Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to reply filed 7/16/2026. Claims 10 and 15 have been amended and claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants argues that “the Office Action does not establish that the cited references, alone or in combination, disclose or suggest (i) obtain a range Doppler map associated with a plurality of radar signals, (ii) determine a plurality of detection thresholds, each detection threshold corresponding with a range-bin value of the range Doppler map, and (iii) generate, based on the determined plurality of detection thresholds, a TVD and a TAD.” The argument specifically argues that “the Office Action does not establish that Nguyen discloses determining a plurality of detection thresholds, each detection threshold corresponding with a range-bin value of the range Doppler map…”
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s arguments because the portions of Nguyen cited in the Office action establish that the TVD is formed from a velocity vector across time, that is obtained form the RDM (Nguyen, [0189]). The velocity vectors are features obtained for corresponding taps, which are specific regions of interest (or range bins) in the RDM. The taps, corresponding to specific regions in the RDM, have associated thresholds. The associated thresholds for the taps thus, correspond to the thresholds for identifying the velocity vectors, and thus, determining the TVD (Nguyen, [0116], [0188], and [0189]).
The Zheng reference is relied on for the teaching related to also determining a TAD and appropriate motivation for combination is provided in the rejection.
Therefore, the combination of references is reasonable and sufficient to teach the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et. al (US20210232228A1) in view of Zheng et. al (“Dynamic Hand Gesture Recognition in In-Vehicle Environment Based on FMCW Radar and Transformer”).
Regarding Claim 1, Nguyen teaches an electronic device comprising:
Paragraph [0006]: “In one embodiment, electronic device is provided.”
a transceiver configured to transmit and receive a plurality of radar signals corresponding with a gesture; and
Paragraph [0008]: “The computer program comprising computer readable program code that, when executed by a processor of an electronic device, causes the processor to: transmit signals, via a transceiver; in response to a determination that a triggering event occurred, track movement of an object relative to the electronic device within a region of interest based on reflections of the signals received by the transceiver to identify range measurements and speed measurements associated with the object; identify features from the reflected signals, based on at least one of the range measurements and the speed measurements; identify a gesture based in part on the features from the reflected signals, and perform an action indicated by the gesture.”
a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to (Paragraph [0008] (shown above)):
obtain a range Doppler map associated with the plurality of radar signals;
Paragraph [0165]: “FIG. 8C illustrates a diagram for generating the range doppler map of FIG. 8B according to embodiments of this disclosure.”
determine a plurality of detection thresholds, each detection threshold corresponding with a range-bin value of the range Doppler map;
Paragraph [0006]: “The processor is also configured to identify features from the reflected signals, based on at least one of the range measurements and the speed measurements.”
Paragraph [0116]: “In other embodiments, the radar measurement is a three-dimensional complex impulse response (CIR) matrix, where the first dimension can correspond to the burst index, the second dimension can correspond to the pulse index and the third dimension can correspond to the delay tap index. The delay tap can be translated to the measurement of range or equivalently the time of flight of the received signal. For example, a delay tap is based on the time between the transmission and reception of the corresponding echo.”
Paragraph [0171]: “The adaptive thresholding engine 830 identifies an upper bound threshold and a lower bound threshold from the TVD. Using these bounds as a threshold window, the adaptive thresholding engine 830 clips the TVD has the benefit of narrowing down the region of interest in the TVD and effectively removing the noise in the TVD.”
Paragraph [0188]: “Thereafter, the tap detector 814 identifies the region of interest in the RDM. The tap detector 814 selects the taps in the RDM. As such, the selected tap(s) correspond to the moving object. In certain embodiments, the tap detector 814 selects the tap(s) with the largest (or maximum) power in the in RDM.”
Explanation: Thresholding is based on processed radar features, where the thresholds correspond to selected taps (range bins) in RDM. Here, the tap index is equivalent to the delay tap and range bin. Thresholding is applied to extracted features derived from those bins.
Nguyen fails to teach that based on the determined plurality of detection thresholds, a time velocity diagram (TVD) and a time angle diagram (TAD) corresponding with the gesture are generated. While Nguyen teaches a TVD (see paragraph [0189]) and azimuth and elevation angle features (see paragraph [0189]), she does not explicitly recite organizing such angle information over time into a time-angle representation (TAD).
