DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 10-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0096314) in view of Trounson, III (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0125068) (hereinafter referred to as Trounson) in view of Budd (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0222705).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a system comprising: one or more cameras, wherein at least a first camera of the one or more cameras is provided in a computer numerical control (CNC) machine, the first camera being configured to capture one or more images of a tool provided in the CNC machine (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0011] – the data processing controller is connected to the detector through a signal cable and also connected to a computer numerical control (CNC) controller, the tool data server, and the Hall current sensor; the detector is internally provided with a telecentric lens and a backlight source, the telecentric lens and the backlight source are configured to perform parallel projection on a tool to obtain image sequences of the tool during a rotation process of the tool, the image sequences of the tool are configured to show a variation trend of the tool in size; paragraph [0012] – the detector comprises a protective shell, a camera module, the telecentric lens, a 45o reflective mirror, an optical window, a pneumatic plunger, and an optical fiber sensor); memory that stores computer-executable instructions (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0070] – a measurement macro program as an NC subroutine composed of NC programming instructions can be called by a main NC machining program and run in the controller of the CNC machine tool – the measurement macro program is mainly used to detect the tool wear by controlling movement of the tool and the spindle 7 before and after the cutting operation in cooperation with the kernel program); and one or more processors configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to: receive, at a first time, a first image of a first type of tool within the CNC machine from the one or more cameras (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0071] – the on-machine monitoring system for a failure state of a rotating tool can perform real-time monitoring of the tool state throughout its life cycle before, during, and after the cutting operation – progressive wear is monitored by automatic detection of the change of the rotating tool in size; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0093] – on one hand, before and after the cutting operation, high-accuracy detection and wear compensation can be quickly performed on the progressive wear of the rotating tool based on a single-camera vision monitoring device with a telecentric imaging principle); determine, based on the first image of the first type of tool, that the tool is associated with a first tool geometry (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0081] – step 9: the image sequences of the tool obtained by the camera module 6 and the telecentric lens 5 are processed by the kernel program to determine the tool length and the tool diameter, where the tool length and the tool diameter are used to determine the wear state and the breakage state of the tool); receive, at a second time, a second image of the first type of tool from the first camera (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0071] – the on-machine monitoring system for a failure state of a rotating tool can perform real-time monitoring of the tool state throughout its life cycle before, during, and after the cutting operation – progressive wear is monitored by automatic detection of the change of the rotating tool in size; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0093] – on one hand, before and after the cutting operation, high-accuracy detection and wear compensation can be quickly performed on the progressive wear of the rotating tool based on a single-camera vision monitoring device with a telecentric imaging principle); determine, based on the second image of the first type of tool, that the tool is associated with a second tool geometry at the second time (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0081] – step 9: the image sequences of the tool obtained by the camera module 6 and the telecentric lens 5 are processed by the kernel program to determine the tool length and the tool diameter, where the tool length and the tool diameter are used to determine the wear state and the breakage state of the tool); and determine, using a computing model and based on a comparison between the first tool geometry and the second tool geometry, that the first type of tool is broken (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0081] – step 9: the image sequences of the tool obtained by the camera module 6 and the telecentric lens 5 are processed by the kernel program to determine the tool length and the tool diameter, where the tool length and the tool diameter are used to determine the wear state and the breakage state of the tool; paragraph [0082] – if the tool length or the tool diameter exceeds a threshold relative to the first measured value, it indicates that change of the tool in size caused by the wear is too large, and in this case, the kernel program gives an alarm on the CNC controller of the CNC machine tool via a communication interface of the controller to prompt replacement of the tool). However, Zhang fails to disclose receive, via a user interface of the CNC machine, a user selection of a first type of tool, wherein a first reference model for the first type of tool is stored in memory; determine, based on the first image of the first type of tool, a first reference model for the first type of tool, the first reference model associated with a first tool geometry.
