DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s request of Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 01/08/2026 on amendments/arguments filed on 01/08/2026. Claims 8, 10, 15, 17-20 and 27-30 have been canceled. Claims 31-33 have been added. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11-14, 16 and 21-24 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-7, 9, 11-14, 16, 21-26 and 31-33 are pending for consideration.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's arguments/remarks filed 01/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Responses to arguments based on rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a):
Regarding claims 21 and 23-26, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The originally filed specification describes Wi-Fi backscatter in paragraphs par [0531]-[0532] and separately list Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) among various wireless networks in paragraph [0610]. However, the originally filed specification does not describe BLE being used via RF-backscatter, nor does it disclose RF-backscatter in a manner that clearly applies across different wireless standards. Merely listing BLE as a possible wireless network does not demonstrate possession of the specific combination as claimed – Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) standard frequency via RF-backscatter. The written description requirement is not satisfied by implication or by reasoning that the disclosed Wi-Fi backscatter techniques could later be adapted to be BLE.
Applicant’s argument based on the BLE and Wi-Fi both operate in the 2.5 GHz SIM band is also unpersuasive. Operating in the same frequency band does not render the technologies interchangeable. BLE and Wi-Fi employ different signaling schemes and protocol structures, and disclosure of a Wi-Fi backscatter implementation does not reasonably convey possession of a BLE backscatter implementation. The cited references in the remark by applicant and incorporated materials discuss RF backscatter and energy harvesting generally, but they do not establish that the inventor had BLE backscatter in possession at the time of filing. Arguments regarding what one with ordinary skill in the art could derive or modify belong to enablement or obviousness, not written description which the rejection was based on.
Accordingly, the originally filed specification fails to reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) standard frequency via RF-backscatter at the time the application was filed. Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for claim 21 and 23-30 is maintained.
Responses to arguments on amended claims 1 and 23 based on rejection under 103 (Meadow in view of Zhu and Reynolds):
Applicant argues that Meadow is “inoperable” with backscatter-based operation where harvesting operating power may occur across multiple cycle by stating that Meadow relies on continuous, device-side timing with atomic-level precision and that standards-based backscatter communication would undermine this timing. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Meadow describes its processor executes logic commands when powered by stored harvested energy and does not require any particular transmission modality, such that replacing an active transmitter with a standards-based RF backscatter transmitter does not undermine or render inoperable Meadow’s disclosed sensing and data communication functions (see par [00125] and [0250]). Additionally, Meadow discloses atomic-clock timing only as an optional embodiment and separately discloses sensing, logging, and transmitting condition data as asset moves, such that continuous atomic-level timing is not required for the processing and communication operation (see par [0072] and [0172]-[0177]).
Applicant further argues that Meadow’s trilateration and triangulation technique require uninterrupted timing continuity and are incompatible with the claimed operation. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim does not recite trilateration or triangulation, or time-difference-of-arrival localization, and Meadow’s disclosure of such techniques is optional and cannot be imported as a limitation to exclude Meadow’s energy harvesting, sensing and data communication functions (see par [00125] and [0250]).
Applicant argues extensively that the newly amended term “responsively” requires processing to be triggered exclusively and immediately by a local power-storage event, and that Zhu’s coordinator-based beaconing is therefore incompatible. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “responsively” requires that the processing occurs when a station condition is satisfied, not that the condition be the sole or instantaneous causal trigger. Amended claim 1 requires that processing occurs when the power storage has an amount of power. Zhu expressly teaches such operation by disclosing that an energy-harvesting sensor device remains in a charging interval until harvested energy reaches a particular energy level (E), and only then transitions to an operational state capable of receiving and processing data (see par [0033]-[0036] of Zhu). When insufficient energy is available, the sensor device is “asleep and/or charging” and does not perform processing (see par [0025]-[0026] and [0042] and [0065] of Zhu). Therefore, Zhu teaches processing that occurs responsively to the power storage having a sufficient amount of energy (particular energy level (E)), even though beacon coordination is used for communication timing.
