DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed February 26th, 2023 has been entered. Claims 1-11, and 13-20 are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4-7, 16, 19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210387568, to Mazuir et al. (hereinafter Lys), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230219494, to Schaye et al (hereinafter Schaye).
Regarding claim 1, and commensurate claim 16, Mazuir teaches, A computer comprising a processor and a memory, the memory storing instructions executable by the processor to: (See at least paragraph [0040] “A schematic diagram of illustrative circuitry that may be included in vehicle 10 is shown in FIG. 2. As shown in FIG. 2, vehicle 10 may include control circuitry 40. Control circuitry 40 may include storage and processing circuitry for supporting the operation of vehicle 10. The storage and processing circuitry may include storage such as hard disk drive storage, nonvolatile memory (e.g., flash memory or other electrically-programmable-read-only memory configured to form a solid state drive), volatile memory (e.g., static or dynamic random-access-memory), etc. Processing circuitry in control circuitry 40 may be used to control lighting, audio devices such as speakers, wireless transmitters to transmit information to equipment external to vehicle 10, and other devices operating in vehicle 10. If desired, the processing circuitry in control circuitry 40 may drive vehicle 10 autonomously. The processing circuitry may be based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, baseband processors, power management units, audio chips, application specific integrated circuits, electronic control units, etc.”).
receive an input from an operator of a vehicle, the input setting a parameter for a shifting lighting pattern of a lamp of the vehicle, the shifting lighting pattern including cycling through a plurality of colors including a first color; (See at least paragraph [0066] “vehicle 10 has brake lighting formed from light-based devices 32 in multiple different regions on the rear of vehicle 10 such as region 100-1 (e.g., a center mounted high stop light position), region 100-2 (a rear brake light position on body 12), region 100-3 (a horizontal strip running across some or all of the rear of body 12), and region 100-4 (some or all of the portion of rear window 14R that is not covered by center mounted high stop light 110-1). These locations of these regions and/or the patterns of light emitted in these regions may be customized by a driver or other user of vehicle 10 by supplying control circuitry 40 with text, images, graphics, voice input, menu selections, or other user input via input-output devices 46. For example, a user of vehicle 10 may select from a menu of pre-approved brake light patterns for the rear of vehicle 10 in region 110-3 and/or other regions.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0077] “The lighting regions on vehicle 10 associated with light-based devices 32 may have any suitable pattern. FIG. 18 shows an illustrative solid pattern in which a single light-based device 32 has illuminated rectangular area 120. The intensity of the illumination of area 120 may be adjusted to convey brake status information or other information. In the example of FIG. 19, lighting region 122 alternates (blinks) between an unilluminated state (state 122A) and an illuminated state (state 122B). FIG. 20 shows an illustrative lighting region (region 124) that has multiple strip-shaped areas 124-1, 124-2, 124-3, 124-4, and 124-5. These areas may be illuminated in sequence as with segmented region 110R of FIG. 14, may be turned on and off in different patterns, may use a chasing lights pattern, may flash at one or more different frequencies, may have one or more different colors and/or intensities, and/or may use other illumination schemes to convey information.”).
in the speed threshold, actuate the lamp to emit light following a first lighting pattern, the first lighting pattern being different than the shifting lighting pattern and different than continuously emitting the first color; (See at least paragraph [0082] “If desired, vehicle exterior lighting may extend in a horizontal band around one or more sides of vehicle 10 or may otherwise be provided on the sides of vehicle 10. As shown in FIGS. 25 and 26, for example, lighting region 140 may extend along the sides of body 12 and across the front of body 12 (and, if desired, along the rear of body 12 as illustrated by lighting region 110-3 of FIG. 10). Lighting region 140 may contain light of varying intensity, flashing light, light of one or more colors, text, icons, or other information. As an example, lighting region 140 may display one type of information (color, text, icon, intensity, font, etc.) when vehicle 10 is being operated manually and may be display another type of information when vehicle 10 is being operated autonomously by control circuitry 40. In this way, people in the vicinity of vehicle 10 may be informed when vehicle 10 is operating autonomously.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0036] “Examples of vehicle status information that may be conveyed to include vehicle speed, vehicle braking status, whether a vehicle is being driven autonomously or manually, whether a vehicle is about to exit a highway at a particular exit or is about to make a turn onto a nearby road, the following distance and closing speed of a following vehicle”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0036] “Lighting regions may be used to convey information on braking status (e.g., whether or not brakes have been applied and, if so, how strongly they have been applied) or other vehicle status information (e.g., driving mode—autonomous or manual, vehicle speed”).
