DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukui et al. (US 2024/0096650A1; previously cited on PTO-892 of 9/17/2025).
Re claim 1, Fukui et al. teach a substrate processing apparatus including a chamber 12 for treating a substrate W using a supercritical fluid, the method comprising, a pressurization operation in which the fluid is supplied into the chamber through a lower side 34 to pressurize the fluid to a predetermined process pressure (paragraphs 55-56), a process operation in which the fluid is supplied into the chamber and is simultaneously discharged from the chamber and the substrate is treated with supercritical fluid (paragraphs 62, 64). Specifically, paragraph 64 teaches when the processing chamber has reached the supercritical state, the second fluid supplier 22 flows through the area above the substrate and is then discharged from the fluid discharger 24. In reference to a depressurization operation, applicant is directed to paragraphs 62 and 64. In reference to the fluid being supplied only to the lower side of the chamber, applicant is directed to paragraph 53 which teaches that the fluid is supplied through first supply line 34. Re claim 2, after the fluid has reached a supercritical state (paragraphs 60 -64), a second time interval occurs in which valves V2, V3, V5-V6 are opened and the second fluid supplier 22 flows through the area above the substrate and valves V1 and V4 are closed, therefore no fluid is flowed through the lower side of the chamber. Re claim 4, the limitations of at least one first time interval and at least one second time interval alternately arranged are met since the prior art teaches supplying the fluid at the lower side of the chamber, followed by closing the supply of the fluid to the lower side of the chamber and supplying the fluid to the upper side of the fluid. Re claim 6, the claim is broadly interpreted as the pulse wave is a result of fluid being inside the chamber. Since Fukui et al. teach the fluid in the chamber, the limitations are inherently met. Additionally, the examiner argues that since Fukui et al. teach pressurization and depressurization of the chamber, the processing steps would inherently result in a pulse wave since Fukui et al. is performing the same steps as the instantly claimed invention. Re claim 7, the limitations are broadly interpreted as performing an exhaustion step, followed by supplying the fluid to the lower side of the chamber, the limitations of which are met since paragraph 79 teaches pressure lowering and pressure raising are repeatedly performed followed by an exhaust process.
Response to Arguments
5. The rejection of the claims under 112, second paragraph is withdrawn in view of the newly amended claims.
6. The rejections of the claims as being anticipated and unpatentable over Heo are withdrawn and all arguments are deemed moot in view of the newly amended limitations. The prior art of Fukui et al. is relied upon to cure the deficiency.
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 bsc