Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/4/2025 have been fully considered and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-8, 11-12, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210124727 to Todd.
Regarding claim 1, Todd teaches a method, comprising:
receiving data, by a privacy-aware data sharing system (PADS), from a first entity of an edge environment, and the data has been assigned a confidence score by the first entity, and the confidence score is a function of an extent to which security measures have been implemented in the first entity (¶ 25-26, 31, fig. 1-2, receiving scored data; see also ¶ 19, 21, and 71-72, edge entities);
by the PADS, consulting the confidence score associated with the data; by the PADS, mapping the confidence score to a data policy; by the PADS, applying the data policy to the data and storing the data in association with the data policy (¶ 61-65, 53, consulting, mapping, applying, and storing data in association with data policy; ¶ 23-25; 48-49);
receiving, by the PADS from a second entity of the edge environment, a request for the data by the PADS, enabling data policy-controlled access, by the second entity, to the data (abstract, receiving request for data access and enabling access to data; see also ¶ 19-20).
Regarding claim 2, 12,
Todd teaches:
wherein the data policy that is applied is based on the confidence score (¶ 23-25, 45, 48-49, 61-65).
Regarding claim 4, 14,
Todd teaches:
wherein the first entity and the second entity comprise respective nodes of a DCF (¶ 19, 21, 71-72).
Regarding claim 7, 17,
Todd teaches:
wherein the confidence score is a function of a trustworthiness of the first entity (¶ 17-23).
Regarding claim 8, 18,
Todd teaches:
wherein a lower value of the confidence score corresponds to relatively greater restrictions on use of the data than restrictions corresponding to a relatively higher value of the confidence score (¶ 18-19).
Claim 11 is addressed by similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5-6, 10, 13, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todd in view of US 20240283826 to Ganguli.
Regarding claim 3, 13,
Todd fails to teach but Ganguli teaches:
wherein the data policy comprises a privacy requirement concerning the data (¶ 7-10, privacy requirement based on identity, etc).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Ganguli. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Ganguli would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating access control and verification (Ganguli, ¶ 4-10).
Regarding claim 5, 15,
Ganguli teaches:
wherein the data policy is updated automatically in response to a change in a data access requirement concerning the data (¶ 8, 64, adaptive controls based on changes in behavior or context; ¶ 70, policy, rules, configuration changes and remediation). Motivation to include Ganguli is the same as presented above.
Regarding claim 6, 16,
Ganguli teaches:
wherein the data policy is updated automatically in response to a change in the confidence score (¶ 64, 87, ¶ 165, policy updates based on change in risk/confidence). Motivation to include Ganguli is the same as presented above.
Regarding claim 10, 20,
Ganguli teaches:
wherein the data policy comprises a security requirement concerning the data (¶ 171-173, 212, 229-231). Motivation to include Ganguli is the same as presented above.
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN J JAKOVAC whose telephone number is (571)270-5003. The examiner can normally be reached on 8-4 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oscar A. Louie can be reached on 572-270-1684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RYAN J JAKOVAC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445