DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 4 - 9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,417,176 and claims 1 – 6 of US Patent No. 12,020,545 and in view of Thompson et al (US 11,523,161) in further view of Marshall. ‘176 and ‘545 fails to explicitly disclose a wager review module that is configured to: search the recording database for video files that match at least one play ID in the wager database wherein each play ID corresponds to a video file segment defined by a respective start time and a respective end time; extract video files that match the at least one play ID in the wager database from the recording database; and insert details related to the placed wager into the video file matching the at least one play ID that identifies a video file of the upcoming action in the recording database, wherein the video file of the upcoming action includes a graphic of a result of the placed wager that is displayed when the video is accessed and viewed; and a base wagering module that associates the at least one play ID with a user when the user places a wager on the upcoming action
However, However, in a similar field of endeavor wherein a user can wager upon sports games, Thompson discloses fantasy sports system that enables a player to wager upon games, wherein the system will provide video clips or segments to a client device wherein the clips are augmented with further information that is relevant to a user’s interests (Thompson 0043). Thompson discloses the use of a video content that is generated wherein the content may be live or delayed actual gameplay, replay, or commentators, fantasy information etc. that may be segmented into clips (Thompson 0049 – 0052). Thompson teaches clips being stored in a clip database (Thompson 0396 – 0397). Thompson further teaches a user making a wager and the system identifying relevant clips related to the player wager (i.e. searching and extracting clips) that correspond to the players identified wager (i.e. play ID) (Thompson 0173, 0548 – 0570, 0572). Thompson further teaches the annotating of the video clips with information related to the placed wager (Thompson 0574).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify ‘176 and ‘545 in view of Thompson to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to utilize a technique that provides users with video clips that have been searched and extracted based upon matching features of a wager that the user has submitted and annotating the clip to provide the user with more information pertaining to the placed wager. This would be beneficial as Thompson teaches “The techniques described herein provide numerous enhancements that, in some examples, provide fantasy sports scores along with clips and other rich content tailored to the user's fantasy sports team(s) and other interests. For instance, in some examples, a user's fantasy sports points may be provided in association with one or more clips depicting plays or other events that resulted in awarding of the fantasy sports points to the user. “ (Thompson 0044).
In a similar field of endeavor, wherein a user can wager upon sporting events wherein a user can wager upon, for example, a horse race and the system will then ask the user if they would like to save the race they wagered upon in storage (Marshall 0132 – 0134). Marshall further teaches that the storing of save videos that are organized and associated with a play ID in order to be searchable so that the video can be later accessed by a user. Marshall teaches “For example, as shown, stored videos 2406 are displayed listing the track, race number, date and winner of each race. This allows a user to easily find a stored video. Highlight region 706 is currently highlighting the track caption. Sort icon 2408 is pointing down. This indicates that the stored videos are sorted alphabetically by track in ascending order. By selecting the track icon with highlight region 706, the sort order can reversed. If the sort order was reversed, then sort icon 2408 would point up instead of down. The stored videos can also be sorted by any of the other captions, such as by race, date, or name of the winner horse. This may be performed by navigating highlight region 706 to the desired caption and selection that caption. In addition, stored videos 2406 may also be listed according to any other race information associated with the races. For example, stored videos 2406 may be listed according to trainer name, jockey name, the horse name wagered upon, or any other suitable race information. The race information may be obtained from the racing data provided to the interactive wagering application. The race information may be stored with each respective stored video 2406 or separately. Arrow 1104 in window 2402 indicates that additional stored videos 2406 are available.” (Marshall 0137). The video files are also associated with a start and end time as can be seen by the user being able to scrub the video timeline “By selecting and dragging slider 3406, the user may rewind, fast-forward, slow down, or stop the video of the race. Slider 3406 also indicates how much of the video has been displayed and how much of the video remains.” (Marshall 0148)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify ‘176 and ‘545 in view of Thompson in view of Marshall to utilize a known technique to modify similar devices in the same way by means of associating stored video clips of wagering plays with a play ID that corresponds to a video file that has a start and end time. This would be beneficial to a user accessing their save files as they would have an intuitive way to efficiently sort and find horse races video clips that are of interest to them when they have wagered upon that particular race.
