CTNF 18/746,780 CTNF 94988 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-36 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are objected as they disclose “geolocation data of the aircraft”, the geolocation data”and “a number of airports” and the airports” these were interpret as referring to the same term but introduce ambiguity; please correct. 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 6, 13, and 20 objected to because of the following informalities: these claims disclose “aircraft is behaving within normal parameters” but no definition of “normal” was included . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20230222702-A1 to Cavanaugh et al., from hereon Cavanaugh in view of US-20230368589-A1 to Plytage et al., from hereon Plytage and US-20210264799-A1 to Belt et al., from hereon Belt . Regarding claim 1 Cavanaugh teaches…a computer-implemented method for determining aircraft wireless connectivity, the method comprising (Abs): using a number of processors to perform (P. 30, item 3A, and Abs): collating geolocation data of the aircraft at the airports during the missions (Fig. 3, P.40 discloses… retrieving a plurality of status data associated with aircraft communication at a target location from a database, determining a plurality of geographic location information for a plurality of aircraft parking locations at the target location, accessing a plurality of imagery data associated with a view at the target location, and generating an aircraft communication visualization map for the target location including aircraft communication information overlaid upon an image based on the imagery data and the aircraft parking locations at the target location ) ; parsing the NFS logs for wireless connectivity performance metrics (P.40, Fig. 3, discloses…The aircraft communication visualization map 300 can be customized to view data specific to an airline fleet at airports…the server 134 can gather data from multiple data sources which collect wireless communication metrics from previous wireless transfers from aircraft 108 at various locations at each airport. The results can be visually depicted on the aircraft communication visualization map 300 to assist in determining where and when to transfer data stored on the aircraft 108; P. 42 further discloses… The aircraft communication visualization map 300 may also display summary information, such as a wireless interface usage distribution 316. The wireless interface usage distribution 316 can include data transfer rates (e.g., kilobytes per second), interface types used (e.g., percentage use of WiFi, mobile/cell home, and/or mobile/cell roaming connections), and signal strength for each type of interface. The wireless interface usage distribution 316 can include data for an area of an airport (e.g., one or more gates/parking locations), multiple areas of the airport used by a same airline (e.g., all locations used by the airline at the same airport), and a plurality of airports used by the same airline (e.g., fleet data). The signal strength displayed with the wireless interface usage distribution 316 can include an average wireless signal strength for one or more of: an area of an airport, multiple areas of the airport used by a same airline, and a plurality of airports used by the same airline. The aircraft communication visualization map 300 may also display an average data transfer rate 318 for the airport as compared to other airports. Further, the average data transfer rate 318 may be selectable to display one or more of data transfer rates for: an area of an airport, multiple areas of the airport used by a same airline, and a plurality of airports used by the same airline);but does not teach…collating network file server (NFS) logs from a number of missions for an aircraft at a number of airports and cross-referencing the wireless connectivity performance metrics with the geolocation data to determine wireless connectivity boundaries according to location within the airports. Plytage teaches… collating network file server (NFS) logs from a number of missions for an aircraft at a number of airports (P.6 and P. 42 discloses… uploading fault messages causes those messages automatically to be stored in a log file, e.g., a file on the same computer that runs the FST or on a network file server. No additional user action is required for storing the log file; rather, storage is automatic upon upload. In some examples, the FST displays the name of the log file in which the fault messages are stored, such that users may take note of the file name for later access ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cavanaugh by incorporating the teachings of Plytage because the method and device allow for various modes of storage of service performance data in a manner that user can retrieve with a minimal quantity of commands that do not change the values of the data for safety compliance these service tools being field service tool (FST) and or Network File Serivice (NFS) (Plytage, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Belt teaches… and cross-referencing the wireless connectivity performance metrics with the geolocation data to determine wireless connectivity boundaries according to location within the airports (P.22, 30, and 112 discloses… the flight controller can access the files 1026a and 1026b over the shared media interface of the UAV, and the oversight processor can access the files 1026a and 1026c over the shared media interface of the UAV. In this manner, both the flight controller and the oversight processor of the UAV can be provided the same system parameters saved to the shared memory media 1025 in one or more secure system parameters packages. When these system parameters include operational envelope parameters and/or safe landing zone parameters, both the flight controller and the oversight processor of the UAV can be aware of the boundaries of an operational envelope at the site of operation and/or the locations of safe landing zones at the site of operation ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cavanaugh by incorporating the teachings of Belt because the method and device allow for various modes of storage of service performance data in a manner that user can retrieve with a minimal quantity of commands that do not change the values of the data for safety compliance these service tools being field service tool (FST) and or