DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the election filed on 5/4/26.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant's election with traverse of Species I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 5/4/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “Claims 1-15, drawn to a circuit comprising. classified in H02M1/0029;" and "Claims 16-20, drawn to a circuit comprising classified in H02M1/0009." (Restriction at 2.) However, both the species are directed to slope compensation clamp circuits, which is described by H02M1/0029, "Circuits or arrangements for limiting the slope of switching signals, e.g. slew rate." (CPC.)”. This is found persuasive. Therefore, the restriction requirement mailed on 03/02/26 has been withdrawn.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a current mirror” (in claim 10)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 6, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Floriani et al. (US 20220416657).
Regarding claim 1: Floriani et al. disclose a circuit (i.e. figures 2-6) comprising:
a switching converter (i.e. 60) comprising at least one switch (i.e. switch of 60) activated in response to a switching signal (i.e. from 94) to provide an inductor current (i.e. IL) through an inductor (i.e. L) to generate an output voltage (i.e. Vout) across a load (i.e. load at Vout); and
a switching control system (i.e. controller of figure 3) comprising:
a switch controller (i.e. controller of figure 4) configured to generate the switching signal (i.e. from 94) in response to an activation signal (i.e. PWM); and
a peak current mode controller (i.e. controller of figure 6) configured to generate the activation signal (i.e. PWM) in response to the inductor current (i.e. IL) being approximately equal (i.e. function of 107) to a slope-compensation current (i.e. current provide to node 216), the slope- compensation current (i.e. current provide to node 216 from 210) comprising a sum (i.e. 210) of a slope current (i.e. Islope) and a compensation current (i.e. from 180) generated via a compensation voltage (i.e. VC), the peak current mode controller (i.e. controller of figure 6) comprising a slope-compensation clamp circuit (i.e. figure 7: circuit 118, 123) configured to clamp the compensation voltage (i.e. VC) to a minimum amplitude that is based on the slope current (i.e. Islope) (i.e. the slop current Islope is provide to the comparator 107 via the summation 210 in order to regulate voltage Vout. Figures 2-3 show voltage Vout is provide to the diagnosis 510 to generate signal DIAG to the processor 500. The processor 500 generate the CONT signal to the register 99 to provide signal PAR to control the clamp circuit of figure 7. Therefore, clamp the compensation voltage VC is based on the slope current Islope) (i.e. ¶ 82-106).
Regarding claim 6: (i.e. figures 2-6) wherein the peak current mode controller (i.e. controller of figure 6) further comprises a feedback error amplifier (i.e. 110) configured to generate the compensation voltage (i.e. VC) on a compensation terminal based on an amplitude of a feedback voltage (i.e. FB) associated with the output voltage (i.e. Vout) of the switching converter relative to a predefined reference voltage (i.e. Vref), wherein the slope-compensation clamp circuit (i.e. figure 7: circuit 118, 123) is coupled (i.e. electrically coupled) to the compensation terminal to set the minimum amplitude of the compensation voltage (i.e. VC) (i.e. ¶ 82-106).
Regarding claim 8: (i.e. figures 2-6) wherein the slope-compensation clamp circuit (i.e. figure 7: circuit 118, 123) is configured to clamp the compensation voltage (i.e. VC) to the minimum amplitude during a pulse frequency modulation (PFM) mode of the switching converter (i.e. ¶ 82-106) (i.e. ¶ 156).
Regarding claim 11: Floriani et al. disclose a circuit (i.e. figures 2-6) comprising:
a comparator (i.e. 92) configured to generate an activation signal (i.e. PWM) in response to an inductor current (i.e. IL) of a switching converter (i.e. 60) being equal to a slope-compensation current (i.e. current provide to node 216 from 210), the slope-compensation current (i.e. current provide to node 216 from 210) comprising a sum (i.e. 210) of a slope current (i.e. Islope) and a compensation current (i.e. from 180) generated via a compensation voltage (i.e. VC);
a feedback error amplifier (i.e. 110) configured to generate the compensation voltage (i.e. VC) based on an amplitude of a feedback voltage (i.e. FB) associated with an output voltage (i.e. Vout) of the switching converter (i.e. 60) relative to a predefined reference voltage (i.e. Vref);
a slope generator (i.e. 200) configured to generate the slope current (i.e. Islope); and a slope-compensation clamp circuit (i.e. figure 7: circuit 118, 123) configured to clamp the compensation voltage (i.e. VC) to a minimum amplitude based on the slope current (i.e. Islope) (i.e. the slop current Islope is provide to the comparator 107 via the summation 210 in order to regulate voltage Vout. Figures 2-3 show voltage Vout is provide to the diagnosis 510 to generate signal DIAG to the processor 500. The processor 500 generate the CONT signal to the register 99 to provide signal PAR to control the clamp circuit of figure 7. Therefore, clamp the compensation voltage VC is based on the slope current Islope) (i.e. ¶ 82-106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Floriani et al. (US 20220416657) in view of Chen et al. (US 2020389091).
Regarding claim 9: (i.e. figures 2-6) wherein the peak current mode controller further (i.e. controller of figure 6) comprises:
a slope generator (i.e. 200) configured to generate the slope current (i.e. Islope);
a summation (i.e. 210) component configured to generate the slope-compensation current (i.e. from 210); and a comparator (i.e. 92) configured to compare the inductor current (i.e. IL) with the slope-compensation current (i.e. current provide to node 216 from 210) to generate the activation signal (i.e. PWM),
but does not specifically disclose based on subtracting the slope current from the compensation current associated with the compensation voltage.
Chen et al. disclose a voltage converter (i.e. figure 6) comprising based on subtracting the slope current (i.e. Islp) from the compensation current (i.e. Icon) associated with the compensation voltage (i.e. from 630, 112) (i.e. ¶ 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Floriani et al.’s invention with the converter as disclose by Chen et al. to improvements in current-mode control of voltage converter circuits.
9. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Floriani et al. (US 20220416657) in view of Chen et al. (US 2020389091) and further in view of Romeo (US 20210099082).
Regarding claim 10: Floriani et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the slope generator comprises a current mirror configured to provide the slope current to the slope-compensation clamp circuit.
Romeo discloses a voltage converter (i.e. figures 2 and 6) comprising the slope generator comprises a current mirror (i.e. 234, ¶ 37) configured to provide the slope current (i.e. Iramp) to the slope-compensation clamp circuit (i.e. 180, 646).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Floriani et al.’s invention with the converter as disclose by Romeo to achieve accurate current limitation in clocked applications without subharmonic oscillation.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 16-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: In regards to claim 16, the prior art fails to disclose a slope-compensation error amplifier having a first input, a second input, and an output, the first input of the slope-compensation error amplifier being coupled to the switch output, the second input of the slope-compensation error amplifier being coupled to a compensation terminal that is adapted to receive a compensation voltage for slope-compensation control of the switching converter system; and a regulation transistor device having a first input, a second input, and an output, the first input of the regulation transistor device being coupled to the output of the slope-compensation error amplifier, the second input of the regulation transistor device being adapted to receive an input voltage, and the output of the regulation transistor device being coupled to the compensation terminal.
11. Claims 2-5, 7, and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Nguyen Tran/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838