Mazuir fails to explicitly teach, However, Schaye discloses, in response to a speed at which the vehicle is traveling exceeding a speed threshold and the vehicle being in an autonomous mode, actuate the lamp to continuously emit the first color; (See at least paragraph [0007] “If tied logically to the vehicle computer, the logic for selecting a particular state might be driven by autonomous automobile logic.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0061] “When the vehicle is in motion (and the pedestrian safety system of the present invention is on) and moving at a speed of 30 mph or higher, light arrays 1302 and 1304 are on continuously and illuminate white light. That is, each of the lamps 1302a-x and 1304a-x, is powered and illuminate white light (with no fluctuating).”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0067] “ a solid color”).
and in response to the speed at which the vehicle is traveling being below the threshold speed, actuate the lamp to emit light following the shifting lighting pattern according to the inputted parameter. (See at least paragraph [0061] “When the vehicle drops below 30 mph or whatever the threshold speed is, a light pattern on arrays 1302 and 1304 is triggered or goes into effect. The lamps in the arrays transition from being on continuously and illuminating white light to fluctuating, as described below, and illuminating amber light.”).
Mazuir as modified by Schaye are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, vehicle lamping system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir to incorporate the teachings of Schaye for the purposes to ensure speed threshold array in order to ensure pedestrians understand and identify the vehicle speed status and autopilot mode or manual mode in order for the pedestrian to safety commute.
Regarding claim 4, and commensurate claim 19, Mazuir as modified by Schaye disclose the claimed features of claim 1, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Schaye discloses, wherein the shifting lighting pattern includes repeating a sequence of the plurality of the colors, and a time duration to emit the first color is longer than a time duration to emit a second color of the plurality of colors. (See at least paragraph [0072] “the amount of time that each lamp or light source is powered on is not constant and the amount of time between a lamp being powered off to being powered on is also not constant. That is, one lamp may be powered on for m seconds and another lamp may be powered on for m+x seconds or m−x seconds, where x is variable. As such, a lamp may be on for 0.5 seconds and another lamp may be on for 0.53 seconds or 0.45 seconds. That is, each lamp can be powered on for a different length of time..”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0061] “When the vehicle drops below 30 mph or whatever the threshold speed is, a light pattern on arrays 1302 and 1304 is triggered or goes into effect. The lamps in the arrays transition from being on continuously and illuminating white light to fluctuating, as described below, and illuminating amber light.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir to incorporate the teachings of Schaye for the same purposes as motivation reasons in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Mazuir as modified by Schaye disclose the claimed features of claim 4, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Schaye discloses, wherein the time duration to emit the first color is longer than any time duration of any other color of the plurality of colors. (See at least paragraph [0072] “the amount of time that each lamp or light source is powered on is not constant and the amount of time between a lamp being powered off to being powered on is also not constant. That is, one lamp may be powered on for m seconds and another lamp may be powered on for m+x seconds or m−x seconds, where x is variable. As such, a lamp may be on for 0.5 seconds and another lamp may be on for 0.53 seconds or 0.45 seconds. That is, each lamp can be powered on for a different length of time..”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0061] “When the vehicle drops below 30 mph or whatever the threshold speed is, a light pattern on arrays 1302 and 1304 is triggered or goes into effect. The lamps in the arrays transition from being on continuously and illuminating white light to fluctuating, as described below, and illuminating amber light.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir to incorporate the teachings of Schaye for the same purposes as motivation reasons in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Mazuir as modified by Schaye disclose the claimed features of claim 1, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Schaye discloses, wherein the instructions further include instructions to, in response to the vehicle decelerating and the speed at which the vehicle is traveling being within a threshold difference of the speed threshold, actuate the lamp to emit light following a strobe lighting pattern. (See at least paragraph [0066] “The values for m and n depend on the deceleration or acceleration of the vehicle. When a car first starts decelerating, the fluctuation begins and the rate of fluctuation is at the high end (i.e., the lights are going back and forth quickly) but the rate slows down as the vehicle