be transmitted for each target interval or may be transmitted for each unit time included in the target interval.
Note that, in FIG. 8, the processing in steps S10 to S14 may be considered to be processing executed before the target interval.
In step S20, the power management server 200 may receive the actual value of the demand power or the power consumption of the facility 100 from the facility 100 (for example, the measurement device 160). The power management server 200 may receive the actual value of the output power of the solar cell apparatus 110 from the facility 100. The power management server 200 may receive the latest information of the predicted value of the demand power or the power consumption of the facility 100 from the facility 100. The power management server 200 may receive the latest information of the predicted value of the output power of the solar cell apparatus 110 from the facility 100. The power management server 200 may receive the latest information of the power generation impact information, the power outage impact information, and the like from the external server 300.
In step S22, the power management server 200 corrects the charge-discharge plan for the power storage apparatus 120 based on the actual value of the output power of the solar cell apparatus 110 and the actual value of the power consumption of the facility 100. The power management server 200 may correct the charge-discharge plan for the power storage apparatus 120 based on the latest information of the predicted value of the output power of the solar cell apparatus 110 and the latest information of the predicted value of the power consumption of the facility 100. In correcting the charge-discharge plan for the power storage apparatus 120, the priorities of the respective modes of charge-discharge control are used. Step S22 is an example of the second timing.
In step S24, the power management server 200 transmits the control command to the facility 100 in accordance with the charge-discharge plan corrected in step S22. The control command may be transmitted for each target interval or may be transmitted for each unit time included in the target interval) (Para. [0082]-[0087], Fig. 8).
7. Regarding claim 2, Nakazawa discloses:
The power management system according to claim 1, wherein during execution of the second control, the server instructs the controller to perform the first control during a period in which neither the power sale of the surplus power nor the power purchase of the demand power is predicted to occur (e.g., The surplus charge is control (charge control) to charge the power storage apparatus 120 with the surplus power of the power generation apparatus. For example, the surplus power is power obtained by subtracting the power consumption of the facility 100 (for example, power consumption of the load device 140) from the output power of the solar cell apparatus 110. The surplus charge can be executed in a time zone (for example, 5:00 to 19:00) in which the output power of the solar cell apparatus 110 is assumed to be obtained) (Para. [0053]).
8. Regarding claim 3, Nakazawa discloses:
The power management system according to claim 2, wherein while the server has a control right of the corresponding resource in the first control, the server transfers the control right to the controller in the second control (e.g., The controller 153 may control the solar cell apparatus 110, the power storage apparatus 120, and the fuel cell apparatus 130. The controller 153 may control the load device 140. For example, the controller 153 controls the charge-discharge of the power storage apparatus 120, based on the control command received from the power management server 200. The control command is transmitted from the power management server 200 in accordance with the charge-discharge plan created by the power management server 200.) (Para. [0049]).
9. Regarding claim 4, Nakazawa discloses:
The power management system according to claim 1, wherein: each of the power balancing resources belongs to either of a first group and a second group; the first group includes at least one of a water heater, an electrified vehicle, a storage battery, and a fuel cell (e.g., Examples of the purpose of using the power storage apparatus are considered to include a purpose of charging the power storage apparatus with the surplus power of the power generation apparatus such as the solar cell apparatus (hereinafter, surplus charge purpose) and a purpose of discharging power for curbing the peak power in a predetermined time interval (for example, 30 minutes) to a threshold value or less from the power storage apparatus (hereinafter, peak cut purpose)) (power storage apparatus is a storage battery) (Para. [0103]); the second group includes at least one of an air conditioner, a lighting device, and a photovoltaic power generation facility (e.g., The power generation apparatus may be one or more power generation apparatuses selected from the fuel cell apparatus, a wind power generation apparatus, a water power generation apparatus, a geothermal power generation apparatus, and a biomass power generation apparatus.) (Para. [0099]); and while the server sets, among the power balancing resources, a power balancing resource belonging to the first group as a control target of the first control and the second control, the server does not set, among the power balancing resources, a power balancing resource belonging to the second group as the control target (e.g., As described above, the remaining amount adjustment includes control to secure the power storage capacity of the power storage apparatus 120 for the peak cut. In other words, the remaining amount adjustment is an example of the first control to secure the power storage capacity of the power storage apparatus 120 in order to curb the demand power of the facility 100 to the predetermined power or less by discharging the power storage apparatus 120 in the predetermined time interval. The remaining amount adjustment includes control to secure a free capacity of the power storage apparatus 120 for the surplus charge. In other words, the remaining amount adjustment is an example of the second control to secure the free capacity of the power storage apparatus in order to charge the power storage apparatus 120 with the surplus power of the power generation apparatus.) (Para. [0056]).
10. Regarding claim 5, Claim 5 recites a power management method that implement the power management system of claim 1, with substantially the same limitations. Therefore the rejection applied to claim 1 also applies to claim 5 respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tateiwa (Pub: 2023/0387682) disclose a control method for causing a computer to execute processing of: acquiring supply information indicating supply power supplied to a power grid and grid information indicating a grid capacity of the power grid; determining whether or not the supply power exceeds the grid capacity based on the supply information and the grid information; and if it is determined that the grid capacity is exceeded, performing control so that surplus power exceeding the grid capacity is supplied to a computing device constituting a predetermined distributed computing system (Para. [0007]).
Nakayama (Pub: 2017/0012428) disclose a control method of a power control system according to the disclosure is a control method of a power control system that is provided in a consumer's facility and performs power control, the consumer's facility including a power generation device and other distributed power sources, the power generation device generating power while a current sensor detects forward power flow, the control method including: outputting power supplied from the other distributed power sources, in a state where the power generation device and the other distributed power sources are paralleled off from a grid; stepping down the power supplied from the other distributed power sources; and supplying a dummy current detectable by the current sensor as a current in the same direction as the forward power flow, using the stepped down power (Para. [0010]).
Arakawa (Pub: 2013/0275290) disclose a surplus electricity trading system including: a surplus electricity supply system adapted to generate electricity and supply surplus electricity (Para. [0012]).
Baba (Pub:2013/0049695) disclose an electric power control apparatus for controlling the connection of an electrical grid of a commercial power source and a distributed power source of a consumer dwelling, and a grid connection system provided with the same (Para. [0001]).
/JIGNESHKUMAR C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116