Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse in the reply filed on 2/19/2026 species A2, B1, and C3 with traverse is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that of species C3 and C4 illustrate the same baffle. This is found persuasive and the restriction is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3, 7, and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “about” in the limitation “the bending angle is about 20 degrees to about 70 degrees” claims 3, and 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term about is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear the amount about is referring to in the drawings or specification. For examination purpose, the limitation “the bending angle is about 20 degrees to about 70 degrees” is interpreted to mean that the bending angle is about 20+/-5 degrees to about 70 +/- 5 degrees.
The term “about” in the limitation “the plurality of baffles are positioned about 120 degrees apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the shell” claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term about is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear the amount about is referring to in the drawings or specification. For examination purpose, the limitation “the plurality of baffles are positioned about 120 degrees apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the shell” is interpreted to mean that the plurality of baffles are positioned about 120+/-5 degrees apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the shell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 11, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GUALA (US 2693942 A).
Regarding claim 1, GUALA teaches a heat exchanger (fig. 1), comprising:
a shell (fig. 1, shell 1) extending longitudinally;
a tube (fig. 1, tubes 5) located inside the shell and extending in a longitudinal direction; and
a baffle (fig. 1, baffle 6) located inside the shell and including a tube through hole (fig. 2, holes 8) through which the tube passes (column 2 line 35-38 states “the relative positions of tubes 5 are further maintained by baffles 6 and 7 which are formed with openings 8 positioned in alignment with the holes in the tube sheet” the tubes pass through the holes of the baffle),
wherein the baffle includes a fan-shaped plane (shown in annotated fig. 2, Fan shaped plane Fsp) and sawteeth (shown in annotated fig. 2, Sawteeth St, Sawteeth St evenly spaced on the inside edge of Fan shaped plane Fsp) disposed on at least one side of the fan-shaped plane.
Regarding claim 2, GUALA teaches the limitations of claim 1 GUALA further teaches wherein the sawteeth (shown in fig. 2, Sawteeth St are bent at a angle of zero) are bent at a predetermined bending angle.
Regarding claim 6, GUALA teaches the limitations of claim 1, GUALA further teaches wherein the baffle is of a plurality of baffles (shown in fig. 2, baffle 6, 7, 14, 15, 20, and 21), and baffles adjacent to each other have different vertical directions of the fan-shaped planes (shown in annotated fig. 2, Fan shaped plane) than each other.
Regarding claim 8, GUALA teaches the limitations of claim 1, GUALA further teaches wherein
a tube is of a plurality of tubes (fig. 1, tubes 5), and
a tube through hole is of a plurality of tube through holes (fig. 2, holes 8, column 2 line 35-38 states “the relative positions of tubes 5 are further maintained by baffles 6 and 7 which are formed with openings 8 positioned in alignment with the holes in the tube sheet” the tubes pass through the holes of the baffle).
Regarding claim 9, GUALA teaches, the heat exchanger of claim 8, further teaches the baffle includes a rod through hole (shown in fig. 2, slot 10 for rods/strips 9).
Regarding claim 11, GUALA teaches the limitations of claim 8, GUALA further teaches wherein some of the sawteeth (shown in annotated fig. 2, Sawteeth St) do not include at least one tube through hole of the plurality tube
through holes (fig. 1, tubes 5).
Regarding Claim 15, GUALA teaches the limitations of claim 1, GUALA further teaches wherein the shape of the sawteeth is trapezoid (Shown in annotated fig. 2, Sawteeth St) or triangular. Though GUALA teaches the claimed shape, examiner also would like to point out that the shapes are obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.04_IV_B: In reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Regarding claim 16, GUALA teaches a baffle (fig. 1, baffle 6) for a heat exchanger (fig. 1), comprising:
a fan-shaped plane (shown in annotated fig. 2, Fan shaped plane);
a tube through hole (fig. 2, holes 8) through which a tube (fig. 1, tubes 5) passes; and
sawteeth (shown in annotated fig. 2, Sawteeth St, Sawteeth St evenly spaced on the inside edge of Fan shaped plane Fsp) formed on at least one side of the fan-shaped plane.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 11, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHEN (CN106979716A).
Regarding claim 1, CHEN teaches, a heat exchanger (fig. 8), comprising:
a shell (shown in fig. 8, shell 1) extending longitudinally;
a tube (Background technology para. 2 states “Shell-and-tube heat exchanger generally consists of a pipe bundle, shell body, pipe box, an outer cover main components such as tube bundle is tubular core of heat exchanger” the tube bundle is located in the core of the shell) located inside the shell and extending in a longitudinal direction; and
a baffle (shown in fig. 4, baffle plate body 3) located inside the shell and including a tube through hole (shown in fig. 4, tube hole 4, Background technology para. 2 states “the tube bundle is generally composed of heat exchange tube, traverse baffle (or called support plate) and a pipe plate” the baffle is composed of tube through holes that support the tube bundle) through which the tube passes,
wherein the baffle includes a fan-shaped plane (shown in annotated fig. 4, Fan shaped plane Fsp) and sawteeth (shown in fig. 4, toothed surface 34) disposed on at least one side of the fan-shaped plane.
