Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 18 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US 20220044463 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kang et al. discloses a mouth shape-based method for generating a face image (to enable, according to the expression parameter, an animation character to make an expression corresponding to the first speech, para. 0009),
comprising:
acquiring audio data to be recognized (obtaining a first speech, the first speech comprising a plurality of speech frames, para. 0025) and a preset face image (For a set animation character whose expression (for example, a mouth shape) may be adjusted by adjusting the expression parameter, the animation character may be adjusted by using the determined expression parameter, to generate an animation character corresponding to the speech, para. 0028);
determining an audio feature of the audio data to be recognized (a first speech including a plurality of speech frames is obtained, linguistics information corresponding to a speech frame in the first speech may be determined, para. 0030);
wherein the audio feature comprises a speech speed feature and a semantic feature (he PPG (that is, the linguistics information) is spliced with a pre-annotated sentiment vector to obtain a final feature, so that the expression parameter corresponding to the speech frame in the first speech is determined according to the PPG and the sentiment vector corresponding to the first speech, para. 0063); and
performing, according to the speech speed feature and the semantic feature, processing on the preset face image, to generate a face image having a mouth shape (a set animation character whose expression (for example, a mouth shape) may be adjusted by adjusting the expression parameter, the animation character may be adjusted by using the determined expression parameter, to generate an animation character corresponding to the speech, para. 0028).
Regarding claim 2, Kang et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the audio feature of the audio data to be recognized comprises:
determining, according to a preset first feature extraction model, a speech speed feature of the audio data to be recognized (the sentiment is represented by using the sentiment vector, para. 0064);
wherein the first feature extraction model is used for extracting the speech speed feature from the audio data to be recognized (Speech2Face system includes four parts. A first part is to train an ASR model for PPG extraction, para. 0053); and
determining, according to a preset second feature extraction model, a semantic feature of the audio data to be recognized (the sentiment is represented by using the sentiment vector, para. 0064);
wherein the second feature extraction model is used for extracting the semantic feature from the audio data to be recognized (after a PPG of the speech frame is obtained by using the trained ASR model, the PPG (that is, the linguistics information) is spliced with a pre-annotated sentiment vector to obtain a final feature, so that the expression parameter corresponding to the speech frame in the first speech is determined according to the PPG and the sentiment vector corresponding to the first speech, para. 0063).
Regarding claim 3, Kang et al. discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the determining, according to the preset first feature extraction model, the speech speed feature of the audio data to be recognized comprises:
inputting the audio data to be recognized into the preset first feature extraction model for feature extraction, to obtain a phonetic posterioriorgram feature of the audio data to be recognized ( linguistics information being used for identifying a distribution possibility that the speech frame in the first speech pertains to phonemes, para. 0008);
wherein the phonetic posterioriorgram feature represents information about a phoneme category of the audio data to be recognized (a combination of two or more of a phonetic posterior gram (PPG), para. 0052); and
determining, according to the phonetic posterioriorgram feature of the audio data to be recognized, the speech speed feature of the audio data to be recognized (Examiner articulates that (PPG) is a time-varying representation of a speech signal that shows the probability distribution over different phonemes (speech sounds) at each moment in time.).
Regarding claim 5, Kang et al. discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the determining, according to the preset second feature extraction model, the semantic feature of the audio data to be recognized comprises:
inputting the audio data to be recognized into the preset second feature extraction model for feature extraction, to obtain output semantic feature of the audio data to be recognized (a vector having 218 dimensions is obtained, and is spliced with a 4-dimensional sentiment vector of the first speech to obtain a feature vector having 222 dimensions, which is subsequently used as an input to the neural network mapping model, para. 0064).
Regarding claim 6, Kang et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing, according to the speech speed feature and the semantic feature, the processing on the preset face image, to generate the face image having the mouth shape comprises: inputting the speech speed feature and the semantic feature into a preset model for determining a mouth shape of a face for processing (a feature vector having 222 dimensions, which is subsequently used as an input to the neural network mapping model, para. 0064), and generating, according to a result obtained from the processing and the preset face image, the face image having the mouth shape (to drive the animation character to make an expression (a mouth shape), para. 0067).
