Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinoue (US 20220285387 A1), in view of Wang (US 20200203247 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hinoue teaches a method for forming a metal oxide insulating film, comprising conducting...atomic layer deposition with at least one metal-containing precursor gas and at least one oxygen-containing precursor gas as reactants to deposit a metal oxide insulating film on a substrate (Fig. 19D, 38C; [0173], "The first silicon oxycarbide material can be deposited by...an atomic layer deposition process employing an organosilicon precursor gas containing silicon and carbon and an oxygen source gas...The thickness of a deposited outer insulating spacer material layer 38C...").
However, Hinoue does not teach conducting electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches conducting electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition ([0088], "...may be epitaxially grown on the upper surface 706 of the bare silicon wafer 704 utilizing an electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition (EE-ALD) method.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the method of Hunoue with the electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition of Wang "to yield the desired lattice structure", (Wang, [0008]).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang, teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the metal oxide is selected from the group consisting of SiO2, TiO2, HfO2, and ZrO2 ([0174], "...to convert surface portions of the outer insulating spacer material layer 38C into a silicon oxide…").
Regarding dependent claim 16, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang, teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the precursor gases are not subjected to thermal or plasma activation (Thermal or plasma activation are not disclosed, therefore, the gases are assumed to not be subject to these.).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang, teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches a metal oxide insulating film produced by the method of claim 1 (Fig. 19D, 38C; [0173], "The first silicon oxycarbide material can be deposited by...an atomic layer deposition process employing an organosilicon precursor gas containing silicon and carbon and an oxygen source gas...The thickness of a deposited outer insulating spacer material layer 38C...").
Claim(s) 3, 10-13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinoue (US 20220285387 A1), in view of Wang (US 20200203247 A1) and Electron-Enhanced Atomic Layer Deposition of Boron Nitride Thin Films at Room Temperature and 100 °C (Sprenger et al., hereinafter referred to as Sprenger).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Hinoue, as previously combined with Wang, teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the metal oxide insulating film is a SiO2 film ([0174], "...to convert surface portions of the outer insulating spacer material layer 38C into a silicon oxide…") and the method comprises: conducting electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition with at least one silicon-containing precursor gas and at least one oxygen-containing precursor gas as reactants to deposit a SiO2 film on a substrate (Fig. 19D, 38C; [0173], "The first silicon oxycarbide material can be deposited by...an atomic layer deposition process employing an organosilicon precursor gas containing silicon and carbon and an oxygen source gas...The thickness of a deposited outer insulating spacer material layer 38C...", [0174], "...to convert surface portions of the outer insulating spacer material layer 38C into a silicon oxide…").
However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition is conducted at a temperature of less than 300 °C.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sprenger teaches wherein the electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition is conducted at a temperature of less than 300 °C ((Introduction, Paragraph 7), "BN EE-ALD films were grown using sequential cycles of borazine (B3N3H6) and low-energy electron exposures at 27 °C (room temperature) and 100 °C using electron energies from 50 to 450 eV.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method as described by the combination of Hinoue and Wang with the temperature of Sprenger so as to "create reactive “dangling bonds” that facilitate the adsorption of molecular precursors", (Sprenger, Introduction, Paragraph 1).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Hinoue, as previously combined with Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3, and Sprenger further teaches wherein the electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition is conducted at a temperature of less than 250 °C ((Introduction, Paragraph 7), "BN EE-ALD films were grown using sequential cycles of borazine (B3N3H6) and low-energy electron exposures at 27 °C (room temperature) and 100 °C using electron energies from 50 to 450 eV.").
Regarding dependent claim 11, Hinoue, as previously combined with Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3, and Sprenger further teaches wherein the electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition is conducted at a temperature of less than 200 °C ((Introduction, Paragraph 7), "BN EE-ALD films were grown using sequential cycles of borazine (B3N3H6) and low-energy electron exposures at 27 °C (room temperature) and 100 °C using electron energies from 50 to 450 eV.").
Regarding dependent claim 12, Hinoue, as previously combined with Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3, and Sprenger further teaches wherein the electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition is conducted at a temperature of less than 100 °C ((Introduction, Paragraph 7), "BN EE-ALD films were grown using sequential cycles of borazine (B3N3H6) and low-energy electron exposures at 27 °C (room temperature) and 100 °C using electron energies from 50 to 450 eV.").
Regarding dependent claim 13, Hinoue, as previously combined with Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3, and Sprenger further teaches the electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition is conducted at a temperature of from 15 °C to less than 100 °C ((Introduction, Paragraph 7), "BN EE-ALD films were grown using sequential cycles of borazine (B3N3H6) and low-energy electron exposures at 27 °C (room temperature) and 100 °C using electron energies from 50 to 450 eV.").
Regarding dependent claim 18, Hinoue, as previously combined with Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3, and further teaches a SiO2 film produced by the method of claim 3 (Fig. 19D, 38C; [0173], "The first silicon oxycarbide material can be deposited by...an atomic layer deposition process employing an organosilicon precursor gas containing silicon and carbon and an oxygen source gas...The thickness of a deposited outer insulating spacer material layer 38C...").