However, Zheng discloses that “Wang et al. [28] constructed a range-time map (RTM), Doppler-time map (DTM) and angle-time map (ATM) based on FMCW radar” (Introduction, pg. 3), where the angle-time maps are equivalent to a TAD. Additionally, Zheng states that “the original range-Doppler maps (RDMs), range-azimuth maps (RAMs), and range-elevation maps (REMs) of the time sequence of each gesture are obtained by radar signal processing…then we preprocess the obtained data frames by region of interest (ROI) extraction, vibration removal algorithm, background removal algorithm, and standardization… we propose a transformer-based radar gesture recognition network named RGTNet…it fully extracts and fuses the spatial-temporal information of radar feature maps to complete the classification of various gestures” (Abstract). This shows multiple radar feature maps used together, and supports angle-domain temporal representation (TAD) alongside TVD.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nguyen’s system to organize the azimuth and elevation angle features over time into an angle-time map (ATM) or a time-angle diagram (TAD) as taught by Zheng. Zheng extracts and fuses the spatial-temporal information of radar feature maps to complete the classification of various gestures (Abstract (shown above)), which shows that angles add a new discriminative dimension (directionality of gesture) and improve classification robustness. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Nguyen’s method to include generation of angle-time data (TAD) because angle-time representations were known in the art to provide additional spatial-temporal information for gesture recognition, thereby improving classification performance in radar-based gesture systems. Such modification represents the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way and would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the electronic device of Claim 1, and Nguyen further teaches that the processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the TVD, a gesture energy;
Paragraph [0172]: “In certain embodiments, the adaptive thresholding engine 830 flattens the TVD into a one-dimensional array and then sorts the array in ascending order. Equation (12) describes the process of flattening the TVD and sorting the flattened TVD. Equation (13) describes the results of the sorted one-dimensional array with n elements.”
Paragraph [0173]: “The adaptive thresholding engine 830 identifies an upper bound threshold and a lower bound threshold from the TVD.”
Explanation: The reference explicitly processes TVD data values (intensity/power values). Flattening, sorting, and thresholding rely on aggregate signal magnitude (energy-equivalent information), which corresponds to determining a gesture energy based on TVD pixel intensities.
identify, based on the gesture energy, whether the gesture is an invalid gesture; and
Paragraph [0171]: “The adaptive thresholding engine 830 identifies an upper bound threshold and a lower bound threshold from the TVD. Using these bounds as a threshold window, the adaptive thresholding engine 830 clips the TVD has the benefit of narrowing down the region of interest in the TVD and effectively removing the noise in the TVD.”
Explanation: The system determines whether signal magnitude falls within valid bounds. Signals outside thresholds are treated as invalid/noise/unusable. This corresponds to gesture energy either too low or too high being invalid.
if the gesture is not an invalid gesture, classify the gesture.
Paragraph [0134]: “The computational engine 900 receives the streamed processed data from the signal processing engine 800 and detects an underlining pattern in the data to generate tracking information for identifying the gesture.”
Paragraph [0168]: “The feature extractor 810 extracts features from the signal 802 for classifying the gesture.
Paragraph [0215]: “The denoised data is later used in the computational engine 900 of FIG. 6A to train and classify to recognize the correct gesture.”
Regarding Claim 3, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the electronic device of Claim 2, Nguyen further teaches that to identify whether the gesture is a valid gesture, the processor is further configured to:
determine whether the gesture energy exceeds a lower energy threshold;
Paragraph [0171]: “The adaptive thresholding engine 830 identifies an upper bound threshold and a lower bound threshold from the TVD.”
determine whether the gesture energy exceeds an upper energy threshold;
Paragraph [0171]: “The adaptive thresholding engine 830 identifies an upper bound threshold and a lower bound threshold from the TVD.”
if the gesture fails to exceed the lower energy threshold, identify the gesture as an invalid gesture; and
Paragraph [0171]: “The adaptive thresholding engine 830 identifies an upper bound threshold and a lower bound threshold from the TVD. Using these bounds as a threshold window, the adaptive thresholding engine 830 clips the TVD has the benefit of narrowing down the region of interest in the TVD and effectively removing the noise in the TVD.”
Explanation: Signals below lower threshold = too weak/noise. They are removed from processing as an invalid gesture.
if the gesture exceeds the upper energy threshold, identify the gesture as an invalid gesture.
