DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 6/18/2024, and 12/5/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 2, in the reply filed on 4/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STARING ANTONIUS ADRIAAN MARIA (“Staring”) (EP-4195453-A1) in view of Han et al. (US 2013/0162363)
In regard to claim 1: (original)
Staring discloses a wireless power receiver (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105) comprising: a wireless power transfer coil (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 107); a rectifier (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Par. [0069] i.e. rectifier not shown) that receives an AC voltage induced in the wireless power transfer coil (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 107 & Par. [0069]) by a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 1 Item 101) and generates a DC output voltage therefrom (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Par. [0069] i.e. DC voltage generated for a load); load modulation circuitry (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 105, 509 and Par. [0077] i.e. vary the resonance frequency); and control circuitry that operates the rectifier to power a load coupled thereto (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 501 and 505 and Par. [0069] i.e. rectifier not shown) and operates the load modulation circuitry (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 105, 509 and Par. [0077]) to communicate with the wireless power transmitter (Fig. 1 Item 101) by selectively altering power drawn from the wireless power transfer coil (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 107) in accordance with an amplitude shift keying modulation scheme (Figs. 1, 5 & 6 Items 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0101-0102] i.e. on/off in out switching modulation of the load ) employing differential Manchester encoding (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0144] i.e. second communication mode may use Manchester encoding, and [0189-0191] i.e. plurality of modulation depth), the modulation scheme employed by the control circuitry (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 501) further comprising: initially employing a first modulation depth to first and second symbols communicated to the wireless power transmitter (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. controlled adaptation of modulation depth); and responsive to a communication failure, increasing a modulation depth associated with the symbols to a higher modulation depth (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. controlled adaptation of modulation depth) wherein adjusting a modulation depth associated with the symbols reduces power consumption associated with the modulation scheme (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. power level request deviations made through depth modification communications).
However, Staring does not explicitly disclose increasing a modulation depth associated with the first symbols to a higher modulation depth while maintaining a first modulation depth for the second symbols.
Han teaches a modulator (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 200 and 200b) and method for amplitude shift keying modulation where the modulator is able to increase a modulation depth associated with the first symbols to a higher modulation depth while maintaining a first modulation depth for the second symbols (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 200 and 200b and Par. [0033] i.e. adjustable modulation depths through the changing of the amplitude value for binary “1” and/or “0”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known wireless power transfer communications as disclosed by Staring with the known modulation method as taught by Han as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of improved communications and reduced interference (Pars. [0004] and [0006].
Further it would be have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tried to interpret the disclosure of Staring when faced with the only three known possible methods of varying modulation depth: 1st either that the amplitude of “1” and not “0” would be adjusted, 2nd that the amplitude of “0” and not “1” would be adjusted, or finally that the amplitude of both “1” and “0” would be adjusted therefore this limitation would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In regard to claim 2: (original)
Modified Staring further discloses the wireless power receiver of claim 1, wherein the modulation scheme employed by the control circuitry further comprises, responsive to a further communication failure, increasing a modulation depth associated with the second symbols to a higher modulation depth (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. controlled adaptation of modulation depth interpreted by Examiner “further communication failure” occurring at any point throughout the cycle of modulation and demodulation that occurs over time).
In regard to claim 3: (original)
Modified Staring further discloses the wireless power receiver of claim 1 wherein the first symbols are one bits and the second symbols are zero bits (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Han Par. [0033] i.e. adjustable modulation depths through the changing of the amplitude value for binary “1” and/or “0”).
Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regard to claim 4: (original)
Modified Staring further discloses the wireless power receiver of claim 1 wherein the first symbols are zero bits and the second symbols are one bits (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Han Par. [0033] i.e. adjustable modulation depths through the changing of the amplitude value for binary “1” and/or “0”).
Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regard to claim 6: (withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STARING ANTONIUS ADRIAAN MARIA (“Staring”) (EP-4195453-A1) in view of Han et al. (US 2013/0162363)
In regard to claim 7: (original)
Staring discloses a method of communicating data from a wireless power receiver (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105) to a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 1 Item 101) via load modulation (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 105, 509 and Par. [0077] i.e. vary the resonance frequency), the method being performed by control circuitry of the wireless power receiver (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 105, 501, 509) operating load modulation circuitry of the wireless power receiver (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 105, 501, 509 and Par. [0077])by: initially employing a first modulation depth to first and second symbols communicated to the wireless power transmitter (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. controlled adaptation of modulation depth); and responsive to a communication failure, increasing a modulation depth associated with the symbols to a higher modulation depth (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. controlled adaptation of modulation depth) However, Staring does not explicitly disclose increasing a modulation depth associated with the first symbols to a higher modulation depth while maintaining a first modulation depth for the second symbols.
Han teaches a modulator (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 200 and 200b) and method for amplitude shift keying modulation where the modulator is able to increase a modulation depth associated with the first symbols to a higher modulation depth while maintaining a first modulation depth for the second symbols (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 200 and 200b and Par. [0033] i.e. adjustable modulation depths through the changing of the amplitude value for binary “1” and/or “0”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known wireless power transfer communications as disclosed by Staring with the known modulation method as taught by Han as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of improved communications and reduced interference (Pars. [0004] and [0006].
Further it would be have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tried to interpret the disclosure of Staring when faced with the only three known possible methods of varying modulation depth: 1st either that the amplitude of “1” and not “0” would be adjusted, 2nd that the amplitude of “0” and not “1” would be adjusted, or finally that the amplitude of both “1” and “0” would be adjusted therefore this limitation would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In regard to claim 8: (original)
Modified Staring further discloses the method of claim 7 further comprising, responsive to a further communication failure, increasing a modulation depth associated with the second symbols to a higher modulation depth (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. controlled adaptation of modulation depth interpreted by Examiner “further communication failure” occurring at any point throughout the cycle of modulation and demodulation that occurs over time).
In regard to claim 9: (original)
Modified Staring further discloses the method of claim 7 wherein the first and second symbols communicated to the wireless power transmitter are encoded with a differential Manchester encoding scheme (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0144] i.e. second communication mode may use Manchester encoding) in which the first symbols are one bits and the second symbols are zero bits (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Han Par. [0033] i.e. adjustable modulation depths through the changing of the amplitude value for binary “1” and/or “0”).
In regard to claim 10: (original)
Modified Staring further discloses the method of claim 7 wherein increasing a modulation depth associated with the first symbols to a higher modulation depth while maintaining a first modulation depth for the second symbols reduces power consumption associated with the modulation scheme (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. power level request deviations made through depth modification communications).
In regard to claim 12: (withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
Claim(s) 13- 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STARING ANTONIUS ADRIAAN MARIA (“Staring”) (EP-4195453-A1) in view of Han et al. (US 2013/0162363)
In regard to claim 13: (original)
Staring discloses a wireless power receiver (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105) comprising: a wireless power transfer coil (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 107); a rectifier (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Par. [0069] i.e. rectifier not shown) that receives an AC voltage induced in the wireless power transfer coil (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 107 & Par. [0069]) by a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 1 Item 101) and generates a DC output voltage there from (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Par. [0069] i.e. DC voltage generated for a load); load modulation circuitry (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 105, 509 and Par. [0077] i.e. vary the resonance frequency); and control circuitry that operates the rectifier to power a load coupled thereto (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 501 and 505 and Par. [0069] i.e. rectifier not shown) and operates the load modulation circuitry (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 105, 509 and Par. [0077]) to communicate with the wireless power transmitter (Fig. 1 Item 101) by selectively altering power drawn from the wireless power transfer coil (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 107) in accordance with a modulation scheme (Figs. 1, 5 & 6 Items 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0101-0102] i.e. on/off in out switching modulation of the load ) , the modulation scheme employed by the control circuitry (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 501) further comprising: initially employing a first modulation depth to first and second symbols communicated to the wireless power transmitter (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. controlled adaptation of modulation depth); and responsive to a communication failure, increasing a modulation depth associated with the symbols to a higher modulation depth (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. controlled adaptation of modulation depth).
However, Staring does not explicitly disclose increasing a modulation depth associated with the first symbols to a higher modulation depth while maintaining a first modulation depth for the second symbols.
