DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive due to the following: -
With respect to (Claim 1 /A); Applicant argues in bullet A, pages 1-6 of Remarks filed on 06/23/2026. In accordance with broadest reasonable interpretation, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because the combination of Migita and Czubarow does teach and suggest every single limitation required by claim 1. The Examiner does not understand how come the Applicant came to these fully incorrect deductions because Migita and Czubarow are loud and clear to explicitly disclose every single feature recited in claim 1, because again the range of the ratio is the adjustable thickness of any layer as desired by the user. In other words, the Examiner does not understand the Applicant's point of view nor how to further discuss any pertinent argument because the whole Applicant's arguments revolve around negating the yeses without any scientific proof nor any explanation at the least whatsoever.
With respect to (Claim 10 /B); Applicant argues in bullet B, page 6 of Remarks filed on 06/23/2026. In accordance with broadest reasonable interpretation, the Examiner respectfully disagrees due to the same reason that has already been stated/discussed above in bullet A. {See discussion of bullet A}
Thus, for the reasons mentioned above, the rejection of claims 1 and 10 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Migita (US Publication No. 20110058303) in view of Czubarow et al (US Publication No. 20070152195).
Regarding claim 1, Migita discloses a retention device (i.e., such as retention device 1; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) comprising: a retention member (i.e., such as retention member 5; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) having a retention surface (i.e., such as retention surface 15; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) for retaining a target object (i.e., such as target object wafer; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]); a base member (i.e., such as base member 3; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) placed on a side (i.e., such as side bottom face of layer 91; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) of the retention member (i.e., such as retention member 5; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) opposite (i.e., such as bottom base member 3 is opposite to top retention member 5; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) to the retention surface side (i.e., such as retention surface 15; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]); and a joining layer (i.e., such as joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) joining the retention member (i.e., such as retention member 5; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) and the base member (i.e., such as base member 3; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) and containing a plurality of fillers (i.e., such as plurality of fillers 51 in layers 94, 92, and 91 of joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]), wherein the retention device (i.e., such as retention device 1; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) satisfies at least one of the following conditions (A) to (C), Condition (A): the fillers (i.e., such as fillers 51 in layers 94, 92, and 91 of joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) include at least either first fillers (i.e., such as fillers 51 in layers 94, 92, and 91 of joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) in contact (i.e., such as layer 94 is in contact with retention member 5; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) with the retention member (i.e., such as retention member 5; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) or second fillers (i.e., such as fillers 51 in layers 94, 92, and 91 of joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) in contact (i.e., such as layer 91 is in contact with base member 3; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) with the base member (i.e., such as base member 3; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]), Condition (B): when a ratio (i.e., such as ratio; for instance, the proportion of surface area of the filler 51 contained in the bonding layer 90 may be determined as follows. In a cross section that is perpendicular to the principal surface of the insulating layer 5 and includes the first layer 91 and the second layer 92, border lines between the bonding layer 90 and the filler 51 in the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 are respectively measured and summed up. The sum of the border lines in each layer is divided by the entire cross-sectional area of each layer, which is taken as the proportion of surface area of the filler 51. The proportion of surface area of the filler 51 can be compared between the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 by using the proportion of the surface area determined as described above. While evaluation may be made for the entire cross section as described above, a part of the cross section may also be evaluated for the sake of convenience; see for example fig. 12, para. [0113]) of a sum of cross-sectional areas (i.e., such as sum of cross-sectional areas; for instance, the proportion of surface area of the filler 51 contained in the bonding layer 90 may be determined as follows. In a cross section that is perpendicular to the principal surface of the insulating layer 5 and includes the first layer 91 and the second layer 92, border lines between the bonding layer 90 and the filler 51 in the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 are respectively measured and summed up. The sum of the border lines in each layer is divided by the entire cross-sectional area of each layer, which is taken as the proportion of surface area of the filler 51. The proportion of