DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on July 08, 2026 has been entered and considered and an action on the merits follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on July 08, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The proposed drawing correction filed on July 08, 2026 has been acknowledged and approved. The drawing correction sufficiently overcomes the drawing objections noted in the previous Office action.
Specification
The proposed amendment filed on July 08, 2026 has been acknowledged and approved. The amendment sufficiently overcomes the disclosure informalities noted in the previous office action.
Response to Arguments
In Applicant's arguments filed on July 08, 2026, Applicant argued that Kim does not disclose the pad of the present invention, nor does Kim discloses the feature that "the pad is arranged in the pad placement area and positioned by the positioning protrusions, wherein a thickness of the pad is arranged to protrude from an upper surface of the positioning protrusions.”. This argument has been considered but it is not persuasive because Kim reads on claim 1 as explained in the last Office action and further explain below for more clarity.
The annotated drawing below shows that the pad (100) is arranged in the pad placement area (an area where the pad is occupied) and positioned by the positioning protrusions (see the drawing below), wherein a thickness of the pad is arranged to protrude from an upper surface of the positioning protrusions (see the drawing below). The annotated drawing below shows the upper surface of the pad (100) is higher than the upper surface of the positioning protrusions as defined by the Examiner; and thus Kim does disclose a thickness (i.e. a thickness portion of the pad above the upper surface of the positioning protrusions) of the pad is arranged to protrude from an upper surface of the positioning protrusions.
Accordingly, Kim discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 1, and the rejection of claim 1 is herein repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by over Kim (KR 20100116856 A).
Kim discloses a thermal transfer device, comprises:
a body, comprising an upper support (30) and a lower support (35) that extend horizontally (fig. 2);
a hot (see a heater (H) in fig. 3) pressing plate assembly (10), arranged below the upper support (30) (see fig. 2) and driven by a drive mechanism (34) to move up and down;
a bracket (20), arranged on an upper side of the lower support (35) (see fig. 2) to provide support for materials (P) to be heat-transfer printed, wherein positioning protrusions (see the drawing above) are arranged on the upper side of a bracket edge (see the drawing above), the positioning protrusions are enclosed to form a pad placement area (an area where a pad 100 occupied (see fig. 3);
a pad (100), arranged in the pad placement area (see fig 3) and positioned by positioning protrusions (see page 5, third paragraph of the English translation, which discloses when seated on an upper surface of the bracket 20, the pad 100 is in a state that cannot be moved in the longitudinal and lateral directions), wherein the thickness of the pad is arranged to protrude from an upper surface of the positioning protrusions (see the drawing above, which shows a top surface of the pad (100) is above top surfaces of both left and right protrusions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, as applied to claim 1 above, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Robinson (US 2018/0036980A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the invention substantially as claimed as set forth above, Kin does not expressly disclose the positioning protrusions are a circle of convex edges arranged around the edge of the bracket. Robinson discloses a thermal transfer device (100) having a bracket (102) on a lower support (fig. 1B), wherein the bracket including a pad (see para. 28) and a circle of convex edges arranged around the edge of the bracket (see the drawing #2 below). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the corners of the bracket of Kim into a circle of convex edges, as taught by Robinson, as an obvious matter of design choice because having a circle of convex edges at the corners does not appear to provide any unexpected result.
Regarding claim 3, see similar rejection as set forth in claim 2 above, in which the circle of convex edges of Robinson can also be interpreted as "a circle around the edge" as claimed in this claim.
Drawing #2:
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the claim would be allowable because the prior art of record, considered alone or combination, neither anticipated nor renders obvious "the bracket is made of plastic, comprising a bracket body, a bracket wall edge extending downward along the periphery of the bracket body, and a reinforcing rib structure arranged on the underside of the bracket body, and the connection between the bracket wall edge and the bracket body protrudes upward and forms the positioning projections", in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-10 would be allowable in virtue of their dependence upon claim 4.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725