US Patent No. 11,417,176
Application 18/746,514
1. A system for modifying a video file of a live sporting event to include details related to a wager placed on a play by play wagering system, comprising:
a wager database storing wagers made on a next action during the live sporting event;
a recording database that creates and stores a video file that includes the next action of the live sporting event related to a wager placed on the next action of the live sporting event;
a wager review module, wherein the wager review module inserts details of the placed wager into the video file of the next action upon which the wager was made, and the video file of the next action includes a user ID associated with the placed wager, details of the placed wager, and a graphic of a result of the placed wager that is displayed when the video is accessed and viewed; and
a base wagering module that creates a first timestamp at a beginning of the next action upon which a wager can be placed, wherein the first timestamp is made upon closing of a first time window upon which the wager on the next action can be placed, and a second timestamp at an end of the next action upon which the wager can be placed, wherein the second timestamp is made upon opening of a second time window upon which a wager on a future action immediately subsequent to the next action can be placed, the video file of the next action is based on the first time stamp and the second time stamp, and stores the video file in the recording database.
1. A system comprising:
a wager database that is configured to store wagers made on an upcoming action during a live sporting event;
a recording database that is configured to create and store one or more video files that include the upcoming action of the live sporting event related to a placed wager on the upcoming action of the live sporting event;
a wager review module that is configured to:
search the recording database for video files that match at least one play ID in the wager database wherein each play ID corresponds to a video file segment defined by a respective start time and a respective end time;
extract video files that match the at least one play ID in the wager database from the recording database: and insert details related to the placed wager into the video file matching the at least one play ID that identifies a video file of the upcoming action in the recording database; and
a base wagering module that associates the at least one play ID with a user when the user places a wager on the upcoming action.
2. The system for modifying the video file of the live sporting event to include details related to the wager placed on the play by play wagering system of claim 1,
wherein the wager review module extracts the video file from the video database upon a determination that the video file matches data in an event wager database.
See Claim 1 of ‘514
See Claim 1 of ‘176
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the wager database comprises one or more live game IDs, one or more user IDs, and one or more wagers associated with the one or more live game IDs and the one or more user IDs
3. The system for modifying the video file of the live sporting event to include details related to the wager placed on the play by play wagering system of claim 1,
further comprising: a clip database containing one or more files of live event data combined with wager data.
5. The system of claim 1,
further comprising: a clip database containing one or more files of live event data combined with wager data.
See Claim 1 of ‘176
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the video file of the upcoming action includes a user ID associated with the placed wager.
See Claim 1 of ‘176
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the base wagering module is configured to create a first timestamp at the beginning of the upcoming action upon which a wager can be placed, wherein the first timestamp is made upon closing of a first time window, and a second timestamp associated with settlement of the wager on the upcoming action, wherein the second timestamp is made upon opening of a second time window upon which a wager on a future action subsequent to the upcoming action can be placed, the video file of the upcoming action is based on the first timestamp and the second timestamp, and the base wagering module is configured to store the video file in the recording database.
See Claim 1 of ‘176
8. A system comprising:
a wager database that is configured to store wagers made on an upcoming action during a live sporting event;
a recording database that is configured to create and store one or more video files that include the upcoming action of the live sporting event related to a placed wager on the upcoming action of the live sporting event;
a wager review module that is configured to:
search the recording database for video files that match at least one play ID in the wager database, wherein each play ID corresponds to a video file segment defined by a respective start time and a respective end time;
extract video files that match the at least one play ID in the wager database from the recording database; and
insert details related to the placed wager into the video file matching the at least one play ID that identifies a video file of the upcoming action in the recording database, wherein the video file of the upcoming action includes user data associated with the placed wager and details of the placed wager;
a base wagering module that associates the at least one play ID with a user when the user places a wager on the upcoming action.