surface area of the filler 51 can be compared between the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 by using the proportion of the surface area determined as described above. While evaluation may be made for the entire cross section as described above, a part of the cross section may also be evaluated for the sake of convenience; see for example fig. 12, para. [0113]) of the fillers (i.e., such as fillers 51 in layers 94, 92, and 91 of joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) in a first range of 1 mum or less (i.e., such as first range of 1 mum with respect to layer 94; for instance, the mean particle size of filler material such as Resin Composite is in range of (0.1-1.5 mum). It is preferable that mean particle size of the filler 51 contained in the second layer 92 is smaller than mean particle size of the filler 51 contained in the first layer 91. This enables it to improve durability of the bonding layer 90 while suppressing the content of the filler 51 contained in the second layer 92 and improving soaking properties of the bonding layer 90. Higher content of the filler 51 leads to higher soaking properties, but results in lower durability. However, the constitution described above enables it to increase the surface area of the filler 51 while suppressing the content of the filler 51, so that durability of the second layer 92 can be improved while improving soaking properties the second layer 92; see for example fig. 12, para. [0114]) from an interface (i.e., such as interface of layer 94 with respect to retention member 5; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) of the joining layer (i.e., such as joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) with the retention member (i.e., such as retention member 5; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) to a cross-sectional area (i.e., such as cross-sectional area; for instance, the proportion of surface area of the filler 51 contained in the bonding layer 90 may be determined as follows. In a cross section that is perpendicular to the principal surface of the insulating layer 5 and includes the first layer 91 and the second layer 92, border lines between the bonding layer 90 and the filler 51 in the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 are respectively measured and summed up. The sum of the border lines in each layer is divided by the entire cross-sectional area of each layer, which is taken as the proportion of surface area of the filler 51. The proportion of surface area of the filler 51 can be compared between the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 by using the proportion of the surface area determined as described above. While evaluation may be made for the entire cross section as described above, a part of the cross section may also be evaluated for the sake of convenience; see for example fig. 12, para. [0113]) of the first range (i.e., such as first range of 1 mum with respect to layer 94; for instance, the mean particle size of filler material such as Resin Composite is in range of (0.1-1.5 mum). It is preferable that mean particle size of the filler 51 contained in the second layer 92 is smaller than mean particle size of the filler 51 contained in the first layer 91. This enables it to improve durability of the bonding layer 90 while suppressing the content of the filler 51 contained in the second layer 92 and improving soaking properties of the bonding layer 90. Higher content of the filler 51 leads to higher soaking properties, but results in lower durability. However, the constitution described above enables it to increase the surface area of the filler 51 while suppressing the content of the filler 51, so that durability of the second layer 92 can be improved while improving soaking properties the second layer 92; see for example fig. 12, para. [0114]) is defined as a first ratio (i.e., such as first ratio proportional region 94; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]), a ratio (i.e., such as ratio; for instance, the proportion of surface area of the filler 51 contained in the bonding layer 90 may be determined as follows. In a cross section that is perpendicular to the principal surface of the insulating layer 5 and includes the first layer 91 and the second layer 92, border lines between the bonding layer 90 and the filler 51 in the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 are respectively measured and summed up. The sum of the border lines in each layer is divided by the entire cross-sectional area of each layer, which is taken as the proportion of surface area of the filler 51. The proportion of surface area of the filler 51 can be compared between the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 by using the proportion of the surface area determined as described above. While evaluation may be made for the entire cross section as described above, a part of the cross section may also be evaluated for the sake of convenience; see for example fig. 12, para. [0113]) of a sum of cross-sectional areas (i.e., such as sum of cross-sectional areas; for instance, the proportion of surface area of the filler 51 contained in the bonding layer 90 may be determined as follows. In a cross section that is perpendicular to the principal surface of the insulating layer 5 and includes the first layer 91 and the second layer 92, border lines between the bonding layer 90 and the filler 51 in the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 are respectively measured and summed up. The sum of the border lines in each layer is divided by the entire cross-sectional area of each layer, which is taken as the proportion of surface area of the filler 51. The proportion of surface area of the filler 51 can be compared between the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 by using the proportion of the surface area determined