DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-10 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MacGillivray (WO 2024100416 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MacGillivray discloses optical system (Fig. 1, apparatus 102; p. 9, ll. 5-11), comprising:
a laser source component (Fig. 1, pulsed laser 130; p. 9, ll. 7-9);
a first optical amplifier (Fig. 1, preamplifier 160; p. 10, ll. 18-20);
a circulator (Fig. 1, circulator 110; p. 7, ll. 1-7);
an acousto optic modulator (AOM) (Fig. 1, AOM 112, as further detailed in Fig. 2, AOM 212; p. 7, ll. 1-2; p. 11, ll. 5-7);
a reflective component (Fig. 1, chirped fiber Bragg grating 124; p. 8, ll. 16-17); and
a second optical amplifier (Fig. 1, amplifier 140; p. 9, ll. 7-15), wherein:
the laser source component is connected to the first optical amplifier (Fig. 1, laser 130 and preamplifier 160; p. 9, ll. 7-9; p. 10, ll. 18-20),
the first optical amplifier is connected to the laser source component and the circulator (Fig. 1, preamplifier 160; p. 8, ll. 8-10; p. 10, ll. 18-20),
the circulator is connected to the first optical amplifier, the AOM, and the second optical amplifier (Fig. 1, circulator 110; p. 7, ll. 13-14; p. 9, ll. 7-13; p. 10, ll. 18-20),
the AOM is connected to the circulator and the reflective component (Fig. 1, AOM 112; p. 7, ll. 13-19; the connection to grating 124 extends through gain fiber 128),
the reflective component is connected to the AOM (Fig. 1, grating 124; p. 7, ll. 13-19; p. 8, ll. 24-28, the connection extends through gain fiber 128), and
the second optical amplifier is connected to the circulator (Fig. 1, amplifier 140; p. 8, ll. 20-23; p. 9, ll. 10-13).
Regarding claim 2, MacGillivray discloses the optical system of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the circulator, the AOM, and the reflective component are arranged in a double pass configuration (Fig. 1, circulator 110, AOM 112, and grating 124, as further detailed in Fig. 2 with AOM 212; p. 11, ll. 5-7, 29-30, single reflection operation provides outgoing and returning passages through the AOM).
Regarding claim 7, MacGillivray discloses the optical system of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the optical system further includes a third optical amplifier connected to the AOM and the reflective component (Fig. 1, gain fiber 128, as further detailed in Fig. 2, gain fiber 128; p. 8, ll. 24-28; p. 14, ll. 3-5), wherein: the AOM is connected to the reflective component via the third optical amplifier (Fig. 1, gain fiber 128, as further detailed in Fig. 2, gain fiber 128 in segment 220A; p. 11, ll. 11-12; p. 14, ll. 3-5); and the reflective component is connected to the AOM via the third optical amplifier (Fig. 1, gain fiber 128, as further detailed in Fig. 2, gain fiber 128 in segment 220A; p. 8, ll. 24-28; p. 14, ll. 3-5).
Regarding claim 8, MacGillivray discloses the optical system of claim 7, and further discloses: wherein the third optical amplifier is configured to increase a power of a laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a first direction from the AOM to the reflective component (Fig. 1, gain fiber 128, as further detailed in Fig. 2, gain fiber 128; p. 8, ll. 24-28; p. 14, ll. 3-5); and the third optical amplifier is configured to further increase the power of the laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a second direction from the reflective component to the AOM (Fig. 1, gain fiber 128, as further detailed in Fig. 2, gain fiber 128; p. 8, ll. 24-28; p. 14, ll. 3-5).