Regarding claim 2, CHEN teaches the limitations of claim 1, further CHEN teaches wherein
the sawteeth are bent at a predetermined bending angle (shown in fig. 2, fold 5).
Regarding claim 3, CHEN teaches the limitations of claim 2, further CHEN teaches, wherein
the bending angle is about 20 degrees to about 70 degrees (shown in annotated fig. 9 bending angle ba is equal to 180 – a, para. 0032 embodiment 1 states “edge folds include angle complement of between 3 is alpha, 90 degrees less than 180 degrees, preferably, a=135 degrees” thus 180ᴼ-135ᴼ=45ᴼ is within the claimed range about 20ᴼ-70ᴼ.).
Regarding claim 4, CHEN teaches the limitations of claim 2, further CHEN teaches wherein
the bending angles of all of the sawteeth (shown in fig. 4, toothed surface 34 each are bent to the same angle) are equal to each other.
Regarding claim 6, CHEN teaches the limitations of claim 1, further CHEN teaches wherein
the baffle is of a plurality of baffles (shown in fig. 9, baffle plate main body 2), and
baffles adjacent to each other have different vertical directions of the fan-shaped planes (shown in annotated fig. 9, Fan shaped plane Fsp) than each other.
Regarding claim 8, CHEN teaches the limitations of claim 1, further CHEN teaches wherein
a tube is of a plurality of tubes (Background technology para. 2 states “Shell-and-tube heat exchanger generally consists of a pipe bundle, shell body, pipe box, an outer cover main components such as tube bundle is tubular core of heat exchanger” the tube bundle is located in the core of the shell), and
a tube through hole (shown in fig. 4, tube hole 4, Background technology para. 2 states “the tube bundle is generally composed of heat exchange tube, traverse baffle (or called support plate) and a pipe plate” the baffle is composed of tube through holes that support the tube bundle) is of a plurality of tube through holes.
Regarding claim 11, CHEN teaches the limitations of claim 8, further CHEN teaches wherein
some of the sawteeth (shown in fig. 4, toothed surface 34) do not include at least one tube through hole of the plurality tube through holes.
Regarding claim 15, CHEN teaches the limitations of claim 1, further CHEN teaches wherein
the shape of the sawteeth (shown in fig. 5, lengthening strip 35) is trapezoid or triangular. Though Chen teaches the claimed shape, examiner also would like to point out that the shapes are obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.04_IV_B: In reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Regarding claim 16, CHEN teaches, a baffle (shown in fig. 4, baffle plate body 3) for a heat exchanger (fig. 8), comprising:
a fan-shaped plane (shown in annotated fig. 4, Fan shaped plane Fsp);
a tube through hole (shown in fig. 4, tube hole 4, Background technology para. 2 states “the tube bundle is generally composed of heat exchange tube, traverse baffle (or called support plate) and a pipe plate” the baffle is composed of tube through holes that support the tube bundle) through which a tube (Background technology para. 2 states “Shell-and-tube heat exchanger generally consists of a pipe bundle, shell body, pipe box, an outer cover main components such as tube bundle is tubular core of heat exchanger” the tube bundle is located in the core of the shell) passes; and
sawteeth (shown in fig. 4, toothed surface 34) formed on at least one side of the fan-shaped plane (shown in annotated fig. 4, Fan shaped plane Fsp).
Regarding claim 17, CHEN teaches the limitations of claim 16, further CHEN teaches wherein
the sawteeth are bent at a predetermined bending angle (shown in fig. 2, fold 5).
Regarding claim 18, CHEN teaches the limitations of claim 17, further CHEN teaches wherein
the bending angle is about 20 to about 70 degrees (shown in annotated fig. 9, bending angle ba is equal to 180 – a, para. 0032 embodiment 1 states “edge folds include angle complement of between 3 is alpha, 90 degrees less than 180 degrees, preferably, a=135 degrees” thus 180ᴼ-135ᴼ=45ᴼ is within the claimed range about 20ᴼ-70ᴼ.).
Regarding claim 19, CHEN teaches the limitations of claim 17, further CHEN teaches wherein
the bending angles of each of the sawteeth (shown in fig. 2, fold 5) are equal to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUALA (US2693942A) in view of Cong (CN110530175A).