Paragraph [0171]: “The adaptive thresholding engine 830 identifies an upper bound threshold and a lower bound threshold from the TVD. Using these bounds as a threshold window, the adaptive thresholding engine 830 clips the TVD has the benefit of narrowing down the region of interest in the TVD and effectively removing the noise in the TVD.”
Explanation: Signals above upper threshold = outliers/interference/invalid. They are removed from processing as an invalid gesture.
Regarding Claim 4, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the electronic device of Claim 1, and Nguyen further teaches that the processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the TVD, a start frame and an end frame corresponding to the gesture;
Paragraph [0171]: “The adaptive thresholding engine 830 identifies an upper bound threshold and a lower bound threshold from the TVD. Using these bounds as a threshold window, the adaptive thresholding engine 830 clips the TVD has the benefit of narrowing down the region of interest in the TVD and effectively removing the noise in the TVD.”
Paragraph [0189]: “The velocity vector 816 across time (multiple frames) can form the TVD.”
Explanation: TVD is explicitly time-resolved (multi-frame). Thresholding and ROI selection identifies where meaningful signal exists. This defines start frame (gesture begins) and end frame (gesture ends).
Nguyen fails to teach that the method comprises resampling TAD data and TVD data between the start frame and the end frame, wherein the resampled TAD data and TVD data has a length equal to a predetermined maximum length, and classifying the gesture based on the resampled TAD and TVD data.
However, Zheng teaches a fixed number of frames (e.g., 8 frames) and standardized inputs, stating that “each sample contains eight continuous frames of the processed RDMs, RAMs, and REMs,” (Introduction, pg. 3), and that “since each gesture lasted about two seconds, we intercepted eight consecutive frames from the starting frame as the entire gesture sequence” (2. Dataset Production, pg. 5). Zheng also states they “preprocess the obtained data frames by region of interest (ROI) extraction, vibration removal algorithm, background removal algorithm, and standardization” (Abstract). This shows that variable length gestures are converted into fixed-length sequences which requires clipping/interpolation/normalization (i.e., resampling to predetermined length). Zheng also teaches classification based on radar feature maps (RDM and RAM), stating that “the original range-Doppler maps (RDMs), range-azimuth maps (RAMs), and range-elevation maps (REMs) of the time sequence of each gesture are obtained by radar signal processing… [and we] fully extract and fuse the spatial-temporal information of radar feature maps to complete the classification of various gestures” (Abstract). This directly maps to resampled TVD and TAD used together for classification, as RAM (angle-based maps, analogous to TAD) and RDM (Doppler-time, analogous to TVD) are jointly used for classification.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nguyen’s system to include resampling of radar feature data to a fixed length and classification based on both resampled Doppler-time and angle-time information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide standardized inputs and incorporate additional spatial-temporal information for improved gesture recognition, with a reasonable expectation of success. Such modification represents the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way and would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding Claim 8, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above because claim 8 recites a method that performs substantially the same steps as claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 9, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the method of claim 8, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 10, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the method of claim 9, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 3 above.
Regarding Claim 11, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the method of claim 8, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 15, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nguyen further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium embodying a computer program, the computer program comprising program code that, when executed by a processor of a device, causes the device to perform substantially the same steps as claim 1 above.
Paragraph [0008]: “In yet another embodiment a non-transitory computer readable medium embodying a computer program is provided. The computer program comprising computer readable program code that, when executed by a processor of an electronic device, causes the processor to...”
Regarding Claim 16, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claims 2 and 3 above.
Regarding Claim 17, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 4 above.
Claims 5, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Zheng, further in view of Hu et. al (“DeFall: Environment-Independent Passive Fall Detection Using WiFi”).
Regarding Claim 5, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the electronic device of Claim 4, but both references fail to teach that, to determine the start frame and the end frame, the processor is further configured to perform a segmented locally normalized dynamic time warping (SLN-DTW) operation on the TVD, and the determination of the start frame and the end frame is based on a result of the SLN-DTW operation.
