DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 18, 2024 and August 5, 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites, “…further comprising one or more sensors which are configured to measure one more parameters of the fluid (emphasis added).” An example correction to the underlined section is, “…one or more….” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 5 and 8 fail to further limit the subject matter of claims 3 and 1, respectively.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites, “…the one or more parameters of the fluid which the one or more sensors are configured to measure comprise one or more of pressure, temperature, viscosity, and or any other suitable parameter of the fluid.” The original recitations of “parameters” and “sensors” are provided in claims 1 and 3, and are not new to claim 5. Further, the recitation of “and or any other suitable parameter of the fluid” renders entirely general the list of claimed parameters in claim 5 and equivalent to the recitation of “one or more parameters of the fluid” recited in claim 3. Thus, claim 5 fails to further limit the subject matter recited in claims 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites, “…the one or more characteristics of the input pump which the controller is configured to alter include flow rate, pressure, or any other suitable characteristic.” The original recitations of “characteristics of the input pump” and “controller” are provided in claim 1, and are not new to claim 8. Further, the recitation of “or any other suitable characteristic” renders entirely general the list of claimed characteristics in claim 8 and equivalent to the recitation of “one or more characteristics of the input pump” recited in claim 1. Thus, claim 8 fails to further limit the subject matter recited in claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara (US 2022/0040990 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hara teaches a fluid delivery system for a printer comprising: a fluid reservoir (fig. 3; tank 32; ¶[0020]-[0021]); an input pump fluidly coupled to the fluid reservoir which is configured to pump fluid from the fluid reservoir to a print head for depositing the fluid onto a printing substrate (figs. 1, 3; liquid discharge head 20, first circulation pump 33; ¶[0015], [0020], [0022], [0027]); an output pump that is fluidly coupled to the print head which is configured to pump the fluid from the print head back to the fluid reservoir (fig. 3; second circulation pump 36; ¶[0020], [0023], [0040]); and a controller communicatively coupled to at least the input pump which is configured to alter one or more characteristics of the input pump to alter one or more parameters of the fluid delivered to the print head (fig. 3; control unit 13; ¶[0027], [0045]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 6, Hara teaches the fluid delivery system of claim 1, further comprising a heating assembly which is configured to heat the fluid received from the input pump which is delivered to the print head (fig. 3; heater 34; ¶[0020], [0028], [0047], [0050]).
Regarding claim 7, Hara teaches the fluid delivery system of claim 1, wherein the input pump and the output pump are each independently controllable (fig. 3; control unit 13, first circulation pump 33, second circulation pump 36; ¶[0027], [0045]-[0053], [0071]).
Regarding claim 8, Hara teaches the fluid delivery system of claim 1, wherein the one or more characteristics of the input pump which the controller is configured to alter include flow rate, pressure, or any other suitable characteristic (¶[0027], [0045]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 13, Hara teaches a printer comprising the fluid delivery system as recited in claim 1 (figs. 1,3; inkjet recording apparatus 1; ¶[0013]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 14, Hara teaches a method of printing comprising: pumping fluid from a fluid reservoir to a print head for depositing the fluid onto a printing substrate (fig. 3; liquid discharge head 20, tank 32, first circulation pump 33; ¶[0020]-[0022], [0027]); printing on the printing substrate; pumping the fluid from the print head back to the fluid reservoir (fig. 3; second circulation pump 36; ¶[0020], [0023], [0040]); and altering one or more characteristics of an input pump by a controller to alter one or more parameters of the fluid delivered to the print head (fig. 3; control unit 13; ¶[0027], [0045]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 15, Hara teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising measuring, by one or more sensors, the one or more parameters of the fluid which is pumped from the fluid reservoir to the print head, and wherein altering the one or more characteristics of the input pump is based upon one or more of the measured parameters (fig. 3; first pressure sensor 39a; ¶[0022], [0047], [0049], [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara (US 2022/0040990 A1) in view of Akuzawa et al. (US 6213601 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Hara teaches the fluid delivery system of claim 1, but fails to teach or fairly suggest the input pump is configured to pump a predetermined volume of fluid from the fluid reservoir to the print head.
However, Akuzawa teaches an ink delivery system comprising input and output pumps wherein the input pump is configured to pump a predetermined volume of fluid from the fluid reservoir to the print head (figs. 3, 4; ink supply pump 42; col. 4, line 56 to col. 5, line 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the input pump of Akuzawa into the fluid delivery system of Hara in order to provide a pump configured to supply constant liquid flow in order to provide a stable printhead pressure.
Regarding claim 3, Hara as modified by Akuzawa teaches the fluid delivery system of claim 2. Hara further teaches the fluid delivery system further comprising one or more sensors which are configured to measure one or more parameters of the fluid which is pumped to the print head (fig. 3; temperature sensor 26a, first pressure sensor 39a; ¶[0019], [0022], [0047], [0049], [0071]).
Regarding claim 4, Hara as modified by Akuzawa teaches the fluid delivery system of claim 3. Hara further teaches the fluid delivery system wherein the one or more sensors are located downstream of the input pump and upstream of the print head (fig. 3; temperature sensor 26a, first pressure sensor 39a; ¶[0019], [0022], [0047], [0049], [0071]).
Regarding claim 5, Hara as modified by Akuzawa teaches the fluid delivery system of claim 3. Hara further teaches the fluid delivery system, wherein the one or more parameters of the fluid which the one or more sensors are configured to measure comprise one or more of pressure, temperature, viscosity and or any other suitable parameter of the fluid (fig. 3; temperature sensor 26a, first pressure sensor 39a; ¶[0019], [0022], [0047], [0049], [0071]).
Regarding claim 9, Hara as modified by Akuzawa teaches the fluid delivery system of claim 3. Hara further teaches the controller is configured to alter the predetermined volume of fluid pumped to the print head based on the measurements of the one or more sensors (fig. 3; first pressure sensor 39a; ¶[0049]).
Regarding claim 10, Hara as modified by Akuzawa teaches the fluid delivery system of claim 9. Hara further teaches the controller is configured to alter the predetermined volume of fluid pumped to the print head based on a pressure of the fluid (fig. 3; first pressure sensor 39a; ¶[0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Hara teaches the fluid delivery system of claim 1, but fails to teach or fairly suggest the input pump and output pump comprise peristaltic pumps.
However, Akuzawa teaches an ink delivery system comprising input and output pumps wherein the input and output pump comprise peristaltic pumps (figs. 3-4; ink supply pump 42, ink return pump 48; col. 4, line 56 to col. 5, line 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the peristaltic pumps of Akuzawa into the fluid delivery system of Hara in order to provide pumps configured to supply constant liquid flow in order to provide stable printhead pressure.
Regarding claim 12, Hara teaches the fluid delivery system of claim 1, but fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein the output pump is fluidly coupled to a plurality of print heads; and/or wherein the fluid reservoir is fluidly coupled to one or more other fluid supplies; and/or wherein the output pump is configured to maintain a constant flow rate in the fluid delivery system.
However, Akuzawa teaches an ink delivery system wherein the output pump is fluidly coupled to a plurality of print heads; and/or wherein the fluid reservoir is fluidly coupled to one or more other fluid supplies; and/or wherein the output pump is configured to maintain a constant flow rate in the fluid delivery system (fig. 3; nozzle units 20A-D, return pump 48; col. 3, lines 23-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the printhead assembly of Akuzawa into the fluid delivery system of Hara in order to provide a line-type printing apparatus for printing across the width of a substrate in a single ejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Furukawa et al. (US 2012/0024395 A1) teaches a liquid supplying apparatus comprising peristaltic pumps. Yokota et al. (US 8366224 B2) teaches an inkjet apparatus comprising a supply and return pump, and pressure sensors. Kyoso (US 2023/0271426 A1) teaches a liquid supplying apparatus comprising supply and return pumps and pressure sensors. Rietbergen et al. (US 2018/0162136 A1) teaches an ink handling system comprising peristatic pumps. Fischer (US 2021/0291546 A1) teaches an ink supply system comprising supply and return pumps, and pressure sensors.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853