Regarding claim 9, MacGillivray discloses a fiber laser system (Fig. 1, apparatus 102; p. 9, ll. 5-11; p. 10, ll. 4-7, fiber laser implementation of source 130), comprising:
a circulator (Fig. 1, circulator 110; p. 7, ll. 1-7);
an acousto optic modulator (AOM) (Fig. 1, AOM 112, as further detailed in Fig. 2, AOM 212; p. 7, ll. 1-2; p. 11, ll. 5-7);
a reflective component (Fig. 1, grating 124; p. 8, ll. 16-17); and
an optical amplifier (Fig. 1, amplifier 140; p. 9, ll. 7-15), wherein:
the circulator is connected to the AOM and the optical amplifier (Fig. 1, circulator 110; p. 7, ll. 13-14; p. 8, ll. 20-23; p. 9, ll. 10-13);
the AOM is connected to the circulator and the reflective component (Fig. 1, AOM 112; p. 7, ll. 13-19; the connection to grating 124 extends through gain fiber 128);
the reflective component is connected to the AOM (Fig. 1, grating 124; p. 7, ll. 13-19; p. 8, ll. 24-28; the connection extends through gain fiber 128); and
the optical amplifier is connected to the circulator (Fig. 1, amplifier 140; p. 8, ll. 20-23; p. 9, ll. 10-13).
Regarding claim 10, MacGillivray discloses the fiber laser system of claim 9, and further discloses: wherein the circulator, the AOM, and the reflective component are arranged in a double pass configuration (Fig. 1, circulator 110, AOM 112, and grating 124, as further detailed in Fig. 2 with AOM 212; p. 11, ll. 5-7, 29-30, single reflection operation provides outgoing and returning passages through the AOM).
Regarding claim 15, MacGillivray discloses the fiber laser system of claim 9, and further discloses: wherein the fiber laser system further includes another optical amplifier connected to the AOM and the reflective component (Fig. 1, gain fiber 128, as further detailed in Fig. 2, gain fiber 128; p. 8, ll. 24-28; p. 14, ll. 3-5), wherein: the AOM is connected to the reflective component via the other optical amplifier (Fig. 1, gain fiber 128, as further detailed in Fig. 2, gain fiber 128 in segment 220A; p. 11, ll. 11-12; p. 14, ll. 3-5); and the reflective component is connected to the AOM via the other optical amplifier (Fig. 1, gain fiber 128, as further detailed in Fig. 2, gain fiber 128 in segment 220A; p. 8, ll. 24-28; p. 14, ll. 3-5).
Regarding claim 16, MacGillivray discloses the fiber laser system of claim 15, and further discloses: wherein the other optical amplifier is configured to increase a power of a laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a first direction from the AOM (Fig. 1, gain fiber 128, as further detailed in Fig. 2, gain fiber 128; p. 8, ll. 24-28; p. 14, ll. 3-5); and the other optical amplifier is configured to further increase the power of the laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a second direction from the reflective component (Fig. 1, gain fiber 128, as further detailed in Fig. 2, gain fiber 128; p. 8, ll. 24-28; p. 14, ll. 3-5).
Regarding claim 17, MacGillivray discloses an optical system (Fig. 1, apparatus 102; p. 9, ll. 5-11), comprising:
a circulator (Fig. 1, circulator 110; p. 7, ll. 1-7);
an acousto optic modulator (AOM) (Fig. 1, AOM 112, as further detailed in Fig. 2, AOM 212; p. 7, ll. 1-2; p. 11, ll. 5-7);
a reflective component (Fig. 1, grating 124; p. 8, ll. 16-17); and
another optical component (Fig. 1, amplifier 140; p. 9, ll. 7-15), wherein:
the AOM is connected to the circulator and the reflective component (Fig. 1, AOM 112; p. 7, ll. 13-19, the connection to grating 124 extends through gain fiber 128); and
the other optical component is connected to the circulator (Fig. 1, amplifier 140; p. 8, ll. 20-23; p. 9, ll. 10-13).
Regarding claim 18, MacGillivray discloses the optical system of claim 17, and further discloses wherein the circulator, the AOM, and the reflective component are arranged in a double pass configuration (Fig. 1, circulator 110, AOM 112, and grating 124, as further detailed in Fig. 2 with AOM 212; p. 11, ll. 5-7, 29-30, single reflection operation provides outgoing and returning passages through the AOM).