Applicant further argues that Meadow teaches away from combining energy-harvesting operation with standards-based backscatter communication. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Meadow teaches energy harvesting and low-power operation for package-attached devices (see par [0128], [0147]-[0148] and [0221] of Meadow). Zhu teaches threshold-based operation for energy-harvesting sensor device (see par [0033]-[0036] of Zhu). And Reynolds teaches standards-based backscatter communication compatible with conventional receivers (see par [0044]-[0046] and [0058] of Reynolds). None of the references criticize or discourage the combination of these techniques. Apply known energy-harvesting duty cycling with predetermined power level and known standards-based backscatter communication to Meadow’s package-tracking device would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to improve the package-tracking device.
Applicant argues that Zhu does not allow the sensor itself to trigger processing responsive to power storage having an amount of power and further states that Zhu operates differently from the way the claimed embodiment recites. See response above regarding the newly amended term “responsively”. Zhu teaches repeating cycles in which autonomously transitions between charging and operational states based on stored energy level, such that processing is performed each time responsively to the power storage having an amount of power (particular energy level (e)). Zhu expressly teach processing is enabled only when stored harvested energy reaches the particular energy level (e) (an amount of power), which is directly corresponding to the claimed requirement that processing occurs responsively to the power stage having an amount of power (see par [0033]-[0036] of Zhu).
Applicant argues that Reynolds teaches backscatter and does not cure the missing features of Meadow and/or Zhu. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Reynolds is relied upon solely to teach communication using a standards-based Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) RF-backscatter transmitter, which it expressively discloses (see [0044]-[0046] and [0058] of Reynolds).
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Consider amended claim 23, it recites the phrase “using a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) standard frequency via RF-backscatter”. The originally filed specification describes using Wi-Fi standard frequency via RF-backscatter (see “Wi-Fi backscatter”, par [0531]-[0532]), and further describes using wireless networks such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Zigbee, Wimax or 900 mhz range or 2.4 ghz range, etc. (par [0610]). However, the originally filed specification does not describe BLE being used via RF-backscatter, nor does it disclose RF-backscatter in a manner that clearly applies across different wireless standards.
Merely listing BLE as a possible wireless network does not demonstrate possession of the specific combination now claimed – namely, BLE communication implemented via RF-backscatter. The written description requirement is not satisfied by implication or by reasoning that the disclosed Wi-Fi backscatter techniques could later be adapted to be BLE.
Therefore, amended claim 23 introduces subject matter that was not described in the original filed specification and constitutes new matter prohibited by 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Claims 24-26 are rejected for depending on claim 23. Claims 21 and 27-30 are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 12-14, 16, 21-26 and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meadow (US 20190120929 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20160374016 A1), and in further view of Reynolds et al. (US 20160365890 A1).
Consider claim 1, Meadow discloses a device (read as GRL device 100, figure 1, par [0148]), comprising,
a microcontroller (read as controller 110, par [0121]);
an antenna for capturing power, the power being transferred to a power storage of the device (read as energy receiver 103 including a power antenna that receives energy from a source external to the GRL device and stores the energy in a power source 102, figure 1, par [0126]-[0127]) and the microcontroller is configured to perform processing for a task that samples a sensor of the device and processes data to identify a condition of a package to which the device is attached (read as the GRL device uses sensors to assess a state of a condition, with the microcontroller processing sensor data to identify a condition of an asset/package to which the GRL device is affixed/attached, par [0112], [0114], [0178] and [0471]), wherein as the package moves along one or more geolocations, the device continues to process said task to sample the sensor and process data to identify the condition of the package (read as the asset/package moves through space/locations, the GRL device continues to log, process, and transmit sensor data identifying the asset/package’s condition while powered by the power source 102, par [0172]-[0177] and [0125]);
wherein the data identifying the condition is processed based on the power storage of the device having power so that the microcontroller proceeds to perform the processing of the task (read as the asset/package moves through space/locations, the GRL device continues to log, process, and transmit sensor data identifying the asset/package’s condition while powered by the power source 102, par [0172]-[0177] and [0125]);
a transmitter for communicating the data over a network to a remote compute (read as the GRL device transmits sensor data and location data through a network to a server (i.e. Data Aggregators 461 using wireless network), which receives and process the information; par [025], [0114], [0137], [0191] and [0213]);
wherein said power is captured from ambient radio-frequency (RF) frequency (read as GRL Device harvests ambient energy (radio frequency) from an environment proximate to the GRL Device while moving in different locations, par [0173], [0241] and [0383]); and said communicating of the data to the remote compute is processed (read as the GRL device transmits sensor data and location data through a network to a server (i.e. Data Aggregators 461 using wireless network), which receives and process the information; par [025], [0114], [0137], [0191] and [0213]).