See Claim 1 of ‘176
9. A system comprising:
a wager database that is configured to store wagers made on an upcoming action during a live sporting event;
a recording database that is configured to create and store a video file that includes the upcoming action of the live sporting event related to a wager placed on the upcoming action of the live sporting event;
a wager review module that is configured to:
search the recording database for video files that match at least one play ID in the wager database, wherein each play ID corresponds to a video file segment defined by a respective start time and a respective end time;
extract video files that match the at least one play ID in the wager database from the recording database;
and insert details related to the placed wager into the video file matching the at least one play ID that identifies a video file of the upcoming action in the recording database, wherein the video file of the upcoming action includes a graphic of a result of the placed wager that is displayed when the video is accessed and viewed; and
a base wagering module that associates the at least one play ID with a user when the user places a wager on the upcoming action.
US Patent No. 12,020,545
Application 18/746,514
1. A system for modifying a video file of a live sporting event to include details related to a wager placed on a play by play wagering system, comprising:
a wager database storing wagers made on a next action during the live sporting event;
a recording database that creates and stores a video file that includes the next action of the live sporting event related to a wager placed on the next action of the live sporting event;
a wager review module, wherein the wager review module inserts details of the placed wager into the video file of the next action upon which the wager was made, and the video file of the next action includes a user ID associated with the placed wager, details of the placed wager, and a graphic of a result of the placed wager that is displayed when the video is accessed and viewed; and
a base wagering module that creates a first timestamp at a beginning of the next action upon which a wager can be placed, wherein the first timestamp is made upon closing of a first time window upon which the wager on the next action can be placed, and a second timestamp at an end of the next action upon which the wager can be placed, wherein the second timestamp is made upon opening of a second time window upon which a wager on a future action immediately subsequent to the next action can be placed, the video file of the next action is based on the first time stamp and the second time stamp, and stores the video file in the recording database.
1. A system comprising:
a wager database that is configured to store wagers made on an upcoming action during a live sporting event;
a recording database that is configured to create and store one or more video files that include the upcoming action of the live sporting event related to a placed wager on the upcoming action of the live sporting event;
a wager review module that is configured to:
search the recording database for video files that match at least one play ID in the wager database wherein each play ID corresponds to a video file segment defined by a respective start time and a respective end time;
extract video files that match the at least one play ID in the wager database from the recording database: and insert details related to the placed wager into the video file matching the at least one play ID that identifies a video file of the upcoming action in the recording database; and
a base wagering module that associates the at least one play ID with a user when the user places a wager on the upcoming action.
2. The system for modifying the video file of the live sporting event to include details related to the wager placed on the play by play wagering system of claim 1,
wherein the wager review module extracts the video file from the video database upon a determination that the video file matches data in an event wager database.
See Claim 1 of “514
See Claim 1 of ‘545
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the wager database comprises one or more live game IDs, one or more user IDs, and one or more wagers associated with the one or more live game IDs and the one or more user IDs
3. The system for modifying the video file of the live sporting event to include details related to the wager placed on the play by play wagering system of claim 1,
further comprising: a clip database containing one or more files of live event data combined with wager data.
5. The system of claim 1,
further comprising: a clip database containing one or more files of live event data combined with wager data.
See Claim 1 of ‘545
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the video file of the upcoming action includes a user ID associated with the placed wager.
See Claim 1 of ‘545
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the base wagering module is configured to create a first timestamp at the beginning of the upcoming action upon which a wager can be placed, wherein the first timestamp is made upon closing of a first time window, and a second timestamp associated with settlement of the wager on the upcoming action, wherein the second timestamp is made upon opening of a second time window upon which a wager on a future action subsequent to the upcoming action can be placed, the video file of the upcoming action is based on the first timestamp and the second timestamp, and the base wagering module is configured to store the video file in the recording database.