Referring to the Trounson reference, Trounson discloses a system comprising: receive, via a user interface of the CNC machine, a user selection of a first type of tool, wherein the tool characteristics is stored in memory (Figs. 2, 7, and 19; paragraph [0111] – the memory 56 also stores C4 data 78 for use by the C4 application 74, such as tool libraries with feed and speed rates, a list of tools that are loaded into an optional automatic tool changer, optional g-code libraries, unit conversion libraries, product designs, etc. – the memory 56 can store any information that can benefit the machining of a part as carried out by operations of the C4 application 74; paragraph [0133] – Fig. 7 is one embodiment of a set up routine 700 implemented by the aid of the system 30 – at block 704, tools suitable for producing the machine part are identified – next, at block 706, parameters of each selected tool 26a-n, such as tool length, is set – each loaded too, and its characteristics (e.g., type, size, feed rate, etc.), is stored in C4 memory to be accessed by the CAM process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had received a user selection of a first type of tool via a user interface as disclosed by Trounson in the system disclosed by Zhang in order to allow the machine operator to properly plan the tools being used during the manufacturing process. However, Zhang in view of Trounson still fails to disclose wherein a first reference model for the first type of tool is stored in memory; determine, based on the first image of the first type of tool, a first reference model for the first type of tool, the first reference model associated with a first tool geometry.
Referring to the Budd reference, Budd discloses a system comprising: wherein a first reference model for the first type of tool is stored in memory; and determine, based on the first image of the first type of tool, a first reference model for the first type of tool, the first reference model associated with a first tool geometry (paragraph [0007] – the invention will observe a machining tool immediately after use to determine if it has been damaged – the invention is based on a machine vision technology that uses one or more image sensors to acquire, locate and compare the tool to a good model; paragraph [0037] – in addition, the present invention can automatically select which set of inspections and logic tables should be applied based on the orientation of the machining tool being tested – the invention is capable of determining the orientation of the machining tool using one or more image sensors – once the orientation of the machining tool is determined the imaging processing system will apply the proper set of logic tables).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had determined a first reference model for the first type of tool based on the first image as disclosed by Budd in the system disclosed by Zhang in view of Trounson in order to reduce the overall cycle time of the inspection equipment by reducing the number of test and logic table rules that must be applied once the system knows the type of tool being inspected.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: generate an alert providing an indication that the first type of tool is determined to be broken (Zhang: paragraph [0066] – the computation module communicates with the CNC controller of the CNC machine tool via network port or a serial port by means of a communication protocol – if the tool fails, the CNC controller will alarm; paragraph [0082] – if the tool length or the tool diameter exceeds a threshold relative to the first measured value, it indicates that the change of the tool in size caused by the wear is too large, and in this case, the kernel program gives an alarm on the CNC controller of the CNC machine tool via a communication interface of the controller to prompt replacement of the tool; Budd: paragraph [0007] – the inspection equipment is designed for implementation in the CNC automatic tool changing system and will alert the operator that tool has been damaged before the next operation).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that the system further comprises: an illumination system provided in the CNC machine and configured to illuminate the CNC machine during capture of at least one of the first image and second image (Zhang: Fig. 1; paragraph [0055] – the detector is internally provided with a telecentric lens 5 and a backlight source 12, the telecentric lens 5 and the backlight source 12 are configured to perform parallel projection on a tool 9 to obtain image sequences of the tool when the tool 9 rotates, the image sequences of the tool are configured to show a variation trend of the tool in size; Budd: paragraph [0042] – the illumination system (item 3) is positioned on the opposite side of the tool from the image sensor, i.e., backlight illumination – this illumination scheme produces a silhouette of the tool; paragraph [0045] – the BTDS can also utilize an LED ringlight (item 13) for front lighting of the cutting tool in place of high frequency fluorescent lighting (item 6a & 6b)).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the first time corresponds to the first type of tool being provided in the CNC machine and before usage of the first type of tool (Zhang: Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0071] – the on-machine monitoring system for a failure state of a rotating tool can perform real-time monitoring of the tool state throughout its life cycle before, during, and after the cutting operation – progressive wear is monitored by automatic detection of the change of the rotating tool in size; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0093] – on one hand, before and after the cutting operation, high-accuracy detection and wear compensation can be quickly performed on the progressive wear of the rotating tool based on a single-camera vision monitoring device with a telecentric imaging principle).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the second time is subsequent to usage of the first type of tool within the CNC machine (Zhang: Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0071] – the on-machine monitoring system for a failure state of a rotating tool can perform real-time monitoring of the tool state throughout its life cycle before, during, and after the cutting operation – progressive wear is monitored by automatic detection of the change of the rotating tool in size; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0093] – on one hand, before and after the cutting operation, high-accuracy detection and wear compensation can be quickly performed on the progressive wear of the rotating tool based on a single-camera vision monitoring device with a telecentric imaging principle).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: receive, via a user interface, a selection of a region of interest within a field of view of the first camera, wherein determining that the first type of tool is associated with the second tool geometry is performed by analyzing the region of interest (Zhang: paragraph [0075] - Step 3: the tool is controlled by the measurement macro program to move to an initial detection point, where the initial detection point refers to a fixed position designated by a user and is located at an upper portion of the detector; paragraph [0077] – Step 5: the tool is controlled by the measurement macro program to move to a detection position in front of a field of view of the telecentric lens 5, where the detection position is a focus of the field of view of the telecentric lens 5, and a second macro variable (macro variable 2) is set to 1 by the measurement macro program, simultaneously).