DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to amendment filed on 02/05/2026. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, page 10 of the remarks, “Hyun does not teach or suggest delaying the suspension until after a verify operation completes based on when the suspend request was received during a program pulse.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. “the program suspend module 120 sends a suspend command to the memory device 116 at some period of time after receiving the read access request.” Paragraph [0040] of Hyun. “the method 500 may include determining whether the address corresponding to the memory access request is located on the same chip as the program operation. If the address corresponding to the memory access request is located on the same chip as the current program operation, the method 500 includes determining 506 whether the program operation satisfies a suspend threshold.” Paragraph [0066] and FIG. 5 of Hyun. That is, Hyun does not immediately suspend a program operation upon receiving an access request during the application of a programming pulse. Instead, Hyun delays the suspend operation in order to determine whether or not the program operation should be suspended.
In the previous Office Action, the Examiner noted that Hyun implicitly or inherently teaches a program verify operation following the application of a programming pulse. If Hyun did not use a program verify operation following the application of a programming pulse, Hyun would have no way of knowing whether or not the programming operation has completed or the “desired state” has been reached. The other prior art Chan clearly describes that it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to apply a program verify operation following the application of a programming pulse. Chan in the background section teaches “A program operation typically includes alternate cycles of applying a programming pulse followed by sensing to program verify if a memory cell has been programmed to an intended state.” Paragraph [0038] of Chan.
Because Hyun inherently teaches a program verify operation, Hyun delays the suspension of the program operation until the completion of a program verify operation.
Applicant argues, page 10 of the remarks, “Chan does not teach using a program suspend indicator to track when a suspend request was received during a program pulse and then delaying the actual suspension until after the verify operation completes. … Chan does not cure the deficiencies of Hyun …”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chan clearly describes that it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to apply a program verify operation following the application of a programming pulse. Chan in the background section teaches “A program operation typically includes alternate cycles of applying a programming pulse followed by sensing to program verify if a memory cell has been programmed to an intended state.” Paragraph [0038] of Chan.
In view of the foregoing remarks, independent claims 1, 8, and 15 are not in a condition for allowance. Claims depending therefrom, either directly or indirectly, are also not in a condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun et al. US 2013/0205085 (“Hyun”) in view of Chan US 2007/0171725 (“Chan”).
As per independent claim 1, Hyun teaches A memory device (“memory device 116” para 0041 and FIGS. 1-2) comprising:
a memory array (“memory elements 126” para 0041 and FIG. 2);
control logic (“controller 114” para 0043 and FIGS. 1-2), operatively coupled with the memory array (“control signals from the controller 114 are transmitted to the memory device 116 via one or more control signal lines 152.” Para 0043 and FIGS. 1-2), to perform operations comprising:
initiating application of a program pulse on the memory array as part of a program operation (“the program operations are performed using incremental step pulse programming (ISPP), in which a memory element 126 is programmed to a specific state (bit combination) using incremental voltage steps or pulses.” Para 0036 and FIGS. 3A-3B);
determining whether a first request to suspend the program operation was received during the application of the program pulse (“The program suspend module 120 may suspend a program operation at one or more groups of memory elements 126 of the memory device 116 in response to receiving a read access request or other memory access request from an application 128.” Para 0038. “the program suspend module 120 is configured to store information that defines the state or progress of the program operation, including a pulse count at which the current program operation is suspended.” Para 0036);
responsive to determining that the first request to suspend the program operation was received during the application of the program pulse, setting a program suspend indicator to a suspend state (“the program suspend module 120 is configured to store information that defines the state or progress of the program operation, including a pulse count at which the current program operation is suspended.” Para 0036. “The memory control manager 140 may then set a bit of the program suspend register 160 to indicate that the memory control manager 140 is suspending the current program operation.” Para 0049 and FIG. 2);
responsive to completing the program verify operation, determining that the program suspend indicator is set to the suspend state and suspending the program operation (“the program suspend module 120 is configured to store information that defines the state or progress of the program operation, including a pulse count at which the current program operation is suspended.” Para 0036. “The memory control manager 140 may then set a bit of the program suspend register 160 to indicate that the memory control manager 140 is suspending the current program operation.” Para 0049 and FIG. 2).