decelerates. As such, the fluctuating rate will be higher when the vehicle is decelerating, for example, from 30 mph to 20 mph and will be mid-range when the vehicle, as an illustration, is decelerating between 20 and 10 mph. The rate of fluctuation will decrease as the vehicle's speed decreases”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir to incorporate the teachings of Schaye for the same purposes as motivation reasons in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Mazuir as modified by Schaye disclose the claimed features of claim 6, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Schaye discloses, wherein the strobe lighting pattern includes repeatedly actuating the lamp on and off. (See at least paragraph [0072] “the amount of time that each lamp or light source is powered on is not constant and the amount of time between a lamp being powered off to being powered on is also not constant. That is, one lamp may be powered on for m seconds and another lamp may be powered on for m+x seconds or m−x seconds, where x is variable. As such, a lamp may be on for 0.5 seconds and another lamp may be on for 0.53 seconds or 0.45 seconds. That is, each lamp can be powered on for a different length of time..”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0061] “When the vehicle drops below 30 mph or whatever the threshold speed is, a light pattern on arrays 1302 and 1304 is triggered or goes into effect. The lamps in the arrays transition from being on continuously and illuminating white light to fluctuating, as described below, and illuminating amber light.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir to incorporate the teachings of Schaye for the same purposes as motivation reasons in claim 1.
Claims 2-3, 8, and 17-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210387568, to Mazuir et al. (hereinafter Lys), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230219494, to Schaye et al (hereinafter Schaye), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20020158583, to Lys et al. (hereinafter Lys)
Regarding claim 2, and commensurate claim 17, Mazuir as modified by Schaye disclose the claimed features of claim 1, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Lys discloses, wherein the plurality of colors of the shifting lighting pattern includes a second color, and the inputted parameter is a selection of the second color. (See at least paragraph [0098] “The LED based lighting systems can drive multiple colored LEDs to produce combined colored light. With a lighting system that includes two or more different colored LEDs, combinations of those colors can be generated to the extent the level of intensity or color shifting of the individual LEDs can be controlled.”).
Mazuir as modified by Lys are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, vehicle lamping system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir as modified by Schaye to incorporate the teachings of Lys for the purposes to ensure including multiple colors for the purposes of pedestrians understand and identify the vehicle status in order for the pedestrian to safety commute
Regarding claim 3, and commensurate claim 18, Mazuir as modified by Schaye disclose the claimed features of claim 1, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Lys discloses, wherein the shifting lighting pattern includes fading between colors of the plurality of colors in a sequence, and the inputted parameter is a time duration of the fading between consecutive colors of the sequence. (See at least paragraph [0040] “the pixel fading is controlled through the persistence of the display. Putting an active element, such as a transistor, on the top of each pixel, can slow the fading. ”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0140] “Coordinated effects such as chasing rainbows”). (See at least paragraph [0041] “the timing of the light sources is such that the three colors are on for predetermined segments of time. For example, the red may be on for the first one third of the time segment, the blue may be on for the second one third of the time segment, and the green may be on for the third one third of the time segment.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir as modified by Schaye to incorporate the teachings of Lys for the same motivation reasons in claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, Mazuir as modified by Schaye disclose the claimed features of claim 1, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Lys discloses, wherein a rate of actuating the lamp on and off in the strobe lighting pattern is faster than a rate of switching colors in the shifting lighting pattern. (See at least paragraph [0145] “ Rather than a slow flashing rate, as with incandescent automobile flasher or blinker assemblies, the light emitting diodes can be cycled fast enough to make a strobe effect.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir as modified by Schaye to incorporate the teachings of Lys for the same motivation reasons in claim 2.
Claims 9-11, 13-15, and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210387568, to Mazuir et al. (hereinafter Lys), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230219494, to Schaye et al (hereinafter Schaye), and further in view of U.S Patent No. US 11338722 B2, to Schellinger et al (hereinafter Schellinger).