However, Hu teaches performing segmented locally normalized dynamic time warping (SLN-DTW) on time-series motion data to determine the temporal boundaries of an event, stating that “to remove the redundancy while adapting to the possible variability in event instances, we resort to the band-relaxed segmental locally normalized DTW (SLN-DTW)” (A. Template-Generating Stage, pg. 5). Hu further explains that SLN-DTW is used to determine temporal boundaries, stating that “it relaxes the boundary constraints of SLN-DTW so that the starting and ending points of Sx can be aligned adaptively and the common parts can be retrieved reliably” (A. Template-Generating Stage, pg. 5). Additionally, Hu teaches extracting start and end indices of an event using SLN-DTW, stating that “for each objective series Sx ∈ {S1,S2,...,SM}, there are M−1 possible truncations with M − 1 start indices Px,s and M −1 end indices Px,e…the part of Sx with indices lying in [med(Px,s), med(Px,e)] is regarded as the sanitized speed sequence of the fall event in sample Sx...” (A. Template-Generating Stage, pg. 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nguyen and Zheng’s system to perform the determination of the start frame and end frame using SLN-DTW. This is because Nguyen and Zheng’s system already processes time-series radar data (TVD) to determine gesture boundaries, and Hu teaches that SLN-DTW provides robust temporal alignment and accurate identification of start and end points in time-series motion data. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying SLN-DTW to Nguyen and Zheng’s TVD data would improve robustness to temporal misalignment, reduce sensitivity to noise and redundant segments, and provide more accurate gesture boundary detection. Such modification represents the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way and would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding Claim 12, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the method of claim 11, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 18, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 5 above.
Claims 6, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Zheng, further in view of Kobak et. al (“Continuous Human Activity Recognition using a MIMO Radar for Transitional Motion Analysis”).
Regarding Claim 6, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the electronic device of Claim 4, but both references fail to teach that, to determine the start frame and the end frame, the processor is further configured to perform a short-term average (STA) power operation on the TVD, and the determination of the start frame and the end frame is based on a result of the STA power operation.
However, Kobak explicitly teaches performing STA-based signal processing (see Equation 9, pg. 5), which explicitly corresponds to a short-term power operation over time-series radar data. Kobak also directly teaches that “the STA/LTA algorithm can identify and extract the desired features by tracking the start and end times of events” (4.1 STA/LTA algorithm for Event Detection, pg. 4). Thus, start/end frame determination is based on STA-derived results.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nguyen and Zheng’s system to include a short-term average (STA) power operation for determining stat and end frames of gesture data because Kobak teaches that STA-based processing is effective for identifying temporal boundaries of events in radar signals. Such modification applies a known signal processing technique to a similar radar-based system to achieve predictable results.
Regarding Claim 13, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the method of claim 11, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 6 above.
Regarding Claim 19, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 6 above.
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Zheng, further in view of Guo et. al (“Gesture recognition of traffic police based on static and dynamic descriptor fusion”).
Regarding Claim 7, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the electronic device of Claim 4, but both references fail to teach that the processor is further configured to perform a structural similarity index measure (SSIM) operation on the resampled TAD and TVD data, and the classification of the gesture is based on a result of the SSIM operation.
However, Guo teaches performing a structural similarity index measure (SSIM) operation and using the result for gesture classification, stating that “the MSSIM index can be used to measure the degree of similarity between the sample and the test image” (4.1 Mean structural similarity (MSSIM), pg. 10). Further, the reference explicitly applies SSIM to gesture recognition, stating that “since the higher the score value of MSSIM is, the more similar two images are, we can thus use the MSSIM index to recognize the police’s gestures” (4.1 Mean structural similarity (MSSIM), pg. 11). Additionally, the reference teaches classification based on SSIM results, stating that “the MSSIM value is used to measure the similarity between B and template samples Bj (i)…the following decision rule is taken to judge what categories of Chinese traffic police gesture the recognized gesture belong” (4. 2 Gesture Recognition using MSSIM, pg. 12, Equation 10).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Nguyen and Zheng’s system to perform a SSIM operation on the resampled TAD and TVD data and classify the gesture based on the SSIM result. This is because Nguyen and Zheng’s system already processes TAD and TVD data, which are image-like representations of radar signals, and Guo teaches that SSIM is an effective technique for measuring structural similarity between image-like data and for performing gesture classification based on similarity. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying SSIM to Nguyen and Zheng’s TAD and TVD data would improve classification accuracy by capturing structural features rather than raw intensity differences, provide a robust similarity-based classification mechanism, and yield predictable improvements in gesture recognition performance. This represents the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way and applying a known technique to a known device to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 14, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the method of claim 11, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 7 above.
Regarding Claim 20, Nguyen in view of Zheng teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, and additional limitations are met as in the consideration of claim 7 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ANDREW W BEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2677