DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “the preset self-locking angle range” without antecedent basis for the preset self-locking angle range. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
releasing members in claim 7 which will be interpreted as any mechanism detachably connected to the sliding slot pin as disclosed by para. [0023]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6, 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, claims 5 and 12 recite “from near to far.” It is unknown what the Applicant is trying to claim and what “near” or “far” is referenced to, nor what “near” or “far” means.
Claim 6 is rejected for its dependency on claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, it is unknown what “wherein at least part of projection of profile of a motion path of each of the releasing members” is intending to recite. Specifically, it appears that “at least a part of projection” is a structural piece of the releasing members, but it is unknown how that structural piece is also “of profile of a motion path” since “a profile of a motion path” appears to be a range of motion. As such, it is unknown whether the Applicant is intending to recite a physical part or a range of motion. Due to the lack of clarity, Examiner is unable to examine claims 9-10.
Claim 10 is rejected for its dependency on claim 9.
Claims 11 and 13 recite farthest end. It is unknown what Applicant intends to recite as being the farthest end since the Applicant has failed to provide a reference point to which the structure is at the farthest end of (i.e., proximal end of the releasing members, distal end of device, etc.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shindo et al. (US 20230263533 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shindo discloses a three-arm clip (Fig. 2), comprising a clamping component 1, wherein the clamping component comprises a fixed portion 2 and two movable arms 31, 32 rotationally connected to the fixed portion (para. [0052]), and the movable arms have an open state (para. [0049]), a closed state (Fig. 2) and a self-locking state (i.e., when the most proximal portion of 320 is engaged; see Figs. 4-6; i.e., Fig. 5, 511 is engaged); the clamping component further comprises two sliding slot pins 511, 521 each of the movable arms is provided with a first sliding slot 310, 320, the fixed portion is provided with a guiding slot 23 extending in a distal-proximal direction (Fig. 7), wherein when the movable arms are in the closed state, an extending direction of the first sliding slot is inclined relative to an extending direction of the guiding slot (Fig. 22 shows slot inclined); each of the sliding slot pins is provided in the first sliding slot and the guiding slot (para. [0074], [0095]), and along the guiding slot, by driving the sliding slot pins (paras. [0074], [0095]), the movable arms can be driven to be switched between the closed state and the open state (i.e., as shown in Figs. 14-19); and each of the movable arms is provided with a self-locking slot (i.e., as shown in Fig. 5; the inclined slot is connected to the self-locking slot), a distal end of the self-locking slot communicates with a proximal end of the first sliding slot (Fig. 6); and along the guiding slot (Fig. 5), when each of the sliding slot pins slides from the proximal end of the first sliding slot to a proximal end of the self-locking slot, the movable arm is switched from the closed state (i.e., as shown in Fig. 11) to the self-locking state (i.e., pushed all the way back such as for example Fig. 2 for example that shows a fully pinched and locked position).
Regarding claim 2, Shindo discloses the three-arm clip according to claim 1. Shindo also discloses wherein when each of the movable arms is in the self-locking state, an axis b of the sliding slot pin is located on a central plane of the guiding slot (i.e., see Fig. 2 for example such that axis b is the slot), wherein a central line of the guiding slot is located on the central plane (Fig. 2), and an opening-closing direction of each of the movable arms is perpendicular to the central plane (i.e., see for example Fig. 3); when each of the movable arm is in the self-locking state, a distal midpoint a of the self-locking slot is located on the central plane (Fig. 2 where 512 is); or a distal midpoint a of the self-locking slot and a distal midpoint c of the first sliding slot are located on two opposite sides of the central plane, respectively; or the distal midpoint a of the self-locking slot and the distal midpoint c of the first sliding slot are located on the same side of the central plane, and an included angle β between a connecting line between the distal midpoint a of the self-locking slot and the axis b of the sliding slot pin and the central plane is within a preset self-locking angle range (i.e., as shown in Fig. 2); and each of the sliding slot pins is located in the self-locking slot and makes the movable arms maintain the self-locking state relative to the fixed portion through the guiding slot (Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 3, Shindo discloses the three-arm clip according to claim 2. Shindo also discloses wherein when each of the movable arms is in the self-locking state, the distal midpoint a of the self-locking slot and the distal midpoint c of the first sliding slot are located on the same side of the central plane (Fig. 2), and the included angle β between the connecting line between the distal midpoint a of the self-locking slot and the axis b of the sliding slot pin and the central plane is within the preset self-locking angle range (Fig. 2); and a value range of the preset self-locking angle β is 0-8° (i.e., the angle is 0 at least because it extends longitudinally).
Regarding claim 4, Shindo discloses the three-arm clip according to claim 1. Shindo also discloses wherein the fixed portion comprises a fixed arm extending in the distal-proximal direction (Fig. 7), and each of the movable arms is rotationally connected to the fixed arm (para. [0052], [0095]); and the guiding slot comprises a second sliding slot provided on the fixed arm (i.e., 23 is the second sliding slot), wherein the second sliding slot runs through each side of the fixed arm (Fig. 7), and tail ends of the sliding slot pins corresponding to the two movable arms extend into the second sliding slot from each side of the fixed arm respectively (para. [0074], [0095]).