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein determining that the first type of tool is broken further comprises comparing a difference between the first tool geometry and the second tool geometry to a first user-defined threshold value (Zhang: paragraph [0082] – if the tool length or the tool diameter exceeds a threshold relative to the first measured value, it indicates that change of the tool in size caused by the wear is too large, and in this case, the kernel program gives an alarm on the CNC controller of the CNC machine tool via a communication interface of the controller to prompt replacement of the tool; paragraph [0093] - the progressive wear and the sudden tool edge chipping or the tool breaking throughout the whole machining process can be sensitively responded in real time without being affected by tool type, workpiece shape, workpiece material, the tool, and machine tool type; Budd: paragraph [0035] – the BTDS will use a single sensor to determine the condition of a simple geometry tool, such as a drill, tap or reamer – the BTDS deduces the tool condition based on several factors, including but not limited to, length, diameter, pitch of features, and shape of the tool; paragraph [0036] – the logical value assigned to each inspection criteria is determined by setting tolerance ranges for measurements as “Acceptable” equal to one (1) and “Unacceptable or Defective” equal to zero (0) – the “Overall Quality” of the component under inspection is determined by the resulting output of one or more logic tables).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses a method comprising: receiving, using one or more processors and at a first time, a first image of a first type of tool within the CNC machine from one or more cameras, wherein at least a first camera of the one or more cameras is provided in a CNC machine, the first camera being configured to capture one or more images of a tool provided in the CNC machine (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0011] – the data processing controller is connected to the detector through a signal cable and also connected to a computer numerical control (CNC) controller, the tool data server, and the Hall current sensor; the detector is internally provided with a telecentric lens and a backlight source, the telecentric lens and the backlight source are configured to perform parallel projection on a tool to obtain image sequences of the tool during a rotation process of the tool, the image sequences of the tool are configured to show a variation trend of the tool in size; paragraph [0012] – the detector comprises a protective shell, a camera module, the telecentric lens, a 45o reflective mirror, an optical window, a pneumatic plunger, and an optical fiber sensor; paragraph [0070] – a measurement macro program as an NC subroutine composed of NC programming instructions can be called by a main NC machining program and run in the controller of the CNC machine tool – the measurement macro program is mainly used to detect the tool wear by controlling movement of the tool and the spindle 7 before and after the cutting operation in cooperation with the kernel program; paragraph [0071] – the on-machine monitoring system for a failure state of a rotating tool can perform real-time monitoring of the tool state throughout its life cycle before, during, and after the cutting operation – progressive wear is monitored by automatic detection of the change of the rotating tool in size; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0093] – on one hand, before and after the cutting operation, high-accuracy detection and wear compensation can be quickly performed on the progressive wear of the rotating tool based on a single-camera vision monitoring device with a telecentric imaging principle); determining, using the one or more processors and based on the first image of the first type of tool, that the tool is associated with a first tool geometry (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0081] – step 9: the image sequences of the tool obtained by the camera module 6 and the telecentric lens 5 are processed by the kernel program to determine the tool length and the tool diameter, where the tool length and the tool diameter are used to determine the wear state and the breakage state of the tool); receiving, using the one or more processors and at a second time, a second image of the first type of tool from the first camera (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0071] – the on-machine monitoring system for a failure state of a rotating tool can perform real-time monitoring of the tool state throughout its life cycle before, during, and after the cutting operation – progressive wear is monitored by automatic detection of the change of the rotating tool in size; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0093] – on one hand, before and after the cutting operation, high-accuracy detection and wear compensation can be quickly performed on the progressive wear of the rotating tool based on a single-camera vision monitoring device with a telecentric imaging principle); determining, using the one or more processors and based on the second image of the first type of tool, that the tool is associated with a second tool geometry at the second time (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0081] – step 9: the image sequences of the tool obtained by the camera module 6 and the telecentric lens 5 are processed by the kernel program to determine the tool length and the tool diameter, where the tool length and the tool diameter are used to determine the wear state and the breakage state of the tool); and determining, using the one or more processors and using a computing model and based on a comparison between the first tool geometry and the second tool geometry, that the first type of tool is broken (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0081] – step 9: the image sequences of the tool obtained by the camera module 6 and the telecentric lens 5 are processed by the kernel program to determine the tool length and the tool diameter, where the tool length and the tool diameter are used to determine the wear state and the breakage state of the tool; paragraph [0082] – if the tool length or the tool diameter exceeds a threshold relative to the first measured value, it indicates that change of the tool in size caused by the wear is too large, and in this case, the kernel program gives an alarm on the CNC controller of the CNC machine tool via a communication interface of the controller to prompt replacement of the tool). However, Zhang fails to disclose receiving, using one or more processors and via a user interface of the CNC machine, a user selection of a first type of tool, wherein a first reference model for the first type of tool is stored in memory; determining, using the one or more processors and based on the first image of the first type of tool, a first reference model for the first type of tool, the first reference model associated with a first tool geometry.
Referring to the Trounson reference, Trounson discloses a method comprising: receiving, using one or more processors and via a user interface of the CNC machine, a user selection of a first type of tool, wherein the tool characteristics is stored in memory (Figs. 2, 7, and 19; paragraph [0111] – the memory 56 also stores C4 data 78 for use by the C4 application 74, such as tool libraries with feed and speed rates, a list of tools that are loaded into an optional automatic tool changer, optional g-code libraries, unit conversion libraries, product designs, etc. – the memory 56 can store any information that can benefit the machining of a part as carried out by operations of the C4 application 74; paragraph [0133] – Fig. 7 is one embodiment of a set up routine 700 implemented by the aid of the system 30 – at block 704, tools suitable for producing the machine part are identified – next, at block 706, parameters of each selected tool 26a-n, such as tool length, is set – each loaded too, and its characteristics (e.g., type, size, feed rate, etc.), is stored in C4 memory to be accessed by the CAM process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had received a user selection of a first type of tool via a user interface as disclosed by Trounson in the method disclosed by Zhang in order to allow the machine operator to properly plan the tools being used during the manufacturing process. However, Zhang in view of Trounson still fails to disclose wherein a first reference model for the first type of tool is stored in memory; determining, using the one or more processors and based on the first image of the first type of tool, a first reference model for the first type of tool, the first reference model associated with a first tool geometry.
Referring to the Budd reference, Budd discloses a method comprising: wherein a first reference model for the first type of tool is stored in memory; determining, using the one or more processors and based on the first image of the first type of tool, a first reference model for the first type of tool, the first reference model associated with a first tool geometry (paragraph [0007] – the invention will observe a machining tool immediately after use to determine if it has been damaged – the invention is based on a machine vision technology that uses one or more image sensors to acquire, locate and compare the tool to a good model; paragraph [0037] – in addition, the present invention can automatically select which set of inspections and logic tables should be applied based on the orientation of the machining tool being tested – the invention is capable of determining the orientation of the machining tool using one or more image sensors – once the orientation of the machining tool is determined the imaging processing system will apply the proper set of logic tables).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had determined a first reference model for the first type of tool based on the first image as disclosed by Budd in the method disclosed by Zhang in view of Trounson in order to reduce the overall cycle time of the inspection equipment by reducing the number of test and logic table rules that must be applied once the system knows the type of tool being inspected.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 11 including that the method further comprises: generating an alert providing an indication that the first type of tool is determined to be broken (Zhang: paragraph [0066] – the computation module communicates with the CNC controller of the CNC machine tool via network port or a serial port by means of a communication protocol – if the tool fails, the CNC controller will alarm; paragraph [0082] – if the tool length or the tool diameter exceeds a threshold relative to the first measured value, it indicates that the change of the tool in size caused by the wear is too large, and in this case, the kernel program gives an alarm on the CNC controller of the CNC machine tool via a communication interface of the controller to prompt replacement of the tool; Budd: paragraph [0007] – the inspection equipment is designed for implementation in the CNC automatic tool changing system and will alert the operator that tool has been damaged before the next operation).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 11 including that the method further comprises: illuminating, using an illumination system, the CNC machine during capture of at least one of the first image and second image (Zhang: Fig. 1; paragraph [0055] – the detector is internally provided with a telecentric lens 5 and a backlight source 12, the telecentric lens 5 and the backlight source 12 are configured to perform parallel projection on a tool 9 to obtain image sequences of the tool when the tool 9 rotates, the image sequences of the tool are configured to show a variation trend of the tool in size; Budd: paragraph [0042] – the illumination system (item 3) is positioned on the opposite side of the tool from the image sensor, i.e., backlight illumination – this illumination scheme produces a silhouette of the tool; paragraph [0045] – the BTDS can also utilize an LED ringlight (item 13) for front lighting of the cutting tool in place of high frequency fluorescent lighting (item 6a & 6b)).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 11 including that wherein the first time corresponds to the first type of tool being provided in the CNC machine and before usage of the first type of tool (Zhang: Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0071] – the on-machine monitoring system for a failure state of a rotating tool can perform real-time monitoring of the tool state throughout its life cycle before, during, and after the cutting operation – progressive wear is monitored by automatic detection of the change of the rotating tool in size; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0093] – on one hand, before and after the cutting operation, high-accuracy detection and wear compensation can be quickly performed on the progressive wear of the rotating tool based on a single-camera vision monitoring device with a telecentric imaging principle).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 11 including that wherein the second time is subsequent to usage of the first type of tool within the CNC machine (Zhang: Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0071] – the on-machine monitoring system for a failure state of a rotating tool can perform real-time monitoring of the tool state throughout its life cycle before, during, and after the cutting operation – progressive wear is monitored by automatic detection of the change of the rotating tool in size; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0093] – on one hand, before and after the cutting operation, high-accuracy detection and wear compensation can be quickly performed on the progressive wear of the rotating tool based on a single-camera vision monitoring device with a telecentric imaging principle).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 11 including that the method further comprises: receiving, via a user interface, a selection of a region of interest within a field of view of the first camera, wherein determining that the first type of tool is associated with the second tool geometry is performed by analyzing the region of interest (Zhang: paragraph [0075] - Step 3: the tool is controlled by the measurement macro program to move to an initial detection point, where the initial detection point refers to a fixed position designated by a user and is located at an upper portion of the detector; paragraph [0077] – Step 5: the tool is controlled by the measurement macro program to move to a detection position in front of a field of view of the telecentric lens 5, where the detection position is a focus of the field of view of the telecentric lens 5, and a second macro variable (macro variable 2) is set to 1 by the measurement macro program, simultaneously).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 11 including that wherein determining that the first type of tool is broken further comprises comparing a difference between the first tool geometry and the second tool geometry to a first user-defined threshold value (Zhang: paragraph [0082] – if the tool length or the tool diameter exceeds a threshold relative to the first measured value, it indicates that change of the tool in size caused by the wear is too large, and in this case, the kernel program gives an alarm on the CNC controller of the CNC machine tool via a communication interface of the controller to prompt replacement of the tool; paragraph [0093] - the progressive wear and the sudden tool edge chipping or the tool breaking throughout the whole machining process can be sensitively responded in real time without being affected by tool type, workpiece shape, workpiece material, the tool, and machine tool type; Budd: paragraph [0035] – the BTDS will use a single sensor to determine the condition of a simple geometry tool, such as a drill, tap or reamer – the BTDS deduces the tool condition based on several factors, including but not limited to, length, diameter, pitch of features, and shape of the tool; paragraph [0036] – the logical value assigned to each inspection criteria is determined by setting tolerance ranges for measurements as “Acceptable” equal to one (1) and “Unacceptable or Defective” equal to zero (0) – the “Overall Quality” of the component under inspection is determined by the resulting output of one or more logic tables).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 11 and 17 including that the method further comprises: receiving, via the user interface, a selection of a second type of tool, wherein a second reference model for the second type of tool is stored in memory, the second reference model associated with a third tool geometry (Zhang: Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0071] – the on-machine monitoring system for a failure state of a rotating tool can perform real-time monitoring of the tool state throughout its life cycle before, during, and after the cutting operation – progressive wear is monitored by automatic detection of the change of the rotating tool in size; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0081] – step 9: the image sequences of the tool obtained by the camera module 6 and the telecentric lens 5 are processed by the kernel program to determine the tool length and the tool diameter, where the tool length and the tool diameter are used to determine the wear state and the breakage state of the tool; paragraph [0093] – on one hand, before and after the cutting operation, high-accuracy detection and wear compensation can be quickly performed on the progressive wear of the rotating tool based on a single-camera vision monitoring device with a telecentric imaging principle; Trounson: Figs. 2, 7, and 19; paragraph [0111] – the memory 56 also stores C4 data 78 for use by the C4 application 74, such as tool libraries with feed and speed rates, a list of tools that are loaded into an optional automatic tool changer, optional g-code libraries, unit conversion libraries, product designs, etc. – the memory 56 can store any information that can benefit the machining of a part as carried out by operations of the C4 application 74; paragraph [0133] – Fig. 7 is one embodiment of a set up routine 700 implemented by the aid of the system 30 – at block 704, tools suitable for producing the machine part are identified – next, at block 706, parameters of each selected tool 26a-n, such as tool length, is set – each loaded too, and its characteristics (e.g., type, size, feed rate, etc.), is stored in C4 memory to be accessed by the CAM process; Budd: paragraph [0006] – this invention also allows the