Claims 9-10, 12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murison (US 20090080477 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Murison discloses a fiber laser system (Fig. 1, system 100; ¶¶ 25, 36), comprising:
a circulator (Fig. 1, circulator 120; ¶ 25);
an acousto optic modulator (AOM) (Fig. 1, modulator 130; ¶ 28, AOM implementation);
a reflective component (Fig. 1, reflecting structure 146; ¶ 33); and
an optical amplifier (Fig. 1, amplifier 160; ¶ 36), wherein:
the circulator is connected to the AOM and the optical amplifier (Fig. 1, circulator 120; ¶¶ 26, 35, 36);
the AOM is connected to the circulator and the reflective component (Fig. 1, modulator 130; ¶¶ 26, 29, 33, the connection to reflecting structure 146 extends through amplifier 150);
the reflective component is connected to the AOM (Fig. 1, reflecting structure 146; ¶¶ 33, 35, the return connection extends through amplifier 150); and
the optical amplifier is connected to the circulator (Fig. 1, amplifier 160; ¶¶ 35, 36).
Regarding claim 10, Murison discloses the fiber laser system of claim 9, and further discloses: wherein the circulator, the AOM, and the reflective component are arranged in a double pass configuration (Fig. 1, circulator 120, modulator 130, and reflecting structure 146; ¶¶ 26, 29, 33, 35).
Regarding claim 12, Murison discloses the fiber laser system of claim 9, and further discloses: wherein the AOM is configured to modify, using a pulse shaping technique, a laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a first direction from the circulator (Fig. 1, modulator 130; ¶¶ 26, 29); and the AOM is configured to modify, using a pulse cleaning technique, the laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a second direction from the reflective component (Fig. 1, modulator 130; ¶¶ 27, 35, ASE filtering together with synchronized transmission of the returning pulse supplies the pulse cleaning function).
Regarding claim 15, Murison discloses the fiber laser system of claim 9, and further discloses: wherein the fiber laser system further includes another optical amplifier connected to the AOM and the reflective component (Fig. 1, amplifier 150; ¶¶ 29, 33), wherein: the AOM is connected to the reflective component via the other optical amplifier (Fig. 1, amplifier 150; ¶¶ 29, 33); and the reflective component is connected to the AOM via the other optical amplifier (Fig. 1, amplifier 150; ¶¶ 33, 35).
Regarding claim 16, Murison discloses the fiber laser system of claim 15, and further discloses: wherein the other optical amplifier is configured to increase a power of a laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a first direction from the AOM (Fig. 1, amplifier 150; ¶ 29); and the other optical amplifier is configured to further increase the power of the laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a second direction from the reflective component (Fig. 1, amplifier 150; ¶ 33).
Regarding claim 17, Murison discloses an optical system (Fig. 1, system 100; ¶ 25), comprising:
a circulator (Fig. 1, circulator 120; ¶ 25);
an acousto optic modulator (AOM) (Fig. 1, modulator 130; ¶ 28);
a reflective component (Fig. 1, reflecting structure 146; ¶ 33); and
another optical component (Fig. 1, amplifier 160; ¶ 36), wherein:
the AOM is connected to the circulator and the reflective component (Fig. 1, modulator 130; ¶¶ 26, 29, 33, the connection to reflecting structure 146 extends through amplifier 150); and
the other optical component is connected to the circulator (Fig. 1, amplifier 160; ¶¶ 35, 36).
Regarding claim 18, Murison discloses the optical system of claim 17, and further discloses: wherein the circulator, the AOM, and the reflective component are arranged in a double pass configuration (Fig. 1, circulator 120, modulator 130, and reflecting structure 146; ¶¶ 26, 29, 33, 35).
Regarding claim 19, Murison discloses the optical system of claim 17, and further discloses: wherein the circulator is configured to receive a laser beam and to output the laser beam to the AOM (Fig. 1, circulator 120; ¶¶ 25, 26); the AOM is configured to receive the laser beam from the circulator, to modify the laser beam using a pulse shaping technique, and to output the laser beam to the reflective component (Fig. 1, modulator 130; ¶¶ 26, 29, 33, the output reaches reflecting structure 146 through amplifier 150); the reflective component is configured to receive the laser beam from the AOM and to reflect the laser beam back to the AOM (Fig. 1, reflecting structure 146; ¶¶ 29, 33, 35, the outgoing and returning paths extend through amplifier 150);
the AOM is further configured to receive the laser beam from the reflective component, to modify the laser beam using a pulse cleaning technique, and to output the laser beam to the circulator (Fig. 1, modulator 130; ¶¶ 27, 35, ASE filtering together with synchronized transmission of the returning pulse supplies the pulse cleaning function); and the circulator is further configured to receive the laser beam from the AOM and to output the laser beam to the other optical component (Fig. 1, circulator 120; ¶¶ 35, 36).