Han teaches a modulator (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 200 and 200b) and method for amplitude shift keying modulation where the modulator is able to increase a modulation depth associated with the first symbols to a higher modulation depth while maintaining a first modulation depth for the second symbols (Figs. 1 and 3 Items 200 and 200b and Par. [0033] i.e. adjustable modulation depths through the changing of the amplitude value for binary “1” and/or “0”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known wireless power transfer communications as disclosed by Staring with the known modulation method as taught by Han as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of improved communications and reduced interference (Pars. [0004] and [0006].
Further it would be have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tried to interpret the disclosure of Staring when faced with the only three known possible methods of varying modulation depth: 1st either that the amplitude of “1” and not “0” would be adjusted, 2nd that the amplitude of “0” and not “1” would be adjusted, or finally that the amplitude of both “1” and “0” would be adjusted therefore this limitation would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In regard to claim 14: (original)
Modified Staring further discloses the wireless power receiver of claim 13, wherein the modulation scheme employed by the control circuitry further comprises, responsive to a further communication failure, increasing a modulation depth associated with the second symbols to a higher modulation depth (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. controlled adaptation of modulation depth interpreted by Examiner “further communication failure” occurring at any point throughout the cycle of modulation and demodulation that occurs over time).
In regard to claim 15: (original)
Modified Staring further discloses wireless power receiver of claim 13 wherein the first and second symbols communicated to the wireless power transmitter are encoded with a differential Manchester encoding scheme (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0144] i.e. second communication mode may use Manchester encoding) in which the first symbols are one bits and the second symbols are zero bits (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Han Par. [0033] i.e. adjustable modulation depths through the changing of the amplitude value for binary “1” and/or “0”).
Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regard to claim 16: (original)
Modified Staring further discloses wireless power receiver of claim 13 wherein the first and second symbols communicated to the wireless power transmitter are encoded with a differential Manchester encoding scheme (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0144] i.e. second communication mode may use Manchester encoding) in which the first symbols are zero bits and the second symbols are one bits (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Han Par. [0033] i.e. adjustable modulation depths through the changing of the amplitude value for binary “1” and/or “0”).
Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regard to claim 17: (original)
Modified Staring further discloses the wireless power receiver of claim 13 wherein increasing a modulation depth associated with the first symbols to a higher modulation depth while maintaining a first modulation depth for the second symbols reduces power consumption associated with the modulation scheme (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. power level request deviations made through depth modification communications).
In regard to claim 19: (withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
In regard to claim 20: (withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
In regard to claim 21: (withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
In regard to claim 22: (withdrawn) Not examined on the merits.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STARING ANTONIUS ADRIAAN MARIA (“Staring”) (EP-4195453-A1) in view of Han et al. (US 2013/0162363) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0328630).
In regard to claim 5: (original)
Staring as modified by Han discloses the wireless power receiver of claim 1, including the load modulation circuitry (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 105, 509 and Par. [0077]) and a rectifier (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Par. [0069] i.e. rectifier not shown) that receives an AC voltage induced in the wireless power transfer coil (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 107 & Par. [0069]) by a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 1 Item 101) and generates a DC output voltage therefrom (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Par. [0069] i.e. DC voltage generated for a load) as well as increasing a modulation depth associated with the symbols to a higher modulation depth (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. controlled adaptation of modulation depth).
However, Staring as modified by Han does not explicitly disclose wherein the load modulation circuitry includes a controllable current source coupled to a DC side of the rectifier, and the higher modulation depth corresponds to a higher current drawn by the controllable current source.
Chen teaches load modulation circuitry (Fig. 2 Item 46T) includes a controllable current source (Fig. 2 Item 100 & Par. [0040] i.e. modulation depth can be increased or decreased to increase communications or minimize power loss) coupled to a DC side of the rectifier (Fig. 2 Item 50 and 100), and the higher modulation depth corresponds to a higher current drawn by the controllable current source (Fig. 2 Item 100 & Par. [0040] i.e. modulation depth can be increased or decreased to increase communications or minimize power loss).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known wireless power transfer communications as disclosed by modified Staring with the known wireless power system with in band communications as taught by Chen as doing so would have yielded the predictable results of being able to improve communications through the increase of signal strength or minimize power loss (Fig. 2 Item 100, 46T and Par. [0040]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STARING ANTONIUS ADRIAAN MARIA (“Staring”) (EP-4195453-A1) in view of Han et al. (US 2013/0162363) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0328630).