Network File Serivice (NFS) (Belt, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Regarding claim 2 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the method of claim 1, Cavanaugh teaches…further comprising providing guidance to an operator of the aircraft regarding wireless link management on an airport basis (P.43 discloses… aircraft communication visualization map 300 may also display a key 320 to assist in interpreting various icons and colors displayed on the aircraft communication visualization map 300. For example, the key 320 may indicate how various shapes, colors, and/or patterns map to data transfer rate, signal strength and/or communication method, such as WiFi or cellular. ). Regarding claim 3 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the method of claim 1, Cavanaugh teaches…further comprising: determining connectivity performance of wireless link systems on the aircraft according to the wireless connectivity performance metrics of the NFS logs; and determining whether intervention is required to service the wireless link systems on the aircraft (P.40 ). Regarding claim 4 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the method of claim 1, Cavanaugh teaches…further comprising determining a configuration of wireless link systems on the aircraft according to the performance metrics of the NFS logs (P.40 ). Regarding claim 5 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the method of claim 1, Cavanaugh teaches…further comprising generating heat maps of the wireless connectivity according to location within the airports (P.40 further discloses the creation of a visualization map indicating wireless connectivity according to the locations within the airports). Regarding claim 6 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the method of claim 1, Cavanaugh teaches…further comprising vetting individual flights across multiple airports to determine whether the aircraft is behaving within normal parameters according to historical data (P.9 discloses… features described above or below, or as an alternative, further embodiments may include where the processing system is configured to execute the instructions to result in outputting to the aircraft communication visualization map, an average data transfer rate for one or more of: an area of an airport, multiple areas of the airport used by a same airline, and a plurality of airports used by the same airline). Regarding claim 7 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the method of claim 1, Cavanaugh teaches…further comprising, for a multi-airport mission, determining at which airports to offload data via wireless link based on the wireless connectivity at the airports according to historical data (P.40 ). Regarding claim 8 Cavanaugh teaches…a system for determining aircraft wireless connectivity (Abs), the system comprising (Abs, Fig. 1, item 102): a storage device that stores program instructions; one or more processors operably connected to the storage device and configured to execute the program instructions to cause the system to (P. 30, item 3A, and Abs): collate network file server (NFS) logs from a number of missions for an aircraft at a number of airports(Fig. 3, P.40 discloses… retrieving a plurality of status data associated with aircraft communication at a target location from a database, determining a plurality of geographic location information for a plurality of aircraft parking locations at the target location, accessing a plurality of imagery data associated with a view at the target location, and generating an aircraft communication visualization map for the target location including aircraft communication information overlaid upon an image based on the imagery data and the aircraft parking locations at the target location ); but does not teach…collate geolocation data of the aircraft at the airports during the missions; parse the NFS logs for wireless connectivity performance metrics; and cross-reference the wireless connectivity performance metrics with the geolocation data to determine wireless connectivity boundaries according to location within the airports. Plytage teaches… collate geolocation data of the aircraft at the airports during the missions; parse the NFS logs for wireless connectivity performance metrics(P.6 and P. 42 discloses… uploading fault messages causes those messages automatically to be stored in a log file, e.g., a file on the same computer that runs the FST or on a network file server. No additional user action is required for storing the log file; rather, storage is automatic upon upload. In some examples, the FST displays the name of the log file in which the fault messages are stored, such that users may take note of the file name for later access ) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cavanaugh by incorporating the teachings of Plytage because the method and device allow for various modes of storage of service performance data in a manner that user can retrieve with a minimal quantity of commands that do not change the values of the data for safety compliance these service tools being field service tool (FST) and or Network File Service (NFS) (Plytage, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Belt teaches…; and cross-reference the wireless connectivity performance metrics with the geolocation data to determine wireless connectivity boundaries according to location within the airports(P.22, 30, and 112 discloses… the flight controller can access the files 1026a and 1026b over the shared media interface of the UAV, and the oversight processor can access the files 1026a and 1026c over the shared media interface of the UAV. In this manner, both the flight controller and the oversight processor of the UAV can be provided the same system parameters saved to the shared memory media 1025 in one or more secure system parameters packages. When these system parameters include operational envelope parameters and/or safe landing zone parameters, both the flight controller and the oversight processor of the UAV can be aware of the boundaries of an operational envelope at the site of operation and/or the locations of safe landing zones at the site of operation ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cavanaugh by incorporating the teachings of Belt because the method and device allow for various modes of storage of service performance data in a manner that user can retrieve