Hyun discloses all of the claim limitations from above. It is implicit or inherent in Hyun that a verification step is performed following the application of an ISPP. This is because Hyun teaches “memory element 126 is programmed to a specific state (bit combination)” para 0036. Furthermore, Hyun teaches “desired bit configuration” or “desired state” of the memory element 126 that are only achievable with a verify step.
Nevertheless, in order to show that a verify step is typically performed following a program pulse, an analogous art in the same field of endeavor Chan is relied upon. Chan teaches responsive to completing application of the program pulse, initiating a program verify operation on the memory array (Chan in the background section teaches “A program operation typically includes alternate cycles of applying a programming pulse followed by sensing to program verify if a memory cell has been programmed to an intended state.” Para 0038).
Given the teaching of Chan, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the scope of the invention of Hyun with “responsive to completing application of the program pulse, initiating a program verify operation on the memory array”. The motivation would be that the disclosure of Chan improves program performance including improving program verify operations, para 0039 of Chan.
As per dependent claim 5, Hyun in combination with Chan discloses the device of claim 1. Hyun teaches wherein the control logic is to perform operations further comprising: initiating a read operation on the memory array while the program operation is suspended; and responsive to completing the read operation, initiating a verify resume operation and resuming the program operation (“After the read operation is completed … the program operation may be resumed.” Para 0053).
As per claims 8 and 12, these claims are respectively rejected based on arguments provided above for similar rejected claims 1 and 5.
As per claims 15 and 19, these claims are respectively rejected based on arguments provided above for similar rejected claims 1 and 5.
Claims 2, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun in view of Chan and in further view of Du et al. US 2023/0367488 (“Du”).
As per dependent claim 2, Hyun in combination with Chan discloses the device of claim 1. Hyun and Chan may not explicitly disclose, but in an analogous art in the same field of endeavor, Du teaches wherein the control logic is to perform operations further comprising: determining whether a second request to suspend the program operation was received during the program verify operation (“control logic 512 … may receive an interrupt command, e.g., issued by a memory controller, during word line driver 508 applies a verify voltage on select word line 318, e.g., within a verify phase, as shown in FIG. 13A.” Para 0091);
responsive to determining that the second request to suspend the program operation was received during the program verify operation, setting the program suspend indicator to the suspend state (“control logic 512 may be configured to store the information of the suspended program operation … into registers 514.” Para 0097).
Given the teaching of Du, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the scope of the invention of Hyun and Chan with “wherein the control logic is to perform operations further comprising: determining whether a second request to suspend the program operation was received during the program verify operation” and “responsive to determining that the second request to suspend the program operation was received during the program verify operation, setting the program suspend indicator to the suspend state”. The motivation would be that the invention improves performance of a memory device, para 0099 of Du.
As per dependent claim 6, Hyun in combination with Chan discloses the device of claim 5. Hyun and Chan may not explicitly disclose, but in an analogous art in the same field of endeavor, Du teaches wherein the control logic is to perform operations further comprising: responsive to resuming the program operation, determining whether a third request to suspend the program operation was received during the verify resume operation; and responsive to determining that the third request to suspend the program operation was received during the verify resume operation, setting the program suspend indicator to the suspend state and initiating application of a subsequent program pulse on the memory array as part of the program operation (“In response to a resume command … peripheral circuits 302 can be configured to resume the suspended program operation. … control logic 512 is further configured to retrieve the information of the suspended program operation stored in registers 514 … As shown in FIGS. 10A, 11A, and 13A, once the program operation is resumed, in the same program/verify cycle … a verify voltage … corresponding to the same cycle, can be applied to check whether the threshold voltage of each programmed memory cell 306 reaches the verify voltage. … the clean process may be performed to suspend the ongoing verify phase during which the interrupt command is received. … once the interrupt command is received, the ongoing verify phase may be stopped immediately, and the clean process may be initiated.” Para 0098. “If one or more memory cells … fail to pass the verification … a subsequent program/verify cycle … may be applied on the verification-failed memory cells with an increased program voltage.” Para 0099).