See Claim 1 of ‘545
8. A system comprising:
a wager database that is configured to store wagers made on an upcoming action during a live sporting event;
a recording database that is configured to create and store one or more video files that include the upcoming action of the live sporting event related to a placed wager on the upcoming action of the live sporting event;
a wager review module that is configured to:
search the recording database for video files that match at least one play ID in the wager database, wherein each play ID corresponds to a video file segment defined by a respective start time and a respective end time;
extract video files that match the at least one play ID in the wager database from the recording database; and
insert details related to the placed wager into the video file matching the at least one play ID that identifies a video file of the upcoming action in the recording database, wherein the video file of the upcoming action includes user data associated with the placed wager and details of the placed wager;
a base wagering module that associates the at least one play ID with a user when the user places a wager on the upcoming action.
See Claim 1 of ‘545
9. A system comprising:
a wager database that is configured to store wagers made on an upcoming action during a live sporting event;
a recording database that is configured to create and store a video file that includes the upcoming action of the live sporting event related to a wager placed on the upcoming action of the live sporting event;
a wager review module that is configured to:
search the recording database for video files that match at least one play ID in the wager database, wherein each play ID corresponds to a video file segment defined by a respective start time and a respective end time;
extract video files that match the at least one play ID in the wager database from the recording database;
and insert details related to the placed wager into the video file matching the at least one play ID that identifies a video file of the upcoming action in the recording database, wherein the video file of the upcoming action includes a graphic of a result of the placed wager that is displayed when the video is accessed and viewed; and
a base wagering module that associates the at least one play ID with a user when the user places a wager on the upcoming action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
This subject matter eligibility analysis follows the latest guidance for Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Claims 1 and 4 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1:
Claims 1 and 4 – 9 are drawn to a system.
Thus, initially, under Step 1 of the analysis, it is noted that the claims are directed towards eligible categories of subject matter.
Step 2A:
Prong 1: Does the Claim recite an Abstract idea, Law of Nature, or Natural Phenomenon?
Claims 1 and 4 - 7 are exemplary because they require substantially the same operative limitations of the remaining claims (reproduced below.) Examiner has underlined the claim limitations which recite the abstract idea, discussed in detail in the paragraphs that follow.
1. (Currently Amended) A system comprising:
a wager database that is configured to store wagers made on an upcoming action during a live sporting event;
a recording database that is configured to create and store one or more video files that include the upcoming action of the live sporting event related to a placed wager on the upcoming action of the live sporting event;
a wager review module that is configured to:
search the recording database for video files that match at least one play ID in the wager database, wherein each play ID corresponds to a video file segment defined by a respective start time and a respective end time;
extract video files that match the at least one play ID in the wager database from the recording database; and
insert details related to the placed wager into the video file matching the at least one play ID that identifies a video file of the upcoming action in the recording database; and
a base wagering module that associates the at least one play ID with a user when the user places a wager on the upcoming action.
The claims recite italicized limitations that fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in the 2019 PEG, namely, Mental Processes
More specifically, under this grouping, the italicized limitations represent concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) . For example, the italicized limitations are directed towards the searching a file storage for files that match some sort of criteria such as play ID that corresponds to a segment with a start and end time, insert details regarding wager details into the file and associating that file with a user when they place a wager.
Prong 2: Does the Claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception in to a practical application of the exception?
Although the claims recite additional limitations, these limitations do not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. For example, the claims require additional limitations as follow, (emphasis added): various databases such a recording databases, wager databases and clip databases.
These additional limitations do not represent an improvement to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, (MPEP 2106.05(a)). Nor do they apply the exception using a particular machine, (MPEP 2106.05(b)). Furthermore, they do not effect a transformation. (MPEP 2106.05(c)). Rather, these additional limitations amount to an instruction to “apply” the judicial exception using a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Therefore, since the additional limitations, individually or in combination, are indistinguishable from a computer used as a tool to perform the abstract idea, the analysis continues to Step 2B, below.
