DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
elements 406a, 406b, W and D2 of figure 2 do not appear in the specification (paragraphs [0025] to [0028] describing figure 2). It is inferred by the examiner that:
406a and 406b may be optical entrance (first) and exit (second) surfaces, respectively, of image forming lens 40;
W may be the length or width of the scanned surface 407 in the main scanning direction or the total image height; and
D2 may be the distance or light path length between scanned surface 407 and the deflector 405.
It is also suggested by the examiner that figures 10A and 10B include numerical values for scale with the bracketed units or main axes for the figures to be better understood.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
in paragraph [0005], “that s” should be “that is”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 1, the second instance of “light beam,” at line 9, should be preceded by “the” instead of “a”; it is understood by the examiner that there is a singular light beam in the optical scanning apparatus given the later element of claim 1 of “a light source that emits the light beam”;
For claim 3, the second instance of “change in the scanning speed,” at line 5, should be “the” instead of “a”; it is understood by the examiner that both the first correction control and second correction control are based on the same scanning speed change;
For claims 4 and 5, the instances of “a change in the pixel width due to a change in the scanning speed” should be “the change in the pixel width due to the change in the scanning speed” given the antecedent basis in claim 3.
The claims will be interpreted following the corrections for antecedent basis.
For claims 6 and 7, the instances of “a change in the exposure amount due to a change in the scanning speed” should be “the change in the exposure amount due to the change in the scanning speed” given the antecedent basis in claim 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,665,031 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claimed invention is anticipated by US 9665031 B2 as follows:
Present Application 18/746,526
U.S. Patent No. 9,665,031 B2
An image forming apparatus comprising:
An image forming apparatus, comprising:
a photoreceptor that is rotationally driven;
a photosensitive member;
an optical scanning apparatus configured to scan the photoreceptor with a light beam…
a scanning unit configured to perform scanning over the photosensitive member with a laser beam that is irradiated from a light source;
first correction control of correcting a change in a pixel width due to a change in the scanning speed and
a width correction unit configured to correct exposure time for individual latent images respectively corresponding to pixels of image data such that widths of the latent images in a moving direction of a spot of the laser beam are equal become closer to a constant width;
second correction control of correcting a change in an exposure amount due to a change in the scanning speed
a luminance correction unit configured to correct luminance of the laser beam for forming latent images such that an exposure amount per unit time is greater for a second position than for a first position among exposure positions on the photosensitive member, the first position being scanned at a first scanning speed, and the second position being scanned at a second scanning speed that is higher than the first scanning speed; and a density correction unit configured to correct a density value of each of the pixels of the image data according to a scanning position of the laser beam on a surface of the photosensitive member.
the first correction control is a control of extracting data of the pixel piece indicated by the image data or inserting data of the pixel piece into the image data in accordance with the scanning speed in order to correct a change in
the pixel width due to a change in the scanning speed
the width correction unit corrects the exposure time for the individual latent images
respectively corresponding to the pixels by inserting/removing a pixel piece into/from the
image data, the pixel piece having a length that is shorter than a length of one pixel with
respect to the moving direction of the spot of the laser beam
the image signal generation unit outputs the image signal to the optical scanning apparatus in accordance with an image clock, and the first correction control is a control of changing a frequency of the image clock in accordance with the scanning speed in order to correct a change in the pixel width due to a change in the scanning speed.
the width correction unit corrects the exposure time for the individual latent images
respectively corresponding to the pixels of the image data by changing a frequency of a
clock signal that has synchronized with a video signal that conveys the image data,
according to the scanning position in a main scanning direction.
