DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1-15 include numbers such as “monitoring device (1)”, please remove these numbers.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 6, 8-9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vu U.S. Patent Application 20220379474 in view of Flexman U.S. Patent Application 20190371012.
Regarding claim 1, Vu discloses a monitoring device (1) with a safety sensor (4) (cameras 102), which is designed for performing a protection field monitoring and can be connected to a configuration unit (8) (control system 112) designed for configuring protection fields (7) (workcell 100) for the protection field monitoring performed with the safety sensor (4) (paragraph [0050]: FIG. 1, which illustrates a representative 3D workcell 100 monitored by a plurality of cameras representatively indicated at 1021 and 1022; paragraph [0054]: FIG. 3... The control system 112 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 305, system memory 310; paragraph [0056]: The system memory 310 contains a series of frame buffers 335, i.e., partitions that store, in digital form (e.g., as pixels or voxels, or as depth maps), images obtained by the cameras 102; the data may actually arrive via I/O ports 327 and/or transceiver 325),
characterized in that the configuration unit (8) has a graphical drawing interface (22) (user interface on display 320), in that a graphical information of a hazard region (2) within which a protection field (7) is to be configured is displayed in the graphical drawing interface (22), and in that elements of the graphical information are used for configuring the protection field (7) (paragraph [0061]: user interface, shown in display 320 and displaying the scene observed by the cameras, may allow a user to designate certain parts of the image as key elements of the machinery under control. In some embodiments, the interface provides an interactive 3D display that shows the coverage of all cameras to aid in configuration; paragraph [0167]: FIG. 5... The volumes surrounding the moving objects (determined by their position and estimated trajectories) that are deemed unsafe for volumes of nearby objects to overlap are continuously checked for collisions or movements that bring them on a potential collision course).
Vu discloses all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. However, Vu fails to disclose hazard region within which a protection field is to be configured is superimposed in the graphical drawing interface.
Flexman discloses hazard region within which a protection field is to be configured is superimposed in the graphical drawing interface (paragraph [0050]: FIG. 5 shows an image 153 of an imaging device having a c-arm 154 on an augmented reality display device 106. The graphic processing module 110 is configured to generate a contextual overlay 156 which represents the areas needed for clearing during an image acquisition process so that the c-arm 154 may freely move without hitting any objects. The user when viewing the contextual overlay 156 on the augmented reality display device can easily determine if an object is within the region that requires clearance and may then remove the object from the region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu’s to overlay clearance region as taught by Flexman, to provide safety assistance or guidance to the user.
Regarding claim 2, Vu as modified by Flexman discloses the monitoring device (1) according to claim 1, characterized in that the graphical information is a CAD depiction or a photo (Vu’s paragraph [0024]: A workspace monitored by 2D or 3D cameras, with images collected at predetermined intervals and examined by a control system to detect hazardous conditions, enable dangerous machinery to operate proximate to, or in collaboration with, human operators; Flexman’s paragraph [0004]: The live image stream can be provided using the eye, cameras, smart phones, tablets, etc. This image stream is augmented by a display to the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu’s to overlay clearance region as taught by Flexman, to provide safety assistance or guidance to the user.
Regarding claim 6, Vu as modified by Flexman discloses the monitoring device (1) according to claim 1, characterized in that elements of the graphical information are marked on the graphical drawing interface, wherein marked elements are adopted as protection field-contour elements, or in that protection field-contour elements are calculated from marked elements (Vu’s paragraph [0167]: FIG. 5... The volumes surrounding the moving objects (determined by their position and estimated trajectories) that are deemed unsafe for volumes of nearby objects to overlap are continuously checked for collisions or movements that bring them on a potential collision course; Flexman’s paragraph [0050]: FIG. 5 shows an image 153 of an imaging device having a c-arm 154 on an augmented reality display device 106. The graphic processing module 110 is configured to generate a contextual overlay 156 which represents the areas needed for clearing during an image acquisition process so that the c-arm 154 may freely move without hitting any objects. The user when viewing the contextual overlay 156 on the augmented reality display device can easily determine if an object is within the region that requires clearance and may then remove the object from the region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu’s to overlay clearance region as taught by Flexman, to provide safety assistance or guidance to the user.
Regarding claim 8, Vu as modified by Flexman discloses the monitoring device (1) according to claim 6, characterized in that contrast edges are marked in a graphical information in the form of a photo and serve for forming protection field contour suggestions (Vu’s paragraph [0024]: A workspace monitored by 2D or 3D cameras, with images collected at predetermined intervals and examined by a control system to detect hazardous conditions, enable dangerous machinery to operate proximate to, or in collaboration with, human operators; paragraph [0167]: FIG. 5... The volumes surrounding the moving objects (determined by their position and estimated trajectories) that are deemed unsafe for volumes of nearby objects to overlap are continuously checked for collisions or movements that bring them on a potential collision course; Flexman’s paragraph [0050]: FIG. 5 shows an image 153 of an imaging device having a c-arm 154 on an augmented reality display device 106. The graphic processing module 110 is configured to generate a contextual overlay 156 which represents the areas needed for clearing during an image acquisition process so that the c-arm 154 may freely move without hitting any objects. The user when viewing the contextual overlay 156 on the augmented reality display device can easily determine if an object is within the region that requires clearance and may then remove the object from the region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu’s to overlay clearance region as taught by Flexman, to provide safety assistance or guidance to the user.
