DETAILED ACTION
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same
under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026 regarding the prior art rejections of Claims 1 and 10
have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
The Remarks argue:
Applicant traverses on the grounds that the references - either individually or in combination - fail to teach or suggest each and every element of the rejected claims.
Sugita does not describe detecting a wireless communication error.
Sugita does not state that:
" failure to respond to a beacon constitutes an error,
" the access point determines that an error has occurred,
" the printing apparatus identifies an abnormal communication condition, or
" any error condition is generated or handled.
The reference contains no disclosure that beacon non-response is treated as detection of a wireless communication error.
Sugita does not disclose that the printing apparatus determines that an error has occurred based on beacon non-response. Nor does Sugita disclose that the printing apparatus performs resolution processing in response to such a detected error.
The only control described in Sugita is temporary suspension of power saving mode upon receipt of a print job to avoid delay.
Accordingly, Sugita does not teach:
1. identifying a wireless communication error;
2. identifying such an error based on packet transmission and lack of response; or
3. disabling a power saving function in response to a detected wireless communication
error.
Claims 1 and 10 have been amended to recite further features that are not taught or suggested by Sugita and Shelton. Specifically, neither reference discloses that (i) the wireless communication unit and the communication controller are different modules within the electronic apparatus and communicate with each other in accordance with a USB standard, or that (ii) the predetermined power saving function is USB Auto Suspend.
The Examiner agrees Sugita does not teach error detection, however, Shelton does.
(Shelton: 0956 & 0433, Examples of a signal bearing medium include, but are not limited to, the following: a recordable type medium such as a floppy disk, a hard disk drive, a Compact Disc (CD), a Digital Video Disk (DVD), a digital tape, a computer memory, etc.; and a transmission type medium such as a digital and/or an analog communication medium (e.g., a fiber optic cable, a waveguide, a wired communications link, a wireless communication link (e.g., transmitter, receiver, transmission logic, reception logic, etc.), etc.). When the safety controller 1410 determines that a fault exists, an error exists, or that some operation of the plurality of circuit segments was not verified, the safety controller 1410 prevents or disables operation of the particular circuit segment where the fault, error or verification failure originated.)
Although Sugita doesn’t explicitly state the listed points but does suggest them. (Sugita:6, 15, & 7, the access point transmits a signal called a beacon at a certain interval to a peripheral device; if data reception is not completed in a predetermined time period, the data reception is finished as an error. In the doze state, the power supply to the wireless communication unit is stopped or reduced. Accordingly, when the wireless communication unit is in the doze state, the printing apparatus cannot transmit data to the external device or receive data transmitted from the external device via wireless communication.)
The Examiner agrees Sugita does not disclose a “USB Auto Suspend” but does teach a predetermined power saving function. (Sugita: 6, 15, & 7)
The Examiner agrees Sugita and Shelton does not teach all amended claim limitations.
However, with the addition of Takasu, in combination, one skilled in the art could conclude the claimed limitations as Sugita teaches a predetermined power saving function, Shelton teaches wireless communication error detection, and Takasu teaches USB Auto Suspend as shown below making up for the deficiencies of one another.
For at least the same reasons discussed with respect to claim 1, all claims are considered but also rejected.
Claims 1 – 2 & 4 – 9 which depend from amended claim 1, have been considered and rejected.
Claim 10 has been considered and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2 & 4 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGITA (US 9197778 B2) in view of SHELTON (US 2017/0202605 A1) in view of Takasu (US 2015/0228255 A1). Claim 3 has been cancelled.
With regards to claim 1, SUGITA teaches:
An electronic apparatus comprising: a wireless communication unit performing wireless communication; and a communication controller controlling communication of the wireless communication unit wherein the wireless communication unit and the communication controller are different modules within the electronic apparatus and communicate with each other; (15, The printing apparatus 401 includes a control unit 500, an operation unit 520, a printer 530, a scanner 540, a wired communication unit 550, and a wireless communication unit 560); the communication controller periodically transmits a packet to a predetermined device, determines that an error has occurred in the wireless communication when no response is received from the predetermined device, (6 & 15, the access point transmits a signal called a beacon at a certain interval to a peripheral device; if data reception is not completed in a predetermined time period, the data reception is finished as an error.); and disables a predetermined power saving function that affects the wireless communication (7, In the doze state, the power supply to the wireless communication unit is stopped or reduced. Accordingly, when the wireless communication unit is in the doze state, the printing apparatus cannot transmit data to the external device or receive data transmitted from the external device via wireless communication).