However, Meadow discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose one or more energy harvesting cycles and processing is performed using additional captured power from one or more energy harvesting cycles, wherein the data identifying the condition is processed each time responsive to the power storage of the device having an amount of power so that the microcontroller proceeds to perform the processing of the task.
Nonetheless, Zhu discloses a sensor device enters an operational state capable of receiving and processing data only when the harvested energy reaches a particular energy level (e), and that this process repeats across charging and operational intervals, such that processing proceeds responsively to the power storage having an amount of power (e.g. particular energy level (e)), par [0034]-[0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhu into the teaching of Meadow to modify Meadow’s GRL device so that processing of sensor data proceeds only when sufficient stored energy is available in order to prevent incomplete processing and improve reliability in an energy-harvesting device.
However, Meadow, as modified by Zhu, discloses the claimed invention above and the use of wireless technology such as Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (par [0045] and [0137]) and said communicating of the data to the remote compute is processed (read as the GRL device transmits sensor data and location data through a network to a server (i.e. Data Aggregators 461 using wireless network), which receives and process the information; par [025], [0114], [0137], [0191] and [0213]) but does not disclose via backscatter using a standards-based channel.
Nonetheless, Reynolds discloses a wireless communication system with RF energy harvesting and using wireless communication technology (i.e. Wi-Fi, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), etc.) via backscatter, see abstract, par [0044]-[0046], [0058], [0079] and [0108]; and a modulator that backscatters an incident signal and produces a backscattered signal formatted in accordance with a wireless communication protocol (i.e. BLE standard frequency via RF-backscatter), par [0071] and [0081].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Reynolds into the teaching of Meadow, as modified by Zhu, to enable the energy-harvesting device to communicate package-condition data using BLE-standard RF backscatter without generating an RF carrier in order to reduce power consumption while maintaining compatibility with BLE receivers.
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein the captured power is from ambient radio frequency (RF) frequency is present proximate to the device at one or more of said geolocations when the package is moved (read as GRL Device harvests ambient energy (radio frequency) from an environment proximate to the GRL Device while moving in different locations, par [0173], [0241] and [0383]).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein said microcontroller is configured to generate packets or data related condition of the package and said data includes information usable to identify a location (read as the asset/package moves through space/locations, the GRL device continues to log, process, and transmit sensor data identifying the asset/package’s condition while powered by the power source 102, par [0172]-[0177] and [0125]);
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein the generated packets are encrypted for said communication over the network and configured for decryption by said remote computer (read as GRL Device that has a Definable Blockchain in Chip with Definable Blockchain Security Module, comprising data packet encryption and decryption for decrying the encrypted data, par [0050]-[0051],[0228] and [0333]).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein said condition of said package includes one or both of temperature and humidity (read as sensing the temperature and humidity, par [0148]).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein the condition of said package includes information regarding changes in state responsive to human interaction with said package (read as sensing location to track movement of a person, par [0070]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein said remote compute node is part of a cloud processing system, the cloud processing system is configured to execute one or more artificial intelligence (AI) operations to detect anomaly and provide a notification or indicator regarding said detected an anomaly regarding the package or contents of the package, wherein one or more network devices are used between the device and the remote compute (read as analysis and quality control of a product, the process could help find inventory items 2850 with a wide variety of criteria that may not provide a convenient user interface (a flashing light) but simply provide location data so the end user could see on their screen range, and the GRL Device with a screen on the product tag 2800 lights up to help a shopper verify that the particular Product Box 2850 is eligible for a special purchase offer and if it not eligible it is corresponds to an anomaly regarding the product/package, such as based on quality control, par [0333], [0342]-[0343] and [0478]).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein the condition and geolocation of said package is used for processing inventory tracking metrics of said package (read the DRL device is used for inventory system to track the condition and location of the products/items, par [0354] and [0446]-[0448]).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 1 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein said antenna is one of the plurality of antennas (read as an antenna of the antennas of the GRL device as described in par [0315] for radio frequency communication using a wireless communication technology (i.e. Wi-Fi or Bluetooth Low Energy) with respective frequency, par [0128] and [0315]) but does not specifically disclose wherein at last one antenna operates with impedance state selection.