Regarding claim 9, Vu as modified by Flexman discloses the monitoring device (1) according to claim 6, characterized in that polygonal chains and/or support points are calculated from marked elements, the polygonal chains and/or support points serving for calculation of protection field contour elements or constituting protection field contour elements (Vu’s paragraph [0167]: FIG. 5... The volumes surrounding the moving objects (determined by their position and estimated trajectories) that are deemed unsafe for volumes of nearby objects to overlap are continuously checked for collisions or movements that bring them on a potential collision course; Flexman’s paragraph [0050]: FIG. 5 shows an image 153 of an imaging device having a c-arm 154 on an augmented reality display device 106. The graphic processing module 110 is configured to generate a contextual overlay 156 which represents the areas needed for clearing during an image acquisition process so that the c-arm 154 may freely move without hitting any objects. The user when viewing the contextual overlay 156 on the augmented reality display device can easily determine if an object is within the region that requires clearance and may then remove the object from the region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu’s to overlay clearance region as taught by Flexman, to provide safety assistance or guidance to the user.
Regarding claim 14, Vu as modified by Flexman discloses the monitoring device (1) according to claim 1, characterized in that the safety sensor (4) is constituted by an area distance sensor or a camera sensor (Vu’s paragraph [0024]: A workspace monitored by 2D or 3D cameras, with images collected at predetermined intervals and examined by a control system to detect hazardous conditions, enable dangerous machinery to operate proximate to, or in collaboration with, human operators; paragraph [0050]: FIG. 1, which illustrates a representative 3D workcell 100 monitored by a plurality of cameras representatively indicated at 1021 and 1022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu’s to overlay clearance region as taught by Flexman, to provide safety assistance or guidance to the user.
Regarding claim 15, Vu as modified by Flexman discloses the monitoring device (1) according to claim 1, characterized in that the configuration unit (8) and the safety sensor (4) are connected by a bidirectional, failsafe data connection (9) (Vu’s paragraph [0056]: The system memory 310 contains a series of frame buffers 335, i.e., partitions that store, in digital form (e.g., as pixels or voxels, or as depth maps), images obtained by the cameras 102; the data may actually arrive via I/O ports 327 and/or transceiver 325; see fig. 3 I/O ports 327 are bidirectional).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu’s to overlay clearance region as taught by Flexman, to provide safety assistance or guidance to the user.
Claim 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vu U.S. Patent Application 20220379474 in view of Flexman U.S. Patent Application 20190371012, and further in view of Chu U.S. Patent Application 20170186235.
Regarding claim 3, Vu as modified by Flexman discloses measures to minimize or mitigate crosstalk among sensors or cameras in factory-scale settings involving independently monitored workcells (Vu's paragraph [0121]). However, Vu as modified by Flexman fails to disclose characterized in that the graphical information is to-scale.
Chu discloses characterized in that the graphical information is to-scale (paragraph [0006]: reference marker enables the augmented graphics to be constructed/superimposed in the actual image with the correct scale and/or orientation relative to the marker in the combined image(s) produced).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu and Flexman’s to display image with correct scale as taught by Chu, to offer user the capability to produce interactive, immersive and live-like media contents enriched with a variety of graphical content.
Regarding claim 4, Vu as modified by Flexman and Chu discloses the monitoring device (1) according to claim 1, characterized in that for a distorted graphical information, markings with a scale are contained or can be input therein, on the basis of which a distortion correction of the graphical information takes place in the configuration unit (8) (Chu’s paragraph [0115]: the determination of the parameters associated with the reference markers in the acquired scene may include one or more of the scale, distortion or angular orientation adjustment which is then applied to the graphical content superimposed on the acquired scene).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu and Flexman’s to display image with correct scale as taught by Chu, to offer user the capability to produce interactive, immersive and live-like media contents enriched with a variety of graphical content.
Claim 5, 7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vu U.S. Patent Application 20220379474 in view of Flexman U.S. Patent Application 20190371012, in view of Chu U.S. Patent Application 20170186235, and further in view of Kitchen U.S. Patent Application 20210170676.
Regarding claim 5, Vu as modified by Flexman and Chu discloses all the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above. However, Vu as modified by Flexman and Chu fails to disclose spatial axes are labeled with markings on the basis of which the distorted graphical information is converted into a graphical depiction in a plane.
Kitchen discloses spatial axes are labeled with markings on the basis of which the distorted graphical information is converted into a graphical depiction in a plane (paragraph [0091]: the as-obtained image can be corrected for triangulation and offset from the axis normal to the bottom surface 228 of the layer 220 (for example using the registry marks 330 as shown and described in connection with FIG. 6 and based on angle α), which is also known as “perspective correction.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu, Flexman and Chu’s to perform perspective correction as taught by Kitchen, to detect and remediate manufacturing defects.