as described above. While evaluation may be made for the entire cross section as described above, a part of the cross section may also be evaluated for the sake of convenience; see for example fig. 12, para. [0113]) of the fillers (i.e., such as fillers 51 in layers 94, 92, and 91 of joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) in a second range of 1 mum or less (i.e., such as second range of 1 mum with respect to layer 91; for instance, the mean particle size of filler material such as Resin Composite is in range of (0.1-1.5 mum). It is preferable that mean particle size of the filler 51 contained in the second layer 92 is smaller than mean particle size of the filler 51 contained in the first layer 91. This enables it to improve durability of the bonding layer 90 while suppressing the content of the filler 51 contained in the second layer 92 and improving soaking properties of the bonding layer 90. Higher content of the filler 51 leads to higher soaking properties, but results in lower durability. However, the constitution described above enables it to increase the surface area of the filler 51 while suppressing the content of the filler 51, so that durability of the second layer 92 can be improved while improving soaking properties the second layer 92; see for example fig. 12, para. [0114]) from an interface (i.e., such as interface of layer 91 with respect to base member 3; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) of the joining layer (i.e., such as joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) with the base member (i.e., such as base member 3; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) to a cross-sectional area (i.e., such as cross-sectional area; for instance, the proportion of surface area of the filler 51 contained in the bonding layer 90 may be determined as follows. In a cross section that is perpendicular to the principal surface of the insulating layer 5 and includes the first layer 91 and the second layer 92, border lines between the bonding layer 90 and the filler 51 in the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 are respectively measured and summed up. The sum of the border lines in each layer is divided by the entire cross-sectional area of each layer, which is taken as the proportion of surface area of the filler 51. The proportion of surface area of the filler 51 can be compared between the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 by using the proportion of the surface area determined as described above. While evaluation may be made for the entire cross section as described above, a part of the cross section may also be evaluated for the sake of convenience; see for example fig. 12, para. [0113]) of the second range (i.e., such as second range of 1 mum with respect to layer 91; for instance, the mean particle size of filler material such as Resin Composite is in range of (0.1-1.5 mum). It is preferable that mean particle size of the filler 51 contained in the second layer 92 is smaller than mean particle size of the filler 51 contained in the first layer 91. This enables it to improve durability of the bonding layer 90 while suppressing the content of the filler 51 contained in the second layer 92 and improving soaking properties of the bonding layer 90. Higher content of the filler 51 leads to higher soaking properties, but results in lower durability. However, the constitution described above enables it to increase the surface area of the filler 51 while suppressing the content of the filler 51, so that durability of the second layer 92 can be improved while improving soaking properties the second layer 92; see for example fig. 12, para. [0114]) is defined as a second ratio (i.e., such as second ratio proportional region 91; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]), and a ratio (i.e., such as ratio; for instance, the proportion of surface area of the filler 51 contained in the bonding layer 90 may be determined as follows. In a cross section that is perpendicular to the principal surface of the insulating layer 5 and includes the first layer 91 and the second layer 92, border lines between the bonding layer 90 and the filler 51 in the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 are respectively measured and summed up. The sum of the border lines in each layer is divided by the entire cross-sectional area of each layer, which is taken as the proportion of surface area of the filler 51. The proportion of surface area of the filler 51 can be compared between the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 by using the proportion of the surface area determined as described above. While evaluation may be made for the entire cross section as described above, a part of the cross section may also be evaluated for the sake of convenience; see for example fig. 12, para. [0113]) of a sum of cross-sectional areas (i.e., such as sum of cross-sectional areas; for instance, the proportion of surface area of the filler 51 contained in the bonding layer 90 may be determined as follows. In a cross section that is perpendicular to the principal surface of the insulating layer 5 and includes the first layer 91 and the second layer 92, border lines between the bonding layer 90 and the filler 51 in the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 are respectively measured and summed up. The sum of the border lines in each layer is divided by the entire cross-sectional area of each layer, which is taken as the proportion of surface area of the filler 51. The proportion of surface area of the filler 51 can be compared between the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 by using the proportion of the surface area determined as described above. While evaluation may be made for the entire cross section as described above, a part of the cross section may also be evaluated for the sake of