Step 2B:
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they amount to conventional and routine computer implementation and mere instructions for implementing the abstract idea on generic computing devices.
For example, as pointed out above, the claimed invention recites additional elements facilitating implementation of the abstract idea. Applicant has claimed recording databases, wager databases and clip databases. However, all of these elements viewed individually and as a whole, are indistinguishable from conventional computing elements known in the art. Therefore, the additional elements fail to supply additional elements that yield significantly more than the underlying abstract idea.
As the Alice court cautioned, citing Flook, patent eligibility cannot depend simply on the draftsman’s art. Here, amending the claims with generic computing elements does not (in this Examiner’s opinion), confer eligibility.
Regarding the Berkheimer decision, Downes P.E. (US 2003/0199315) establishes that these additional elements are generic:
[0029] The wagering system host 10 is the core processing element in the wagering game system, and is adapted to handle wagering, gaming and bettor accounting functions. Host 10 may comprise a conventional microprocessor based system and/or server. The game/wager database 20, account database 30 and performance statistics database 40 are communicatively coupled to host 10, which selectively accesses, maintains, updates and modifies the databases in a conventional manner. It should be appreciated that the wagering system host 10 need not be a single piece of equipment. Host 10 may comprise a combination of disparate devices that operate under together under stored program control to perform the described functions.
Therefore, these elements fail to supply additional elements that yield significantly more than the underlying abstract idea. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea).
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Moreover, the claims do not recite improvements to another technology or technical field. Nor, do the claims improve the functioning of the underlying computer itself -- they merely recite generic computing elements. Furthermore, they do not effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing: the underlying computing elements remain the same.
Concerning preemption, the Federal Circuit has said in Ariosa Diagnostics, Inc., V. Sequenom, Inc., (Fed Cir. June 12, 2015):
The Supreme Court has made clear that the principle of preemption is the basis for the judicial exceptions to patentability. Alice, 134 S. Ct at 2354 (“We have described the concern that drives this exclusionary principal as one of pre-emption”). For this reason, questions on preemption are inherent in and resolved by the § 101 analysis. The concern is that “patent law not inhibit further discovery by improperly tying up the future use of these building blocks of human ingenuity.” Id. (internal quotations omitted). In other words, patent claims should not prevent the use of the basic building blocks of technology—abstract ideas, naturally occurring phenomena, and natural laws. While preemption may signal patent ineligible subject matter, the absence of complete preemption does not demonstrate patent eligibility. In this case, Sequenom’s attempt to limit the breadth of the claims by showing alternative uses of cffDNA outside of the scope of the claims does not change the conclusion that the claims are directed to patent ineligible subject matter. Where a patent’s claims are deemed only to disclose patent ineligible subject matter under the Mayo framework, as they are in this case, preemption concerns are fully addressed and made moot. (Emphasis added.)
For these reasons, it appears that the claims are not patent-eligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thukral et al (US 2009/0270166) in view of Thompson et al (US 11,523,161) in view of Marshall et al (US 2008/0182651).
