DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the prior art does not teach an expander shell. This argument is moot because the expander shell is referenced as line 113 which is part of nonelected species 4. Thus, claim 1 cannot be examined and is withdrawn together with its dependent claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 7, Figures 7A-12, and Claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 01/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 1-13 and 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/06/2026. Specifically, claim 1 includes an expander shell in the claim language. This limitation is only present in nonelected species 4 and thus cannot be examined with elected species 7. Claims 18-19 include a suspension structure which appears to be structure 117 in the disclosure and is only shown in nonelected species 4, and thus cannot be examined with elected species 7.
Double Patenting
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 10709851; claims 6 and 17 of Patent No. 11253657; claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12011578. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations in claim 14 of the application are included in the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
In re claim 14, it is not clear where in the disclosure of the elected species a second target magnet is described. Only one target magnet, 530, appears to be present. The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 14, it appears based on the disclosure, that there is only one target magnet in the elected species. For this reason, a second target magnet is considered vague and indefinite. It is not clear what structure is being claimed with this claim language. The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legassey et al. (US 2015/0238118) in view of Ginsberg (US 7608038) and Tallarida et al. (US 9764124).
In re claim 14, Legassey, in figures 1-10b, discloses a locator assembly comprising: a locator base (101); a first locator magnet (102) configured to be attracted to a first target magnet (103) of an implant; a second locator magnet (102) configured to be attracted to a second target magnet (103) of the implant, wherein the first and the second magnets are aligned. Legassey does not show the apertures/ports. Ginsberg however, in figures 1-12, shows that it is known in the art to have apertures/ports in a similar device (26, 41) configured to be aligned. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used ports as taught by Ginsberg in the device of Legassey in order to allow for a needle insertion functionality. Tallarida, in figures 1-20 teaches that it is known in the art to have multiple infusion ports (106) in a similar device. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged two or more ports as taught by Tallarida in the device of Legassey/Ginsberg to allow for improved functionality in multiple use scenarios (as discussed by Tallarida).
In re claim 15, Legassey, in figures 1-10b, discloses that the locator assembly includes a locator housing around the first locator magnet and the second locator magnet (this is disclosed in several figures, including figures 4 and 3B).
In re claim 16, Legassey, in figures 1-10b, discloses that the first locator magnet and the second locator magnet are positioned in the locator assembly with reversed magnetic poles (as seen in figures 2 and 4).
In re claim 17, Legassey/Ginsberg/Tallarida, discloses the claimed device except for positioning of the apertures with respect to the magnets in the claimed positions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have positioned the magnets and apertures in the claimed positions (or any other working positions), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alexander Talpalatski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837