convenience; see for example fig. 12, para. [0113]) of the fillers (i.e., such as fillers 51 in layers 94, 92, and 91 of joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) in a third range of 30% or less (i.e., such as third range of 30% or less with respect to the region of layer 92; for instance, the total thickness of joining layer 90 is 100%, so if 30% is allocated for example to layer 92, this will leave 70% distributed between layer 94 and layer 91, and the 70% can be allocated between the 94/91 layers as desired by the manufacturer to improve bonding between the layers that constitute the bonding layer or joining layer 90. Similarly, the allocation of thickness may be maneuvered among any of the layers 94, 92, and 91 as needed to enhance the overall thermal uniformity. It is preferable that the fourth layer 94 is thinner than the second layer 92 in thickness. This improves the bonding strength between the insulating material 5 and the bonding layer 90 by means of the fourth layer 94, while improving soaking properties by the second layer 92; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) of a thickness (i.e., such as thickness of the joining layer 90 is 100%; for instance, the total thickness of joining layer 90 is 100%, so if 30% is allocated for example to layer 92, this will leave 70% distributed between layer 94 and layer 91, and the 70% can be allocated between the 94/91 layers as desired by the manufacturer to improve bonding between the layers that constitute the bonding layer or joining layer 90. Similarly, the allocation of thickness may be maneuvered among any of the layers 94, 92, and 91 as needed to enhance the overall thermal uniformity. It is preferable that the fourth layer 94 is thinner than the second layer 92 in thickness. This improves the bonding strength between the insulating material 5 and the bonding layer 90 by means of the fourth layer 94, while improving soaking properties by the second layer 92; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) of the joining layer (i.e., such as joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) from a center (i.e., such as center of the 100% thickness of the joining layer 90 as to split 50% thickness upward towards the retention member 5, and 50% thickness downward towards the base member 3; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) of the joining layer (i.e., such as joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) in a thickness direction (i.e., such as thickness direction as in Y-axis/vertical-direction of bonding/joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) of the joining layer (i.e., such as joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) to the retention member side (i.e., such as retention member 5; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) and a range of 30% or less (i.e., such as range of 30% or less with respect to the region of layer 92; for instance, the total thickness of joining layer 90 is 100%, so if 30% is allocated for example to layer 92, this will leave 70% distributed between layer 94 and layer 91, and the 70% can be allocated between the 94/91 layers as desired by the manufacturer to improve bonding between the layers that constitute the bonding layer or joining layer 90. Similarly, the allocation of thickness may be maneuvered among any of the layers 94, 92, and 91 as needed to enhance the overall thermal uniformity. It is preferable that the fourth layer 94 is thinner than the second layer 92 in thickness. This improves the bonding strength between the insulating material 5 and the bonding layer 90 by means of the fourth layer 94, while improving soaking properties by the second layer 92; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) of the thickness (i.e., such as thickness of the joining layer 90 is 100%; for instance, the total thickness of joining layer 90 is 100%, so if 30% is allocated for example to layer 92, this will leave 70% distributed between layer 94 and layer 91, and the 70% can be allocated between the 94/91 layers as desired by the manufacturer to improve bonding between the layers that constitute the bonding layer or joining layer 90. Similarly, the allocation of thickness may be maneuvered among any of the layers 94, 92, and 91 as needed to enhance the overall thermal uniformity. It is preferable that the fourth layer 94 is thinner than the second layer 92 in thickness. This improves the bonding strength between the insulating material 5 and the bonding layer 90 by means of the fourth layer 94, while improving soaking properties by the second layer 92; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) of the joining layer (i.e., such as joining layer 90; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) from the center (i.e., such as center of the 100% thickness of the joining layer 90 as to split 50% thickness upward towards retention member 5, and 50% thickness downward towards base member 3; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) to the base member side (i.e., such as base member 3; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) to a cross-sectional area (i.e., such as cross-sectional area; for instance, the proportion of surface area of the filler 51 contained in the bonding layer 90 may be determined as follows. In a cross section that is perpendicular to the principal surface of the insulating layer 5 and includes the first layer 91 and the second layer 92, border lines between the bonding layer 90 and the filler 51 in the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 are respectively measured and summed up. The sum of the border lines in each layer is divided by the entire cross-sectional area of each layer, which is taken as the proportion of surface area of the filler 51. The proportion of surface area of the filler 51 can be compared between the first layer 91 and