DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear which of the “different volumes” recited in claim 1, line 7, is/are being referenced by “the volume” recited in claim 3, line 2.
In claim 4, lines 1-2, “the third cavity” lacks antecedent basis. Further, a first and second cavity have not been introduced.
In claim 6, line 2, “the spring” lacks antecedent basis. It is noted the spring is introduced in claim 5.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 7-12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 6-11, 12, 14, 15, and 16, respectively, of prior U.S. Patent No. 10,633,902. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-7, respectively, of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,091,947. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1,9,12), (2,14), (3,15), (4,16), (5,12), (11,13), 5, 5, and 5, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 10,633,902. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Independent claim 1 of the instant application and claims 1, 9, and 12 of the related patent each disclose a hydraulic door closer mounted between a door and a door frame, comprising: a housing; a fluid compartment in the housing for holding hydraulic fluid and having a variable volume; a piston slidably mounted in the compartment and adapted to move within the compartment in response to changes in fluid pressure in the compartment; the compartment including a plurality of cavities (first, second, and third) with different (increasing) volumes.
Dependent claims 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 of the instant application clearly read on and/or are identical to the related patent claims (2,14), (3,15), (4,16), (5,12), and (11,13), respectively.
Independent claim 7 of the instant application and claim 5 of the related patent each disclose a hydraulic door closer mounted between a door and a door frame, comprising: a housing; a fluid compartment in the housing for holding hydraulic fluid and having a variable volume; and a piston slidably mounted in the compartment and adapted to move within the compartment in response to changes in fluid pressure in the compartment; the compartment including first, second, and third cavities with successively increasing diameters; and comprising a spring in the compartment to bias the piston to a first position.
Dependent claim 10 of the instant application clearly reads on the related patent claim 5.
Independent claim 13 of the instant application and claim 5 of the related patent each disclose a hydraulic door closer mounted between a door and a door frame, comprising: a housing; a fluid compartment in the housing for holding hydraulic fluid and having a variable volume; a piston slidably mounted in the compartment and adapted to move within the compartment in response to changes in fluid pressure in the compartment; the compartment including first, second and third cavities with increasing volumes; and a spring in the compartment to bias the piston to a first position.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,091,947. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Independent claim 1 of the instant application and claim 3 of the related patent each disclose a hydraulic door closer mounted between a door and a door frame, comprising: a housing; a fluid compartment in the housing for holding hydraulic fluid and having a variable volume; a piston slidably mounted in the compartment and adapted to move within the compartment in response to changes in fluid pressure in the compartment; the compartment including a plurality of cavities (first, second, and third) with different (increasing) volumes.
Dependent claim 2 of the instant application clearly reads on the related patent claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lan (US#5657511).
Regarding claim 1, Lan discloses a hydraulic door closer mounted between a door and a door frame (col. 1, lines 9-15), comprising: a housing 10; a fluid compartment 20 in the housing for holding hydraulic fluid and having a variable volume; a piston 30 slidably mounted in the compartment and adapted to move within the compartment in response to changes in fluid pressure in the compartment; the compartment including a plurality of cavities (front 21, middle 22, and rear 23, see Fig. 5) with different volumes.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the hydraulic fluid pressure inherently changes in response to ambient temperature changes due to the fluid’s thermal expansion and changes in its viscosity.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the piston moves in one direction in response to increased fluid pressure thereby increasing the volume of the compartment and moves in a opposite direction in response to decreased fluid pressure thereby reducing the volume of the compartment (col. 5, lines 50-67, piston rod moving toward and away from seal 25).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the piston is “mounted” (via its at least partially and momentarily positioning) in the “third” cavity 23 (col. 6, lines 14-17).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burris et al. (US#2011/0252597).
Regarding claim 1, Burris discloses a hydraulic door closer mounted between a door 82 and a door frame 84, comprising: a housing 114; a fluid compartment in the housing for holding hydraulic fluid and having a variable volume 148,150 ([0074], “…the piston 116 divides the chamber in the housing 114 into a first variable volume chamber 148 between one end of the piston 116 and the valve assembly 120 and a second variable volume chamber 150 between the other end of the piston 116 and the spring assembly 118.”); a piston 116 slidably mounted in the compartment and adapted to move within the compartment in response to changes in fluid pressure in the compartment; the compartment including a plurality of cavities (148, open central portion of the piston 116 which houses element 112 (Fig. 6), and 150) with different volumes.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the hydraulic fluid pressure changes in response to ambient temperature changes (see [0179], temperature sensor, “If so, the controller, at block 2606, reads the input switches (discussed below) to determine the settings of the door closer 90, and reads the ambient temperature from an on-board temperature sensor.”).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the piston moves in one direction in response to increased fluid pressure thereby increasing the volume of the compartment and moves in a opposite direction in response to decreased fluid pressure thereby reducing the volume of the compartment (see [0074], reciprocal movement, “The spool-shaped piston 116 is slidably disposed within the chamber of the housing 114 for reciprocal movement relative to the housing 114.”).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the piston is “mounted” (via its at least partially and momentarily positioning) in the “third” cavity 150.
Regarding claim 5, further comprising a spring 138 in the compartment to bias the piston to a first position.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the piston moves to a second position when the fluid pressure compresses the spring ([0084], “As the door 82 is opened, the door rotates the pinion 112 and thereby advances the piston 116 linearly to the right as seen in FIGS. 6 and 7. Movement of the piston 116, in turn, compresses the springs 138 between the piston 116 and the end plug 142.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
It is noted Kondratuk (US#10370885) cited by the applicant discloses in Fig. 14-14C a hydraulic door closer 100 mounted between a door and a door frame, comprising: a housing 120; a fluid compartment 123 in the housing for holding hydraulic fluid and having a variable volume (cylindrical section with conical end section); the hydraulic fluid pressure changing in response to ambient temperature changes (col. 3, lines 9-28; col. 5, lines 1-39); and a piston 280 slidably mounted in the compartment and adapted to move within the compartment in response to changes in the ambient temperature and resulting hydraulic fluid pressure changes in the compartment (col. 5, lines 1-39); and the hydraulic fluid residing only on one side of the piston during operation of the door closer (right side in Figs. 14-14C).
WILLIAM L. MILLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/WILLIAM L MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677