DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are not of sufficient quality to permit examination. Accordingly, replacement drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to this Office action. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action.
The drawing does not show detail relationship between the actuating lever 5 and the spring actuator 7.
The drawing does not show the first lever motion and the second lever motion of the actuating lever.
The drawing does not show the wraparound spring.
Applicant is given a shortened statutory period of TWO (2) MONTHS to submit new drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.81. Extensions of time may be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136(a) but in no case can any extension carry the date for reply to this letter beyond the maximum period of SIX MONTHS set by statute (35 U.S.C. 133). Failure to timely submit replacement drawing sheets will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the distance” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1, the limitation “wherein the actuator is configured to displace at least one part of the clamping spring a part of the distance from the closed position to the open position by a first lever motion of the actuating lever, and to displace the at least one part of the clamping spring another part of the distance toward the open position by a second lever motion” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Witte (DE 102019109467).
Regarding claim 1, Witte discloses a conductor connection terminal comprising:
a spring-loaded terminal connection to connect an electrical conductor, the spring-loaded terminal connection comprising a clamping spring (4) and an actuator (5) to displace at least one part of the clamping spring between an open position and a closed position,
an actuating lever (50) and a spring actuator (65) provided for the actuator, the spring actuator being adapted to be coupled to the actuating lever by a transmission or a gear unit (64, 54) of the transmission,
wherein the actuator is configured to displace at least one part of the clamping spring a part of the distance from the closed position to the open position (from closed position to partial opening position) by a first lever motion of the actuating lever, and to displace the at least one part of the clamping spring another part of the distance (from partial opening position to fully opening position) toward the open position by a second lever motion, and
wherein a maximum actuating travel of the actuating lever is associated in each case with a part of the distance.
Regarding claim 8, Witte discloses the transmission has toothing (54, 64) on the actuating lever and on the spring actuator.
Regarding claim 12, Witte discloses the actuating lever is mounted so as to be pivotable about a rotational axis (53, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Witte discloses the spring actuator is mounted so as to be pivotable about a rotational axis (63).
Regarding claim 14, Witte discloses the transmission mechanism has a gear train.
Regarding claim 15, Witte discloses the spring actuator is designed as an eccentric and has an actuating cam (56).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-11, 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834