As per claim 1, Thukral discloses:
a wager database that is configured to store wagers made on an upcoming action during a live sporting event; (Thukral discloses the use of a tote system or centralized wagering system that receives and stores wagers upon a next event of a live sporting event) (Thukral 0068 – 0069)
a recording database that is configured to create and store one or more video files that include the upcoming action of the live sporting event related to a placed wager on the upcoming action of the live sporting event; (Thukral discloses a recording database storing a video file or a media stream comprising an integrated data feed comprising the sporting event) (Thukral 0034,0038 0055 – 0057, 0068, 0069)
and a base wagering module that associates the at least one play ID with a user when the user places a wager on the upcoming action. (Thukral discloses the user of the system needs to log in to the system (Thukral 0043) and the user then being able to select which races to view, thus the system associates that race video/stream with the user which they can wager upon (Thukral 0039)
Thukral fails to disclose the following:
a wager review module that is configured to:
search the recording database for video files that match at least one play ID in the wager database wherein each play ID corresponds to a video file segment defined by a respective start time and a respective end time;
extract video files that match the at least one play ID in the wager database from the recording database: and
insert details related to the placed wager into the video file matching the at least one play ID that identifies a video file of the upcoming action in the recording database; and
However, in a similar field of endeavor wherein a user can wager upon sports games, Thompson discloses fantasy sports system that enables a player to wager upon games, wherein the system will provide video clips or segments to a client device wherein the clips are augmented with further information that is relevant to a user’s33 interests (Thompson 0043). Thompson discloses the use of a video content that is generated wherein the content may be live or delayed actual gameplay, replay, or commentators, fantasy information etc. that may be segmented into clips (Thompson 0049 – 0052). Thompson teaches clips being stored in a clip database (Thompson 0396 – 0397). Thompson further teaches a user making a wager and the system identifying relevant clips related to the player wager (i.e. searching and extracting clips) that correspond to the players identified wager (i.e. play ID) (Thompson 0173, 0548 – 0570, 0572). Thompson further teaches the annotating of the video clips with information related to the placed wager (Thompson 0574).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Thukral in view of Thompson to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to utilize a technique that provides users with video clips that have been searched and extracted based upon matching features of a wager that the user has submitted and annotating the clip to provide the user with more information pertaining to the placed wager. This would be beneficial as Thompson teaches “The techniques described herein provide numerous enhancements that, in some examples, provide fantasy sports scores along with clips and other rich content tailored to the user's fantasy sports team(s) and other interests. For instance, in some examples, a user's fantasy sports points may be provided in association with one or more clips depicting plays or other events that resulted in awarding of the fantasy sports points to the user. “ (Thompson 0044).
In a similar field of endeavor, wherein a user can wager upon sporting events wherein a user can wager upon, for example, a horse race and the system will then ask the user if they would like to save the race they wagered upon in storage (Marshall 0132 – 0134). Marshall further teaches that the storing of save videos that are organized and associated with a play ID in order to be searchable so that the video can be later accessed by a user. Marshall teaches “For example, as shown, stored videos 2406 are displayed listing the track, race number, date and winner of each race. This allows a user to easily find a stored video. Highlight region 706 is currently highlighting the track caption. Sort icon 2408 is pointing down. This indicates that the stored videos are sorted alphabetically by track in ascending order. By selecting the track icon with highlight region 706, the sort order can reversed. If the sort order was reversed, then sort icon 2408 would point up instead of down. The stored videos can also be sorted by any of the other captions, such as by race, date, or name of the winner horse. This may be performed by navigating highlight region 706 to the desired caption and selection that caption. In addition, stored videos 2406 may also be listed according to any other race information associated with the races. For example, stored videos 2406 may be listed according to trainer name, jockey name, the horse name wagered upon, or any other suitable race information. The race information may be obtained from the racing data provided to the interactive wagering application. The race information may be stored with each respective stored video 2406 or separately. Arrow 1104 in window 2402 indicates that additional stored videos 2406 are available.” (Marshall 0137). The video files are also associated with a start and end time as can be seen by the user being able to scrub the video timeline “By selecting and dragging slider 3406, the user may rewind, fast-forward, slow down, or stop the video of the race. Slider 3406 also indicates how much of the video has been displayed and how much of the video remains.” (Marshall 0148)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Thukral and Thompson in view of Marshall to utilize a known technique to modify similar devices in the same way by means of associating stored video clips of wagering plays with a play ID that corresponds to a video file that has a start and end time. This would be beneficial to a user accessing their save files as they would have an intuitive way to efficiently sort and find horse races video clips that are of interest to them when they have wagered upon that particular race.
