DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Publication 2018/0376444 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 11 and 20, Kim et al. (US Publication 2018/0376444 A1) teaches, a method comprising: receiving, by a base station from a first core network function, a configuration message for an uplink packet flow between the base station and a second core network function for one or more wireless devices (see figure 15 step 2, N2 Request form AMF to RAN; see paragraphs 482-483; 9. AMF to (R)AN: N2 Request (N2 SM information received from SMF, security context, AMF Signaling Connection ID, Handover Restriction List, MM NAS Service Accept); RAN stores the Security Context, AMF Signaling Connection Id, QoS Information for the QoS Flows of the PDU Sessions that are activated and N3 Tunnel IDs in the UE RAN context); and transmitting, by the base station to the second core network function and based on the configuration message, a data packet of the uplink packet flow, wherein the data packet is based on information from the one or more wireless devices (see figure 15, step 11; UE to RAN to UPF; see paragraph 489; After the User Plane radio resources are setup, the uplink data from the UE may now be forwarded to RAN. The 5G RAN transmits the uplink data to the UPF address and Tunnel ID provided in the step 4).
In regards to claims 2 and 12, Kim teaches, transmitting, by the base station to the first core network function, a message requesting the uplink packet flow, wherein the receiving the configuration message is in response to the message (see figure 15, step 2, RAN to AMF; see paragraph 455; N2 Message (MM NAS Service Request, 5G Temporary ID, Location information, RAT type, RRC establishment cause). Details of this step are described in RAN specifications).
In regards to claims 3 and 13, Kim teaches, wherein the message requesting the uplink packet flow comprises one or both of: an establishment request of the uplink packet flow; or an identifier of the packet flow (see figure 15, step 2, RAN to AMF; see paragraph 455; N2 Message (MM NAS Service Request, 5G Temporary ID, Location information, RAT type, RRC establishment cause). Details of this step are described in RAN specifications; MM NAS service request reads on request of the uplink packet flow).
In regards to claims 4 and 14, Kim teaches, receiving, by the base station from the one or more wireless devices, one or more signals; and determining, based on the one or more signals, to request the uplink packet flow (see figure 15, step 1, UE to RAN; see paragraph 451; UE to (R)AN: MM NAS Service Request (PDU session ID(s), security parameters, PDU session status)).
In regards to claims 5 and 15, Kim teaches, wherein the uplink packet flow comprises a session, a data flow, or a quality of service (QoS) flow (see paragraphs 486, 487, 488, 489; the QoS flows of the PDU sessions).
In regards to claims 6 and 16, Kim teaches, selecting the uplink packet flow from one or more uplink packet flows established between the one or more wireless devices and the second core network function (see paragraph 453; When the Service Request is triggered for user data, the UE includes the PDU session ID(s) in NAS Service Request message to indicate the PDU session(s) that the UE needs to use. When the Service Request is triggered for signaling only, the UE doesn't include any PDU session ID. When this procedure is triggered for paging response, in the case that the UE needs to use some PDU session(s), the UE includes the PDU session ID(s) in MM NAS Service Request message to indicate the PDU session(s) that the UE needs to use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. as stated above, and further in view of Shahid et al. (US Publication 2021/0152278 A1).
In regards to claims 7-10 and 17-19, Kim teaches all the limitations of the parent claims as stated above.
In regards to claims 7-10 and 17-19, Kim fails to teach, Kim teaches, receiving, from the one or more wireless devices, one or more signals; and determining, based on the one or more signals, the information, wherein the information is determined based on one or more received power values of the one or more signals, receiving, by the base station from the one or more wireless devices, one or more signals; determining, by the base station, that a number of the one or more signals satisfy a condition; and transmitting, by the base station to the first core network function, a request for the uplink packet flow in response to the condition being satisfied and wherein the condition comprises that the number of the one or more signals is greater than a threshold.
In regards to claims 7-10, Shahid et al. (US Publication 2021/0152278 A1) teaches, receiving, from the one or more wireless devices, one or more signals; and determining, based on the one or more signals, the information (see figure 2, steps 202-204, receiving a UE report from the UE and determining a device metric associated with the UE), wherein the information is determined based on one or more received power values of the one or more signals (see figure 2 steps 206; see figure 3 steps 306 and paragraph 43; the RAN can additionally determine that the device metric (e.g., device temperature, device power consumption, etc.) exceed the threshold), receiving, by the base station from the one or more wireless devices, one or more signals (see figure 2, steps 202-204, receiving a UE report from the UE and determining a device metric associated with the UE); determining, by the base station, that a number of the one or more signals satisfy a condition (see figure 2 steps 206; see figure 3 steps 306 and paragraph 43; the RAN can additionally determine that the device metric (e.g., device temperature, device power consumption, etc.) exceed the threshold); and transmitting, by the base station to the first core network function, a request for the uplink packet flow in response to the condition being satisfied (see figure 2, step 208; see paragraph 32; at block 208, the RAN can determine a modification for the coding scheme associated with the user device. In particular, the RAN can determine whether the threshold is satisfied by the device temperature, the device power consumption, the one or more processor speeds, or the one or more other device metrics. In some embodiments, the RAN can determine that the coding scheme is to be modified to reduce the transmission of data via the data connection associated with the user device. In some additional embodiments, the RAN can report the one or more device metrics to another network node associated with the network; see paragraph 37; the RAN can further comprise the stored information, access the stored information via a database, and/or request the one or more potential coding schemes from the network; see paragraph 70; the 5G RAN 106 can transmit a modification request to the network 506 and receive a modification response from the network 506. In some embodiments, the modification request and response are transmitted to a database that includes information regarding potential modifications for the coding scheme and/or potential alternative coding schemes for the data connection) and wherein the condition comprises that the number of the one or more signals is greater than a threshold ((see figure 2 steps 206; see figure 3 steps 306 and paragraph 43; the RAN can additionally determine that the device metric (e.g., device temperature, device power consumption, etc.) exceed the threshold)).
Shahid and Kim both data session support with respect to interactions between network core, the base station and the UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the power level determination as taught by Shahid into the teachings of Kim. The motivation to do so would be to prevent service disruptions and improve transmission quality by determining if the transmission power used will cause service disruption and if so changing the transmission parameters.
Relevant Prior Art
Prior art Park et al. (US Publication 2020/0037386 A1) teaches, in figure 17, a registration procedure for UE, where a new AMF is determined first.
Prior art Dinan et al. (US Publication 2018/0324663 A1) teaches, first base station may determine whether reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of a target cell satisfies or exceeds one or more threshold values. If RSRP and/or RSRQ of the target cell does not satisfy or exceed one or more threshold values, the target cell may not be a suitable candidate as a target cell for the requested one or more network slices for the wireless device (see figure 18 and paragraph 251).
Conclusion
/JAY P PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466