Regarding claim 20, Murison discloses the optical system of claim 17, and further discloses: wherein the AOM is configured to modify, using a pulse shaping technique, a laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a first direction (Fig. 1, modulator 130; ¶ 29); and the AOM is configured to modify, using a pulse cleaning technique, the laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a second direction (Fig. 1, modulator 130; ¶¶ 27, 35, ASE filtering together with synchronized transmission of the returning pulse supplies the pulse cleaning function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murison in view of Murisson II (US 20100110535 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Murison discloses the fiber laser system of claim 9, and further discloses:
wherein the circulator is configured to receive a laser beam and to output the laser beam to the AOM (Fig. 1, circulator 120; ¶¶ 25, 26);
the AOM is configured to receive the laser beam from the circulator, to modify the laser beam using a pulse shaping technique, and to output the laser beam to the reflective component (Fig. 1, modulator 130; ¶¶ 26, 29, 33; ¶ 29 describes control of “pulse width and pulse shape”; the connection to reflecting structure 146 extends through amplifier 150);
the reflective component is configured to receive the laser beam from the AOM and to reflect the laser beam back to the AOM (Fig. 1, reflecting structure 146; ¶¶ 29, 33, 35; both passages extend through amplifier 150);
the AOM is further configured to receive the laser beam from the reflective component, to modify the laser beam using a pulse cleaning technique, and to output the laser beam to the circulator (Fig. 1, modulator 130; ¶¶ 27, 35; “filtering of the CW amplified spontaneous emission” together with synchronized return transmission corresponds to pulse cleaning);
the circulator is further configured to receive the laser beam from the AOM and to output the laser beam to the optical amplifier (Fig. 1, circulator 120; ¶¶ 35, 36); and
the optical amplifier is configured to receive the laser beam from the circulator, to increase a power of the laser beam (Fig. 1, amplifier 160; ¶¶ 35, 36), and […].
Murison does not teach: “to output the laser beam to another component of the fiber laser system.” However, Murison II teaches an amplifier output connected to a distinct optical isolator (Fig. 6, isolator 610; ¶ 58: “The output 570 of the optical amplifier 560 is coupled to optical isolator 610”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Murison with the teachings of Murison II with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent unwanted optical feedback and suppress stimulated Brillouin scattering in the doped relay fiber of the added isolator, thereby yielding a system with optical isolation at the amplifier output and reduced scattering in the output connection (Murison II, ¶¶ 30, 57, 58).
Claims 13-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murison in view of Tao (EP 4293841 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Murison discloses the fiber laser system of claim 9, however does not discloses: wherein the fiber laser system further includes a passive optical fiber that connects the AOM and the reflective component. Tao teaches the limitation in Fig. 3, optical fiber 42 and ¶¶ 19-20, 32, 50, optical fiber 42 may be passive and connects reflector 41 to AOM 3 through amplifier 40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Murison with the teachings of Tao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to extend the pulse transmission time by introducing passive optical fiber between the AOM and the reflective component, thereby yielding a system with additional propagation delay that facilitates precise adjustment of the pulse waveform through the optical modulator (Tao, ¶¶ 19, 32).
Regarding claim 14, Murison in view of Tao teaches the fiber laser system of claim 13, and further discloses: wherein the passive optical fiber is configured to create a propagation delay in a laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a particular direction between the AOM and the reflective component (Tao, Fig. 3, optical fiber 42; ¶ 32, states that “a transmission time of the pulse is extended” and describes transmission through fiber 42 toward reflector 41 followed by reflected transmission through the same fiber).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacGillivray in view of Murison III (US 20090086773 A1).
Regarding claim 4, MacGillivray discloses the optical system of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the AOM is configured to modify, [1: …], a laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a first direction from the circulator to the reflective component (Fig. 1, AOM 112, further detailed in Fig. 2, AOM 212; p. 8, ll. 1-6; p. 11, ll. 5-18, the AOM diffracts incident light and couples a selected input pulse from circulator 110 into the optical path terminating at cFBG 124); and the AOM is configured to modify, [2: …], the laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a second direction from the reflective component to the circulator (Fig. 1, AOM 112, further detailed in Fig. 2, AOM 212; p. 11, ii. 24-30, switching the AOM couples the reflected pulse from the path containing cFBG 124 back towards circulator 110).
