DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Application filed on 06/18/2024.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the word stating”, it appears that it should be “starting”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specs recite “stating” throughout the Specifications. It appears that it should be “starting”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 2B-2D uses numbers 13, 14, 24. According to the specification it seems that the numbers 1, 2, 3 and 4 corresponds to the switches of the buck-boost converter. It appears that it should be 1+3, 1+4 and 2+4, similar to Fig. 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings (Fig. 1B) are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “wherein in the IN state an input node of the power converter is coupled with a reference node of the power converter via an energy conversion element; the input node of the power converter is coupled with an output node of the power converter via the energy conversion clement; the power converter is coupled with the reference node of the power converter via the energy conversion element”. Also, Fig. 1B fails to show the clock signal and the timer signal, as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. Furthermore, it seems that the claimed operation of claim 1 corresponds to the buck-boost mode operation of Fig. 2A (middle graph), however, the clock signal and the timer signal are not shown with respect to operation of the switches 1, 2, 3, 4. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 1 recite(s) “stating” in line 9. It appears that it should be “starting”.
Claim(s) 12 recite(s) “stating” in line 15. It appears that it should be “starting”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2013/0328534; (hereinafter Hsieh).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh [e.g. Figs. 2 and 3B] discloses a control unit for operating a power converter [e.g. Fig. 2] in a buck-boost mode, wherein the control unit is configured to, within a switching cycle [e.g. Fig. 3B; T2-T5], operate the power converter in an IN state [e.g. Fig. 3B; T2-T3] starting from a beginning of the switching cycle [e.g. Fig. 3B; T2] until a timer signal of a timer occurs [e.g. PWM at T3]; wherein in the IN state an input node [e.g. IN] of the power converter is coupled with a reference node [e.g. Fig. 2; GND] of the power converter via an energy conversion element [e.g. inductor IL; Fig. 2 and 3B; see interval T2-T3 where CONA and CONB are high that turns ON switches A and B]; subsequently operate the power converter in a THROUGH state [e.g. Fig. 3B; T3-T4] stating from the timer signal [e.g. Fig. 3B; T3] until a peak current event occurs [e.g. Fig. 3B; inductor current (IL) peak at T4]; wherein in the THROUGH state the input node of the power converter is coupled with an output node [e.g. VOUT] of the power converter via the energy conversion element [e.g. Fig. 2 and 3B; see interval T3-T4 where CONA and COND are high that turns ON switches A and D]; and subsequently operate the power converter in an OUT state [e.g. Fig. 3B; after T4-T5] starting from the peak current event [e.g. at T4] until a clock signal occurs [e.g. CLK high at T4], which indicates an end of the switching cycle [e.g. switching cycle T2-T5]; wherein in the OUT state the output node of the power converter is coupled with the reference node of the power converter via the energy conversion element [e.g. Fig. 2 and 3B; see interval T4-T5 where CONC and COND are high that turns ON switches C and D].
Regarding claim 2, Hsieh [e.g. Figs. 2 and 3B] discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to, sense [e.g. Fig. 2; 212] a current through the energy conversion element, to provide a sensed current [e.g. Fig. 2; ISA]; overlay the sensed current with a ramp signal [e.g. Fig. 2; VRAMP] to provide a ramped current signal [e.g. Fig. 2; output of 216]; determine an error signal [e.g. Fig. 2; VEA] based on an output voltage at the output node of the power converter [e.g. Fig. 2; VOUT via 208] and based on a reference voltage [e.g. Fig. 2; VREF]; and compare [e.g. Fig. 2; 218] the ramped current signal [e.g. Fig. 2; at non-inverting input of 218] with the error signal [e.g. at inverting input of 218] to detect a peak current event [e.g. Fig. 3B; PWM at T4].
Regarding claim 10, Hsieh [e.g. Figs. 2 and 3B] discloses wherein the timer has a fixed timer duration [e.g. see fixed PWM]; and the timer is configured to generate the timer signal as soon as the fixed timer duration has lapsed [e.g. Fig. 3B two times per switching cycle at T3 and T5].