the second layer 92 by using the proportion of the surface area determined as described above. While evaluation may be made for the entire cross section as described above, a part of the cross section may also be evaluated for the sake of convenience; see for example fig. 12, para. [0113]) of the third range (i.e., such as third range of 30% or less with respect to the region of layer 92; for instance, the total thickness of joining layer 90 is 100%, so if 30% is allocated for example to layer 92, this will leave 70% distributed between layer 94 and layer 91, and the 70% can be allocated between the 94/91 layers as desired by the manufacturer to improve bonding between the layers that constitute the bonding layer or joining layer 90. Similarly, the allocation of thickness may be maneuvered among any of the layers 94, 92, and 91 as needed to enhance the overall thermal uniformity. It is preferable that the fourth layer 94 is thinner than the second layer 92 in thickness. This improves the bonding strength between the insulating material 5 and the bonding layer 90 by means of the fourth layer 94, while improving soaking properties by the second layer 92; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) is defined as a third ratio (i.e., such as third ratio proportional region 92; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]), at least one of a value (i.e., such as value of layer thickness variation; for instance, if the first ratio/layer-94/A is 25%, the second ratio/layer-91/B is 25%, and the third ratio/layer-92/C is 50%, the value will be A/C = B/C = 25%/50% = 1/2 = 0.5, and that is an even thickness allocation to layer thickness variation, as the middle/center is 50%, and equal top-bottom portions of 25%. Also, this value can be adjusted as desired to improve the overall thermal uniformity of the wafer processing member; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) obtained by dividing the first ratio (i.e., such as first ratio proportional region 94; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) by the third ratio (i.e., such as third ratio proportional region 92; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) and a value (i.e., such as value of layer thickness variation; for instance, if the first ratio/layer-94/A is 25%, the second ratio/layer-91/B is 25%, and the third ratio/layer-92/C is 50%, the value will be A/C = B/C = 25%/50% = 1/2 = 0.5, and that is an even thickness allocation to layer thickness variation, as the middle/center is 50%, and equal top-bottom portions of 25%. Also, this value can be adjusted as desired to improve the overall thermal uniformity of the wafer processing member; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) obtained by dividing the second ratio (i.e., such as second ratio proportional region 91; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) by the third ratio (i.e., such as third ratio proportional region 92; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]) is 0.5 or greater (i.e., such as 0.5 or greater; for instance, if the first ratio/layer-94/A is 30%, the second ratio/layer-91/B is 30%, and the third ratio/layer-92/C is 40%, the value will be A/C = B/C = 30%/40% = 3/4 = 0.75, and that is an even thickness allocation to layer thickness variation, as the middle/center is 40%, and equal top-bottom portions of 30%. Also, this value can be adjusted as desired to improve the overall thermal uniformity of the wafer processing member; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]).
Migita does not explicitly disclose and Condition (C): among the fillers, a number of the fillers having an aspect ratio of 1.4 or greater is larger than a number of the fillers having an aspect ratio of less than 1.4.
Czubarow discloses an electrostatic dissipative composite material (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0040]); wherein among the fillers (i.e., such as among the fillers; for instance, mixtures of these fillers may be used to further tailor the properties of the resulting composite materials, such as resistivity, surface resistance, and mechanical properties. Further electrical properties may be influenced by doping oxides with other oxides or by tailoring the degree of non-stoichiometric oxidation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0023]), a number of the fillers (i.e., such as number of the fillers; for instance, the solvent ratio may result from mixing prior to adding reactant, may result from combining two reactant mixtures, or may result from addition of solvents or water entraining components during various parts of the process.
In one exemplary embodiment, the resulting solvent mixture, such as the solvent mixture during polygamic acid iridization, includes an aprotic dipolar solvent and a non-polar solvent. The aprotic dipolar solvent and non-polar solvent may form a mixture having a ratio of 1:9 to 9:1 aprotic dipolar solvent to non-polar solvent, such as 1:3 to 6:1. For example, the ratio may be 1:1 to 6: 1, such as 3.5:1 to 4:1 aprotic dipolar solvent to non-polar solvent; see for example fig. 1, para. [0038]) having an aspect ratio of 1.4 or greater (i.e., such as aspect ratio of 1.4 or greater as of 1.5; for instance, the particular material has a low aspect ratio. The aspect ratio is an average ratio of the longest dimension of a particle to the second longest dimension perpendicular to the longest dimension. For example, the particulate material may have an average aspect ratio not greater than about 2.0, such as not greater than about 1.5, or about 1.0. In a particular example, the particulate material is generally spherical; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]) is larger (i.e., such as larger as in 9 to 1 ratio; for instance, for instance, the solvent ratio may result from mixing prior to adding reactant, may result from combining two reactant