DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention group I, claims 1-3, 6, 20,22, 24-25, 29, 40 and 61, in the reply filed on 05/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 41-44, 50, 52 and 55-56 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/04/2026.
Applicants further elect compound 7-21 in claims 61 as specific compound of formula (I). Compound 7-21 is free of art, and the examination moves to the next species compound 97 at the examiner’s choice. Claims 1-3, 6, 22, 24, 25, 29 read on the compound 97 and are under examination, claims 20, 40 and 61 do not read on compound 97 and are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-3, 6, 20,22, 24-25, 29, 40-44, 50, 52, 55-56 and 61 are pending, claims 1-3, 6, 22, 24, 25, 29 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made that this application is a Continuation Application of International Application No. PCT/US2022/053209, filed on December 16, 2022, which claims priority to U.S. Application No. 63/291,639, filed December 20, 2021, and U.S. Application No. 63/354,627, filed June 22, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2025 and 05/04/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40 recites Table 1 (of the specification), and the claim is incomplete and thus the scope and boundary of the claim is unclear. This is indefinite. Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted). MPEP 2173.05 (s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 22, 24, 25, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Scully et al. (WO2020219876).
The limitation is met by disclosing compound 97 (page 168, example 97). Compound 97 falls into applicant’s claimed compound of formula (I), in this case, L1 and L1’ are CH2; Y1 and Y1’ is C(=O); L2 and Y2 are absent, R is –(CH2)6-CH=CH-CH=CH-(CH2)4-CH3; L2’ is -CH2-CH2-, Y2’ is absent, R’ is -CH-(O(CH2)7CH3)2; X1 is O; X2 is –(CH2)2-N-(CH2CH3)2; X3 is hydrogen.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6, 22, 24, 25, 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12435035. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches compound example 3 which would fall into applicant’s claimed compound of formula (i) is the highlighted CH2 is missed, the only difference between the prior art compound and the claimed compound is CH2, and since they are homolog, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2144.09 II, Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Claims 1-3, 6, 22, 24, 25, 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12268753. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches compound 4-71 which would fall into applicant’s claimed compound of formula (i) is the highlighted CH2 is missed, the only difference between the prior art compound and the claimed compound is CH2, and since they are homolog, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2144.09 II, Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Claims 1-3, 6, 22, 24, 25, 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12435035. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches compound claim 26 which would fall into applicant’s claimed compound of formula (i) is the highlighted CH2 is missed, the only difference between the prior art compound and the claimed compound is CH2, and since they are homolog, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2144.09 II, Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Claims 1-3, 6, 22, 24, 25, 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 31-38 of copending Application No. 19058752 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches compound of formula (VI) which would fall into applicant’s claimed compound of formula (i) is the highlighted CH2 is missed, the only difference between the prior art compound and the claimed compound is CH2, and since they are homolog, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2144.09 II, Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 6, 22, 24, 25, 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 19317946 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches compound of example 1 which would fall into applicant’s claimed compound of formula (i) is the highlighted CH2 is missed, the only difference between the prior art compound and the claimed compound is CH2, and since they are homolog, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2144.09 II, Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 6, 22, 24, 25, 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 19209589 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches compound of BLP4-71 which would fall into applicant’s claimed compound of formula (i) is the highlighted CH2 is missed, the only difference between the prior art compound and the claimed compound is CH2, and since they are homolog, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2144.09 II, Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 6, 22, 24, 25, 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 and 35 of copending Application No. 19540418 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches compound I (claim 35) which would fall into applicant’s claimed compound of formula (i) is the highlighted CH2 is missed, the only difference between the prior art compound and the claimed compound is CH2, and since they are homolog, it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2144.09 II, Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613