DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7-7-2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation dioctyl sulfosuccinate preferably, and the claim also recites DOSS which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Braeckman et al (2023/034095).
Braeckman et al discloses in paragraphs [0106]-[0107] a process of cleaning dishes with a composition. The process comprises the step(s) of applying the composition onto the dish surface, typically in diluted or neat form, and rinsing the dish. The process may comprise the step of applying the composition in neat form onto a sponge and contacting the sponge containing the composition on the dish surface. In one embodiment, the composition can be applied in its diluted form. The soiled dishes are immersed in the sink containing the diluted compositions then obtained, where contacting the soiled surface of the dish with a cloth, sponge, or similar article cleans them. The cloth, sponge, or similar article may be immersed in the detergent composition and water mixture prior to being contacted with the dish surface. The contacting of cloth, sponge, or similar article to the dish surface is preferably accompanied by a concurrent scrubbing of the dish surface. Since the composition of Braeckman et al discloses the composition to be applied in a hand dish washing process, it is further considered that the performance is not adversely impacted by hard water.
Braeckman et al discloses further in paragraph [0103] that the liquid hand dishwashing cleaning composition can be packaged in a liquid dispenser for releasably affixing to an inverted container containing dispensable liquid such that the viscosity (at 20°C: 160 cps; 109 cps see items 1.1.1 and 1.1.2) of the liquid hand dishwashing cleaning composition, which contains a co-surfactant, is considered to be sufficient for dispensing the composition from an inline dispensing system.
Braeckman et al discloses further in Table 1, Example composition 1 comprising (amongst others, 100% active basis):
7.1 wt.% Alkyl polyglucoside (added as a premix including sodium cumene sulphonate)
7.1 wt.% Neodol 91/8 which is a C9-C11 EO8 alcohol ethoxylate
9.5 wt.% Alkyl ethoxy sulfate (regarding low 1,4 dioxane see paragraph [0060] )
4.7 wt.% linear C12-14 dimethyl amine oxide
The ratio of anionic surfactant to amine oxide is 2:1, the viscosity at 20°C is 160 cps. Since the composition comprises all components required by claim 1 of the present application, it is considered implicit that the composition is a high foaming and wetting detergent that is resistant to soil and mitigates 1,4 dioxane, therefore the claims are anticipatory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braeckman et al (2023034095).
With respect to claim 3, Braeckman et al disclose dimethyl amine oxide (Example 1); and with further respect to claims 2 and 11, Braeckman et al teach anionic surfactants such as 15-40% of alkyl sulfosuccinate and dialkyl sulfosuccinate ester (0024-0025) along with 3-30% of amine oxide surfactants.
One skilled in the art would envision the optimization of surfactants to enable synergistic cleansing and performance by utilizing a varied assortment of surfactants and combinations of ration given the teachings of Braeckman et al and in the absence of criticality commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
[W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious. [KSR Int'l Co. v.Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 418 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976).]
“[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property, which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Conclusion
/NECHOLUS OGDEN JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761