DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Remarks/Arguments filed on January 29th, 2026, have been carefully considered.
Claims 1, 8, and 15
No claims have been canceled or new.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner has determined the claims merely require determining a physical block of memory using the first portion of the LBA and combines the second part of the LBA as an offset into the physical block and thus reads on the plurality of PBAs, since data can be smaller than the physical block, multiple addresses can be offset within the same block. If the applicant wants the claims to be interpreted differently the examiner suggests the applicant provide exact locations for support in the specification as to how the specification teaches a different interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. [US2006/0161725] in view of Feldman et al. [US2009/0002863] further in view of Vajravel et al. [US2021/0141560]. Lee teaches a multiple function flash memory system. Feldman teaches system and method of monitoring data operations at a data storage device. Vajravel teaches supporting file exclusions and commits in disk-based write filters.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Lee teaches a method [Lee abstract “a system and method for implementing a flash memory system…”] comprising:
maintaining a logical-to-physical (L2P) table that maps a plurality of logical block addresses (LBAs) to a plurality of physical blocks [Lee paragraph 0043, all lines “…The main memory 412 is random access memory (RAM) and stores the address translation table 420, which keeps track of valid copies of data, by mapping LUNs together with logical block addresses (LBAs), which are mapped to physical address blocks (PBAs)…”],
Lee fails to explicitly teach wherein an entry of the L2P table maps two or more of the plurality of LBAs to one physical block.
However, Feldman does teach wherein an entry of the L2P table maps two or more of the plurality of LBAs to one physical block [Feldman paragraph 0032, last lines “…the table 302 may associate multiple LBAs to a single PBA, or a single LBA to multiple PBAs, or both...”].
Lee and Feldman are analogous arts in that they both deal with address translation in a memory system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee’s L2P conversion method with Feldman’s teaching that it was well known in the art that multiple logical address can be resolved to a single physical block for the benefit of expanding the memory address range over the actual size limit of the physical addressable range and thus improve memory system performance.
receiving a memory operation including an LBA [Lee paragraph 0027, first lines “…During normal-mode operation…” and paragraph 0049, first lines “…In operation, the address translation table 420 maps the LUNs 500-506 and the LBAs from the host to the PBAs…”];
Lee and Feldman fail to explicitly teach responsive to determining that the memory operation is not a maintenance operation.
However, Vajravel does teach responsive to determining that the memory operation is not a maintenance operation [Vajravel paragraph 0013, most lines “…The filter driver can also be configured to detect trim commands that are directed to a solid-state drive. When a trim command is detected, the filter driver can determine whether any sector identified in the trim command is cached in the overlay and discard it…”(The examiner has determined Vajravel teaches it was well known in the art to filter commands that are related to memory maintenance operations. The examiner has also determined the “not” side of the detection would be an obvious adjustment to the filter)].
Lee, Feldman, and Vajravel are analogous arts in that they all deal improving access to memory systems.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Feldman’s L2P mapping with Vajravel’s teachings of detecting memory maintenance operations for the benefit of helping to prevent the unwanted change or over use of storage locations [Vajravel paragraph 0010, middle lines “…A disk-based write filter can be provided to prevent the content of a protected volume from being modified…”].
splitting the LBA into a first portion and a second portion [Lee figure 6A, feature 606 “LBAblock” and 608 “LBALSB”];
wherein the first portion references a first entry of the L2P table [Lee figure 7, feature 712 “Use LBAtbl as index to get PBAtbl from “SRAM translation table”] and wherein the second portion is an offset to reference a physical block address (PBA) of a plurality of PBAs inside a physical block of the first entry [Lee paragraph 0052, last lines “…The six MSBs of the LBA.sub.LSB are concatenated with the PBA.sub.tbl to construct the PBA address for the flash memory. The two LSBs of the LBA.sub.LSB are used to access 512 bytes out of the 2K-page flash. In this case, 6-bit PBA.sub.LSB equals 6-bit MSB from 8-bit LBA.sub.LSB…” and paragraph 0059, middle lines “…If less than 512 bytes, the page offset value will be equal to the 2 LSBs bits of the LBA.sub.LSB, in a step 720, and the 6-bit PBA.sub.LSB is equal to 6 most significant bit (MSB) bits of the LBA.sub.LSB, in a step 722…”]; and
performing the memory operation at the PBA inside the physical block [Lee paragraph 0060, first lines “…it is determined if the flash memory access is a read operation or a write operation, in a step 730. If the operation is a read operation, data is read from the PBA page, in a step 732…”].