Given the teaching of Du, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the scope of the invention of Hyun and Chan with “wherein the control logic is to perform operations further comprising: responsive to resuming the program operation, determining whether a third request to suspend the program operation was received during the verify resume operation; and responsive to determining that the third request to suspend the program operation was received during the verify resume operation, setting the program suspend indicator to the suspend state and initiating application of a subsequent program pulse on the memory array as part of the program operation”. The motivation would be that the invention improves performance of a memory device, para 0099 of Du.
As per dependent claim 7, Hyun in combination with Chan and Du discloses the device of claim 6. Hyun teaches wherein the control logic is to perform operations further comprising: responsive to determining that the third request to suspend the program operation was not received during the verify resume operation, setting the program suspend indicator to a default state (“the memory control manager 140 may store a bit value of one (1) in the program suspend register 160 to indicate that the current program operation is suspended.” Para 0049. Hence, the default value would be a zero (0)).
As per dependent claims 9 and 13-14, these claims are respectively rejected based on arguments provided above for similar rejected dependent claims 2 and 6-7.
As per dependent claims 16 and 20, these claims are respectively rejected based on arguments provided above for similar rejected dependent claims 2 and 6.
As per dependent claim 17, Hyun in combination with Chan and Du discloses the device of claim 16. Hyun teaches wherein the suspend indicator is set to a first state to represent that the request to suspend the program operation was received and to a second state to represent that the request to suspend the program operation was not received (“the memory control manager 140 may store a bit value of one (1) in the program suspend register 160 to indicate that the current program operation is suspended.” Para 0049. Hence, the default value would be a zero (0)).
Claims 3-4, 10-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun in view of Chan and in further view of Donati et al. US 2020/0273523 (“Donati”).
As per dependent claim 3, Hyun in combination with Chan discloses the device of claim 1. Hyun and Chan may not explicitly disclose, but in an analogous art in the same field of endeavor, Donati teaches wherein the program verify operation does not utilize a selective slow program convergence (SSPC) pulse (“the controller determined that the cell is in program state in scenario ‘c’. Therefore, the SSPC voltage will not be applied to the channel.” Para 0050).
Given the teaching of Donati, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the scope of the invention of Hyun and Chan with “wherein the program verify operation does not utilize a selective slow program convergence (SSPC) pulse”. The motivation would be that the technique described improves threshold voltage distribution, para 0051 of Donati.
As per dependent claim 4, Hyun in combination with Chan discloses the device of claim 1. Hyun teaches setting the program suspend indicator to a default state (“the memory control manager 140 may store a bit value of one (1) in the program suspend register 160 to indicate that the current program operation is suspended.” Para 0049. Hence, the default value would be a zero (0)).
Hyun and Chan may not explicitly disclose, but in an analogous art in the same field of endeavor, Donati teaches wherein the control logic is to perform operations further comprising: responsive to determining that the first request to suspend the program operation was not received during the application of the program pulse (“After the fourth program pulse, the memory array receives a suspend command.” Para 0048 and FIGS. 4A-4C),
responsive to completing application of the program pulse, initiating a program verify operation on the memory array using a selective slow program convergence (SSPC) pulse (“Because the cell is in the SSPC state, the voltage applied to the channel via the bitline in this example is V_step/2.” Para 0049 and FIGS. 4A-4C).
Given the teaching of Donati, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the scope of the invention of Hyun and Chan with “further comprising: responsive to determining that the first request to suspend the program operation was not received during the application of the program pulse” and “responsive to completing application of the program pulse, initiating a program verify operation on the memory array using a selective slow program convergence (SSPC) pulse”. The motivation would be that the technique described improves threshold voltage distribution, para 0051 of Donati.
As per dependent claims 10-11, these claims are respectively rejected based on arguments provided above for similar rejected dependent claims 3-4.
As per dependent claim 18, this claim is rejected based on arguments provided above for similar rejected dependent claim 3.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZUBAIR AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132