DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Asada eta l. (US 2016/0273832 A1).
A system for drying polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) based semi-dry electrode film, comprising: a heating chamber 100 including: an inlet (Fig. 1, at A) adapted to receive a PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film into the heating chamber 100; an outlet (Fig. 1, see exit arow) adapted to allow the PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film to exit the heating chamber 100; a plurality of rollers 22-25, 31-36, 41-47, 10, 11 positioned within the heating chamber 100 and adapted to support the PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film and guide the PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film along a serpentine path through the heating chamber 100 between the inlet and the outlet as the PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film is pulled through the heating chamber 100 (Fig. 1); and at least one heating element 31-36 adapted to heat an interior of the heating chamber 100; wherein, the heating chamber 100 is adapted to remove, by evaporation, at least a portion of solvent that is present within the PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film that enters the heating chamber. As for the limitations, “A system for drying polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) based semi-dry electrode film” in lines 1-2 of claim 1, “adapted to receive a PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film”, “adapted to allow the PTFE-based semi-drying electrode film to exit”, “adapted to support the PTFE-based semi-drying electrode film and guide the PTFE-based semi-drying electrode film”, and “adapted to remove, by evaporation, at least a portion of solvent that is present with the PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film” in claim 1, they are viewed as functional or intended use limitations. As MPEP 2114 states, “[a] claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim”. In this case, the limitations above do not add any structural limitations to the claim and Asada et al. discloses all the structural limitations. Additionally while not disclosed, the system of Asada et al. is capable of being used for performing above claimed functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asada et al. (US 2016/0273832 A1) in view of Mori et al.(US 4,800,655).
The system of Asada et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 4 except for a solvent recovery system adapted to collect solvent. Mori et al.. discloses a drying system comprising a solvent recovery system 19 (Fig. 1) adapted to collect solvent that has been evaporated during drying. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Asada et al. to include a solvent recovery system as taught by Mori et al. in order to reduce waste. Regarding claim 5, Asada et al. discloses a temperature between 100-200 degrees C (Figs. 6-8). Regarding claim 6, Asada et al. discloses heating rollers 31-36 which heat the interior of the heating chamber 100 using natural convection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-3, 7-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a plurality of horizontal support rollers adapted to support the PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film for horizontal movement across the heating chamber with all of the limitations in the rest of claim 2 and independent claim 1.
Claim 3 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a plurality of vertical support rollers adapted to support the PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film for vertical movement across the heating chamber with all of the limitations in the rest of claim 3 and independent claim 1.
Claim 7 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a collector roll adapted to pull the PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film through the heating chamber from the supply roll and to collect the dried PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film exiting the heating chamber with all of the limitations of rejected based claims.
Claims 12-19 include allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a method for drying polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) based semi-dry electrode film in a heating chamber with an inlet and an outlet by using a plurality of rollers supporting and guiding the film along a serpentine path through the heating chamber and removing by evaporation at least a portion of solvent that is present with the film with all of the limitations in independent claim 12. The closest prior art is found in Zhou et al. (CN 116825941 A) which discloses drying polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) based semi-dry electrode film F and a plurality of rollers 3-6, 9-10 supporting and guiding the film F (Fig. 1) and removing the solvent (paragraph [0047]). However, Zhou et al. does not disclose a heating chamber with inlet and outlet, heating element and a serpentine path.
Claim 20 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a collector roll adapted to pull the PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film through the heating chamber from the supply roll and to collect the dried PTFE-based semi-dry electrode film exiting the heating chamber with all of the limitations of independent claim 20.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY