DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1, 5, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (KR20200129463A) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 with citations from machine translation provided by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a battery pack (Fig. 1, [0040]) comprising: a battery cell(100, Figs. 1-3, & 5-9, [0040]); a terrace extending from the battery cell (T, Figs. 1-3, 5, 6, & 9, [0043], [0047]); a first substrate (TCO element 150, Figs. 1, & 3-9) disposed on the terrace and connected to the battery cell(Figs. 5-6, & 9, [0048]-[0049]); a connector (first lead 161, Figs. 3-6, & 8-9, [0051]) mounted on the first substrate(Figs. 8 & 9); and a second substrate (circuit board 200, Figs. 1, 3, 5 & 6, [0042]) detachably coupled to the connector and extending to an area outside of the battery cell([0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the second substrate has flexibility([0063]).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses a method of manufacturing a battery pack([0038]), the method comprising: providing a battery cell (100, Figs. 1-3, & 5-9, [0040]); providing a terrace extending from the battery cell (T, Figs. 1-3, 5, 6, & 9, [0043], [0047]); providing a first substrate (TCO element 150, Figs. 1, & 3-9) on the terrace and connected to the battery cell Figs. 5-6, & 9, [0048]-[0049]); mounting a connector on the first substrate (first lead 161, Figs. 3-6, & 8-9, [0051]); and coupling a second substrate (circuit board 200, Figs. 1, 3, 5 & 6, [0042]) to the connector such that the second substrate and connector are detachably coupled, wherein the second substrate extends to an area outside of the battery cell ([0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses the connector (Park, 161, Fig. 4) is mounted in a central portion of the first substrate (Park, 150, Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 2-4, and 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR20200129463A) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 with citations from machine translation provided by Applicant as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi (EP3686951A1) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 with citations from equivalent US 2021/0104799.
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the first substrate comprises: a first surface disposed to face the terrace(Fig. 5); and a second surface disposed at an opposite side of the first surface(Fig. 5) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the connector is mounted on the second surface.
Choi teaches a battery pack (100, Figs. 1-4, [0046]) comprising: a battery cell(110, Fig. 4, [0046]); a terrace extending from the battery cell(117S, Fig. 4, [0054]); a first substrate disposed on the terrace and connected to the battery cell(printed circuit board 121, Fig. 4, [0059]); a connector mounted on the first substrate(see area where printed circuit board 126 is connected to printed circuit board 121 in Fig. 4, [0064]); and a second substrate detachably coupled to the connector and extending to an area outside of the battery cell(printed circuit board 126, Fig. 4). Choi teaches the first substrate comprises: a first surface disposed to face the terrace([0059], Fig. 4); and a second surface disposed at an opposite side of the first surface(Fig. 4), wherein the connector is mounted on the second surface(Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack of Park with the connector is mounted on the second surface as taught by Choi, since such a location would not impact the function of the connector as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 3, modified Park discloses the connector (Park, 161, Fig. 4) is disposed in a central portion of the first substrate(Park, 150, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, modified Park discloses further comprising a pair of connection tabs (Choi, electrode leads 111A and 111B, Fig. 4) configured to extend from the terrace and configured to connect the battery cell and the first substrate([0056], [0059]), wherein the connector is disposed between the pair of connection tabs(Choi, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Park does not explicitly disclose further comprising a support member configured to prevent deformation of the first substrate.
Choi teaches a battery pack (110, Figs. 1-4, [0046]) comprising: a battery cell(110, Fig. 4, [0046]); a terrace extending from the battery cell(117S, Fig. 4, [0054]); a first substrate disposed on the terrace and connected to the battery cell(printed circuit board 121, Fig. 4, [0059]); a connector mounted on the first substrate(see area where printed circuit board 126 is connected to printed circuit board 121 in Fig. 4, [0064]); and a second substrate detachably coupled to the connector and extending to an area outside of the battery cell(printed circuit board 126, Fig. 4). Choi teaches further comprising a support member configured to prevent deformation of the first substrate(insulating molding member 130, Figs. 1-3, 6-9, [0087]-[0088]). Choi teaches the insulating molding member 130 may stably protect the element and component mounted on the printed circuit board 121([0088]). Choi teaches damage to or detachment of the element and component of the printed circuit board 121 caused by an external impact may be effectively prevented([0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the battery pack of Park, a support member configured to prevent deformation of the first substrate as taught by Choi in order to protect the substrate from an external impact.