user to implement the system on all type of machine cutting tools, including drills, taps, multiple tool holders, surface cutters, and unusual shaped cutters; paragraph [0007] – the invention will observe a machining tool immediately after use to determine if it has been damaged – the invention is based on a machine vision technology that uses one or more image sensors to acquire, locate and compare the tool to a good model; paragraph [0037] – in addition, the present invention can automatically select which set of inspections and logic tables should be applied based on the orientation of the machining tool being tested – the invention is capable of determining the orientation of the machining tool using one or more image sensors – once the orientation of the machining tool is determined the imaging processing system will apply the proper set of logic tables); receiving, subsequent to usage of the second type of tool, an image of the second type of tool from the first camera (Zhang: Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0071] – the on-machine monitoring system for a failure state of a rotating tool can perform real-time monitoring of the tool state throughout its life cycle before, during, and after the cutting operation – progressive wear is monitored by automatic detection of the change of the rotating tool in size; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0093] – on one hand, before and after the cutting operation, high-accuracy detection and wear compensation can be quickly performed on the progressive wear of the rotating tool based on a single-camera vision monitoring device with a telecentric imaging principle); determining, based on the image of the second type of tool, that the tool is associated with a fourth tool geometry (Zhang: Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0079] – step 7: the camera module 6 performs the parallel projection on the tool through the telecentric lens 5 during rotation of the tool, to obtain the image sequences of the tool; paragraph [0081] – step 9: the image sequences of the tool obtained by the camera module 6 and the telecentric lens 5 are processed by the kernel program to determine the tool length and the tool diameter, where the tool length and the tool diameter are used to determine the wear state and the breakage state of the tool); and determining, based on a comparison between the third tool geometry and the fourth tool geometry, that the second type of tool is broken (Zhang: Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0081] – step 9: the image sequences of the tool obtained by the camera module 6 and the telecentric lens 5 are processed by the kernel program to determine the tool length and the tool diameter, where the tool length and the tool diameter are used to determine the wear state and the breakage state of the tool; paragraph [0082] – if the tool length or the tool diameter exceeds a threshold relative to the first measured value, it indicates that change of the tool in size caused by the wear is too large, and in this case, the kernel program gives an alarm on the CNC controller of the CNC machine tool via a communication interface of the controller to prompt replacement of the tool).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 11, 17, and 18 including that wherein determining that a second type of tool is broken comprises comparing a difference between the third tool geometry and the fourth tool geometry to a second user-defined threshold value that is different than the first user-defined threshold value (Zhang: paragraph [0007] – the invention will observe a machining tool immediately after use to determine if it has been damaged – the invention is based on a machine vision technology that uses one or more image sensors to acquire, locate and compare the tool to a good model; paragraph [0037] – in addition, the present invention can automatically select which set of inspections and logic tables should be applied based on the orientation of the machining tool being tested – the invention is capable of determining the orientation of the machining tool using one or more image sensors – once the orientation of the machining tool is determined the imaging processing system will apply the proper set of logic tables; paragraph [0082] – if the tool length or the tool diameter exceeds a threshold relative to the first measured value, it indicates that change of the tool in size caused by the wear is too large, and in this case, the kernel program gives an alarm on the CNC controller of the CNC machine tool via a communication interface of the controller to prompt replacement of the tool; paragraph [0093] - the progressive wear and the sudden tool edge chipping or the tool breaking throughout the whole machining process can be sensitively responded in real time without being affected by tool type, workpiece shape, workpiece material, the tool, and machine tool type; Budd: paragraph [0035] – the BTDS will use a single sensor to determine the condition of a simple geometry tool, such as a drill, tap or reamer – the BTDS deduces the tool condition based on several factors, including but not limited to, length, diameter, pitch of features, and shape of the tool; paragraph [0036] – the logical value assigned to each inspection criteria is determined by setting tolerance ranges for measurements as “Acceptable” equal to one (1) and “Unacceptable or Defective” equal to zero (0) – the “Overall Quality” of the component under inspection is determined by the resulting output of one or more logic tables).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chang (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0051394).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: receive an annotation associated with the first reference model, wherein the computing model is trained using the first reference model and the annotation.