SUGITA fails to teach:
determines that an error;
However, SHELTON teaches:
determines that an error (0838: The processor may be further configured to determine an error condition; determined by the one or more plurality of sensors fails to satisfy at least one predetermined threshold);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of wireless communication including a predetermined power saving function of SUGITA with the teaching of SHELTON, which teaches restart and error correction in order to correct or reboot signals from receiving circuit to the user as suggested by SHELTON (0459, 1706 steps through 232 possible outputs before it overflows and restarts).
SUGITA in view of SHELTON fails to teach:
in accordance with a USB standard; the predetermined power saving function being USB Auto Suspend.
However, Takasu teaches:
in accordance with a USB standard; the predetermined power saving function being USB Auto Suspend. (0005: In the case where a sensor hub is connected through a USB, upon duration of given time without the change in the detection value of the acceleration sensor, the sensor hub may set the sensor to a selective suspend mode such that an interruption occurs upon the change in the detection value of the acceleration sensor, and also the sensor hub itself enters a power save mode, thereby performing power saving.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of wireless communication including a predetermined power saving function of SUGITA with the teaching of Takasu, which teaches USB Selective Suspend in order to control power consumption. (Takasu: 0007, the increase of system power consumption due to unwanted returning of a USB from the selective suspend mode becomes problematic.)
With regards to claim 2, SUGITA in view of SHELTON in view of Takasu teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1.
SUGITA teaches:
wherein, when the electronic apparatus is restarted, the communication controller enables the predetermined power saving function (8, When the power saving mode is enabled, the wireless communication unit intermittently transitions from the doze state to the awake state at timing 201 through timing 203 in synchronization with the beacon interval of the access point).
With regards to claim 4, SUGITA in view of SHELTON in view of Takasu teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1.
SUGITA fails to teach:
wherein the communication controller executes a plurality of pieces of predetermined processing for resolving the error in ascending order of processing time until the error is resolved.
However, SHELTON teaches:
wherein the communication controller executes a plurality of pieces of predetermined processing for resolving the error in ascending order of processing time until the error is resolved (0748, Energy conservation is achieved based on transitioning circuit segments with lower power consumption requirements to circuit segments with higher power consumption, in the order of ascending power consumption requirements; Consequently, when the energization sequence restarts after interruption, the voltage control circuit 1408 can skip the previously completed steps of the energization sequence to further conserve energy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of wireless communication including a predetermined power saving function of SUGITA with the teaching of SHELTON, which teaches ascending order error correction in order to improve system efficiency as suggested by SHELTON (0748, Energy conservation is achieved based on transitioning circuit segments with lower power consumption requirements to circuit segments with higher power consumption).
With regards to claim 5, SUGITA in view of SHELTON in view of Takasu teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1.
SUGITA teaches:
wherein the communication controller performs control to prevent communication connection between a processor including the communication controller and the wireless communication unit from transitioning to a power saving mode as control to disable the predetermined power saving function (5, FIG. 1 illustrates processing executed when the power saving mode is disabled. In FIG. 1, a printing apparatus is described as a device having a wireless LAN capability. When the power saving mode in the printing apparatus is disabled).
With regards to claim 6, SUGITA in view of SHELTON in view of Takasu teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1.
SUGITA teaches:
wherein the communication controller performs control to prevent the communication connection from transitioning to the power saving mode when a transition frequency between a non-power saving mode and the power saving mode in the communication connection is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold in a predetermined period until a time when the error occurs (7 & 10, In the doze state, the power supply to the wireless communication unit is stopped or reduced; When the power saving mode is enabled, the wireless communication unit transitions from the awake state to the doze state on condition that data is not transmitted or received between the printing apparatus and the access point for a predetermined time period).
With regards to claim 7, SUGITA in view of SHELTON in view of Takasu teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1.
SUGITA teaches:
wherein the communication controller performs control to prohibit a clock frequency of a processor that performs processing related to the wireless communication from decreasing from a first frequency to a second frequency as control to disable the predetermined power saving function (7 & 13, In the doze state, the power supply to the wireless communication unit is stopped or reduced. Accordingly, when the wireless communication unit is in the doze state, the printing apparatus cannot transmit data to the external device or receive data transmitted from the external device via wireless communication.
If the power saving mode were disabled, the access point could immediately transmit the data 1 to the printing apparatus. However, since the power saving mode is enabled, the access point needs to wait until timing of a next beacon and transmits the data 1. That is, the communication delay of a time period 302 occurs compared to a case where the power saving mode is disabled).
With regards to claim 8, SUGITA in view of SHELTON in view of Takasu teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 7.
SUGITA teaches:
when a load rate of the processor at the time when the error occurs is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold (14, After receiving the data 1, the wireless communication unit of the printing apparatus transitions from the awake state to the doze state at timing 303 if any data is not transmitted or received for a predetermined time period).
SUGITA fails to teach:
wherein the communication controller performs control to prohibit the clock frequency from decreasing from the first frequency to the second frequency;
However, SHELTON teaches:
wherein the communication controller performs control to prohibit the clock frequency from decreasing from the first frequency to the second frequency (0300), Another aspect slows down one or more of the microcontrollers to conserve power when not in use. For example, the clock frequencies of both microcontrollers can be reduced to save power. To maintain synchronized operation, the microcontrollers coordinate the changing of their respective clock frequencies to occur at about the same time, both the reduction and, then, the subsequent increase in frequency when full speed operation is required)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of wireless communication using a predetermined threshold of SUGITA with the teaching of SHELTON, which teaches decreasing clock frequencies when the error occurs is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold in order to conserve power as suggested by SHELTON (0300, the clock frequencies of both microcontrollers can be reduced to save power).
With regards to claim 9, SUGITA in view of SHELTON in view of Takasu teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1.
SUGITA teaches:
wherein the communication controller performs control to operate the wireless communication unit in a non-power saving mode as control to disable the predetermined power saving function (7 & 10, In the doze state, the power supply to the wireless communication unit is stopped or reduced; the wireless communication unit transitions from the awake state to the doze state on condition that data is not transmitted or received between the printing apparatus).
With regards to claim 10, SUGITA teaches:
A control method for an electronic apparatus that performs wireless communication by a wireless communication unit, the control method being performed by a communication controller, the wireless communication unit and the communication controller being different modules within the electronic apparatus and communicating with each other; comprising: (15, The printing apparatus 401 includes a control unit 500, an operation unit 520, a printer 530, a scanner 540, a wired communication unit 550, and a wireless communication unit 560): periodically transmitting a packet to a predetermined device; determining that an error has occurred in the wireless communication when no response is received from the predetermined device; (6 & 15, the access point transmits a signal called a beacon at a certain interval to a peripheral device; if data reception is not completed in a predetermined time period, the data reception is finished as an error.) and disabling a predetermined power saving function that affects the wireless communication (7, In the doze state, the power supply to the wireless communication unit is stopped or reduced. Accordingly, when the wireless communication unit is in the doze state, the printing apparatus cannot transmit data to the external device or receive data transmitted from the external device via wireless communication).
SUGITA fails to teach:
determining that an error has occurred;
However, SHELTON teaches:
determining that an error has occurred; (0838: The processor may be further configured to determine an error condition; determined by the one or more plurality of sensors fails to satisfy at least one predetermined threshold);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of wireless communication including a predetermined power saving function of SUGITA with the teaching of SHELTON, which teaches restart and error correction in order to correct or reboot signals from receiving circuit to the user as suggested by SHELTON (0459, 1706 steps through 232 possible outputs before it overflows and restarts).
SUGITA in view of SHELTON fails to teach:
in accordance with a USB standard; the predetermined power saving function being USB Auto Suspend.
However, Takasu teaches:
in accordance with a USB standard; the predetermined power saving function being USB Auto Suspend. (0005: In the case where a sensor hub is connected through a USB, upon duration of given time without the change in the detection value of the acceleration sensor, the sensor hub may set the sensor to a selective suspend mode such that an interruption occurs upon the change in the detection value of the acceleration sensor, and also the sensor hub itself enters a power save mode, thereby performing power saving.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of wireless communication including a predetermined power saving function of SUGITA with the teaching of Takasu, which teaches USB Selective Suspend in order to control power consumption. (Takasu: 0007, the increase of system power consumption due to unwanted returning of a USB from the selective suspend mode becomes problematic.)
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art mode of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
WATANABE (JP 2009/246597 A): A communication system capable of making a call between a parent device and a child device via wireless communication.
Shimotono (US 2013/0063607 A1): A camera system that transfers static image data while reducing power consumption is provided. A static image application issues a frame transfer command at a certain transfer period to a camera module. In each transfer period, the camera module wakes up from a suspend state and generates static image data. After the end of the transfer, the camera module transitions to the suspend state. The camera module is able to transition to the suspend state at each transfer period and thus is able to reduce power consumption.
Conclusion
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026 regarding the prior art rejections of Claims 1 and 10
have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
should be directed to VICTOR PERRY whose telephone number is (571)272-6319. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00.
Mark Featherstone can be reached on (571) 270-3750. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2111
/GUERRIER MERANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111 8/24/2026