Nonetheless, Reynolds further teaches the system including multiple antenna elements (par [0056] and [0060]) and that an antenna operates with selectable impedance states, where the modulator changes impedance states coupled to the antenna to perform backscatter communication (par [0071]-[0072] and [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate Reynolds’ multi-antenna, impedance-state-selectable backscatter structure into the energy-harvesting GRL device of Meadow, which modified by Zhu and Reynolds, in order to enable modulation of reflected RF signals using selectable impedance states, thereby supporting low-power data communication without generating RF carrier.
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 1 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein interactions of the package relate to tracked state data of the package as the package moves long said one more geolocations, wherein said remote compute is part of a cloud processing location that includes program instructions for receiving said condition of the package and is configured to execute metric generation programs (read as the product which the GRL device is attached moves in different locations, the GRL devices uses the power from energy harvesting to sense the condition and location of the product and relays/transmits the sensed data to, for example, Data Aggregators 461 using wireless network, par [0137], [0191] and [0213]), the metric generation programs include machine learning processing for learning interactions associated with the package (read as analysis and quality control (anomaly as a condition) of a product in par [0333]), wherein said interactions of the package are rendered on user interfaces that enable viewing of said interactions of the package (read as the process could help find inventory items 2850 with a wide variety of criteria that may not provide a convenient user interface (a flashing light) but simply provide location data so the end user could see on their screen range, and the GRL Device with a screen on the product tag 2800 lights up to help a shopper verify that the particular Product Box 2850 is eligible for a special purchase offer par [0342]-[0343] and [0478]).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 1 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein said remote compute is part of a cloud processing location that includes program instructions for receiving or processing to identify said condition of the package and is configured to execute customer data with said package (read as GRL Devices 404 may be utilized in advertising for a wide variety of applications, for example wherein pricing may be based on querying a centralized database (Data Aggregator 461) containing information regarding GRL Devices and their Logs who bought it, such as bulk or loyalty customers may pay a lower price after the fact when the Consumer's 450 Spatial Domain is recognized as the new location of a particular purchased Asset containing a GRL Device with a Transmitter, and the GRL Device with a screen on the product tag 2800 lights up to help a shopper verify that the particular Product Box 2850 is eligible for a special purchase offer based on quality control (anomaly), par [0211] and [0343]).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 1 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein artificial intelligence (AI) processing is configured to be executed by the remote compute or computers in communication with the remote compute to provide intelligence regarding state of the package (read as analysis and quality control of a product, the process could help find inventory items 2850 with a wide variety of criteria that may not provide a convenient user interface (a flashing light) but simply provide location data so the end user could see on their screen range, and the GRL Device with a screen on the product tag 2800 lights up to help a shopper verify that the particular Product Box 2850 is eligible for a special purchase offer, par [0333], [0342]-[0343] and [0478]).
Consider claim 21, as applied to claim 2 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein the standards-based channel includes WiFi or Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) or Zigbee or Wimax or a channel in the 900 mhz range or a channel in the 2.4 ghz range of frequencies, or a standards- based channel (read as wireless communication system with RF energy harvesting and using wireless communication technology (i.e. Wi-Fi, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) in the 2.4 GHz band, etc.) via backscatter, see abstract, par [0044]-[0046], [0058] and [0074] of Reynolds).
Consider claim 22, as applied to claim 1 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein said ambient RF frequency is one or a plurality of RF frequencies (read as GRL Device harvests ambient energy (radio frequency) from an environment proximate to the GRL Device while moving in different locations using different ISM wireless communication technologies (Wi-Fi/BLE) with respective frequencies, par [0173], [0241], [0383] and [0391] and ) and at least two antennas of the plurality of antennas (read as the GRL device using antennas, par [0315]) but does not specifically disclose are respectively configured to operate in different frequency bands.