Regarding claim 5, Shindo discloses the three-arm clip according to claim 1. Shindo also discloses wherein the fixed portion comprises a fixed arm extending in the distal-proximal direction (Fig. 7), and each of the movable arms is rotationally connected to the fixed arm (para. [0052], [0095]); the fixed portion further comprises two covers (i.e., 4 on either side of 41) extending from near to far, the two covers are provided on each side of the fixed arm (Figs. 10-11) and cover at least part of the two movable arms rotatably set on each side of the fixed arm (Figs. 10-11); and the guiding slot comprises a third sliding slot 41 provided on a surface of each of the covers facing the fixed arm (Fig. 2), and a top end (i.e., 311 is interpreted as being a top end) of each of the sliding slot pins is connected slidably in the third sliding slot (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, Shindo discloses the three-arm clip according to claim 1. Shindo also discloses wherein the fixed portion comprises a fixed arm extending in the distal-proximal direction (Fig. 7), the fixed arm is provided with shafts (i.e., shafts interpreted as 22, 21 as also defined by the specification at [0072] and shown in Fig. 4 of applicant’s disclosure such that the shafts are just holes), and the movable arms are rotationally connected to the fixed arm through the shafts (paras. [0071]-[0073]); the three-arm clip further comprises releasing members 51, 52, wherein each of the releasing members is detachably connected to the sliding slot pin (para. [0078] i.e., at least by removing the pin), and each of the releasing members is capable of driving the sliding slot pin to move along the guiding slot (para. [0078], [0093]), so that the sliding slot pin moves in the first sliding slot and the self-locking slot (Figs. 2-5); and each of the shafts is located outside a movement path of the releasing member (Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 11, Shindo discloses the three-arm clip according to claim 7. Shindo also discloses wherein the farthest end of a movement path of each of the releasing members goes beyond a position where the shaft is located (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Shindo discloses the three-arm clip according to claim 8. Shindo also discloses wherein the farthest end of a movement path of each of the releasing members goes beyond a position where the shaft is located (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shindo
Regarding claim 8, Shindo discloses the three-arm clip according to claim 1. Shindo also discloses wherein the fixed portion comprises a fixed arm extending in the distal-proximal direction (Fig. 7), the fixed arm is provided with holes (i.e., 22, 21), and each of the movable arms is provided with a shaft 211, 221 connected with the hole (see for example Fig. 2), and each of the movable arms is rotationally connected to the fixed arm through the hole (Figs. 2-5); the three-arm clip further comprises releasing members 51, 52, wherein each of the releasing members is detachably connected to the sliding slot pin (i.e., at least during assembly), and each of the releasing members is capable of driving the sliding slot pin to move along the guiding slot (para. [0078], [0093]), so that the sliding slot pin moves in the first sliding slot and the self-locking slot (Figs. 2-5); and a depth of the hole is greater than or equal to a height of the shaft (Fig. 2), so that a top end of the shaft is lower than or flush with an outer side surface of the movable arm (Fig. 2).
Shindo doesn’t directly disclose:
the shafts are on the fixed arm and the holes are on the moveable arms
the shaft is lower than or flush with an outer side surface of the movable arm so as to prevent the shaft from interfering with movement of the releasing member.
Regarding i.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the holes and the shafts such that the resulting device would have the shafts are on the fixed arm and the holes are on the moveable arms because reversing the connection of the components for pivotability is well within the skill of those in the art and is a known mechanism. Furthermore, it has been held that “mere reversal of parts is a nonobvious modification of the prior art,” see In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) and MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A).
Regarding ii.
The device of Shindo is fully capable of having the shaft lower than or flush with an outer side surface of the movable arm so as to prevent the shaft from interfering with movement of the releasing member, if one desired to do so - note that the limitations of claim 8 are merely functional limitations and do not affect the structure of the claimed invention - a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) -see also MPEP 2114(11), which states that the manner of operating a device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Regarding claim 6, Shindo discloses the three-arm clip according to claim 5. Shindo doesn’t directly disclose wherein each of the sliding slot pins is provided with a cap on a top portion, and the cap is slidably provided in the third sliding slot; and the cap has a first guiding surface and a second guiding surface on two opposite sides, and the first guiding surface and the second guiding surface are respectively in sliding contact with two opposite slot walls of the third sliding slot.
Specifically, the device of Shindo could not be modified to include the above limitations without significantly altering the function of the device or completely re-designing the device.
Regarding claim 12, Shindo discloses the three-arm clip according to claim 4. Shindo also discloses wherein the fixed portion comprises a fixed arm 25 extending in the distal-proximal direction (Fig. 9), and each of the movable arms is rotationally connected to the fixed arm (i.e., Figs. 2-5); the fixed portion further comprises two covers 4 (i.e., each slide of cover being separated by slots 41 and as such is interpreted as two covers) extending from near to far (Fig. 5), the covers are provided on each side of the fixed arm (Fig. 5) and cover at least part of the two movable arms on each side of the fixed arm (Fig. 2).
Shindo fails to disclose: the guiding slot comprises a third sliding slot provided on a surface of each of the covers facing the fixed arm, and a top end of each of the sliding slot pins is connected slidably in the third sliding slot.
Specifically, the device of Shindo could not be modified to include the above limitations without significantly altering the function of the device or completely re-designing the device.
Conclusion
/RACHAEL L GEIGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771