DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first means” for dispensing gas and “second means” for mixing two liquids in claim16.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Further review of specification discloses that in Claim 16 , line 2 and 3 “first means” for dispersing gas and “second means” for mixing two liquid are described as projections or radial prongs ([0047])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by SCHWABL, US 20180194037.
Regarding Claim 1 Schwabl discloses method for metering a foamed or foamable plastic in a continuous or discontinuous manner (abstract)[0043], comprising: at least one first component for forming the plastic is conveyed into a mixing chamber of a mixing device (Figure 3, [0039], mixing chamber-12) in which a stirring mechanism that can be rotated about a rotational axis is arranged (Figure 3, [0039]-[0040], agitator-7), wherein the first component is loaded with a gas to influence the formation of foam ([0039]) , the plastic is metered out of the mixing chamber through an outlet nozzle (Figure 3, nozzle-9, [0041], [0042]), the pressure in the mixing chamber ranges from 0.2 bar to 15 bar ([0033]), the gas is injected into the first component by a valve device ([0039]-[0040], valve device-10), and the stirring mechanism disperses the gas in the first component in the mixing chamber ([0040]).
Regarding Claim 2 Schwabl discloses wherein the gas is injected directly into the mixing chamber by the valve device, and the stirring mechanism disperses the gas in the first component in the mixing chamber (Figure 1, [0040]).
Regarding Claim 4 Schwabl discloses wherein the mixing chamber and/or the valve device is opened during a metering process and closed between two metering processes ([0045]).
Regarding Claim 7 Schwabl discloses, wherein the first component is mixed with the second component after the gas has been dispersed in the first component ([0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWABL, US 20180194037.
Regarding Claim 3 Schwabl discloses all the parameters for the mathematical function of the volumetric flow of the gas injected into the mixing chamber at ambient pressure . The function is : Find = (m x (PMK x MAUS)) - Fold, where the parameters are Find is the setpoint of the volumetric flow of the injected gas in cm3/s, -m is the gradient in cm3/s, PMK is the dimensionless value of the pressure in the mixing chamber in bar, - MAUS is the dimensionless value of the discharge quantity in g/s, and Fold is the volumetric flow of the gas already dissolved in the first component , in cm3/s, these are measured quantities which can be determined by Schwabl’s mixing device (Figure 1, [0042], [0044], gas injected at feed-2, pressure is selected at the chamber-12, discharge can be measured by opening-4, [0011], a gas is flown at a set pressure range, m is the gradient which could be measured by changing the value in between metering operations. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding Claim 5 Schwabl discloses, wherein a second component is conveyed into the mixing chamber ([0039]-[0040], but didn’t specifically discloses that , a chemical reaction takes place between the first component and the second component. However if two chemicals are mixed it would be obvious for them to react after being agitated in the mixing chamber. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding Claim 6 Schwabl discloses , wherein a propellant gas is released during the chemical reaction ([0011]).
Regarding Claim 8 Schwabl discloses that the pressure in the mixture chamber ([0045]) and the discharge quantity of the product form the nozzle ([0004]). Schwbl didn’t particularly disclose that a setpoint for the volumetric flow of the injected gas. However, once the pressure in the mixing chamber and the mass flow rate of the plastic is determined which are typical operating parameters for a plastic injection process. The function, which is mathematical expression takes an input and produces an output therefore the product of the pressure in the mixing chamber and the discharge quantity of the plastic per unit of time (input parameter) can be used as setpoint for the volumetric flow of the injected gas (output parameter).
"A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 9-11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWABL, US 20180194037 in view of Yusa (US 20180339439).