Regarding claim 15, Hsieh [e.g. Figs. 2 and 3B] discloses a method for operating a power converter [e.g. Fig. 2] in a buck-boost mode; wherein the method comprises, within a switching cycle [e.g. Fig. 3B; T2-T5], operating the power converter in an IN state [e.g. Fig. 3B; T2-T3] starting from a beginning of the switching cycle [e.g. Fig. 3B; T2] until a timer signal of a timer occurs [e.g. PWM at T3]; wherein in the IN state an input node [e.g. IN] of the power converter is coupled with a reference node [e.g. Fig. 2; GND] of the power converter via an energy conversion element [e.g. inductor IL; Fig. 2 and 3B; see interval T2-T3 where CONA and CONB are high that turns ON switches A and B]; subsequently operating the power converter in a THROUGH state [e.g. Fig. 3B; T3-T4] stating from the timer signal [e.g. Fig. 3B; T3] until a peak current event occurs [e.g. Fig. 3B; inductor current (IL) peak at T4]; wherein in the THROUGH state the input node of the power converter is coupled with an output node [e.g. VOUT] of the power converter via the energy conversion element [e.g. Fig. 2 and 3B; see interval T3-T4 where CONA and COND are high that turns ON switches A and D]; and subsequently operating the power converter in an OUT state [e.g. Fig. 3B; after T4-T5] starting from the peak current event [e.g. at T4] until a clock signal occurs [e.g. CLK high at T4], which indicates an end of the switching cycle [e.g. switching cycle T2-T5]; wherein in the OUT state the output node of the power converter is coupled with the reference node of the power converter via the energy conversion element [e.g. Fig. 2 and 3B; see interval T4-T5 where CONC and COND are high that turns ON switches C and D].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh in view of US Pub. No. 2012/0229110; (hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 2, Hsieh fails to disclose wherein the control unit is further configured to start the timer for generating the timer signal upon occurrence of the peak current event.
Huang [e.g. Fig. 9] teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to start the timer [e.g. PFM_BOOST] for generating the timer signal [e.g. PFM_BOOST ON at interval T1-T2] upon occurrence of the peak current event [e.g. Inductor Current IL at T2].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hsieh by wherein the control unit is further configured to start the timer for generating the timer signal upon occurrence of the peak current event as taught by Huang in order of being able to achieve an improved efficiency and lower ripples, paragraph 065.
Regarding claim 16, Hsieh fails to disclose comprising starting the timer for generating the timer signal upon occurrence of the peak current event.
Huang [e.g. Fig. 9] teaches comprising starting the timer [e.g. PFM_BOOST] for generating the timer signal [e.g. PFM_BOOST ON at interval T1-T2] upon occurrence of the peak current event [e.g. Inductor Current IL at T2].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hsieh by comprising starting the timer for generating the timer signal upon occurrence of the peak current event as taught by Huang in order of being able to achieve an improved efficiency and lower ripples, paragraph 065.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3 – 9, 11, 13 – 14, 17 – 20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 3 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the control unit is further configured to: determine whether or not the timer signal occurs prior to the clock signal; operate the power converter in the buck-boost mode within a subsequent switching cycle, if the timer signal does not occur prior to the clock signal; and operate the power converter in a buck mode within the subsequent switching cycle, if the timer signal occurs prior to the clock signal”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 6 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the control unit is further configured to: determine whether or not the peak current event occurs prior to the clock signal; operate the power converter in the buck-boost mode within a subsequent switching cycle, if the peak current event occurs prior to the clock signal; and operate the power converter in a boost mode within the subsequent switching cycle, if the peak current event does not occur prior to the clock signal”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 11 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “the IN state has a state duration which corresponds to a fixed timer duration of the timer minus the state duration of the OUT state”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 13 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the control unit is further configured to reset and restart the ramp signal at the beginning of each switching cycle when operating the power converter in the buck-boost mode”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 14 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein a slope of the ramp signal is dependent on a pre-determined peak current through the energy conversion element”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 17 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “further comprising: determining whether or not the timer signal occurs prior to the clock signal; operating the power converter in the buck-boost mode within a subsequent switching cycle, if the timer signal does not occur prior to the clock signal; and operating the power converter in a buck mode within the subsequent switching cycle, if the timer signal occurs prior to the clock signal.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 20 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “further comprising: determining whether or not the peak current event occurs prior to the clock signal; operating the power converter in the buck-boost mode within a subsequent switching cycle, if the peak current event occurs prior to the clock signal; and operating the power converter in a boost mode within the subsequent switching cycle, if the peak current event does not occur prior to the clock signal.
Conclusion
/ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838