DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, lines 19 contains the limitations of “first and second adapter latches”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner will treat “that first and second latches” to mean “a first and a second adapter latches” for the purpose of examination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent to Gniadek 9,726,830US.
In terms of Claim 5, Gniadek teaches Gniadek teaches A behind-the-wall optical connector (Figure 7-12), comprising: an outer housing (Figure 7f: 730 or Figure 12c: 1230) having a first, front end and a second, back end spaced apart along a longitudinal axis (Figure 7f: 730a and 730b along the axial direction or Figure 12c: 1230a-b front and back along axial direction), the outer housing (1230 or 730) comprising a first housing sidewall and a second housing sidewall (vertical front sidewall and back sidewall at location 1230d or 730d) extending along the longitudinal axis, the outer housing further comprising an upper wall (Figure 7f and 12c: top wall at 730e and 1230e) and an opposite lower wall (Figure 7f and 12c: bottom wall) extending along the longitudinal axis and extending widthwise from the first housing sidewall to the second housing sidewall (Figure 7f and 12c); an optical fiber ferrule (Figure 7f: 738 and Figure 12c: 1238) in the outer housing (Figure 7f: 739 and 730 and Figure 12c: 1230 and 1238); a ferrule spring (Figure 7f: 740 and Figure 12: 1240) disposed rearward of the optical fiber ferrule for urging the optical fiber ferrule forward in the outer housing (Figure 7f and 12c); wherein the outer housing further comprises a first recess formed in the upper wall (Figure 7f: opening at 730e and Figure 12c: opening 1230e) and a second recess formed in the lower wall (Figure 7f: opening at 730a or Figure 12c: opening correspond to 1230e on the bottom wall), the first recess and the second recess being at generally the same location along the longitudinal axis between the first, front end and the second, back end, the first recess and the second recess configured to receive opposing adapter latch hooks of a mating adapter (See Column 14 lines 15-25 at 730e or 1230e); wherein the outer housing (730 or 1230) further comprises an alignment key opposite the depressible adapter latch to ensure the behind-the-wall connector is inserted into the adapter port in the correct polarity orientation (Figure 7: 736 or Figure 8b: 806); wherein the outer housing (Figure 17a wherein adapter latches / hooks are housed in the adapter 1400) further comprises a depressible adapter latch (Figure 17: 1416 is depressible to latch on grooves or opening) on the upper wall (the latches are designed to latch on the upper wall of housing 1000 as shown in Figure 20a), the adapter latch configured to latch with a latch recess of the mating adapter to releasably retain the adapter latch in the mating adapter (Figure 20B and 20a); wherein the outer housing (730 or 1230) further comprises an alignment key opposite the depressible
adapter latch to ensure the behind-the-wall connector is inserted into the adapter port in
the correct polarity orientation (Figure 7: 736 is inserted into 730, the recess at 730a and 730e and 730c functions as a key alignment to ensure that 736 is properly aligned and inserted into 730 to match the polarity orientation during mating or Figure 8b: 806).
As for Claim 6, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 5, wherein the alignment key is spaced apart from the second recess rearward along the longitudinal axis (Figure 12c: has 1236c located on both the top surface wherein element 806 shown in Figure 8 and 1236 is shown to be rearward of the recess 730e or 1230e; Figure 7: 736 is inserted into 730, the recess at 730a and 730e and 730c functions as a key alignment to ensure that 736 is properly aligned and inserted into 730 to match the polarity orientation during mating, wherein 730 and the features of 730a, 730b, 730e is rearward of 736).
In terms of Claim 14, Gniadek teaches In terms of Claim 5, Gniadek teaches Gniadek teaches A behind-the-wall optical connector (Figure 7-12), comprising: an outer housing (Figure 7f: 730 or Figure 12c: 1230) having a first, front end and a second, back end spaced apart along a longitudinal axis (Figure 7f: 730a and 730b along the axial direction or Figure 12c: 1230a-b front and back along axial direction), the outer housing (1230 or 730) comprising a first housing sidewall and a second housing sidewall (vertical front sidewall and back sidewall at location 1230d or 730d) extending along the longitudinal axis, the outer housing further comprising an upper wall (Figure 7f and 12c: top wall at 730e and 1230e) and an opposite lower wall (Figure 7f and 12c: bottom wall) extending along the longitudinal axis and extending widthwise from the first housing sidewall to the second housing sidewall (Figure 7f and 12c); an optical fiber ferrule (Figure 7f: 738 and Figure 12c: 1238) in the outer housing (Figure 7f: 739 and 730 and Figure 12c: 1230 and 1238); a ferrule spring (Figure 7f: 740 and Figure 12: 1240) disposed rearward of the optical fiber ferrule for urging the optical fiber ferrule forward in the outer housing (Figure 7f and 12c); wherein the outer housing further comprises a first recess formed in the upper wall (Figure 7f: opening at 730e and Figure 12c: opening 1230e) and a second recess formed in the lower wall (Figure 7f: opening at 730a or Figure 12c: opening correspond to 1230e on the bottom wall), the first recess and the second recess being at generally the same location along the longitudinal axis between the first, front end and the second, back end, the first recess and the second recess configured to receive opposing adapter latch hooks of a mating adapter (See Column 14 lines 15-25 at 730e or 1230e); wherein the outer housing (730 or 1230) further comprises an alignment key opposite the depressible adapter latch to ensure the behind-the-wall connector is inserted into the adapter port in the correct polarity orientation (Figure 7: 736 or Figure 8b: 806); wherein the outer housing (Figure 17a wherein adapter latches / hooks are housed in the adapter 1400) further comprises a depressible adapter latch (Figure 17: 1416 is depressible to latch on grooves or opening) on the upper wall (the latches are designed to latch on the upper wall of housing 1000 as shown in Figure 20a), the adapter latch configured to latch with a latch recess of the mating adapter to releasably retain the adapter latch in the mating adapter (Figure 20B and 20a); , wherein the optical fiber ferrule (Figure 7: 738) comprises first and second single-fiber ferrules (738 is a multi-fiber ferrule however it is also capable of housing single fibers).
As for Claim 15, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 14, wherein the ferrule spring comprises first and second ferrule springs (Figure 10c: 1040a-b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-13, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent to Gniadek 9,726,830US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Hackett 2011/0194828US.
In terms of claim 1, Gniadek teaches A behind-the-wall optical connector (Figure 7-12), comprising: an outer housing (Figure 7f: 730 or Figure 12c: 1230) having a first, front end and a second, back end spaced apart along a longitudinal axis (Figure 7f: 730a and 730b along the axial direction or Figure 12c: 1230a-b front and back along axial direction), the outer housing (1230 or 730) comprising a first housing sidewall and a second housing sidewall (vertical front sidewall and back sidewall at location 1230d or 730d) extending along the longitudinal axis, the outer housing further comprising an upper wall (Figure 7f and 12c: top wall at 730e and 1230e) and an opposite lower wall (Figure 7f and 12c: bottom wall) extending along the longitudinal axis and extending widthwise from the first housing sidewall to the second housing sidewall (Figure 7f and 12c); an optical fiber ferrule (Figure 7f: 738 and Figure 12c: 1238) in the outer housing (Figure 7f: 739 and 730 and Figure 12c: 1230 and 1238); a ferrule spring (Figure 7f: 740 and Figure 12: 1240) disposed rearward of the optical fiber ferrule for urging the optical fiber ferrule forward in the outer housing (Figure 7f and 12c); wherein the outer housing further comprises a first recess formed in the upper wall (Figure 7f: opening at 730e and Figure 12c: opening 1230e) and a second recess formed in the lower wall (Figure 7f: opening at 730a or Figure 12c: opening correspond to 1230e on the bottom wall), the first recess and the second recess being at generally the same location along the longitudinal axis between the first, front end and the second, back end, the first recess and the second recess configured to receive opposing adapter latch hooks of a mating adapter (See Column 14 lines 15-25 at 730e or 1230e); wherein the outer housing further comprises a depressible adapter latch on the upper wall (Figure 12c: at 1230e contains latch hole at 736c or 1236c; Column 12, lines 35-45), the adapter latch configured to latch with a latch recess of the mating adapter to releasably retain the adapter latch in the mating adapter (Column 12, lines 35-45).
Gniadek does not teach wherein the depressible adapter latch contain a first and a second adapter latch, wherein the depressible adapter latch is longitudinal spaced apart from the first and second recesses such that first and second adapter latches are configured to receive opposing adapter latch hooks at a first a location along a length of the mating adapter and the depressible adapter latch is configured to simultaneously latch with the latch recess at a second location along the length of the mating adapter.
Hackett does teach a depressible adapter latch (Figure 8: 214), wherein the depressible adapter latch (214) is longitudinal spaced apart from the first and second recesses (Figure 8: 214 is located on the backend along the longitudinal direction relative to 224) such that first and second adapter latches (Figure 8: 220/224 or 1st and 2nd Latches shown below) are configured to receive opposing adapter latch hooks (Figure 8: at the tips of element 272) at a first a location (top recess area of wall 280) along a length of the mating adapter and the depressible adapter latch (214) is configured to simultaneously latch with the latch recess at a second location along the length of the mating adapter (Figure 8: 208 comes in contact with back portion at 252 while 224 and 272 mates with 280).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the latches of Gniadek to ensure the connector is properly secure to adapter and prevent accidental dislodge of the connector from the adapter.
As for Claim 2, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the depressible adapter latch (Column 12, lines 35-45) is spaced apart from the first recess rearward along the longitudinal axis (Figure 7f: at 736 and Figure 19a: 1616).
As for Claim 3, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the first and second recesses are configured to displace the opposing adapter latch hooks of the mating adapter (Figure 19a: 1616 and Figure 7f: 736) out of the first and second recesses when the depressible adapter latch is depressed and the behind-the-wall connector is pulled rearward from the mating adapter (Column 12, lines 45-55).
As for Claim 4, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 3, wherein the each of the first and second recesses (at 736 or 1236) comprises a front end defined by a surface of the respective one of the upper and lower walls that is angled to slope inward heightwise as the surface extends rearward longitudinally (Figure 9b: 730e)
As for Claim 7, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the behind-the-wall optical connector is configured to hold a plurality of optical fibers (within ferrule 738 wherein Figure 7C: shows the ferrule having two openings for fibers) such that the optical fibers are spaced apart in a single-file row extending heightwise (See Figure 7f: 738).
As for Claim 8, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 1, further comprising a spring retainer (Figure 7f: 742 or Figure 12c: 1242) formed within the outer housing and configured to form a stop for the ferrule spring (Figure 7f and 12c).
As for Claim 9, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 8, wherein the outer housing further comprises opposing flexible side tabs (734) formed as part of the first housing sidewall and the second housing sidewall (Figure 7f: 734 and 12c: 1234).
As for Claim 10, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 9, wherein the opposing flexible side tabs are configured to secure the optical fiber ferrule (Figure 7f: 742 and 738).
As for Claim 11, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 10, wherein the optical fiber ferrule comprises a flange (Figure 7f: 742a).
As for Claim 12, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 11, wherein ferrule spring (738) urges the flange (742a) into engagement with the opposing flexible side tabs (734) and the opposing flexible side tabs brace the flange in the outer housing (Figure 7f).
As for Claim 13, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 10, wherein the opposing flexible side tabs (734) are configured so that the optical fiber ferrule and the ferrule spring are insertable rearward into the outer housing (Figure 7f: 730 and 738).
As for Claim 16, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the outer housing (730) comprises a first portion (730a) in front of the first (730e) and second recesses (Figure 12: wherein the second recess is located on the bottom at same location as 1230e) and a second portion rearward (1230b) of the first and second recesses, the outer housing having a first height between the upper wall and the lower wall along the first portion and a second height between the upper wall and the lower wall along the second portion (inner heigh and outer height at 1230B), the first height being less than the second height (Figure 12c: inner and outer height at 1230 opening).
As for Claim 17, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 16, wherein the depressible adapter latch is located on the second portion (Figure 19a: 1616 and Figure 7f: 730e).
As for Claim 18, Gniadek teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the outer housing further comprises an alignment key (730a, 730c, 730e) on the lower wall located on the second portion. (at 736c).
As for Claims 19-20, Gniadek teaches the device claim 1. Gniadek does not teach wherein the depressible adapter latch comprises a cantilevered arm having a front-end fulcrum integrally connected to the upper wall of the outer housing and a raised rear portion including an adapter hook; and wherein the cantilevered arm is configured to be depressed so that the raised rear portion pivots about the fulcrum toward the upper wall to disengage the adapter hook from the latch recess of the mating adapter.
Hackett does teaches wherein the depressible adapter latch (Figure 9: 214) comprises a cantilevered arm (Figure 9: arm of 214) having a front-end fulcrum integrally connected to the upper wall of the outer housing (see 208 being connected to 206) and a raised rear portion including an adapter hook (Figure 8: see hooks at tip of 214) ; and wherein the cantilevered arm is configured to be depressed so that the raised rear portion pivots about the fulcrum (See Figure 2: see fulcrum and raised portion) toward the upper wall to disengage the adapter hook from the latch recess of the mating adapter (See Figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to have a cantilever arm, adapter hooks, and fulcrum region that is depressible in order to provide latching mechanism that is capable of securing the ferrule to adapter while having a depressible mechanism to provide a release actuation so the coupling between the adapter and ferrule does not inadvertently releases ([0028] and [0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In regards to Claim 5, the applicant argues the prior art of Gniadek does not teach “wherein the outer housing further comprises an alignment key opposite the depressible adapter configured to latch with a latch recess of mating adapter to releasably retain the adapter latch in the mating adapter.
Figure 7 element 730 illustrate an adapter housing. The adapter housing 730 has alignment key features such 730a, 730c, 730e which functions as key alignment features because it ensures the structure 736 is inserted properly and aligned with the opening at 730a. Further as shown in Figure 17a the adapter may have a depressible latch within the adapter opening channels. This means that the structure of 730 or 1230 may have similar latching mechanism to hold the structure 736 within. Thus, the examiner considers the elements of 730a, 730c, 730e are capable of function as alignment keys. If the applicant would like to overcome the prior art cited the applicant needs to claim differences in the alignment key features of the disclosed invention relative to the prior art cited. Claiming the structures such as ‘alignment keys” alone is not sufficient to overcome the prior art of Gniadek.
In regards to Claim 14, the applicant argues the prior art does not teach single fiber ferrules.
Claim 14 recites the limitation of “wherein the optical fibers ferrule comprises first and second single fiber ferrules”. The ferrule features (Figure 7: 738) reads on to the claimed limitation. Although ferrule element (738) are multi-fiber ferrules, the examiner still considers them to meet the claimed limitations because the claimed limitations recite “wherein the optical fibers ferrule comprises first and second single fiber ferrules” which means the ferrule structures contains two ferrules that are capable of housing single fibers. The structure 738 has multiple channels wherein each channel holds only a single fiber (See Figure 7c wherein two holes are present and each hole houses a fiber). Further since the claim contains the terms “comprises” it does not preclude the examiner from using a ferrule that has multiple ferrules channels. If the applicant wishes to claim that their disclosed ferrule are individual ferrules having only a single fiber then the claim language must change to contain “consisting” or “only individuals single fiber structures” or other descriptive terms to differentiate from the structure shown in the prior art. The claimed structures of “wherein the optical fibers ferrule comprises first and second single fiber ferrules” as stated will be rejected over the prior art of Gniadek because the prior art teaches a ferrule structure having multiple ferrules channels that houses capable of having a single fiber.
This action is therefore made FINAL for the reason(s) detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874