Regarding claim 7, Vu as modified by Flexman, Chu and Kitchen discloses the monitoring device (1) according to claim 6, characterized in that line elements are marked in a graphical information in the form of a CAD depiction and serve for forming protection field contour suggestions (Kitchen’s paragraph [0102]: The reference binary image can be generated based on a CAD model or other input and corresponds to the input used to control the manufacturing of the layer by the additive manufacturing machine; Flexman’s paragraph [0050]: FIG. 5 shows an image 153 of an imaging device having a c-arm 154 on an augmented reality display device 106. The graphic processing module 110 is configured to generate a contextual overlay 156 which represents the areas needed for clearing during an image acquisition process so that the c-arm 154 may freely move without hitting any objects. The user when viewing the contextual overlay 156 on the augmented reality display device can easily determine if an object is within the region that requires clearance and may then remove the object from the region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu, Flexman and Chu’s to perform perspective correction as taught by Kitchen, to detect and remediate manufacturing defects.
Regarding claim 10, Vu as modified by Flexman, Chu and Kitchen discloses the monitoring device (1) according to claim 7, characterized in that based on protection field contour elements, a protection field contour suggestion is calculated, which is displayed on the graphical drawing interface (Flexman’s paragraph [0050]: FIG. 5 shows an image 153 of an imaging device having a c-arm 154 on an augmented reality display device 106. The graphic processing module 110 is configured to generate a contextual overlay 156 which represents the areas needed for clearing during an image acquisition process so that the c-arm 154 may freely move without hitting any objects. The user when viewing the contextual overlay 156 on the augmented reality display device can easily determine if an object is within the region that requires clearance and may then remove the object from the region; Vu’s paragraph [0167]: FIG. 5... The volumes surrounding the moving objects (determined by their position and estimated trajectories) that are deemed unsafe for volumes of nearby objects to overlap are continuously checked for collisions or movements that bring them on a potential collision course).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu, Flexman and Chu’s to perform perspective correction as taught by Kitchen, to detect and remediate manufacturing defects.
Regarding claim 11, Vu as modified by Flexman, Chu and Kitchen discloses the monitoring device (1) according to claim 10, characterized in that measurement data of the safety sensor (4) is used for calculating a protection field suggestion (Vu’s paragraph [0050]: FIG. 1, which illustrates a representative 3D workcell 100 monitored by a plurality of cameras representatively indicated at 1021 and 1022; paragraph [0061]: If the system is be configured with some degree of high-level information about the machinery being controlled (for purposes of control routines 350, for example)—such as the location(s) of dangerous part or parts of the machinery and the stopping time and/or distance—analysis module 342 may be configured to provide intelligent feedback as to whether the cameras are providing sufficient coverage, and suggest placement for additional cameras; paragraph [0167]: FIG. 5... The volumes surrounding the moving objects (determined by their position and estimated trajectories) that are deemed unsafe for volumes of nearby objects to overlap are continuously checked for collisions or movements that bring them on a potential collision course).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu, Flexman and Chu’s to perform perspective correction as taught by Kitchen, to detect and remediate manufacturing defects.
Regarding claim 12, Vu as modified by Flexman, Chu and Kitchen discloses the monitoring device (1) according to claim 10, characterized in that a protection field contour suggestion displayed on the graphical drawing interface is modifiable (Vu’s paragraph [0063]: continuous monitoring is performed to ensure that the observed background image is consistent with the space map 345 stored during the startup period. Background can also be updated if stationary objects are removed or are added to the workcell; paragraph [0167]: FIG. 5... The volumes surrounding the moving objects (determined by their position and estimated trajectories) that are deemed unsafe for volumes of nearby objects to overlap are continuously checked for collisions or movements that bring them on a potential collision course).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu, Flexman and Chu’s to perform perspective correction as taught by Kitchen, to detect and remediate manufacturing defects.
Regarding claim 13, Vu as modified by Flexman, Chu and Kitchen discloses the monitoring device (1) according to claim 12, characterized in that a protection field contour suggestion displayed on the graphical drawing interface can be confirmed by inputs to the configuration unit (8), and in that a confirmed protection field contour suggestion is adopted as a protection field (7) in the safety sensor (4) (Vu’s paragraph [0167]: FIG. 5... The volumes surrounding the moving objects (determined by their position and estimated trajectories) that are deemed unsafe for volumes of nearby objects to overlap are continuously checked for collisions or movements that bring them on a potential collision course; Flexman’s paragraph [0050]: FIG. 5 shows an image 153 of an imaging device having a c-arm 154 on an augmented reality display device 106. The graphic processing module 110 is configured to generate a contextual overlay 156 which represents the areas needed for clearing during an image acquisition process so that the c-arm 154 may freely move without hitting any objects. The user when viewing the contextual overlay 156 on the augmented reality display device can easily determine if an object is within the region that requires clearance and may then remove the object from the region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vu, Flexman and Chu’s to perform perspective correction as taught by Kitchen, to detect and remediate manufacturing defects.
Conclusion
/YI YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616