Regarding claim 7, Kang et al. discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the inputting the speech speed feature and the semantic feature into the preset model for determining the mouth shape of the face for the processing, and the generating, according to the result obtained from the processing and the preset face image, the face image having the mouth shape comprise:
performing, based on the preset model for determining the mouth shape of the face, splicing processing on the speech speed feature and the semantic feature, to obtain a spliced feature of the audio data to be recognized; wherein the spliced feature represents the speech speed feature and the semantic feature (the PPG (that is, the linguistics information) is spliced with a pre-annotated sentiment vector to obtain a final feature, so that the expression parameter corresponding to the speech frame in the first speech is determined according to the PPG and the sentiment vector corresponding to the first speech, para. 0063);
performing, according to a convolutional layer in the preset model for determining the mouth shape of the face, feature extraction on the spliced feature, to obtain a face driving parameter (determined by using the neural network mapping model, manners of determining the speech frame set are different and quantities of speech frames in the speech frame set are different according to different neural network mapping models used, para. 0071);
wherein the face driving parameter is used for representing a parameter required to drive a mouth shape change in a face image; and performing, according to the face driving parameter, image rendering on the preset face image, to generate the face image having the mouth shape ( an expression parameter may be determined according to the first speech, to drive the animation character to make an expression (a mouth shape), para. 0067).
Regarding claim 8, Kang et al. discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the face driving parameter is a weight parameter of a blend shape (an expression parameter may be determined according to linguistics information, to accurately drive an animation character to make an expression corresponding to the first speech, para. 0030); and
the performing, according to the face driving parameter, the image rendering on the preset face image, to generate the face image having the mouth shape comprises:
determining, according to the weight parameter of the blend shape, facial three-dimensional mesh data corresponding to the preset face image (a designed 3D animation character to make an expression corresponding to the first speech (for example, S304), para. 0053);
wherein the facial three-dimensional mesh data is data representing a three-dimensional mesh model of a facial surface on a face image (see figure 2); and performing, according to the facial three-dimensional mesh data, image rendering on the preset face image, to generate the face image having the mouth shape (a phoneme is a minimum phonetic unit obtained through division according to a natural attribute of a speech, analysis is performed according to a pronunciation action in a syllable, and an action (for example, a mouth shape) forms a phoneme, para. 0045).
Regarding claim 9, Kang et al. discloses the method according to any one of claims 1 to 8, further comprising: if it is determined that a value represented by the speech speed feature of the audio data to be recognized is less than a preset speech speed threshold value, performing, according to the semantic feature, processing on the preset face image, to generate the face image having the mouth shape (he expressions may include a facial expression and a body posture expression. The facial expression may include, for example, a mouth shape, para. 0060).
Claim 18, a mouth shape-based apparatus claim, is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 36, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim, is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claims 10, 11, 27 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chae et al. (US 20220358703 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Chae et al. discloses a method for training a model for determining a mouth shape of a face, comprising:
acquiring image data to be trained and a preset face image (the person background image may be an image used during a training process, para. 0045);
wherein the image data to be trained comprises audio data to be trained and a face image to be trained, and the face image to be trained has a mouth shape corresponding to the audio data to be trained (extract a voice feature vector from the speech audio signal, para. 0008);
determining an audio feature of the audio data to be trained (extract a voice feature vector, para. 0008);
wherein the audio feature comprises a speech speed feature and a semantic feature; performing, according to the speech speed feature, the semantic feature, and the preset face image, training on an initial model for determining a mouth shape of a face, and obtaining a face image having a mouth shape (adjust learning parameters (e.g., the loss function or the Softmax function) so that the generated speech video (i.e., a video in which the portion related to the speech are reconstructed through the audio part) is similar to the original speech video, para. 0044); and if the face image having the mouth shape and the face image to be trained are consistent, determining that a trained model for determining a mouth shape of a face is obtained (decoder 108 may compare the generated speech video with the original speech video (i.e., an answer value) and thus adjust learning parameters (e.g., the loss function or the Softmax function), para. 0044).
Regarding claim 11, Chae et al. discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the determining the audio feature of the audio data to be trained comprises: determining, according to a preset first feature extraction model, a speech speed feature of the audio data to be trained; wherein the first feature extraction model is used for extracting the speech speed feature from the audio data to be trained; and determining, according to a preset second feature extraction (second encoder 104 is a machine learning model that is trained to extract a voice feature vector using a speech audio signal as an input. Here, the speech audio signal corresponds to an audio part of the person background image (i.e., an image in which a person is speaking) input to the first encoder 102. In other words, in a video in which a person speaks (hereinafter, referred to as a “speech video”), a video part thereof may be input to the first encoder 102, and an audio part thereof may be input to the second encoder 104. The second encoder 104 may include at least one convolutional layer, para. 0040) model, a semantic feature of the audio data to be trained; wherein the second feature extraction model is used for extracting the semantic feature from the audio data to be trained.
Claim 27, an apparatus claim, is rejected for the same reason as claim 10.
Claim 38, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim, is rejected for the same reason as claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 12, 13 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J LETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611