DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22 and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20190387559 A1) in view of Krishnamoorthy et al. (US 20160174232 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou et al. teach A multi-subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) wireless device (Zhou [0004] Dual-SIM user equipments, which are capable of attaching to two different mobile networks, are known.) comprising:
one or more processors (Zhou [0015] the user equipment further comprises a processor); and
memory storing instructions (Note: inherent in a user equipment) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the multi-SIM wireless device to:
receive, from a first base station of a first public land mobile network (PLMN), one or more first the UE 110 can be connected to the first cellular communication network 120 and communication resources have been allocated to the UE 110 by the first cellular communication network 120.), wherein the configuration parameters indicate:
a first band of the first cell (Zhou [0013] In an implementation form the communication resources can be time-frequency communication resources); and
a first bandwidth of the first cell (Zhou [0013] In an implementation form the communication resources can be resource blocks of a resource grid);
transmit, to a second base station of a second PLMN, a second message (Zhou [0071] when the UE 110 wants to connect with multiple mobile networks 120, 130 at the same time, it is configured to provide to each individual mobile network 120, 130 information about its capabilities and/or restrictions regarding its wireless connections) indicating:
information of a second band available for communicating with the second PLMN by the multi-SIM wireless device (Zhou [0071] This information can be used by the scheduling function 123b, 133b of each mobile network 120, 130 for avoiding overlaps in the scheduling (Uplink, Downlink, Sidelink) of the UE 110. These overlaps may refer to frequency bands) ; and
information of a second bandwidth available for communicating with the second PLMN by the multi-SIM wireless device (Zhou [0071] This information can be used by the scheduling function 123b, 133b of each mobile network 120, 130 for avoiding overlaps in the scheduling (Uplink, Downlink, Sidelink) of the UE 110. These overlaps may refer to frequency bands), wherein the second band and the second bandwidth are available when the multi-SIM wireless device is in an active state with the first PLMN (Zhou [0045] enable the simultaneous communication of the UE 110 with the first and second cellular communication networks 120, 130 at the same time ); and
communicate with the first PLMN based on the configuration parameters of the first cell (Zhou [0047] the UE 110 can be connected to the first cellular communication network 120 and communication resources have been allocated to the UE 110 by the first cellular communication network 120.)).
In a similar endeavor, Krishnamoorthy et al. teach
receive, from a first base station of a first public land mobile network (PLMN), one or more first radio resource control (RRC) messages (Krishnamoorthy [0030] a subscription's network (e.g., via a cell or base station) periodically sends a mobile communication device a list of frequency bands—for example, via an Radio Resource Control (RRC) Connection Reconfiguration message—to the mobile communication device) , wherein the configuration parameters indicate: a first bandwidth of the first cell (Krishnamoorthy [0069] For example, the device processor may receive a list of frequency bands from the first subscription's network that include frequency bands “A,” “B,” and “C.”).
Moreover, Krishnamoorthy et al. also teach the multi-sim device determine frequency bands for the second network ([0069] the device processor may reference a data table 500 that includes information regarding the frequency bands currently available to the subscriptions of on the mobile communication device to determine that frequency bands “X” and “Y” are currently available to the second subscription).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Zhou et al. by incorporating Krishnamoorthy et al. RRC indicating first network list of frequency bands and including Krishnamoorthy second network frequency bands in Zhu [0077] information of the second message of Zhou et al. to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the interference between the two networks.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 21, wherein the second message further indicates timing information (Zhou [0071] These overlaps may refer to frequency bands (if common spectrum is used), or time overlaps) associated with measurement gaps of the multi-SIM wireless device (Krishnamoorthy [0030] The mobile communication device takes power measurements of the listed frequency bands during “measurement gaps” and reports those measurements back to the network).
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the interference between the two networks.
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 21, wherein the instructions further cause the multi-SIM wireless device to monitor for paging from the second base station of the second PLMN (Zhou [00066] When the UE 110 is in the IDLE state with respect to one or more mobile networks 120, 130, according to an embodiment the way that it behaves is configurable in terms of which downlink channel it should monitor and how often (e.g., Paging Channel in LTE) for each of the mobile networks 120, 130.).
.
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 35, but does not teach
wherein the instructions further cause the multi-SIM wireless device to receive, from the second base station and after transmission of the second message, one or more second RRC messages comprising a measurement gap configuration indicating a measurement gap of the multi-SIM wireless device.
In a similar endeavor, Yiu et al. teach
wherein the instructions further cause the multi-SIM wireless device to receive, from the second base station and after transmission of the second message, one or more second RRC messages (Yiu [0097] The BWP configuration can also be provided, at least in part, by signaling, such as higher layer signaling, RRC signaling ) comprising a measurement gap configuration indicating a measurement gap of the multi-SIM wireless device (Yiu [0130] the network configures some parameters for RRM measurement, such as the measurement gap per BWP or for each BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. by incorporating Yiu et al. measurement gap configuration by the network. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have determined the measurement gap.
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 21, wherein the second message further indicates information of a third bandwidth that is unavailable (Krishnamoorthy [0070] the frequency bands “A” and “B” (which interfere with the second subscription's frequency bands “X” and “Y”)).
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the interference between the two networks.
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 37, wherein the third bandwidth comprises the first bandwidth (Krishnamoorthy [0070] the frequency bands “A” and “B” (which interfere with the second subscription's frequency bands “X” and “Y”)). .
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the interference between the two networks.
.