In regard to claim 11: (original)
Staring as modified by Han discloses the method of claim 7, including the load modulation circuitry (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 105, 509 and Par. [0077]) and a rectifier (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Par. [0069] i.e. rectifier not shown) that receives an AC voltage induced in the wireless power transfer coil (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 107 & Par. [0069]) by a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 1 Item 101) and generates a DC output voltage therefrom (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Par. [0069] i.e. DC voltage generated for a load) as well as increasing a modulation depth associated with the symbols to a higher modulation depth (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. controlled adaptation of modulation depth).
However, Staring as modified by Han does not explicitly disclose wherein the load modulation circuitry includes a controllable current source coupled to a DC side of the rectifier, and the higher modulation depth corresponds to a higher current drawn by the controllable current source.
Chen teaches load modulation circuitry (Fig. 2 Item 46T) includes a controllable current source (Fig. 2 Item 100 & Par. [0040] i.e. modulation depth can be increased or decreased to increase communications or minimize power loss) coupled to a DC side of the rectifier (Fig. 2 Item 50 and 100), and the higher modulation depth corresponds to a higher current drawn by the controllable current source (Fig. 2 Item 100 & Par. [0040] i.e. modulation depth can be increased or decreased to increase communications or minimize power loss).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known wireless power transfer communications as disclosed by modified Staring with the known wireless power system with in band communications as taught by Chen as doing so would have yielded the predictable results of being able to improve communications through the increase of signal strength or minimize power loss (Fig. 2 Item 100, 46T and Par. [0040]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STARING ANTONIUS ADRIAAN MARIA (“Staring”) (EP-4195453-A1) in view of Han et al. (US 2013/0162363) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0328630).
In regard to claim 18: (original)
Staring as modified by Han discloses the wireless power receiver of claim 13, including the load modulation circuitry (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 105, 509 and Par. [0077]) and a rectifier (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Par. [0069] i.e. rectifier not shown) that receives an AC voltage induced in the wireless power transfer coil (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 107 & Par. [0069]) by a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 1 Item 101) and generates a DC output voltage therefrom (Figs. 1 & 5 Item 105 and Par. [0069] i.e. DC voltage generated for a load) as well as increasing a modulation depth associated with the symbols to a higher modulation depth (Figs. 1 & 5 Items 101, 501, 513, 515, 511 and 509 & Pars . [0189-0191] i.e. controlled adaptation of modulation depth).
However, Staring as modified by Han does not explicitly disclose wherein the load modulation circuitry includes a controllable current source coupled to a DC side of the rectifier, and the higher modulation depth corresponds to a higher current drawn by the controllable current source.
Chen teaches load modulation circuitry (Fig. 2 Item 46T) includes a controllable current source (Fig. 2 Item 100 & Par. [0040] i.e. modulation depth can be increased or decreased to increase communications or minimize power loss) coupled to a DC side of the rectifier (Fig. 2 Item 50 and 100), and the higher modulation depth corresponds to a higher current drawn by the controllable current source (Fig. 2 Item 100 & Par. [0040] i.e. modulation depth can be increased or decreased to increase communications or minimize power loss).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known wireless power transfer communications as disclosed by modified Staring with the known wireless power system with in band communications as taught by Chen as doing so would have yielded the predictable results of being able to improve communications through the increase of signal strength or minimize power loss (Fig. 2 Item 100, 46T and Par. [0040]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892 as well as some references of note below:
Huang et al. (US 2023/0084847) showing an Alternating communication for wireless power transfer.
Peralta et al. (US 11,489,555) showing a wireless power transmitter for high fidelity communications with amplitude shift keying.
Teo (US 10,862,719) showing a method and apparatus for determining data of ASK signal and wireless power transmitter using the same.
MW
7/15/2026
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836