Regarding claim 7, GUALA teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach, wherein
the baffle is of a plurality of baffles and
three consecutive baffles of the plurality of baffles are positioned about 120 degrees
apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the shell.
Cong teaches, wherein
the baffle is of a plurality of baffles (shown in fig. 7, baffles 8), and
three consecutive baffles (shown in fig. 7, example 2 states “each of the spiral period baffle groups includes three described oblique flow curved baffles 8. The oblique flow curved baffle plate 8 is axially projected into a fan shape and the fan angle is 120 °” The three baffle plates are each 120 degrees apart in a fan shape) of the plurality of baffles are positioned about 120 degrees
apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the shell. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the baffle plate of GUALA, to be the fan plate taught by Cong, the motivation is to spiral the flow to reduce the dead zone area inside the flow. (Summary of the invention beneficial effect 8).
Regarding claim 10, GUALA further teaches:
a rod (shown in fig. 2, strip 9) extending through a rod through hole (shown in fig. 2, slot 10),
but does not teach explicitly wherein a radius of the rod through hole is smaller than a radius of the tube through hole.
Cong teaches a rod (shown in fig. 6, pull rod 10) extending through a rod through hole (shown in annotated fig. 7, Rod hole rh),
wherein a radius of the rod through hole is smaller than a radius of the tube through hole (shown in annotated fig. 7, Tube hole Th, the Tube hole Th is larger than Rod hole rh). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the baffle plate of GUALA, with the baffle and rod taught by Cong, the motivation to increase strength and durability of the structure (summary of the invention).
Claim(s) 12 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUALA (US2693942A) in view of Hackbarth et al. (US20080279809A1).
Regarding claim 12&13, GUALA teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach, wherein
a coating layer is formed on the sawteeth, wherein
the coating layer includes at least one of zinc, nickel, chromium, aluminum, or silver.
However, Hackbarth teaches a heat exchanger comprising
a coating layer formed on the internal surface,
wherein the coating layer includes one of chromium or zinc or nickel (see para. 0002). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide sawteeth of GUALA, with the metallic coating as taught by Hackbarth, the motivation is to inhibit corrosion (see para. 0002).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUALA (US2693942A) in view of Singh et al. (US11512902B2).
Regarding claim 14, GUALA teaches the limitations of claim 1, does not teach wherein
the baffle comprises carbon steel.
Singh teaches wherein
the baffle (shown in fig. 29, metallic baffle 420 column 27 lines 49-52 “The baffle plate may be made of any suitable metal for the service conditions of the heat exchanger. Some non-limiting examples include carbon steel, stainless steel, Nitronic® 60, and others” The baffle plate is made of carbon steel) comprises carbon steel. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the baffle of GUALA, with the baffle material as taught by Singh, the motivation to increase strength and durability of the baffle plate (summary of the invention).
Claim 5, and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUALA (US2693942A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US7740057B2).
Regarding claim 5, GUALA does not teach wherein some of the sawteeth have different bending angles from each other.
Wang teaches wherein some of the sawteeth (shown in fig. 4, inner helical baffles 5, column 9 line 46-56 states “inner helical angle of. alpha. at the inner diameter, which is given by: alpha. =arctan (P.sub.t/.pi. D), wherein: Pt is the pitch, and D is the diameter of the projected circle of inner helical curve of the outer helical baffle 6 onto the cross-section of the shell body. Under the given diameter of the shell body, the helical angle. alpha. increases with the increasing pitch” the difference of the bending angle of triangular sawteeth to each other is proportional to the pitch and angle alpha) have different bending angles form each other.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the sawteeth of GUALA with different bending angles from each other, as taught by Wang, such modification would provide the benefit of increasing the turbulence in the flow.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUALA (US2693942A) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US7740057B2).
Regarding claim 20, GUALA does not teach wherein some of the sawteeth have different bending angles from each other.
Wang teaches wherein some of the sawteeth (shown in fig. 4, inner helical baffles 5, column 9 line 46-56 states “inner helical angle of. alpha. at the inner diameter, which is given by: alpha. =arctan (P.sub.t/.pi. D), wherein: Pt is the pitch, and D is the diameter of the projected circle of inner helical curve of the outer helical baffle 6 onto the cross-section of the shell body. Under the given diameter of the shell body, the helical angle. alpha. increases with the increasing pitch” the difference of the bending angle of triangular sawteeth to each other is proportional to the pitch and angle alpha) have different bending angles form each other.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the sawteeth of GUALA with different bending angles from each other, as taught by Wang, such modification would provide the benefit of increasing the turbulence in the flow.
Conclusion
/HENRY FRANCIS CANOVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763