mixtures, or may result from addition of solvents or water entraining components during various parts of the process. In one exemplary embodiment, the resulting solvent mixture, such as the solvent mixture during polygamic acid iridization, includes an aprotic dipolar solvent and a non-polar solvent. The aprotic dipolar solvent and non-polar solvent may form a mixture having a ratio of 1:9 to 9:1 aprotic dipolar solvent to non-polar solvent, such as 1:3 to 6:1. For example, the ratio may be 1:1 to 6: 1, such as 3.5:1 to 4:1 aprotic dipolar solvent to non-polar solvent; see for example fig. 1, para. [0038]) than a number of the fillers (i.e., such as number of the fillers; for instance, the solvent ratio may result from mixing prior to adding reactant, may result from combining two reactant mixtures, or may result from addition of solvents or water entraining components during various parts of the process. In one exemplary embodiment, the resulting solvent mixture, such as the solvent mixture during polygamic acid iridization, includes an aprotic dipolar solvent and a non-polar solvent. The aprotic dipolar solvent and non-polar solvent may form a mixture having a ratio of 1:9 to 9:1 aprotic dipolar solvent to non-polar solvent, such as 1:3 to 6:1. For example, the ratio may be 1:1 to 6: 1, such as 3.5:1 to 4:1 aprotic dipolar solvent to non-polar solvent; see for example fig. 1, para. [0038]) having an aspect ratio of less than 1.4 (i.e., such as aspect ratio of less than 1.4 as of 1; for instance, the particular material has a low aspect ratio. The aspect ratio is an average ratio of the longest dimension of a particle to the second longest dimension perpendicular to the longest dimension. For example, the particulate material may have an average aspect ratio not greater than about 2.0, such as not greater than about 1.5, or about 1.0. In a particular example, the particulate material is generally spherical; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the filler material specs in Migita, as taught by Czubarow, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards efficiently dissipating the electrostatic charges during wafer processing.
Regarding claim 10, Migita in view of Czubarow and the teachings of Migita as modified by Czubarow have been discussed above.
Migita further discloses the retention device (i.e., such as retention device 1; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]); an electrostatic chuck (i.e., such as ESC 200; see for example fig. 15, para. [0132]- [0134]) comprising: the retention device (i.e., such as retention device 1; see for example fig. 12, para. [0128]- [0130]); and an electrostatic electrode (i.e., such as electrostatic electrode 21; see for example fig. 15, para. [0132]- [0134]) configured to generate electrostatic attraction (i.e., such as generate electrostatic attraction; for instance, semiconductor wafer can be attracted onto the electrostatic chuck 200 by placing the semiconductor wafer on the mounting surface of the insulating material 5 and energizing the electrode 21; see for example fig. 15, para. [0132]- [0134]) on the retention surface (i.e., such as retention surface 15; see for example fig. 15, para. [0132]- [0134]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Migita in view of Czubarow teaches the invention set forth above. However, Neither Migita nor Czubarow particularly teaches wherein the retention device satisfies at least the condition (A), and at least either the first fillers or the second fillers contained in the joining layer include large-diameter fillers having a grain size larger than an average grain size of the fillers.
Hence claim 2 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 3-4 depend on objected claim 2, consequently claims 3-4 will also be deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 5, Migita in view of Czubarow teaches the invention set forth above. However, Neither Migita nor Czubarow particularly teaches wherein the retention device satisfies at least the condition (A), and at least either the first fillers or the second fillers contained in the joining layer include the fillers having an aspect ratio of 1.4 or greater.
Hence claim 5 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 6-7 depend on objected claim 5, consequently claims 6-7 will also be deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 8, Migita in view of Czubarow teaches the invention set forth above. However, Neither Migita nor Czubarow particularly teaches wherein the retention device satisfies at least the condition (A), on at least either a portion of the retention member that is joined to the joining layer or a portion of the base member that is joined to the joining layer, recesses are formed so as to be recessed deeper than an average grain size of the fillers, depths of the recesses are larger than the average grain size, and the recesses are filled with the joining layer, and large-diameter fillers having a grain size larger than the average grain size of the fillers are in contact with surfaces defining the recesses.
Hence claim 8 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 9, Migita in view of Czubarow teaches the invention set forth above. However, Neither Migita nor Czubarow particularly teaches wherein the retention device satisfies at least the condition (A), on at least either a portion of the retention member that is joined to the joining layer or a portion of the base member that is joined to the joining layer, recesses are formed so as to be recessed deeper than an average grain size of the fillers, depths of the recesses are larger than the average grain size, and the recesses are filled with the joining layer, and the fillers having an aspect ratio of 1.4 or greater are in contact with surfaces defining the recesses.
Hence claim 9 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838