the second correction control is a control of changing emission luminance of the light source of the optical scanning apparatus in accordance with the scanning speed in order to correct a change in the exposure amount due to a change in the scanning speed
a luminance correction unit configured to correct luminance of the laser beam for forming latent images such that an exposure amount per unit time is greater for a second position than for a first position among exposure positions on the photosensitive member, the first position being scanned at a first scanning speed, and the second position being scanned at a second scanning speed that is higher than the first scanning speed;
the second correction control is a control of correcting a pixel value indicated by the image data in accordance with the scanning speed in order to correct a change in the exposure amount due to a change in the scanning speed
a density correction unit configured to correct a density value of each of the pixels of the image data according to a scanning position of the laser beam on a surface of the photosensitive member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaki et al. (US 9665031 B2), hereinafter referred to as Nagasaki, in further view of Takada (US 20180231909 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nagasaki (teaches or discloses) an image forming apparatus (image forming apparatus 9; col. 3, ll. 10-11; Fig. 1) comprising:
a photoreceptor that is rotationally driven (photosensitive drum 4; col. 3, ll. 18; Fig. 1);
an image signal generation unit configured to generate an image signal based on image data (image signal generation unit 100; col. 8; ll. 11-14; Figs. 1 and 4);
an optical scanning apparatus (optical scanning device 400; col. 3, ll. 13; Figs. 1 and 2) configured to scan the photoreceptor (“scans the surface of the photosensitive drum 4”; col. 3, ll. 20) with a light beam (“with a laser beam”; col. 3, ll. 21-22) having a scanning speed changing in accordance with a position in a main scanning direction (image height of laser beam 208 on scanned surface 407 is found in the main scanning direction; col. 5, ll. 55-58; “the scanning speed gradually increases as the image height changes from the on-axis image height to an off-axis image height”; col. 6, ll. 56-58),
the optical scanning apparatus configured to form an electrostatic latent image on the photoreceptor by scanning the photoreceptor in the main scanning direction with the light beam corresponding to the image signal generated by the image signal generation unit (“optical scanning device 400 outputs a laser beam 208 from a light source based on an image signal that is output from an image signal generation unit 100” col. 3, ll. 13-15; “thereby forming an electrostatic latent image thereon”; col. 3, ll. 22-23);
and a control unit (control unit 1; col. 3, ll. 13-16; Fig. 1) configured to output, to the image signal generation unit, a horizontal synchronization signal for determining a timing at which the image signal generation unit outputs the image signal to the optical scanning apparatus (“control unit 1… transmits a TOP signal, which is a sub scanning synchronization signal, and a BD signal, which is a main scanning synchronization signal, to the image signal generation unit 100. The image signal generation unit 100 outputs a VDO signal, which is an image signal, to the laser drive unit 300 at a predetermined timing based on these synchronization signals”; col. 8, ll. 46-53; Fig. 4; “laser drive unit 300 that drives a light source is housed within a housing 410 of an optical scanning device 400”; col. 3, ll. 11-13; Fig. 1), wherein
the optical scanning apparatus includes
a light source that emits the light beam (“light source 401 of the optical scanning device 400 is a light source that outputs a laser beam”; col. 3, ll. 48-49),
a rotary polygon mirror for scanning the photoreceptor in the main scanning direction by the light beam emitted by the light source(“deflector 405 is an example of a scanning unit that performs scanning with the laser beam 208”; col. 3, ll. 65-68; “deflector 405 may be a rotating polygonal mirror”; col. 4, ll. 1; Fig. 2),
a beam detection sensor that detects the light beam reflected by the rotary polygon mirror and outputs, to the control unit, a beam detection signal indicating a detection timing of the light beam (“A BD sensor 409 and a BD lens 408 are members of an optical system for synchronization that determines the timing of writing an electrostatic latent image on the scanned surface 407. "BD" is the abbreviation for "beam detect". The luminous flux that has passed through the BD lens 408 enters, and is detected by, the BD sensor 409 that includes a photodiode. The control unit 1 controls the writing timing based on the timing at which the BD sensor 409 detects the luminous flux.”; col. 4, ll. 40-48), and
a memory (“memory 304 is a non-volatile storage unit, and stores therein control parameters related to the laser drive unit 300”; col. 8, ll. 33-34; Fig. 4), and
the control unit corrects, based on timing correction information (a predetermined timing), a reference time from reception of the beam detection signal from the beam detection sensor to the output of the horizontal synchronization signal, and output the horizontal signal to the image signal generation unit at a timing after a period corrected from reception of the beam detection signal (“control unit 1 controls the writing timing based on the timing at which the BD sensor 409 detects the luminous flux”; col. 4, ll. 47-48; “The image signal generation unit 100 outputs a VDO signal, which is an image signal, to the laser drive unit 300 at a predetermined timing based on these synchronization signals; col. 8, ll. 50-53; Fig. 4).
Nagasaki does not explicitly teach the memory as storing timing correction information indicating a deviation amount of an output timing of the beam detection signal, and the control unit as acquiring the timing correction information from the memory.
Takada does teach an image correction device an electrophotographic image forming apparatus that corrects image distortion before an image is formed ([0015]) wherein timing correction information is stored in the memory and sent to a control unit that then provides adjusted horizontal synchronization signals in response to light detection (image correction device 50 includes a static random access memory (SRAM) 54; [0036]; “The detection signal BD is supplied to the PWM control unit 55 from the optical sensors 49L and 49R… A writing position adjustment value for adjusting an image writing position (writing timing) in the main scanning direction is supplied to the PWM control unit 55 from the SRAM 54, and thus the PWM control unit 55 adjusts the detection signal BD on the basis of the set value. The PWM control unit 55 supplies a scanning synchronization signal H-SYNC (a synchronization signal in which a writing position is adjusted) obtained through the adjustment to the laser control unit 51.”; [0037]; Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control parameters stored in the memory and used by the control unit taught by Nagasaki to also include timing correction information to improve image quality as taught by Takada ([0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Nagasaki teaches an image forming apparatus wherein a predetermined timing for writing timing correction is used by the control unit (col. 4, ll. 47-48 and col. 8, ll. 50-53 as applied to claim 1), however Nagasaki does not explicitly teach the predetermined timing as timing correction information indicating a difference between a timing at which the beam detection sensor detects the light beam and a reference timing at which the beam detection sensor should detect the light beam.