Regarding Claim 9 Schwabl discloses a pressure regulating valve-10 for the air source-10 ([0040]) and an outlet of the pressure regulating valve is connected to the mixing chamber (Figure 1) but didn’t disclose that wherein the valve device comprises a pressure regulating valve and a mass flow controller wherein an outlet of the mass flow controller is connected to an inlet of the pressure regulating valve. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Yusa discloses valve device comprises a pressure regulating valve and a mass flow controller wherein an outlet of the mass flow controller is connected to an inlet of the pressure regulating valve (Figure 2, [0060] flow controller/ gas bomb-100 with the tank-153 (foaming agent), pressure regulating valve-152; outlet of the mass flow controller-151 is connected to an inlet of the pressure regulating valve-152)
It would be obvious to combine the teaching of Schwabl with that of the Yusa’s teaching of flow controller for the purpose of controlled flow of the foaming agent in the mixture
Regarding Claim 10 Yusa discloses , wherein an inlet of the mass flow controller is subjected to a pressure of 4 to 300 bar ([0103], 14.5 Mpa`~145 bar, pressure of the physical foaming agent is within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 11 Yusa discloses that outlet of the mass flow controller-151 is connected to an inlet of the pressure regulating valve-152 wherein a pressure at the outlet of the mass flow controller is 4Mpa (40 bar).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775,227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) SEE MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding Claim 13 Yusa discloses wherein the mass flow controller comprises a calorimetric flow meter as a measuring sensor ([0103]).
Claim(s) 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWABL, US 20180194037 in view of Yusa (US 20180339439) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Fetz (US 6494231)
Regarding Claim 12 Schwabl discloses a pressure regulating valve-10 for the air source-10 ([0040]) and an outlet of the pressure regulating valve is connected to the mixing chamber (Figure 1) but didn’t disclose that, wherein the pressure regulating valve has a needle and a piston unit coupled. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Fetz discloses pressure regulating valve has a needle and a piston unit coupled thereto, which comprises a pressure guide piston and a closing piston (Figure 3, needle-23, piston/plunger-32, cylinder guide-31, Col 3 line 51-54, Col 4 line 8-15), wherein, in pressure control operation, the pressure guide piston is decoupled from the closing piston , and the closing piston presses against the pressure guide piston when the pressure regulating valve is to be closed (Col 4 line 8-15).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Schwabl’s teaching of Fetz’s valve device for the purpose of a controlled operation and the pressure can be adjusted while the metering operation.
Regarding Claim 14 Schwabl discloses a pressure regulating valve-10 for the air source-10 ([0040]) and an outlet of the pressure regulating valve is connected to the mixing chamber (Figure 1) but didn’t disclose that wherein the valve device comprises a pressure regulating valve designed as a closable needle valve. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Fetz discloses valve device comprises a pressure regulating valve designed as a closable needle valve (Col 3 line 51-55).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Schwabl’s teaching of Fetz’s valve device for the purpose of a controlled operation and the pressure can be adjusted while the metering operation.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWABL, US 20180194037 in view of Yusa (US 20180339439) as applied in claim 1 further in view of BUSIN (US 20090207685)
Regarding Claim 15, Schwabl discloses method for metering a foamed or foamable plastic in a continuous or discontinuous manner (abstract)[0043], comprising: at least one first component for forming the plastic is conveyed into a mixing chamber of a mixing device (Figure 3, [0039], mixing chamber-12) but didn’t disclose that mixing device by which the mixing chamber is separated into a first mixing region and a second mixing region. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, BUSIN discloses mixing chamber with a flow brake is separated into a first mixing region and a second mixing region (Figure 4a, [0062])
It would have been obvious for ordinary skilled in the art to combine Schwabl’s teaching with that of Busin’ s teaching for the purpose of having controlled flow rates while mixing in two different regions.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWABL, US 20180194037 in view of Yusa (US 20180339439) and BUSIN (US 20090207685) as applied in claim 15 further in view of Hamilton (US 20070086271)
Regarding Claim 16, Schwabl discloses the stirring mechanism has a first axial portion with first means for dispersing gas in a liquid ([0039], [0046], first means/shaft-16, agitator-7 with a feed opening-2 for the gas and the liquid). However, Schwabl didn’t disclose a second means for mixing two liquids. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Hamilton discloses that the liquids can be mixed with the stirrer-1800 having projections -1804 (Figure 18, projections-1804, [0022], [0023], [0083]).
It would have been obvious for ordinary skilled in the art to modify Schwabl’s teaching with that of Hamilton’s teaching of the stirrer with projections for the purpose of homogenization of the liquid mixture.
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741