DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Response to Non-Final filed 09/15/2025.
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 1-3 are pending and have been examined.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the drawings do not depict a functioning structure but rather a collection of parts without depicting how the parts work and work together.
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The Specification fails to provide a detailed description of the invention. The Specification merely lists a number a parts without describing how they are used to do anything specifically. Furthermore in a description of an embodiment of the invention none of the parts described as the invention are included in the description of the embodiment.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
MPEP 2164.01 establishes the analysis required to determine whether the filed disclosure contains sufficient information regarding the subject matter of the claims as to one skilled in the art to make and use the claimed invention without undue experimentation. The factors to be considered to determine whether any necessary experimentation is undue, also known as The Wand factors, see In re Wands, 858 F. 2d 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988) include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
Regarding Claims 1-3, after analyzing the application with the above factors, the Examiner concluded that there is no enabling discloses of the interaction between the upper steel bar right and left electric cylinders and the lower steel bar right and left electric cylinders and corresponding elements (steel plates, steel pipes). The specification states that these elements are connected but the manner in which they are connected and interact to accomplish the product packaging molding. Figs. 1-3 show a collection of parts but fail to disclose the interaction of said parts which results in the product packaging molding.
The listing of parts in the description without adequately explaining how they functionally cooperate to perform a clear function or purpose does not permit a skilled artisan to make and use the claimed invention. How do the structural parts listed supposedly perform the alleged function of “product packaging molding”? There is no clear explanation of how the collection of parts perform any function. Furthermore the description of the process of product packaging merely discusses structures and corresponding dimensions for elements not included in the invention. Lastly, there are no examples of Prior Art listed in the Background section of the specification, nor has an IDS been submitted to provide a starting point for a skilled artisan to understand the background.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3 are unclear because the claims don’t particularly point out or distinctly claim an invention. The claims merely list a collection of parts but fail to list how the parts work to together and how the parts collectively perform a function or accomplish the goal of “product packaging molding”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUNYOU (US 3500609)
Regarding Claim 1 Gunyou discloses an electronically controlled product packaging molding device, comprising
a front steel plate(57), steel behind the front steel plate (57), and fixed steel,
wherein the front steel plate (57) is welded by steel pipes, and the rear of the front steel plate is provided with a steel behind the front steel plate (57);
the steel behind the front steel plate (57) is provided with an upper steel bar right electric cylinder (63), and the side of the upper steel bar right electric cylinder (63) is provided with an upper steel bar left electric cylinder (35);
an upper steel bar (Fig. 4) is connected to the ends of the upper steel bar left electric cylinder (35) and the upper steel bar right electric cylinder (63);
the lower part of the upper steel bar left electric cylinder (35) is provided with a lower steel bar left electric cylinder (56), and the side of the lower steel bar left electric cylinder (56) is provided with a lower steel bar right electric cylinder (78);
a lower steel bar (76) is connected to the ends of the lower steel bar right electric cylinder (78) and the lower steel bar left electric cylinder (56);
one side of the steel behind the front steel plate (57) is provided with a right steel bar electric cylinder (67), and the other end thereof is provided with a left steel bar electric cylinder (95);
the end of the right steel bar electric cylinder (67) is connected with a right arm steel (66);
the side of the fixed steel is provided with a left arm steel (45), and the left arm steel (45) is connected with a left electric cylinder A (46);
the other side of the fixed steel is provided with a right arm steel (34), and the right arm steel is connected with a right electric cylinder A (35).
Gunyou discloses all of the claimed elements except that the elements are formed of steel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to form the claimed elements of steel since steel is a known material used with plates and cylinders.
Regarding Claim 2 Gunyou discloses the invention as described above. Gunyou further discloses the upper steel bar left electric cylinder (35), the upper steel bar right electric cylinder (63), the lower steel bar right electric cylinder (78), and the lower steel bar left electric cylinder (56) are all installed on the steel behind the front steel plate (57).
Regarding Claim 3 Gunyou discloses the invention as described above. Gunyou further discloses when the electronically controlled product packaging molding device (Fig. 4) is used, items are placed on the table (103).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument: Explanation of how do the structural parts listed supposedly perform the alleged function of “product packaging molding” it can be found in the advantage of the invention.
Examiner’s Response: The claims nor the specification, including the drawings provide a clear depiction or description of the invention. Applicant asserts that the invention is an electronically controlled product packaging molding device, however the claimed limitations merely recite a collection of electric cylinders, steel plates and steel bars. None of these parts are recited in a manner that describes where the package would be made or molded.
Applicant’s Argument: Gyunyou does not disclose fixed steel, welded by steel pipes. Gyunyou discloses the materials of the packaging device are made of steel (Col 4 lines 60-66). Fixing and welding are well known techniques for adjoining steel parts.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3731