Referring to the Chang reference, Chang discloses a system comprises: one or more processors that are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: receive an annotation associated with the first reference model, wherein the computing model is trained using the first reference model and the annotation (Figs. 1, and 3; paragraph [0021] – as illustrated in Fig. 3, the electronic device 1 runs a tool detecting system 100 – the tool detecting system 100 at least includes an acquiring module 101, a dividing module 102, an extracting module 103, a forming module 104, a generating module 105, and a detecting module 106; paragraph [0024] – at this time, a state of the tool 201 is known, that is, the tool 201 is taken to have no defects, or have at least one defect, or have at least one defect with a known defect type, the known defect type can be chipping, wear, or the like; paragraph [0040] – the generating module 105 inputs the fusion feature images corresponding to the tools 201 in a number of known states as a training set into a convolutional neural network model for training, so as to generate the tool detection model – the known states indicates that the defect types of the tools 201 are known; paragraph [0042] - the above-mentioned training process of convolutional neural network model is divided into two parts: forward propagation and back propagation - the fusion feature images in the training set are input into a convolutional neural network, the predicted value is obtained by the convolutional neural network model, and the weighting is updated through a method of supervised learning - the above-mentioned training process of the convolutional neural network model is repeated until an error between the predicted value and a target value meets an expected value, at this time, the tool detection model is generated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had received an annotation associated with the first reference model, wherein the computing model is trained using the first reference model and the annotation as disclosed by Chang in the system disclosed by Zhang in view of Trounson in view of Budd in order to help train the computing model and correct any discrepancies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art, singularly or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combination with all of the other elements claimed:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: receive, via the user interface, a selection of a second type of tool, wherein a second reference model for the second type of tool is stored in memory, the second reference model associated with a third tool geometry; receive, subsequent to usage of the second type of tool, an image of the second type of tool from the first camera; determine, based on the image of the second type of tool, that the tool is associated with a fourth tool geometry; present, via the user interface of the CNC machine, a comparison of the image of the second type of tool and the reference model for the second type of tool; and determine, based on a comparison between the third tool geometry and the fourth tool geometry, that the second type of tool is broken (Dependent claim 8, which depends from claims 1 and 7; claim 9 depends from claim 8).
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Prior art, singularly or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, the combination of elements as described below:
A method for generating a pre-trained tool model comprising: receiving, using one or more processors and from a sensor, first data associated with a first type of tool used in a CNC machine; and receiving, using the one or more processors and from the sensor, second data associated with a second tool used in the CNC machine; generating, using the one or more processors, a first reference model for the first type of tool using the first data; generating, using the one or more processors, a second reference model for the first type of tool using the second data; receiving, using the one or more processors, a first annotation associated with the first reference model; receiving, using the one or more processors, a second annotation associated with the second reference model; training a machine learning model using the first reference model, the second reference model, the first annotation, and the second annotation; receive, subsequent to usage of the second type of tool, an image of the second type of tool from the first camera; capture, by a camera of a CNC machine, an image of the first type of tool with the tool inside a CNC machine; and present, via the user interface of the CNC machine, a comparison of the image of the first type of tool and the first reference model (Independent claim 20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0272491) discloses a tool wear monitoring and predicting method, and more particularly, to a method of predicting a tool wear value and a remaining useful life (RUL) for a cutting tool (paragraph [0002]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HEATHER R JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481
December 13, 2025