Nonetheless, Zhu further discloses ISM frequency comprising different frequencies bands, such as 800-900 MHz, 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, see claim 12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Zhu into the teaching of Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, to design the GRL device to operate in different frequencies bands in order to allow the GRL device to be compatible with different technologies using different frequency bands.
Consider claim 23, Meadow discloses a device (read as GRL device 100, figure 1, par [0148]), comprising,
a microcontroller; a memory (read as controller 110, memory 114 and ROM 115 for storing data and programs, par [0121]);
an antenna for capturing power during energy harvesting, the power being transferred to a power storage of the device (read as energy receiver 103 including a power antenna that receives energy from a source external to the GRL device and stores the energy in a power source 102, figure 1, par [0126]-[0127]) and the microcontroller is configured to perform processing that includes sampling of a sensor for identifying a condition of a package to which the device is attached (read as the GRL device uses sensors to assess a state of a condition, with the microcontroller processing sensor data to identify a condition of an asset/package to which the GRL device is affixed/attached, par [0112], [0114], [0178] and [0471]);
a transmitter, using instructions from said microcontroller and said captured power from said energy harvesting is configured to communicate over a network to a remote compute (read as the GRL device transmits sensor data and location data through a network to a server (i.e. Data Aggregators 461 using wireless network), which receives and process the information; par [025], [0114], [0137], [0191] and [0213]);
wherein as the package moves along one or more geolocations, the device uses said energy harvesting to sample the sensor identify the condition of the package (read as the asset/package moves through space/locations, the GRL device continues to log, process, and transmit sensor data identifying the asset/package’s condition while powered by the power source 102, par [0172]-[0177] and [0125]);
wherein said antenna captures power from one or more ambient radio frequency (RF) sources (read as GRL Device harvests ambient energy (radio frequency) from an environment proximate to the GRL Device while moving in different locations, par [0173], [0241] and [0383]), and said transmitter communicates data regarding said condition of said package (read as the GRL device transmits sensor data and location data through a network to a server (i.e. Data Aggregators 461 using wireless network), which receives and process the information; par [025], [0114], [0137], [0191] and [0213]).
However, Meadow discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose one or more energy harvesting cycles and processing is performed using additional captured power from one or more energy harvesting cycles, such that responsively when the power storage has an amount of power the microcontroller is configured to perform the processing.
Nonetheless, Zhu discloses a sensor device enters an operational state capable of receiving and processing data only when the harvested energy reaches a particular energy level (e), and that this process repeats across charging and operational intervals, such that processing proceeds responsively to the power storage having an amount of power (e.g. particular energy level (e)), par [0034]-[0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhu into the teaching of Meadow to modify Meadow’s GRL device so that processing of sensor data proceeds only when sufficient stored energy is available in order to prevent incomplete processing and improve reliability in an energy-harvesting device.
However, Meadow, as modified by Zhu, discloses the claimed invention above and the use of wireless technology such as Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (par [0045] and [0137]) and said transmitter communicates data regarding said condition of said package (read as the GRL device transmits sensor data and location data through a network to a server (i.e. Data Aggregators 461 using wireless network), which receives and process the information; par [025], [0114], [0137], [0191] and [0213]) but does not specifically disclose using a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) standard frequency via RF-backscatter.
Nonetheless, Reynolds discloses a wireless communication system with RF energy harvesting and using wireless communication technology (i.e. Wi-Fi, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), etc.) via backscatter, see abstract, par [0044]-[0046], [0058], [0079] and [0108]; and a modulator that backscatters an incident signal and produces a backscattered signal formatted in accordance with a wireless communication protocol (i.e. BLE standard frequency via RF-backscatter), par [0071] and [0081].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Reynolds into the teaching of Meadow, as modified by Zhu, to enable the energy-harvesting device to communicate package-condition data using BLE-standard RF backscatter without generating an RF carrier in order to reduce power consumption while maintaining compatibility with BLE receivers.
