Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Non-Final Rejection
The Status of Claims:
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected.
Claims 5, 7-8, 10, 12-13, 15, and 17-18 are objected.
DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-18 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Priority
2. It is noted that this application is a continuation of 17879320 08/02/2022 (PAT 12054504), which is a division of 17387864 07/28/2021 (PAT 11453689) ,which is a continuation of PCT/CA2021/050122 (02/04/2021 ) , which has a priority of 62969894 02/04/2020.
Drawings
3. The drawings filed on 6/19/24 are accepted by the examiner.
IDS
4. The IDS filed on 1/21/26 & 1/27/26 were reviewed by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 7-8, 10, 12-13, 15, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carhart-Harris et al (Lancet Psychiatry, July 2016; vol 3 : 619–27). in view of Gerasimov et al (J. Med. Chem. 1999, 42, 4257-4263).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
Carhart-Harris et al teaches that serotonergic antidepressants have been found to downregulate the primary receptor target of psilocybin (the 5-HT2A receptor) and attenuated subjective responses to psychedelics have previously been reported in individuals chronically medicated with serotonergic antidepressants.
In conclusion, the study assessed the safety and tolerability of psilocybin plus psychological support in patients with unipolar treatment-resistant depression.
The findings support the feasibility of this approach and the magnitude and duration of the post-treatment reductions in symptom severity motivate further controlled research. Psilocybin has a novel pharmacological action in comparison with currently available
treatments for depression (ie, 5-HT2A receptor agonism) and thus could constitute a useful addition to available therapies for the treatment of depression (see page 627, a left col. lines 8-16).
The current invention, however, differs from the prior art in that the application of the claimed compound I-47 in the method for treating depression is unspecified in the prior art.
Gerasimov et al teaches compounds in the followings: as shown below:
,
(
(see page 4258, Scheme 2a. (S)-3)
see page 4258, left col. ).
The enantiomers with highest affinity for the 5-HT2A receptor were then assessed in the drug discrimination paradigm (DD) in rats trained to discriminate either LSD tartrate from saline or DOI hydrochloride from saline.
The affinities of the individual enantiomers are very similar for both 1 and 3. As would be expected for agonists, the affinities of all the compounds are correspondingly lower for the antagonist labeled receptor, although the relative affinity ratios for enantiomeric pairs remain approximately the same. Compounds 4 and 5 have lower affinities than the more active enantiomers (R)-1 and (R)-3, respectively, but still have 2-3-fold higher affinities than the less active S enantiomers of 1 and 3 (see page 4259, table 1, the first paragraph).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
The difference between the instant application and the applied Carhart-Harris et al art is that the applied Carhart-Harris et al art does not expressly teach the application of the claimed compound I-47 for the method for treating depression.
The deficiency of Carhart-Harris et al is cured partially by the Gerasimov et al.
The difference between the instant application and the applied Gerasimov et al art is that the applied Gerasimov et al art does not expressly teach the method for treating depression by using the claimed compound I-47.
The deficiency of Gerasimov et al is cured by the Carhart-Harris et al.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Regarding the Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 14, and 16, with respect to the lack of disclosing the application of the claimed compound I-47 for the method for treating depression, Carhart-Harris et al is silent about it. However, Gerasimov et al does describe that compounds (R)/(S)-3, and Table 1 show that (R)-3 , which may correspond to the claimed compound I-47 , exhibits better activity than psilocin with respect to [3H]MDL 100907, a highly selective 5-HT2A receptor antagonist (see page 4259, table 1, the first paragraph). In addition, Carhart-Harris et al does teach that psilocybin has the pharmacological action in comparison with currently available treatments for depression (ie, 5-HT2A receptor agonism). Also, it is well-known fact that the chemical structure between psilocybin and psilocin is very similar to each other, thereby possessing a very similar chemical activity.
So, if the skilled artisan in the art had desired to treat depression by using (R)-3 compound as an alternative to psilocybin, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan in the art to be motivated to incorporate the teaching of Gerasimov’s (R)-3 compound into Carhart-Harris’ et al method of treating depression. This is because the skilled artisan in the art would expect such combined prior art to be feasible and successful as shown in the prior art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Carhart-Harris et al expressly teaches that psilocybin has the pharmacological action in comparison with currently available treatments for depression (ie, 5-HT2A receptor agonism). Whereras Gerasimov et al expressly teaches compounds in the followings: as shown below:
,
(
(see page 4258, Scheme 2a. (S)-3)
see page 4258, left col. ).
Also, it is well-known fact that the chemical structure between psilocybin and psilocin are very similar to each other, thereby possessing a very similar chemical activity. Furthermore, Gerasimov et al does offer guidance that compounds (R)/(S)-3, and Table 1 show that (R)-3 exhibits better activity than psilocin with respect to [3H]MDL 100907, a highly selective 5-HT2A receptor antagonist ,whereas
So, if the skilled artisan in the art had desired to treat depression by using (R)-3 compound as an alternative to psilocybin, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the teaching of Gerasimov’s (R)-3 compound into Carhart-Harris’ et al method of treating depression. This is because the skilled artisan in the art would expect such a modification to be feasible and successful as shown in the prior art
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected.
Claims 5, 7-8, 10, 12-13, 15, and 17-18 are objected.
/TAYLOR V OH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625 1/31/2026