DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communication filed on 06/18/2024.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 – 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: It is suggested to delete “storage device” (line 3). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BARCZAK et al (US 2019/0042386; hereinafter BARCZAK).
Regarding claim 1, BARCZAK discloses a data processing system, wherein:
the data processing system comprises an application server and a storage device, and the
storage device is a node in a storage system (paragraph [0069]);
the application server comprises one or more first processors and one or more first memories coupled to the one or more first processors, wherein the one or more first memories store programming instructions for execution by the one or more first processors (paragraphs [0068 – 0069], [0071]) to:
send a first management request to the storage device, wherein the first management
request requests to configure a processing mode of the storage device for a data access
request (paragraph [0051]; BARCZAK discloses that the storage management 402 sends a config/reconfig request 412 to the data node 404 requesting that one or more storage devices included in the data node 404 be configured/reconfigured according to specifications provided in the config/reconfig request 412); and
send a data access request to the storage device, wherein the data access request requests to access data stored in the storage device (paragraph [0028]; BARCZAK discloses that an application sends I/O requests associated with the I/O workload to the logical storage driver, and the I/O requests are intercepted and processed using the attached storage processing logic and a storage configuration defined for the I/O workload); and
the storage device comprises one or more second processors and one or
more second memories coupled to the one or more second processors (paragraph [0037]; BARCZAK discloses that the computing environment 100 may include computing components, such as “nodes” (processor(s), memory, and/or peripherals) that may be communicatively coupled together by, for example, a fabric), wherein the one or more second memories store programming instructions for execution by the one or more second processors (paragraph [0037]; BARCZAK discloses that the various processes and/or other functionality contained within the computing environment 100 may be executed on a computing device, such as a server, having one or more processors that are in communication with one or more memory modules) to:
receive the first management request (paragraph [0038]; BARCZAK discloses that a processing module may be considered a service with one or more processes executing on a server or other computer hardware. Such services may be centrally hosted functionality or a service application that receives requests and provides output to other services or computing devices);
configure, based on the first management request, the processing mode of the storage
device for the data access request (paragraph [0048]; BARCZAK discloses that the storage processing logic 316 may be configured to continue using a default storage configuration 306 in combination with a storage configuration 314); and
process, based on the processing mode, the data access request sent by the application server (paragraph [0048]; BARCZAK discloses that the storage processing logic 316 may be configured to continue to access the default storage configuration 306, as well as access the new storage configuration 314, as part of processing an I/O workload generated by the application302).
Regarding claim 2, BARCZAK discloses the data processing system according to claim 1, wherein when configuring, based on the first management request, the processing mode of the storage device
for the data access request, the one or more second memories store programming instructions for execution by the one or more second processors to:
configure a working mode of the storage device based on the first management request (paragraph [0051]; BARCZAK discloses that the after receiving the config/reconfig request 412 from the storage management 402, the data node 404 may initiate preparation 416 of the storage devices included in the data node 404 according to the specifications received from the storage management 402).
Regarding claim 4, BARCZAK discloses the data processing system according to claim 2, wherein when configuring the working mode of the storage device based on the first management request, the
storage device one or more second memories store programming
instructions for execution by the one or more second processors to:
send a management command to a hard disk of the storage device based on the first
management request, wherein the management command is used to requests to configure a
working mode of the hard disk (paragraph [0052]; BARCZAK discloses that responsibility for notifying the logical storage driver 406 about the configuration/reconfiguration may be delegated to the data node 404. For example, in response to receiving the config/reconfig request 412 from storage management 402, the data node 404 notifies the logical storage driver 406 (via a message) of the configuration/reconfiguration of the storage configuration, whereupon the logical storage driver 406 switches operation to detached mode).