with a minimal quantity of commands that do not change the values of the data for safety compliance these service tools being field service tool (FST) and or Network File Service (NFS) (Belt, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Regarding claim 9 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the system of claim 8, Cavanaugh teaches…wherein the processors further execute instructions to provide guidance to an operator of the aircraft regarding wireless link management on an airport basis(P.43 discloses… aircraft communication visualization map 300 may also display a key 320 to assist in interpreting various icons and colors displayed on the aircraft communication visualization map 300. For example, the key 320 may indicate how various shapes, colors, and/or patterns map to data transfer rate, signal strength and/or communication method, such as WiFi or cellular. ). . Regarding claim 10 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the system of claim 8, Cavanaugh teaches…wherein the processors further execute instructions to: determine connectivity performance of wireless link systems on the aircraft according to the wireless connectivity performance metrics of the NFS logs; and determine whether intervention is required to service the wireless link systems on the aircraft (P.40 ). Regarding claim 11 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the system of claim 8, Cavanaugh teaches…wherein the processors further execute instructions to determine a configuration of wireless link systems on the aircraft according to the performance metrics of the NFS logs (P.40 ). Regarding claim 12 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the system of claim 8, Cavanaugh teaches…wherein the processors further execute instructions to generate heat maps of the wireless connectivity according to location within the airports(P.40 further discloses the creation of a visualization map indicating wireless connectivity according to the locations within the airports). . Regarding claim 13 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the system of claim 8, Cavanaugh teaches…wherein the processors further execute instructions to vet individual flights across multiple airports to determine whether the aircraft is behaving within normal parameters according to historical data(P.9 discloses… features described above or below, or as an alternative, further embodiments may include where the processing system is configured to execute the instructions to result in outputting to the aircraft communication visualization map, an average data transfer rate for one or more of: an area of an airport, multiple areas of the airport used by a same airline, and a plurality of airports used by the same airline). Regarding claim 14 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the system of claim 8, Cavanaugh teaches…wherein the processors further execute instructions to, for a multi-airport mission, determine at which airports to offload data via wireless link based on the wireless connectivity at the airports according to historical data (P. 40). Regarding claim 15 Cavanaugh teaches…a computer program product for determining aircraft wireless connectivity (P. 30, Abs), the computer program product comprising: a computer-readable storage medium having program instructions embodied thereon to perform the steps of (P. 30): collating network file server (NFS) logs from a number of missions for an aircraft at a number of airports; collating geolocation data of the aircraft at the airports during the missions(Fig. 3, P.40 discloses… retrieving a plurality of status data associated with aircraft communication at a target location from a database, determining a plurality of geographic location information for a plurality of aircraft parking locations at the target location, accessing a plurality of imagery data associated with a view at the target location, and generating an aircraft communication visualization map for the target location including aircraft communication information overlaid upon an image based on the imagery data and the aircraft parking locations at the target location ); (P.40, Fig. 3, discloses…The aircraft communication visualization map 300 can be customized to view data specific to an airline fleet at airports…the server 134 can gather data from multiple data sources which collect wireless communication metrics from previous wireless transfers from aircraft 108 at various locations at each airport. The results can be visually depicted on the aircraft communication visualization map 300 to assist in determining where and when to transfer data stored on the aircraft 108; P. 42 further discloses… The aircraft communication visualization map 300 may also display summary information, such as a wireless interface usage distribution 316. The wireless interface usage distribution 316 can include data transfer rates (e.g., kilobytes per second), interface types used (e.g., percentage use of WiFi, mobile/cell home, and/or mobile/cell roaming connections), and signal strength for each type of interface. The wireless interface usage distribution 316 can include data for an area of an airport (e.g., one or more gates/parking locations), multiple areas of the airport used by a same airline (e.g., all locations used by the airline at the same airport), and a plurality of airports used by the same airline (e.g., fleet data). The signal strength displayed with the wireless interface usage distribution 316 can include an average wireless signal strength for one or more of: an area of an airport, multiple areas of the airport used by a same airline, and a plurality of airports used by the same airline. The aircraft communication visualization map 300 may also display an average data transfer rate 318 for the airport as compared to other airports. Further, the average data transfer rate 318 may be selectable to display one or more of data transfer rates for: an area of an airport, multiple areas of the airport used by a same airline, and a plurality of airports used by the same airline);but does not teach… parsing the NFS logs for wireless connectivity performance metrics; and cross-referencing the wireless connectivity performance metrics with the geolocation data to determine wireless connectivity boundaries according to location within the airports. Plytage teaches….parsing the NFS logs for wireless connectivity performance