Consider claim 24, as applied to claim 23 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein said remote compute is part of a cloud processing location that includes program instructions for receiving data regarding said condition of the package and is configured to execute anomaly detection regarding the tracking and/or condition of the package (read as the product which the GRL device is attached moves in different locations, the GRL devices uses the power from energy harvesting to sense the condition and location of the product and relays/transmits the sensed data to, for example, Data Aggregators 461 using wireless network, par [0137], [0191] and [0213]), the metric generation programs include machine learning processing for learning interactions associated with the package (read as analysis and quality control of a product in par [0333]), wherein said actions of the package are rendered on user interfaces that enable viewing of said interactions of the package (read as the process could help find inventory items 2850 with a wide variety of criteria that may not provide a convenient user interface (a flashing light) but simply provide location data so the end user could see on their screen range, and the GRL Device with a screen on the product tag 2800 lights up to help a shopper verify that the particular Product Box 2850 is eligible for a special purchase offer based on quality control (anomaly of the package/product), par [0342]-[0343] and [0478]).
Consider claim 25, as applied to claim 23 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein said one or more ambient radio frequency (RF) sources operates using one or a plurality of RF frequencies, wherein said microcontroller is configured to adaptively instruct selection of one or more RF frequencies for said capture of said power (read as GRL Device harvests ambient energy (radio frequency) from an environment proximate to the GRL Device while moving in different locations using different wireless communication technologies (Wi-Fi/BLE) with respective frequencies, par [0173], [0241], [0383] and [0391]).
Consider claim 26, as applied to claim 23 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein said antenna is one of a plurality of antennas, wherein each antenna is tuned to a select frequency (read as an antenna of the antennas of the GRL device as described in par [0315] for radio frequency communication using a wireless communication technology (i.e. Wi-Fi or Bluetooth Low Energy) with respective frequency, par [0128] and [0315]).
Consider claim 31, as applied to claim 23 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses including a memory capable of storing state data (read as memory 114 and ROM 115, which is capable of storing data between power on/off, for storing data and programs, par [0121]) but does not specifically storing state data between energy harvesting cycles.
Nonetheless, Zhu discloses repeated charging interval and operational states caused by energy depletion and recharging, which inherently requires that the device state be retained across successive energy harvesting cycles, par [0034]-[0037].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Zhu into the teaching of Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, to modify Meadow’s GRL device so that device state stored in memory 114/ROM115 remains available across repeated loss and restoration of harvested energy in order to enable reliable operation in an intermittent energy-harvest environment.
Consider claim 32, as applied to claim 23 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses wherein the memory is of a type selected from volatile or non-volatile (read as memory 114 and ROM 115 for storing data and programs, par [0121]).
Consider claim 33, as applied to claim 23 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses the claimed invention above and the processor selects instructions to perform (read as controller 110 or CPU 112 in GRL device that executes instruction to perform device functions, par [0121] and [0130]) but does not specifically disclose based on an amount of power available to the device.
Nonetheless, Zhu discloses processing capability and operational behavior are enabled only after harvested energy reach the particular energy level (E), and that different operational modes depend on energy level, which corresponds to selecting instruction based on the amount of power available, par [0034]-[0036 and [0041].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Zhu into the teaching of Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, to modify Meadow’s processor-based GRL device so that instruction execution is conditioned on available stored energy, thereby preventing execution of power-intensive operations when insufficient energy is available and improving operational stability in an energy-harvesting system.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meadow (US 20190120929 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20160374016 A1), and in further view of Reynolds et al. (US 20160365890 A1), and in further view of Kothe et al. (US 20150254704 A1).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 1 above, Meadow, as modified by Zhu and Reynolds, discloses claimed invention above and an inventory system for retail store that tracks condition and location of product and making special offer to shopper under control of a controller 110 (par [0057], [0120] and [0341]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the microcontroller is configured to facilitate a REST-based API.
Nonetheless, in related art, Kothe discloses merchant’s store for making offers based on current condition of inventory, and the offers engine 12 includes a number of components that facilitate the discovery of offers by users; for example, the illustrated API server 16 may be configured to communicate data about offers via an offers protocol, such as a representational-state-transfer (REST)-based API protocol, par [0046] and [0127].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kothe into the teaching of Meadow, which modified by Zhu and Reynolds, to use REST-based API protocol while making special offer to shoppers as REST-based APIs would scale efficiently because they optimize client-server interactions.
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645