Regarding claim 8, modified Park discloses the support member (Choi, insulating molding member 130, Fig. 6) comprises: a first support member (Choi, protecting portion 132, Fig. 6) disposed between the terrace (Choi, terrace structure 117s, Fig. 6) and the first substrate(Choi, printed circuit board 121, Fig. 6); and a second support member (Choi, fixing portion 134, Fig. 6) configured to extend from the first support member and come in contact with a floor surface on which the battery cell is seated(Choi, holder 140, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, modified Park discloses the first support member and the second support member are elastically deformable(Choi [0081]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Park discloses the support member (Choi, insulating molding member 130, Fig. 6) comprises: a first support member (Choi, protecting portion 132, Fig. 6) disposed between the terrace (Choi, terrace structure 117s, Fig. 6) and the first substrate (Choi, printed circuit board 121, Fig. 6); and a second support member (Choi, lower surface 130 c, Fig. 6) spaced apart from the first support member and disposed between the terrace and a floor surface on which the battery cell is seated(Choi, Fig. 6, [0119]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Park discloses the support member (Choi, insulating molding member 130B, Fig. 8) comprises: a first support member fixed to the battery cell and configured to support the first substrate relative to the terrace(Choi, protection portion 132B, Fig. 8); and a second support member spaced apart from the first support member and disposed between the terrace and a floor surface on which the battery cell is seated(Choi, part of insulating molding member 130B closest to holder 140B in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, modified Park discloses the first support member comprises: a support case(Choi, holder 140 with partition wall 144, Fig. 3); an insertion portion disposed in the support case and into which the first substrate is inserted(Choi, protection circuit module 120 with printed circuit board 121, Fig. 3, [0079]); and an opening formed to pass through the support case and configured to expose the connector to the area outside of the battery cell(Choi, printed circuit board 126 with connector 126 c, Figs. 3 & 4).
Regarding claim 13, modified Park discloses the first support member further comprises a separation prevention member configured to protrude from the support case toward the insertion portion, and wherein the separation prevention member is elastically deformable(Choi, partition walls 144 a, Fig. 3, [0113]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Park discloses the first support member further comprises a reinforcing rib coupled to the support case and configured to reinforce the rigidity of the support case(Choi, molding barrier wall 148, Fig. 9).
6. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR20200129463A) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 with citations from machine translation provided by Applicant as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of
Choi et al. (KR20210074002A) hereinafter referred to as Choi ‘002 as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 with citations from machine translation provided by Applicant.
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses the second substrate (200, Fig. 3) comprises: a first region disposed to face the battery cell (100, Fig. 3); but does not explicitly disclose a second region configured to extend from the first region and protrude to the area outside of the battery cell, wherein a length of the first region is greater than a length of the second region.
Choi ‘002 teaches a battery pack (100, Figs. 1-4, [0042]) comprising: a battery cell(110, Fig. 4, [0046]); a terrace extending from the battery cell(117S, Fig. 3, [0055]); a first substrate disposed on the terrace and connected to the battery cell(printed circuit board 121, Fig. 3, [0060]); a connector mounted on the first substrate(external input/output terminal [0061]); and a second substrate detachably coupled to the connector and extending to an area outside of the battery cell(printed circuit board 126, Fig. 3). Choi ‘002 teaches the second substrate comprises a first region disposed to face the battery cell ( printed circuit board 126 connected to external input/output terminal, Fig. 3, [0060]-[0061]); and a second region configured to extend from the first region and protrude to the area outside of the battery cell(printed circuit board 126 with connector 126c, Fig. 3), wherein a length of the first region is greater than a length of the second region(Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack of Park with the second substrate comprises a first region disposed to face the battery cell; and a second region configured to extend from the first region and protrude to the area outside of the battery cell, wherein a length of the first region is greater than a length of the second region as taught by Choi ‘002 as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
7. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR20200129463A) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 with citations from machine translation provided by Applicant as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gu et al. (US 2022/0336913).
Regarding claim 15, Park does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a protective film disposed such that the protective film surrounds the first substrate, the protective film having a slit through which the connector is exposed to the area outside of the battery cell; and
a marking line disposed such that the marking line is spaced apart from the connector on the first substrate and configured to be selectively exposed to the area outside of the battery cell according to an area of the slit.
Gu teaches the battery cell includes: a pressure relief mechanism, the pressure relief mechanism being disposed on at least one wall of the battery cell; and a protective film enclosing an outer surface of the at least one wall, the protective film being configured to provide insulation protection for the at least one wall; where the protective film includes a first portion at least covering the pressure relief mechanism(abstract). Gu teaches further comprising: a protective film (50, Fig. 12) disposed such that the protective film surrounds the first substrate([0117]), the protective film having a slit through which the connector is exposed to the area outside of the battery cell(openings 550, Fig. 12, [0165]); and a marking line disposed such that the marking line is spaced apart from the connector on the first substrate and configured to be selectively exposed to the area outside of the battery cell according to an area of the slit (connecting portion 540, Fig. 12). Gu teaches by providing a protective film enclosing an outer surface of at least one wall for a battery cell, insulation protection can be provided for the battery cell, and insulation performance of the battery cell can be improved([0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the battery pack of Park, a protective film disposed such that the protective film surrounds the first substrate, the protective film having a slit through which the connector is exposed to the area outside of the battery cell; and a marking line disposed such that the marking line is spaced apart from the connector on the first substrate and configured to be selectively exposed to the area outside of the battery cell according to an area of the slit as taught by Gu in order to provide insulation protection.
8. Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR20200129463A) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 with citations from machine translation provided by Applicant as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Choi (EP3686951A1) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 with citations from equivalent US 2021/0104799.
Regarding claim 18, Park does not explicitly disclose further comprising a support member configured to prevent deformation of the first substrate.
Choi teaches a battery pack (100, Figs. 1-4, [0046]) comprising: a battery cell(110, Fig. 4, [0046]); a terrace extending from the battery cell(117S, Fig. 4, [0054]); a first substrate disposed on the terrace and connected to the battery cell(printed circuit board 121, Fig. 4, [0059]); a connector mounted on the first substrate(see area where printed circuit board 126 is connected to printed circuit board 121 in Fig. 4, [0064]); and a second substrate detachably coupled to the connector and extending to an area outside of the battery cell(printed circuit board 126, Fig. 4). Choi teaches further comprising a support member configured to prevent deformation of the first substrate(insulating molding member 130, Figs. 1-3, 6-9, [0087]-[0088]). Choi teaches the insulating molding member 130 may stably protect the element and component mounted on the printed circuit board 121([0088]). Choi teaches damage to or detachment of the element and component of the printed circuit board 121 caused by an external impact may be effectively prevented([0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the battery pack of Park, a support member configured to prevent deformation of the first substrate as taught by Choi in order to protect the substrate from an external impact.
Regarding claim 19, modified Park discloses the support member (Choi, insulating molding member 130, Fig. 6) comprises: a first support member (Choi, protecting portion 132, Fig. 6) disposed between the terrace (Choi, terrace structure 117s, Fig. 6) and the first substrate (Choi, printed circuit board 121, Fig. 6); and a second support member (Choi, lower surface 130 c, Fig. 6) spaced apart from the first support member and disposed between the terrace and a floor surface on which the battery cell is seated(Choi, Fig. 6, [0119]).
9. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR20200129463A) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 with citations from machine translation provided by Applicant as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Gu et al. (US 2022/0336913).
Regarding claim 20, Park does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a protective film disposed such that the protective film surrounds the first substrate, the protective film having a slit through which the connector is exposed to the area outside of the battery cell; and
a marking line disposed such that the marking line is spaced apart from the connector on the first substrate and configured to be selectively exposed to the area outside of the battery cell according to an area of the slit.
Gu teaches the battery cell includes: a pressure relief mechanism, the pressure relief mechanism being disposed on at least one wall of the battery cell; and a protective film enclosing an outer surface of the at least one wall, the protective film being configured to provide insulation protection for the at least one wall; where the protective film includes a first portion at least covering the pressure relief mechanism(abstract). Gu teaches further comprising: a protective film (50, Fig. 12) disposed such that the protective film surrounds the first substrate([0117]), the protective film having a slit through which the connector is exposed to the area outside of the battery cell(openings 550, Fig. 12, [0165]); and a marking line disposed such that the marking line is spaced apart from the connector on the first substrate and configured to be selectively exposed to the area outside of the battery cell according to an area of the slit (connecting portion 540, Fig. 12). Gu teaches by providing a protective film enclosing an outer surface of at least one wall for a battery cell, insulation protection can be provided for the battery cell, and insulation performance of the battery cell can be improved([0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the battery pack of Park, a protective film disposed such that the protective film surrounds the first substrate, the protective film having a slit through which the connector is exposed to the area outside of the battery cell; and a marking line disposed such that the marking line is spaced apart from the connector on the first substrate and configured to be selectively exposed to the area outside of the battery cell according to an area of the slit as taught by Gu in order to provide insulation protection.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724