As per claim 4, wherein the wager database comprises one or more live game IDs, one or more user IDs, and one or more wagers associated with the one or more live game IDs and the one or more user IDs. (Thukral discloses the user specifying or identifying a live game to view (Thukral 0075) and the use of user ID’s that a user utilizes to access the system and place game wagers (Thukral 0039, 0067)
As per claim 5, further comprising: a clip database containing one or more files of live event data combined with wager data. (Combination of Thukral in view of Thompson, wherein Thrukal discloses a replay data bases that combines live replays with wager handicapping data) (Thukral 0077, 0078), Thompson further teaches a user making a wager and the system identifying relevant clips related to the player wager (i.e. searching and extracting clips) that correspond to the players identified wager (i.e. play ID) (Thompson 0173, 0548 – 0570, 0572). Thompson further teaches the annotating of the video clips with information related to the placed wager (Thompson 0574).
Independent claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are made obvious by the combination of Thukral, Thompson and Marshall based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 1, which are similar in claim scope.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thukral et al (US 2009/0270166) in view of Thompson et al (US 11,523,161) in view of Marshall et al (US 2008/0182651) in view of Coppola et al (US 2021/0027580).
As per claim 6, Thukral fails to disclose:
wherein the video file of the upcoming action includes a user ID associated with the placed wager Coppla et al in a similar field of endeavor discloses a system that creates a replay video for subsequent sharing and viewing at a later time. Coppola discloses that a user’s picture or video (i.e. user ID) is displayed on the video, a graphic associated with the winning wager is displayed (i.e. winning graphic) and details of the placed wager are also displayed (i.e. a play of the game based upon the player’s wager (Coppola 0076, 0079, 0083, 0084, 0085, 0088, 0089, 0112, 0117)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to modify Thrukal in view of Coppola et al to provide a system wherein a generated replay video comprises a user ID, details about a wager and graphics of the game result. The incorporation of these details would be beneficial as users are sharing replay videos to others electronically, thus ensuring the recipient can clearly identify the sender and provide adequate game information to the view so they are well informed with what is happening in the game.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thukral et al (US 2009/0270166) in view of Thompson et al (US 11,523,161) in view of Marshall et al (US 2008/0182651) in view of Cleveland et al (US 2020/0111279)
As per claims 7, Thukral discloses the use of timestamps to synchronize media feeds with data feeds to create an integrated interactive feed comprising the media stream and the wagering data (Thukral 0053 – 0055).
However, Thukral fails to disclose specifically the following:
wherein the base wagering module is configured to create a first timestamp at the beginning of the upcoming action upon which a wager can be placed, wherein the first timestamp is made upon closing of a first time window, and a second timestamp associated with settlement of the wager on the upcoming action, wherein the second timestamp is made upon opening of a second time window upon which a wager on a future action subsequent to the upcoming action can be placed, the video file of the upcoming action is based on the first timestamp and the second timestamp, and the base wagering module is configured to store the video file in the recording database.
In a similar field of endeavor, Cleveland et al discloses the use of a gaming system wherein players make wagers to bet on game events. Cleveland discloses a table game wherein events that occur during the course of the game are time stamped. Cleveland discloses “In some embodiments, the table 300 transmits timestamped log message on some or all state change events detected by the table 300 to the table management system server 106 or another logging server. For example, the table 300 may capture a time when the wagering window is opened or closed for the table 300, or a supplementary wagering window is opened or closed for a particular position 602 at the table 300.” (Cleveland 0180)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Thukral in view of Cleveland to provide a game system wherein events such as the beginning and ending of wagering periods are time stamped. This would allow the system to be able to readily identify important events that occur during a game after a game has ended in order to audit events that occur in the game. Time stamping wagering events would also allow the system to determine when wagers are submitted and if they are submitted in a timely manner with respect to the opening and closing of wager windows. (Cleveland 0179)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12/8/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see above rejection in view of newly found reference to Marshall addressing the newly amended claim language.
Conclusion
/RAW/ Examiner, Art Unit 3715
1/8/2025
/KANG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715