DETAILED ACTION
This office action response to the communication filed on 06/18/2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (lDSs) submitted on February 5, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YING et al. (International Publication No. WO2024017156, hereinafter "D1”).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses an apparatus at a user equipment (UE) (i.e., terminal, [0040]) for wireless communication ([see, [0007-0008], a terminal, and a network-side device]), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code ([see, [0141], a communication device 1400, including a processor 1401 and a memory 1402]); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories ([see, [0012, 0141], the terminal includes a processor and a memory, the memory stores a program or an instruction executable on the processor]), at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the UE to:
receive a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) ([see, [0008-0010, 0048], monitoring, by a terminal, an LP-WUS]) indicating a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring adaptation to be applied by the UE ([see, [0048], the monitoring moment of the LP-WUS is within a reduced power PDCCH monitoring time period, for example, if the monitoring moment of the LP-WUS occurs outside the reduced power PDCCH monitoring time period, the terminal skips monitoring of the LP-WUS]),
wherein the PDCCH monitoring adaptation (PDCCH monitoring) is associated with at least one of PDCCH skipping (the PDCCH skipping) or search space set group (SSSG) switching (i.e., indicate a search space set group switching (SSSG) monitoring period) ([see, [0048-0052, 0059-0060, 0128], wherein the reduced power PDCCH monitoring time period, the time period indicated by the PDCCH skipping, and information is used to indicate a search space set group switching (SSSG) monitoring period]); and
adapt PDCCH monitoring performed by the UE according to the PDCCH monitoring adaptation indicated in the LP-WUS ([see, [0005, 0048, 0051], the terminal monitors the LP-WUS may occur in a reduced power physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring time period]).
As per Claim 3, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to cause the UE to receive a communication associated with enabling or configuring LP-WUSs indicating PDCCH monitoring adaptations on the UE ([see, [0085, 0090], wherein the terminal receives the LP-WUS in the RRC connected enabling state, Monitoring the valid time of the LP-WUS occurs during PDCCH skipping]).
As per Claim 4, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the PDCCH monitoring adaptation indicates that the UE is to at least one of:
deactivate or cease PDCCH skipping ([see, [0102], the terminal monitors the LP-WUS at the slots, If the terminal monitors the LP-WUS in a slot, the PDCCH skipping behavior is stopped immediately]);
perform PDCCH skipping for a duration of time ([see, [0096], the received PDCCH skipping indication, the terminal stops monitoring of the PDCCH within a specified time length, and listens to the LP-WUS at a specific position during PDCCH skipping according to the association relationship between the LP-WUS and the PDCCH skipping indication]); or
refrain from monitoring one or more search space sets associated with one or more particular SSSGs and perform monitoring of one or more other search space sets associated with one or more other particular SSSGs.
As per Claim 5, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the PDCCH monitoring adaptation is indicated in the LP-WUS via a bitmap ([see, [0059-0060], the PDCCH skipping indication is bitmap information, a bit value 1 in the bitmap information is used to indicate a monitoring moment of the LP-WUS, and a bit value 0 in the bitmap information is used to indicate not to monitor the LP-WUS]).
As per Claim 6, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 5, and D1 further discloses wherein one or more bit values carried in the bitmap indicate a duration associated with PDCCH skipping ([see, [0059-0060], the PDCCH skipping indication is bitmap information, a bit value 1 in the bitmap information is used to indicate a monitoring moment of the LP-WUS, and a bit value 0 in the bitmap information is used to indicate not to monitor the LP-WUS]).
As per Claim 7, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 5, and D1 further discloses wherein one or more bit values carried in the bitmap indicate a monitoring scheme associated with SSSG switching. ([see, [0059-0060], the PDCCH skipping indication includes one bitmap that information is used to indicate a search space set group switching (SSSG) monitoring period]).
As per Claim 8, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the LP-WUS is a first LP-WUS ([see, [0054], the first information includes a start moment of the LP-WUS]) and the PDCCH monitoring adaptation is a first PDCCH monitoring adaptation ([see, [0049-0050], PDCCH monitoring time period indicated by the PDCCH skipping indication]), and
at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to:
receive a second LP-WUS indicating a second PDCCH monitoring adaptation to be applied by the UE ([see, [0055], where the second information is used to indicate a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) skipping time, and a start moment of the LP-WUS is related to the PDCCH skipping time]), the second LP-WUS being received after the first LP-WUS ([see, [0098-0099], terminal starts to monitor the LP-WUS at the end of the 1st, 3th, 5th and 7th ms during PDCCH skipping]); and
adapt the PDCCH monitoring performed by the UE according to the second PDCCH monitoring adaptation indicated in the second LP-WUS ([see, [0048], the monitoring moment of the LP-WUS is within a reduced power PDCCH monitoring time period, for example, if the monitoring moment of the LP-WUS occurs outside the reduced power PDCCH monitoring time period, the terminal skips monitoring of the LP-WUS]).