metrics(P.6 and P. 42 discloses… uploading fault messages causes those messages automatically to be stored in a log file, e.g., a file on the same computer that runs the FST or on a network file server. No additional user action is required for storing the log file; rather, storage is automatic upon upload. In some examples, the FST displays the name of the log file in which the fault messages are stored, such that users may take note of the file name for later access ) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cavanaugh by incorporating the teachings of Plytage because the method and device allow for various modes of storage of service performance data in a manner that user can retrieve with a minimal quantity of commands that do not change the values of the data for safety compliance these service tools being field service tool (FST) and or Network File Serivice (NFS) (Plytage, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Belt teaches…and cross-referencing the wireless connectivity performance metrics with the geolocation data to determine wireless connectivity boundaries according to location within the airports(P.22, 30, and 112 discloses… the flight controller can access the files 1026a and 1026b over the shared media interface of the UAV, and the oversight processor can access the files 1026a and 1026c over the shared media interface of the UAV. In this manner, both the flight controller and the oversight processor of the UAV can be provided the same system parameters saved to the shared memory media 1025 in one or more secure system parameters packages. When these system parameters include operational envelope parameters and/or safe landing zone parameters, both the flight controller and the oversight processor of the UAV can be aware of the boundaries of an operational envelope at the site of operation and/or the locations of safe landing zones at the site of operation ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cavanaugh by incorporating the teachings of Belt because the method and device allow for various modes of storage of service performance data in a manner that user can retrieve with a minimal quantity of commands that do not change the values of the data for safety compliance these service tools being field service tool (FST) and or Network File Serivice (NFS) (Belt, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Regarding claim 16 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the computer program product of claim 15, Cavanaugh teaches…further comprising instructions for providing guidance to an operator of the aircraft regarding wireless link management on an airport basis(P.43 discloses… aircraft communication visualization map 300 may also display a key 320 to assist in interpreting various icons and colors displayed on the aircraft communication visualization map 300. For example, the key 320 may indicate how various shapes, colors, and/or patterns map to data transfer rate, signal strength and/or communication method, such as WiFi or cellular. ). Regarding claim 17 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the computer program product of claim 15, Cavanaugh teaches… further comprising instructions for: determining connectivity performance of wireless link systems on the aircraft according to the wireless connectivity performance metrics of the NFS logs; and determining whether intervention is required to service the wireless link systems on the aircraft (P.40 ). Regarding claim 18 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the computer program product of claim 15, Cavanaugh teaches…further comprising instructions for determining a configuration of wireless link systems on the aircraft according to the performance metrics of the NFS logs (P.40 ). Regarding claim 19 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the computer program product of claim 15, Cavanaugh teaches…further comprising instructions for generating heat maps of the wireless connectivity according to location within the airports(P.40 further discloses the creation of a visualization map indicating wireless connectivity according to the locations within the airports). Regarding claim 20 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the computer program product of claim 15, Cavanaugh teaches…further comprising instructions for vetting individual flights across multiple airports to determine whether the aircraft is behaving within normal parameters according to historical data(P.9 discloses… features described above or below, or as an alternative, further embodiments may include where the processing system is configured to execute the instructions to result in outputting to the aircraft communication visualization map, an average data transfer rate for one or more of: an area of an airport, multiple areas of the airport used by a same airline, and a plurality of airports used by the same airline). Regarding claim 21 Cavanaugh, Plytage, and Belt teach the computer program product of claim 15, Cavanaugh teaches…further comprising, for a multi-airport mission, instructions for determining at which airports to offload data via wireless link based on the wireless connectivity at the airports according to historical data (P. 40) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: WO 2019074413 A1 to Hedberg, US-12548456-B2 to Xiang . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LOUIS SAMARA whose telephone number is (408)918-7582. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 6-3 PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayaz Sheikh can be reached at 571-272-3795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 2 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 3 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 4 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 5 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 6 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 7 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 8 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 9 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 11 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 12 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 13 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 14 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 15 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/746,780 Page 16 Art Unit: 2476