MacGillivray does not disclose:
(1) [AOM modifying] “using a pulse shaping technique” [a laser beam]; and,
(2) [AOM modifying] “using a pulse cleaning technique” [the laser beam].
However, Murison III teaches:
(1) [AOM modifying a laser beam] “using a pulse shaping technique” (Fig. 1, amplitude modulator 130; ¶ 23, the first drive signal controls pulse width and shape; ¶¶ 34-35, modulation controls an envelope containing ultrashort pulses); and,
(2) [AOM modifying the laser beam] “using a pulse cleaning technique” (Fig. 1, amplitude modulator 130; ¶ 21, temporal filtering of amplified spontaneous emission; ¶ 29, synchronized transmission of the returning pulse; ¶ 43, ASE filtering/gating during the second passage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of MacGillivray with the teachings of Murison III with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve energy extraction through pulse shaping during outward propagation and suppress amplified spontaneous emission through temporal gating during return propagation using the same AOM, thereby yielding a system with increased energy extraction efficiency and reduced unwanted optical background (Murison III, ¶¶ 8, 21, 43).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacGillivray in view of Tao.
Regarding claim 5, MacGillivray discloses the optical system of claim 1, however does not discloses: wherein the optical system further includes a passive optical fiber that connects the AOM and the reflective component. Tao teaches the limitation in Fig. 3, optical fiber 42 and ¶¶ 19-20, 32, 50, optical fiber 42 may be passive and connects reflector 41 to AOM 3 through amplifier 40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of MacGillivray with the teachings of Tao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to extend the pulse transmission time by introducing passive optical fiber between the AOM and the reflective component, thereby yielding a system with additional propagation delay that facilitates precise adjustment of the pulse waveform through the optical modulator (Tao, ¶¶ 19, 32).
Regarding claim 6, MacGillivray in view of Tao teaches the optical system of claim 5, and further teaches: wherein the passive optical fiber is configured to create a propagation delay in a laser beam as the laser beam propagates in a particular direction between the AOM and the reflective component (Tao, Fig. 3, optical fiber 42; ¶ 32, states that “a transmission time of the pulse is extended” and describes transmission through fiber 42 toward reflector 41 followed by reflected transmission through the same fiber).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. A statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter are as follows.
MacGillivray fails to disclose the optical system of claim 1, wherein: the laser source component is configured to output a laser beam to the first optical amplifier; the first optical amplifier is configured to receive the laser beam from the laser source component, to increase a power of the laser beam, and to output the laser beam to the circulator; the circulator is configured to receive the laser beam from the first optical amplifier and to output the laser beam to the AOM; the AOM is configured to receive the laser beam from the circulator, to modify the laser beam using a pulse shaping technique, and to output the laser beam to the reflective component; the reflective component is configured to receive the laser beam from the AOM and to reflect the laser beam back to the AOM; the AOM is further configured to receive the laser beam from the reflective component, to modify the laser beam using a pulse cleaning technique, and to output the laser beam to the circulator; the circulator is further configured to receive the laser beam from the AOM and to output the laser beam to the second optical amplifier; and the second optical amplifier is configured to receive the laser beam from the circulator, to further increase the power of the laser beam, and to output the laser beam to another component of the optical system. Neither Murison, Murison II, nor Tao remedy the deficiency of MacGillivray.
The remaining prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Zhou (WO 2020168733 A1) discloses a circulator, optical switching, and a reflector arranged for double pass laser amplification. However, Zhou does not teach use of the same AOM for pulse shaping on the forward pass and pulse cleaning on the return pass, as recited in claim 3.
Zhao (CN 116914547 A) discloses a circulator, AOM, and retroreflector arranged for double pass operation followed by optical amplification. However, Zhao does not teach amplification before the circulator or the same AOM performing pulse shaping on the outward pass and pulse cleaning on the return pass, as recited in claim 3.
The cited prior art lacks any teaching or motivation that would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the features of claim 3, thereby failing to render the claimed invention anticipated or obvious. Accordingly, claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form, including all limitations of its base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHENGQING QI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645