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Lee teaches the first portion of the LBA includes one or more most significant bits of the LBA [Lee paragraph 0059, middle lines “…and the 6-bit PBA.sub.LSB is equal to 6 most significant bit (MSB) bits of the LBA.sub.LSB…”].
Regarding claims 3 and 10, as per claim 1, Lee teaches the second portion of the LBA includes one or more least significant bits [Lee paragraph 0051, last lines “…The offset 616 is provided by the lower six bits (LSBs) of the LBA…”].
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, as per claim 1, Lee teaches moving data written to the plurality of PBAs inside the physical block to a second plurality of PBAs inside a second physical block using a single command [Lee paragraph 0064, middle lines “…A second LUN base address register 804 stores values for the LUN 1 (associated with a security partition) has a LUN counter value of 1, a FAT 16 file structure, a 01 type file system type, a security attribute, results in 01/01/1 code. A third LUN base address register 806 stores values for another LUN 1 can also be associated with a public partition…”].
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, as per claim 1, Lee teaches updating the L2P table by remapping a set of one or more most significant bits of the LBA to the second physical block [Lee paragraph 0060, middle lines “…If occupied, a new empty block is found and updated with the new PBA value to address translation table, in a step 736. As such, a new PBA page is calculated based on the new PBA.sub.tbl…”].
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, as per claim 1, Lee teaches loading the L2P table to a cache in volatile memory, wherein the loaded L2P table is a complete copy of the L2P table as stored in non-volatile memory [Lee paragraph 0043, first lines “…The main memory 412 is random access memory (RAM) and stores the address translation table 420…” and paragraph 0041, middle lines “…up to four copies (for purposes such as copying, backup, etc.) of the control information in the reserved area are preserved to facilitate erase-before-write operations of the flash memory…”].
Claims 4, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. [US2006/0161725] in view of Feldman et al. [US2009/0002863] in view of Vajravel et al. [US2021/0141560] further in view of McGlaughlin et al. [US2019/0303283]. Lee teaches a multiple function flash memory system. Feldman teaches system and method of monitoring data operations at a data storage device. Vajravel teaches supporting file exclusions and commits in disk-based write filters. McGlaughlin teaches memory management.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17, as per claim 1, Lee fails to explicitly teaches performing the memory operation at the PBA inside the physical block further comprises: performing a write in-place operation to write data at the PBA.
However, McGlaughlin teaches the memory operation at the PBA inside the physical block further comprises: performing a write in-place operation to write data at the PBA [McGlaughlin paragraph 0018, middle lines “…the present disclosure can include write in place memory, in which multiple writes to cells mapped by a particular logical address can performed without having to change the physical address to which the particular logical address maps…”].
Lee, Feldman, Vajravel, and McGlaughlin are analogous arts in that they all deal improving memory management.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Feldman, and Vajravel with McGlaughlin’s use of write in-place writing techniques for the benefit of increasing the useful lifetime by effectively and efficiently handling wear leveling [McGlaughlin paragraph 0018, last lines “…managing memory in accordance with embodiments described herein can increase the useful lifetime of a system by effectively and efficiently handling wear leveling…”].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
The examiner maintains that prior art reference Lee does teach the L2P translation as define but the current claim limitations, see figures 6A and process in figure 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bennett et al. [US7,565,478] Bennett teaches a plurality of logical addresses are grouped into a logical group that is then translated to a physical block.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC CARDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139