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinoue (US 20220285387 A1), in view of Wang (US 20200203247 A1), Electron-Enhanced Atomic Layer Deposition of Boron Nitride Thin Films at Room Temperature and 100 °C (Sprenger et al., hereinafter referred to as Sprenger), and Parimi (US 20190382889 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the at least one silicon-containing precursor gas comprises Si2H6.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Parimi teaches wherein the at least one silicon-containing precursor gas comprises Si2H6 ([0041], "Suitable silane gases may include silane (SiH4)…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method as described by the combination of Hinoue, Wang, and Sprenger with the precursor gas of Parimi so that "an amorphous silicon seasoning layer is formed", (Parimi, [0048]).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the at least one silicon-containing precursor gas comprises SiH4.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Parimi teaches wherein the at least one silicon-containing precursor gas comprises SiH4 ([0041], "Suitable silane gases may include silane (SiH4) and higher silanes with the empirical formula SixH(2x+2), such as disilane (Si2H6)…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method as described by the combination of Hinoue, Wang, and Sprenger with the precursor gas of Parimi so that "an amorphous silicon seasoning layer is formed", (Parimi, [0048]).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the at least one oxygen-containing precursor gas comprises H2O.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Parimi teaches wherein the at least one oxygen-containing precursor gas comprises H2O ([0050], "...and other oxygen sources such as…H2O…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method as described by the combination of Hinoue, Wang, and Sprenger with the precursor gas of Parimi so that "a silicon oxide layer may be deposited", (Parimi, [0047]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the at least one oxygen-containing precursor gas comprises O3.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Parimi teaches wherein the at least one oxygen-containing precursor gas comprises O3 ([0050], "…is formed by reacting tetraethylorthosilane (TEOS) with ozone (O3).").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method as described by the combination of Hinoue, Wang, and Sprenger with the precursor gas of Parimi so that "a silicon oxide layer may be deposited", (Parimi, [0047]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the at least one oxygen-containing precursor gas comprises O2.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Parimi teaches wherein the at least one oxygen-containing precursor gas comprises O2 ([0050], "...and other oxygen sources such as O2…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method as described by the combination of Hinoue, Wang, and Sprenger with the precursor gas of Parimi so that "a silicon oxide layer may be deposited", (Parimi, [0047]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinoue (US 20220285387 A1), in view of Wang (US 20200203247 A1), Electron-Enhanced Atomic Layer Deposition of Boron Nitride Thin Films at Room Temperature and 100 °C (Sprenger et al., hereinafter referred to as Sprenger), and Chen (US 20200365369 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition is conducted with electrons produced by a hollow cathode plasma electron source.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches wherein the electron-enhanced atomic layer deposition is conducted with electrons produced by a hollow cathode plasma electron source ([0051], "...the optional supplementary electron source 82 may be a capacitively coupled plasma (CCP) source, electron cyclotron resonance (ECR) source, surface wave plasma (SWP) source, hollow cathode source, filament, and the like.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method as described by the combination of Hinoue, Wang, and Sprenger with the hollow cathode source so that "source electrons may be generated", (Chen, [0051]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinoue (US 20220285387 A1), in view of Wang (US 20200203247 A1), Electron-Enhanced Atomic Layer Deposition of Boron Nitride Thin Films at Room Temperature and 100 °C (Sprenger et al., hereinafter referred to as Sprenger), and Budach (US 20180151327 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3. However, as previously combined, they do not teach comprising pulsing electrons sequentially with the at least one silicon-containing precursor gas and the at least one oxygen-containing precursor gas.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Budach teaches comprising pulsing electrons sequentially with the at least one silicon-containing precursor gas and the at least one oxygen-containing precursor gas ([0140], "Besides the analysis of the sample 105, the pulses 135 of the electron beam 125 can also be used for processing defects of a sample 105...With the aid of the precursor gas stored in the first supply container 1540, absent material, for example absent absorber material of a photomask, can be deposited on the sample 105.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method as described by the combination of Hinoue, Wang, and Sprenger with the pulsing electrons of Budach so as "to set the ratio of adsorption of gas molecules", (Budach, [0004]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinoue (US 20220285387 A1), in view of Wang (US 20200203247 A1), Electron-Enhanced Atomic Layer Deposition of Boron Nitride Thin Films at Room Temperature and 100 °C (Sprenger et al., hereinafter referred to as Sprenger), and Watanabe (US 20170309785 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang and Sprenger, teaches the method of claim 3. However, as previously combined, they do not teach comprising co-dosing electrons with the at least one oxygen-containing precursor gas, followed by sequential dosing of the at least one silicon-containing precursor gas.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Watanabe teaches comprising co-dosing electrons with the at least one oxygen-containing precursor gas, followed by sequential dosing of the at least one silicon-containing precursor gas ([0084], "In co-doping, a mixed gas composed of monosilane (SiH.sub.4) etc. for a Si source an bis(cyclopentadienyl)magnesium (CP.sub.2Mg) etc. for the Mg source can be supplied to the chamber.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method as described by the combination of Hinoue, Wang, and Sprenger with the co-dosing of Watanabe so as to obtain "a film thickness of 25 nm or less", (Watanbe, [0005])..
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinoue (US 20220285387 A1), in view of Wang (US 20200203247 A1), Electron-Enhanced Atomic Layer Deposition of Boron Nitride Thin Films at Room Temperature and 100 °C (Sprenger et al., hereinafter referred to as Sprenger), and Jhan (US 20220328478 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang and Sprenger, teaches the SiO2 film of claim 18. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the SiO2 film is a blanket film.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jhan teaches wherein the SiO2 film is a blanket film ([0038], "...the blanket film can be silicon nitride, silicon carbon nitride, silicon oxide, or any other suitable material…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the film as described by the combination of Hinoue, Wang, and Sprenger with the blanket film of Jhan for "forming patterned hard mask", (Jhan, [0038]).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Hinoue, as previously modified by Wang and Sprenger, teaches the SiO2 film of claim 18. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the SiO2 film is a patterned structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jhan teaches wherein the SiO2 film is a patterned structure ([0038], "…can include patterning a blanket film…the blanket film can be…silicon oxide…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the film as described by the combination of Hinoue, Wang, and Sprenger with the patterned structure of Jhan for "forming patterned hard mask", (Jhan, [0038]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230044771 A1,.
/TIMOTHY JAMES MATTABONI/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897