Takada teaches a predetermined timing as timing correction information indicating a difference between a timing at which the beam detection sensor detects the light beam and a reference timing at which the beam detection sensor should detect the light beam (the control unit receives the detection signal from optical sensors then uses the writing timing adjustment value to adjust the detection signal; at para. [0037]). Takada further discloses “A detection signal BDl from the optical sensor 49L is supplied to the PWM control unit 55Y. The PWM control unit 55Y adjusts the supplied detection signal BDl by using the set values for adjusting an image writing position” ([at para. 0054]; Fig. 6). The adjustment value is therefore a correction value for the difference between the actual detection of light beam by the sensor and a reference of when the sensor should be detecting the light beam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to define the predetermined timing taught by Nagasaki as a writing position (writing timing) adjustment value for the detection signal of the light beam by the control unit for the purpose of improving image quality as taught by Takeda ([0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Nagasaki teaches an image forming apparatus wherein the control unit of the image signal generation unit executes, with reference to the horizontal synchronization signal (“control unit 1… transmits a TOP signal, which is a sub scanning synchronization signal, and a BD signal, which is a main scanning synchronization signal, to the image signal generation unit 100. The image signal generation unit 100 outputs a VDO signal, which is an image signal, to the laser drive unit 300 at a predetermined timing based on these synchronization signals”; col. 8, ll. 46-53; Fig. 4),
first correction control of correcting a change in a pixel width due to a change in the scanning speed (“partial magnification correction, by which the irradiation time (exposure time) of the light source 401 per pixel in the image data is reduced according to the amount of increase in the partial magnification as the image height changes from the on-axis image height to the off-axis image height; col. 9, ll. 49-54; “the scanning speed gradually increases as the image height changes from the on-axis image height to an off-axis image height, and accordingly the partial magnification increases”; col. 6, ll. 56-59) and
second correction control of correcting a change in an exposure amount due to the change in the scanning speed (“By applying luminance correction and changing the luminance of the light source 401, the total exposure amount (integrated light amount) per pixel at each image height becomes equal”; col. 14, ll. 40-43).
Regarding claim 4, Nagasaki teaches an image forming apparatus wherein the image data is data indicating whether or not to expose each pixel piece in which one pixel is divided (“a single pixel 157 corresponds to one of the units that partition the image data... As shown in FIG. 7B, a single pixel before pixel width correction is composed of pixel pieces that are smaller than a single pixel”; col. 10, ll. 6-11; Figs. 7A, 7B, 10A, and 10B), and
the first correction control is a control of extracting data of the pixel piece indicated by the image data or inserting data of the pixel piece into the image data in accordance with the scanning speed in order to correct the change in the pixel width due to the change in the scanning speed (“An insertion/removal control unit 128 and the FIFO 124 function as a width correction unit (magnification correction unit) that corrects the exposure time (scanning time) for each of the latent images respectively corresponding to pixels of the image data such that the widths of the latent images respectively corresponding to the pixels of the image data in the moving direction of the spot of the laser beam 208 are equal”; col. 10, ll. 22-29; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Nagasaki teaches an image forming apparatus wherein the image signal generation unit outputs the image signal to the optical scanning apparatus in accordance with an image clock, and the first correction control is a control of changing a frequency of the image clock in accordance with the scanning speed in order to correct the change in the pixel width due to the change in the scanning speed (“The CPU 102 may correct the exposure time for each of the latent images respectively corresponding to the pixels by controlling the PLL unit 127 and changing the frequency of a clock signal (VCLK×N, where N is a number for multiplication) that has synchronized with the video signal that conveys the image data according to the scanning position in the main scanning direction”; col. 28, ll. 28-35; Figs. 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 6, Nagasaki teaches an image forming apparatus wherein the second correction control is a control of changing emission luminance of the light source of the optical scanning apparatus in accordance with the scanning speed in order to correct the change in the exposure amount due to the change in the scanning speed (“the total exposure amount (integrated light amount) per pixel according to the light source 401 decreases as the absolute value of the image height Y increases. That is, the correction of the luminance of the laser beam 208 is required for pixels at which the exposure amount decreases as an adverse effect of partial magnification correction. By applying luminance correction and changing the luminance of the light source 401, the total exposure amount (integrated light amount) per pixel at each image height becomes equal. That is, the image density in the main scanning direction is approximately even”; col. 14, ll. 34-43).
Regarding claim 7, Nagasaki teaches an image forming apparatus wherein the second correction control is a control of correcting a pixel value indicated by the image data in accordance with the scanning speed in order to correct the change in the exposure amount due to the change in the scanning speed (“the density correction unit 121 reads out the density correction value from the buffer in synchronization with the BD signal, and corrects the image density (the density values, the color tone values, and the like) of the image data such that the total exposure amount per unit length becomes appropriate at each image height”; col. 17, ll. 67 - col. 18, ll. 5; Fig. 11).
Conclusion
23 February 2026
/KYRA MELOR VAN KREUNINGEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853