Regarding claim 5, BARCZAK discloses the data processing system according to claim 1, wherein
the one or more first memories store programming instructions for execution by the one or more first processors to send a second management request to the storage device, the second management request is used to deliver a first computing task to the storage device (paragraphs [0026], [0071]; BARCZAK discloses that an I/O workload may be a set of I/O tasks generated by an application or service configured to interface with network and storage infrastructures in order to perform I/O operations (e.g., read, write, trim, sync).); and the one or more second memories store programming instructions for execution by the one or more second processors to execute the first computing task based on the second management request (paragraphs [0060], [0063]; BARCZAK discloses that the storage processing logic may replace existing storage processing logic with new storage processing logic that interfaces with a new storage configuration included in the second storage stack. For example, the storage processing logic sends I/O tasks included in the I/O workload to the new storage configuration included in the second storage stack ); and feed back a computation result of the first computing task to the application server (paragraphs [0040 - 0041], [0060]; BARCZAK discloses that the I/O tracer 208 may include utility software configured to monitor driver calls and parameters sent to the logical storage driver 204, monitor the results of the driver call, or generate trace data 210 that describes the driver call, parameters, or results. As a non-limiting example, the I/O tracer 208 may monitor an I/O request sent by the application 202 to the logical storage driver 204 by capturing execution results and metrics (e.g., success or fail, errors, time, duration, operation type (read, write, trim, sync), I/O size, process ID, a filename associated with the I/O).
Regarding claim 6, BARCZAK discloses the data processing system according to claim 5, wherein the first computing task comprises a part or all of the following:
data search, data migration, data computing, data encoding/decoding, data sorting, or data compression (paragraphs [0035 - 0036]; BARCZAK discloses that the trace data may be analyzed to determine storage processing logic 108 that implements one or more storage techniques (e.g., RAID, caching, tiering, partitioning, mirroring, etc.), and a storage configuration that includes one or more device drivers and storage devices predicted to improve processing of the I/O workload.).
Regarding claim 7, BARCZAK discloses the data processing system according to claim 1, wherein:
the one or more first memories store programming instructions for execution by the one or more first processors to send a third management request to the storage device, wherein the third management request is used to requests to monitor a hard disk of the storage device (paragraphs [0035 - 0036]; BARCZAK discloses that the logical storage driver 106 intercepts I/O requests associated with the I/O workload and the I/O requests may be processed using the attached storage processing logic 108 and the storage configuration.); and the one or more second memories store programming instructions for execution by the one or more second processors to:
monitor the hard disk of the storage device based on the third management request, and
feed back a status of the hard disk to the application server (paragraph [0060]; BARCZAK discloses that detection of performance degradation associated with use of the first storage stack may trigger a notification alert that causes the logical storage driver to enable detached mode and forward I/O requests to a default storage stack for processing of the I/O workload).
Regarding claim 9, BARCZAK discloses the storage device according to claim 8, wherein the storage device further comprises:
a network interface card, wherein the network interface card comprises the one or more processors (paragraphs [0067 - 0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BARCZAK et al (US 2019/0042386; hereinafter BARCZAK) in view of MARONEY et al (US 2018/0032274; hereinafter MARONEY).
Regarding claim 3, BARCZAK discloses the data processing system according to claim 1, wherein when configuring, based on the first management request, the processing mode of the storage device
for the data access request (paragraph [0048]; BARCZAK discloses that the storage processing logic 316 may be configured to continue using a default storage configuration 306 in combination with a storage configuration 314), but fails to specifically disclose that the storage device one or more second memories store programming instructions for execution by the one or more second processors to:
configure a processing priority of the data access request based on the first management
request.
MARONEY, in an analogous art, discloses that the storage device o one or more second memories store programming instructions for execution by the one or more second processors to: configure a processing priority of the data access request based on the first management request (paragraphs [0039 - 0040], [0051]; MARONEY discloses that the scheduling module 320 may determine priorities for the data access requests received from the DAS interface 241 and the NAS interface 243. The scheduling module 320 may determine (e.g., calculate) priorities for the data access requests based on one or more factors/parameters).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of BARCZAK by configuring a processing priority of the data access request based on the first management request as evidenced by BREWER for the purpose of providing a mechanism to remotely accessing data stored on a highly and reliable manner.
Claims 8, and 10 – 20 incorporate substantively all the limitations of claims 1 – 2, and 4 - 7 with minor modifications in the claimed language. The reasons for rejecting claims 1 – 2, and 4 - 7 apply in claims 8, and 10 – 20. Therefore, claims 8, and 10 – 20 are rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiangyu Wang (US 2015/0121391) discloses a method and device for scheduling multiprocessor of system on chip (SOC).
BREWER et al (US 2010/0248771) discloses a selectively allocating data channel resources to wireless communication devices within a wireless communications system.
Contact Information
/YVES DALENCOURT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457