Regarding claim 9, Mazuir as modified by Schaye disclose the claimed features of claim 1, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Schellinger discloses, wherein the instructions further include instructions to, in response to the vehicle shifting into park, actuate the lamp to emit light following a second lighting pattern, the second lighting pattern being different than the shifting lighting pattern and different than continuously emitting the first color. (See [Column 2. Lines 46-54] “The controller can be configured to receive a fifth control signal indicating whether an engine of the autonomous vehicle is in park and cause the first group of LEDs to generate a perceived continuous white light and the second group of LEDs to generate a perceived continuous red light while the second LED group emits cyan when the vehicle is in an autonomous drive mode and do not emit when the vehicle is in manual drive mode”). Further, (See [Column 2. Lines 15-24] “The first, second, and third groups of LEDs are situated such that they produce cyan color visible from all sides of the autonomous vehicle. The first, second, and third groups of LEDs are arranged such that they produce cyan color in a continuous, uninterrupted line around the vehicle while the vehicle is in the autonomous drive mode. The first, second, and third groups of LEDs are arranged such that they produce cyan color in a continuous, uninterrupted line around the vehicle unless there is an overriding indicator and while the vehicle is in the autonomous drive mode.”).
Mazuir as modified by Schellinger are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, vehicle lamping system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir as modified by Schaye to incorporate the teachings of Schellinger for the purposes improving the safety by signaling upcoming intentions of the vehicle maneuvers.
Regarding claim 10, Mazuir as modified by Schaye disclose the claimed features of claim 1, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Schellinger discloses, wherein the instructions further include instructions to, in response to one of braking or an active turn indicator of the vehicle, actuate the lamp to indicate the braking or the active turn indicator. (See [Column 2. Lines 25-31] “second control signal indicating whether a turn signal of the autonomous vehicle is activated and cause the first and second group of LEDs to generate a perceived, non-cyan flashing light while the third LED group emits cyan when the vehicle is in an autonomous drive mode and does not emit when the vehicle is in manual drive mode.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir as modified by Schaye to incorporate the teachings of Schellinger for the same motivation reasons in claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Mazuir as modified by Schaye, and Schellinger disclose the claimed features of claim 10, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Schellinger discloses, wherein actuating the lamp to indicate the braking or the active turn indicator overrides the shifting lighting pattern. (See [Column 1. Lines 62-67] “The indication can be visible but provided so as to not obscure normal vehicle indicators that are provided in normal color ranges. Normal vehicle indicators, sometimes called overriding indicators, can include a parking indicator, a reverse indicator, headlights, turn signals, brake indicators, among others.”). Further, (See [Column 2. Lines 16-19] ”The first, second, and third groups of LEDs are arranged such that they produce cyan color in a continuous, uninterrupted line around the vehicle unless there is an overriding indicator and while the vehicle is in the autonomous drive mode.”). Further, (See [Column 2. Lines 25-31] “second control signal indicating whether a turn signal of the autonomous vehicle is activated and cause the first and second group of LEDs to generate a perceived, non-cyan flashing light while the third LED group emits cyan when the vehicle is in an autonomous drive mode and does not emit when the vehicle is in manual drive mode.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir as modified by Schaye to incorporate the teachings of Schellinger for the same motivation reasons in claim 9.
Regarding claim 13, Mazuir as modified by Schaye disclose the claimed features of claim 1, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Schellinger discloses, wherein the lamp is a first lamp, and the instructions further include instructions to, in response to one of braking or an active turn indicator of the vehicle, actuate a second lamp to indicate the braking or the active turn indicator, the second lamp being in a same housing as the first lamp. (See [Column 5. Lines 4-20] “With the possibility of having turned on only the second light source of amber color (by means of a corresponding controller of a lighting system (e.g., of a car)), the lighting device is employable as turn indicator lamp of a car. With the possibility of having turned on only the first light source of cyan color, the lighting device is employable to indicate an automated driving mode of the car. Further, with the possibility of having turned on both light sources to generate white light, the lighting device is employable as white daytime running lamp, as position lamp, as fog lamp (at a front of a car) or as reversing lamp (at a back of a car) or as decorative light (at all sides of the car) or as logo illumination (at all sides of the car). The lighting device thus incorporates multiple functionalities within one single device, while the first light source of cyan color not only enables an additional functionality but also enhances an available color space.