Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) collecting data and using a machine learning model on the data. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations of collecting data and analyzing (using) the data using AI is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, is recited at a high level of generality such that they can practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claim only recites the additional elements application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) and network device to perform the steps of collecting and using a machine learning model. The ASIC and/or networking device in both steps are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 1, 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed system is a software object as it only comprises stored instructions. Thus, applying the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification and taking into account the meaning of the words in their ordinary usage as they would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, the claimed system can be software per se. Therefore, the claimed subject matter as a whole fails to fall within the definition of a process, a machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 14 recite the limitation "the undesired use". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticiapted by Aviv et al. (US 2021/0226988) hereafter Aviv.
1. Aviv discloses a system, comprising stored instructions that cause the system to at least:
collect data while the system performs at least one networking function, the data to be associated with the at least one networking function (para 53-61); and
use a machine learning model to obtain an inference based, at least in part, on the data (para 56).
2. Aviv discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system comprises an application-specific integrated circuit (“ASIC”), and the stored instructions cause the ASIC to collect the data and perform the at least one networking function (para 69-70).
3. Aviv discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system is connected to a network, and the inference indicates whether network traffic processed by the system indicates a denial-of-service (“DoS”) attack, or other malicious use of the system (para 56, flood attack, stress; fig.8 and corresponding text).
4. Aviv discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system is connected to a network, and the data is telemetry data associated with network traffic processed by the system (para 55-56).
5. Aviv discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the stored instructions further cause the system to at least: analyze the inference to determine if the inference indicates a denial-of-service (“DoS”) attack, or other malicious use of the system (para 56; see also para 42-45).
6. Aviv discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the stored instructions further cause the system to at least: respond to the inference (para 59-60).
7. Aviv discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the inference infers an undesired use of the system has occurred, and the stored instructions further cause the system to at least block an address associated with the undesired use (para 59-60).
Claims 8-20 are similar in scope to claims 1-7 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,069,069. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are anticipated by the claims of the U.S. Patent listed above.
Conclusion
/JAMES R TURCHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439