As per Claim 9, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and D1 further discloses wherein the second LP-WUS is received during a period of time in which the UE is not performing PDCCH monitoring ([see, [0051], the terminal may first monitor the LP-WUS without monitoring the PDCCH during DRX activation]).
As per Claim 10, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and D1 further discloses wherein the second LP-WUS is received during a period of time in which the UE is performing PDCCH monitoring ([see, [0051], monitor the PDCCH when the LP-WUS is woken up, and since the power consumption of monitoring the LP-WUS will be far less than the power consumption of monitoring the PDCCH]).
As per Claim 11, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and D1 further discloses, wherein the first PDCCH monitoring adaptation is indicated in the first LP-WUS via a first bitmap ([see, [0059-0060], the PDCCH skipping indication is bitmap information, a bit value 1 in the bitmap information is used to indicate a monitoring moment of the LP-WUS]), and
the second PDCCH monitoring adaptation is indicated in the second LP-WUS via a second bitmap ([see, [0059-0060], the PDCCH skipping indication is a bit value 0 in the bitmap information is used to indicate not to monitor the LP-WUS]).
As per Claim 12, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to cause
the UE to transmit a communication indicating a preferred PDCCH monitoring adaptation ([see, [0099, 0128], a monitoring moment of the LP-WUS is with PDCCH monitoring disclosed]),
wherein the preferred PDCCH monitoring adaptation ([see, [0051], monitor the PDCCH when the LP-WUS is woken up]) is based at least in part on at least one of a traffic pattern prediction associated with the UE, power consumption of the UE ([see, [0051], wherein the monitor the PDCCH when the LP-WUS is woken up associated with the power consumption of the terminal]), or a traffic latency requirement associated with the UE.
As per Claim 13, D1 discloses an apparatus at a network node ([see, [0009], a network side device]) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code ([see, [0141], a communication device 1400, including a processor 1401 and a memory 1402]); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories ([see, [0012, 0141], the terminal includes a processor and a memory, the memory stores a program or an instruction executable on the processor]),at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the network node to:
enable low-power wake-up signals (LP-WUSs) ([see, [0008-0010, 0048], monitoring an LP-WUS disclosed]) indicating physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring adaptations for a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0048], the monitoring moment of the LP-WUS is within a reduced power PDCCH monitoring time period, for example, if the monitoring moment of the LP-WUS occurs outside the reduced power PDCCH monitoring time period, the terminal skips monitoring of the LP-WUS]); and
transmit an LP-WUS indicating a PDCCH monitoring adaptation (i.e., PDCCH monitoring) to be applied by the UE ([see, [0013, 0048-0051], terminal is provided communication interface is configured to monitor an LP-WUS based on first information]),
wherein the PDCCH monitoring adaptation is associated with at least one of PDCCH skipping or search space set group (SSSG) switching (i.e., indicate a search space set group switching (SSSG) monitoring period) ([see, [0048-0052, 0059-0060, 0128], wherein the reduced power PDCCH monitoring time period, the time period indicated by the PDCCH skipping, and information is used to indicate a search space set group switching (SSSG) monitoring period])
As per Claim 14, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 13, and D1 further discloses wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to cause
the network node to derive that LP-WUSs indicating PDCCH monitoring adaptations are to be enabled for the UE ([see, [0048-0052], wherein the terminal monitoring moment of the LP-WUS is within a reduced power PDCCH monitoring time period, the terminal skips monitoring of the LP-WUS]) based at least in part on at least one of a traffic pattern associated with the UE, a radio condition associated with the UE, a mobility characteristic associated with the UE, control channel element usage characteristic, or PDCCH blocking characteristic ([see, [0101], wherein the terminal receives the PDCCH skipping indication in the RRC connected state, the PDCCH skipping indication (corresponding to PDCCH blocking characteristic) includes one bitmap, for example, 10 bits, each bit corresponds to one slot, a slot corresponding to a bit value 1 needs to monitor an LP-WUS, and a slot corresponding to a bit value 0 does not need to monitor an LP-WUS]).
As per Claim 16, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 13, and D1 further discloses wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to cause the UE to receive a communication associated with enabling or configuring LP-WUSs indicating PDCCH monitoring adaptations on the UE ([see, [0085, 0090], wherein the terminal receives the LP-WUS in the RRC connected enabling state, Monitoring the valid time of the LP-WUS occurs during PDCCH skipping]).