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir as modified by Schaye to incorporate the teachings of Schellinger for the same motivation reasons in claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, Mazuir as modified by Schaye, and Schellinger disclose the claimed features of claim 13, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Schellinger discloses, wherein the instructions further include instructions to, in response to an absence of the one of the braking or the active turn indicator of the vehicle, actuate the second lamp following a same pattern as the first lamp. (See [Column 17. Lines 7-19] “ Example 10 includes an at least partially autonomous vehicle comprising sensors, a first group of LEDs including cyan and amber LEDs, a second group of LEDs including cyan and at least one of red or amber LEDs, a third group of LEDs including cyan LEDs, a vehicle controller to receive data from the sensors and provide corresponding command signals including an indication of whether the at least partially autonomous vehicle is in autonomous drive mode, a light emitting diode (LED) controller to receive the command signals and issue command signals to cause the first, second, and third groups of LEDs indicating to provide perceived cyan light when and only when the autonomous vehicle is in the autonomous drive mode.”). Further, (See [Column 2. Lines 15-24] “The first, second, and third groups of LEDs are situated such that they produce cyan color visible from all sides of the autonomous vehicle. The first, second, and third groups of LEDs are arranged such that they produce cyan color in a continuous, uninterrupted line around the vehicle while the vehicle is in the autonomous drive mode. The first, second, and third groups of LEDs are arranged such that they produce cyan color in a continuous, uninterrupted line around the vehicle unless there is an overriding indicator and while the vehicle is in the autonomous drive mode.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir as modified by Schaye to incorporate the teachings of Schellinger for the same motivation reasons in claim 9.
Regarding claim 15, Mazuir as modified by Schaye, and Schellinger disclose the claimed features of claim 13, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Schellinger discloses, wherein the first color is turquoise. (See at least paragraph [Abstract] “A light-emitting diode (LED) system of an at least partially autonomous vehicle can include a first group of LEDs including cyan and amber LEDs”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mazuir as modified by Schaye to incorporate the teachings of Schellinger for the same motivation reasons in claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, Mazuir as modified by Schaye, and Schellinger disclose the claimed features of claim 13, Mazuir fails to explicitly disclose, however Schellinger discloses,, wherein the lamp is a first lamp, the method further comprising: in response to one of braking or an active turn indicator of the vehicle, actuating a second lamp to indicate the braking or the active turn indicator, the second lamp being in a same housing as the first lamp; (See [Column 5. Lines 4-20] “With the possibility of having turned on only the second light source of amber color (by means of a corresponding controller of a lighting system (e.g., of a car)), the lighting device is employable as turn indicator lamp of a car. With the possibility of having turned on only the first light source of cyan color, the lighting device is employable to indicate an automated driving mode of the car. Further, with the possibility of having turned on both light sources to generate white light, the lighting device is employable as white daytime running lamp, as position lamp, as fog lamp (at a front of a car) or as reversing lamp (at a back of a car) or as decorative light (at all sides of the car) or as logo illumination (at all sides of the car). The lighting device thus incorporates multiple functionalities within one single device, while the first light source of cyan color not only enables an additional functionality but also enhances an available color space.”).
in response to an absence of the one of the braking or the active turn indicator of the vehicle, actuating the second lamp following a same pattern as the first lamp. (See [Column 17. Lines 7-19] “Example 10 includes an at least partially autonomous vehicle comprising sensors, a first group of LEDs including cyan and amber LEDs, a second group of LEDs including cyan and at least one of red or amber LEDs, a third group of LEDs including cyan LEDs, a vehicle controller to receive data from the sensors and provide corresponding command signals including an indication of whether the at least partially autonomous vehicle is in autonomous drive mode, a light emitting diode (LED) controller to receive the command signals and issue command signals to cause the first, second, and third groups of LEDs indicating to provide perceived cyan light when and only when the autonomous vehicle is in the autonomous drive mode.”). Further, (See [Column 2. Lines 15-24] “The first, second, and third groups of LEDs are situated such that they produce cyan color visible from all sides of the autonomous vehicle. The first, second, and third groups of LEDs are arranged such that they produce cyan color in a continuous, uninterrupted line around the vehicle while the vehicle is in the autonomous drive mode. The first, second, and third groups of LEDs are arranged such that they produce cyan color in a continuous, uninterrupted line around the vehicle unless there is an overriding indicator and while the vehicle is in the autonomous drive mode.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Lys as modified by Cobb, and Mazuir to incorporate the teachings of Schellinger for the same motivation reasons in claim 9.
Conclusion
/WESAM NMN ALMADHRHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666