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 38, wherein the second message further indicates information of a bandwidth combination that is unavailable (Krishnamoorthy [0070] the frequency bands “A” and “B” (which interfere with the second subscription's frequency bands “X” and “Y”)).
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the interference between the two networks.
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 21, wherein the second message further indicates information of a bandwidth combination that is unavailable (Krishnamoorthy [0070] the frequency bands “A” and “B” (which interfere with the second subscription's frequency bands “X” and “Y”)).
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the interference between the two networks.
Claims 23-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20190387559 A1) in view of Krishnamoorthy et al. (US 20160174232 A1), and in further view of Yiu et al. (US 20190044689 A1)
Regarding claim 23 , the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 22, but does not teach
wherein the instructions further cause the multi-SIM wireless device to receive, from the second base station and after transmission of the second message, one or more second RRC messages comprising a measurement gap configuration indicating a measurement gap of the multi-SIM wireless device.
In a similar endeavor, Yiu et al. teach
wherein the instructions further cause the multi-SIM wireless device to receive, from the second base station and after transmission of the second message, one or more second RRC messages (Yiu [0097] The BWP configuration can also be provided, at least in part, by signaling, such as higher layer signaling, RRC signaling ) comprising a measurement gap configuration indicating a measurement gap of the multi-SIM wireless device (Yiu [0130] the network configures some parameters for RRM measurement, such as the measurement gap per BWP or for each BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. by incorporating Yiu et al. measurement gap configuration by the network. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have used the measurement gap to reduce the interference between the two networks.
.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. and Yiu et al. , and teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 23, wherein the instructions further cause the multi-SIM wireless device to communicate with the second base station of the second PLMN outside of the measurement gap (Yiu [0115] the measurement gap can be used to locate signals outside of the set/plurality of BWPs and/or an active BWP).
The motivation of doing so would have used the measurement gap to reduce the interference between the two networks.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. and Yiu et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 24, wherein the instructions further cause the multi-SIM wireless device to monitor for paging from the second base station of the second PLMN (Zhou [00066] When the UE 110 is in the IDLE state with respect to one or more mobile networks 120, 130, according to an embodiment the way that it behaves is configurable in terms of which downlink channel it should monitor and how often (e.g., Paging Channel in LTE) for each of the mobile networks 120, 130.).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. and Yiu et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 25, wherein the second message further indicates information of a bandwidth combination that is unavailable (Krishnamoorthy [0070] the frequency bands “A” and “B” (which interfere with the second subscription's frequency bands “X” and “Y”)).
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the interference between the two networks.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. and Yiu et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 26, wherein the second message further indicates information of a third bandwidth that is unavailable (Krishnamoorthy [0070] the frequency bands “A” and “B” (which interfere with the second subscription's frequency bands “X” and “Y”)). .
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the interference between the two networks.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. and Yiu et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 27, wherein the third bandwidth comprises the first bandwidth(Krishnamoorthy [0070] the frequency bands “A” and “B” (which interfere with the second subscription's frequency bands “X” and “Y”)). .
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the interference between the two networks.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. and Yiu et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 25, wherein the second message further indicates information of a third bandwidth that is unavailable (Krishnamoorthy [0070] the frequency bands “A” and “B” (which interfere with the second subscription's frequency bands “X” and “Y”)).
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the interference between the two networks.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. and Yiu et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 29, wherein the third bandwidth comprises the first bandwidth (Krishnamoorthy [0070] the frequency bands “A” and “B” (which interfere with the second subscription's frequency bands “X” and “Y”)).
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the interference between the two networks.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 21, but does not teach
wherein the instructions further cause the multi-SIM wireless device to receive, from the second base station and after transmission of the second message, one or more second RRC messages comprising a measurement gap configuration indicating a measurement gap of the multi-SIM wireless device.
In a similar endeavor, Yiu et al. teach
wherein the instructions further cause the multi-SIM wireless device to receive, from the second base station and after transmission of the second message, one or more second RRC messages (Yiu [0097] The BWP configuration can also be provided, at least in part, by signaling, such as higher layer signaling, RRC signaling ) comprising a measurement gap configuration indicating a measurement gap of the multi-SIM wireless device (Yiu [0130] the network configures some parameters for RRM measurement, such as the measurement gap per BWP or for each BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zhou et al. and Krishnamoorthy et al. by incorporating Yiu et al. measurement gap configuration by the network. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have used the measurement gap to reduce the interference between the two networks.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Zhou et al., Krishnamoorthy et al. , and Yiu et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 31, wherein the instructions further cause the multi-SIM wireless device to communicate with the second base station of the second PLMN outside of the measurement gap (Yiu [0115] the measurement gap can be used to locate signals outside of the set/plurality of BWPs and/or an active BWP). .
The motivation of doing so would have used the measurement gap to reduce the interference between the two networks.
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Zhou et al., Krishnamoorthy et al. ,and Yiu et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 32, wherein the instructions further cause the multi-SIM wireless device to monitor for paging from the second base station of the second PLMN (Zhou [00066] When the UE 110 is in the IDLE state with respect to one or more mobile networks 120, 130, according to an embodiment the way that it behaves is configurable in terms of which downlink channel it should monitor and how often (e.g., Paging Channel in LTE) for each of the mobile networks 120, 130.). .
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Zhou et al., Krishnamoorthy et al. , and Yiu et al. teaches The multi-SIM wireless device of claim 33, wherein the second message further indicates information of a bandwidth combination that is unavailable (Krishnamoorthy [0070] the frequency bands “A” and “B” (which interfere with the second subscription's frequency bands “X” and “Y”)). .
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the interference between the two networks.
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644