As per Claim 17, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 13, and D1 further discloses wherein the PDCCH monitoring adaptation is indicated in the LP-WUS via a bitmap ([see, [0059-0060], the PDCCH skipping indication is bitmap information, a bit value 1 in the bitmap information is used to indicate a monitoring moment of the LP-WUS, and a bit value 0 in the bitmap information is used to indicate not to monitor the LP-WUS]).
As per Claim 18, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 13, and D1 further discloses wherein the LP-WUS is a first LP-WUS ([see, [0054], the first information includes a start moment of the LP-WUS]) and the PDCCH monitoring adaptation is a first PDCCH monitoring adaptation ([see, [0049-0050], PDCCH monitoring time period indicated by the PDCCH skipping indication]),, and
at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to:
derive that a second PDCCH monitoring adaptation is to be applied by the UE ([see, [0048], the monitoring moment of the LP-WUS is within a reduced power PDCCH monitoring time period, for example, if the monitoring moment of the LP-WUS occurs outside the reduced power PDCCH monitoring time period, the terminal skips monitoring of the LP-WUS]); and
transmit a second LP-WUS indicating a second PDCCH monitoring adaptation to be applied by the UE ([see, [0055], where the second information is used to indicate a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) skipping time, and a start moment of the LP-WUS is related to the PDCCH skipping time]), the second LP-WUS being transmitted after the first LP-WUS ([see, [0098-0099], terminal starts to monitor the LP-WUS at the end of the 1st, 3th, 5th and 7th ms during PDCCH skipping]).
As per Claim 19, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 13, and D1 further discloses wherein the LP-WUS is a first LP-WUS ([see, [0054], the first information includes a start moment of the LP-WUS]) and the PDCCH monitoring adaptation is a first PDCCH monitoring adaptation ([see, [0049-0050], PDCCH monitoring time period indicated by the PDCCH skipping indication]), and
at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to:
transmit a second LP-WUS indicating a second PDCCH monitoring adaptation to be applied by the UE ([see, [0055], where the second information is used to indicate a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) skipping time, and a start moment of the LP-WUS is related to the PDCCH skipping time]),
the second LP-WUS being transmitted after the first LP-WUS ([see, [0098-0099], terminal starts to monitor the LP-WUS at the end of the 1st, 3th, 5th and 7th ms during PDCCH skipping]), based on at least one of a traffic pattern change associated with the UE, a radio condition change associated with the UE, a mobility characteristic change associated with the UE, a CCE usage characteristic change, or a PDCCH blocking characteristic change ([see, [0101], wherein the terminal receives the PDCCH skipping indication in the RRC connected state, the PDCCH skipping indication (corresponding to PDCCH blocking characteristic) includes one bitmap, for example, 10 bits, each bit corresponds to one slot, a slot corresponding to a bit value 1 needs to monitor an LP-WUS, and a slot corresponding to a bit value 0 does not need to monitor an LP-WUS]).
As per Claim 20, is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 20 is anticipated by method being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YING et al. (International Publication No. WO2024017156, hereinafter "D1”), in view of INOUE et al. (International Publication No. WO 2025234093 A1, hereinafter "D2”).
As per Claim 2, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to cause the UE to transmit capability information including an indication that the UE supports LP-WUSs indicating PDCCH monitoring adaptations.
However, D2 discloses wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to cause the UE to transmit capability information including an indication that the UE supports LP-WUSs ([see, [0026, 0062], the base station 10 May notify the adjacent node of the capability received from the terminal 20. The capability may be the ability to receive a low-power wake-up signal in both the housing base station and the neighboring base station]) indicating PDCCH monitoring adaptations ([see, [0004], PDCCH monitoring in the terminal's main radio (MR) triggered by LP-WUS in connected mode]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmit capability information results reduce power consumption of a terminal in a process related to a low-power wake-up signal. (D2, [0007]]).
As per Claim 15, D1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to cause the network node to receive capability information including an indication that the UE supports LP-WUSs indicating PDCCH monitoring adaptations.
However, D2 discloses wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to cause the network node to receive capability information including an indication ([see, [0026, 0062], the base station 10 May notify the adjacent node of the capability received from the terminal 20. The capability may be the ability to receive a low-power wake-up signal in both the housing base station and the neighboring base station]) that the UE supports LP-WUSs indicating PDCCH monitoring adaptations ([see, [0004], PDCCH monitoring in the terminal's main radio (MR) triggered by LP-WUS in connected mode]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmit capability information results reduce power consumption of a terminal in a process related to a low-power wake-up signal. (D2, [0007]]).
Conclusion
/BERHANU D BELETE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418