DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parness et al. (US 11865727 B1, hereafter Parness).
Regarding Claim 1, Parness discloses a ring manipulator for a pull wire assembly machine configured to assemble a pull wire to a pull ring (Figure 2: 220 each suction cup can pick up individual items, Column 6 Lines 61-69, Column 7 Lines 11-16: including ring shaped objects), the ring manipulator comprising:
a robotic arm including a mounting base and link arms attached to the mounting base and to each other at joints (Figure 2: the robotic arm 202 has a mounting base at the bottom and two link arms connected to each other at a joint , Column 5 Lines 35-49: robotic arm can be any suitable material handling robot), the robotic arm being movable in three-dimensional space (Column 5 Lines 35-49: the robotic arm can move in three-dimensional space), the robotic arm having a distal end (Figure 2: there is an end of arm tool 204 at the distal end of the robotic arm); and
an end effector at the distal end of the robotic arm (Figure 2: 204) the end effector including a vacuum nozzle including a vacuum chamber and vacuum ports in the vacuum chamber (Figure 3 and 6: each suction cup assembly has a vacuum nozzle above the suction cup and the suction cup acts as a vacuum chamber, Figure 4: the mesh filter 440 has multiple ports), the vacuum chamber configured to receive the pull ring, the vacuum ports creating a vacuum in the camber to hold the pull ring in the vacuum chamber (Column 6 Lines 61-69).
Regarding Claim 2, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 1. Parness discloses the vacuum nozzle includes a shroud forming the vacuum chamber (Figure 3: the suction cup acts as a shroud forming the vacuum chamber).
Regarding Claim 3, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 2. Parness discloses the shroud is cylindrical having a diameter corresponding to an external diameter of a pull ring (Figure 6: the suction cups are cylindrical and there are different sized suction cups that can be used based on the object 610, 612, 614, which can correspond to an external diameter of a pull ring, Column 12 Lines 32-49).
Regarding Claim 4, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 1. Parness discloses the vacuum nozzle includes an end wall at an interior of the vacuum chamber, the vacuum ports formed in the end wall (Figures 3 and 4: the mesh filter 440 is an end wall with vacuum ports formed in it).
Regarding Claim 5, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 1. Parness discloses the vacuum ports are arranged in a circular pattern around the perimeter of the vacuum chamber (Figure 4: the mesh filter 440 has the ports in a circular pattern around the perimeter of the vacuum chamber).
Regarding Claim 6, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 1. Parness discloses a vacuum tube coupled to the vacuum nozzle in flow communication with the vacuum ports (Column 5 Lines 16-24: there is a vacuum pump to provide negative pressure to the manifold, Column 6 Lines 38-48: the vacuum pump allows the manifold to pick up items using suction cup assemblies, Figure 2: vacuum pump 210, manifold 206 which is a bracket for multiple suction cup assemblies, the example use case 220 shows a vacuum tube above a suction cup assembly that would connect to the manifold).
Regarding Claim 9, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 1. Parness discloses the robotic arm is movable from a pick position to a place position, the vacuum nozzle configured to release the pull ring in the place position (Column 6 Lines 38-49: the management device controls the poses and orientations of the robotic arm, the operation of the vacuum pump, and controls the suction of suction zones, the robotic arm could perform a pick and place a pull ring at different locations).
Regarding Claim 11, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 1. Parness discloses the end effector includes a mounting bracket extending between a first end and a second end (Figure 2 and 7: the manifold 206 is a square bracket with four different ends, Column 13 Lines 59-60: there are multiple configurations), the vacuum nozzle being a first vacuum nozzle, the first vacuum nozzle located at the first end of the mounting bracket (Figure 7: the picking assembly 770 has a first vacuum nozzle bottom right), the vacuum chamber of the first vacuum nozzle having a first diameter configured to receive first pull rings having the first diameter (Figure 2: each suction cup acts as a vacuum chamber and can pick up individual items 220, Column 6 Lines 61-69, Column 7 Lines 11-16, Figure 6: the suction cups are cylindrical and there are different sized suction cups that can be used based on the object 610, 612, 614, which can correspond to an external diameter of a pull ring, Column 12 Lines 32-49), the end effector further comprising a second vacuum nozzle at the second end of the mounting bracket (Figure 7: the picking assembly 770 has a second vacuum nozzle 760 bottom left), the second vacuum nozzle including a second vacuum chamber having a second diameter configured to receive second pull rings having the second diameter (Figure 7: the second vacuum nozzle has a suction cup that is a different size than the first suction cup, Column 6 Lines 61-69), the second vacuum nozzle having second vacuum ports creating a vacuum in the second vacuum chamber to hold the second pull rings in the second vacuum chamber (Figure 4: the mesh filter 440 has vacuum ports and creates a vacuum in the second vacuum chamber).
Regarding Claim 12, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 11. Parness discloses the first vacuum nozzle includes a first shroud extending from a first end wall, the first shroud being cylindrical and hollow with an interior surface of the first shroud having the first diameter to receive the first pull rings (Figure: 4: each vacuum nozzle has a cylindrical and hollow suction cup that acts as a shroud, Figure 6 and 7: the first vacuum nozzle would have a corresponding suction cup that could pick up a pull ring), the vacuum ports formed in the first end wall (Figure 4: the mesh filter 440 is an end wall and it has vacuum ports), the second vacuum nozzle includes a second shroud extending from a second end wall (Figure 7: the second vacuum nozzle would have a second suction cup that acts as a shroud), the second shroud being cylindrical and hollow with an interior surface of the second shroud having the second diameter to receive the second pull rings (Figure: 4: each vacuum nozzle has a cylindrical and hollow suction cup that acts as a shroud, Figure 6 and 7: the second vacuum nozzle would have a corresponding suction cup that could pick up a pull ring), the second vacuum ports formed in the second end wall (Figure 4: the mesh filter 440 is an end wall and it has vacuum ports).
Regarding Claim 13, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 11. Parness discloses the robotic arm is movable to a ring feeder to pick up the pull rings from the ring feeder (Column 6 Lines 38-49: the management device controls the poses and orientations of the robotic arm, the operation of the vacuum pump, and controls the suction of suction zones, the robotic arm could perform a pick and place a pull ring at different locations), the robotic arm movable to a first pick position to position the first vacuum nozzle at the ring feeder to pick up one of the first pull rings from the ring feeder (Column 6 Lines 38-49: the management device is capable of individually controlling the suction force for each vacuum nozzle), and the robotic arm is movable to a second pick position to position the second vacuum nozzle at the ring feeder to pick up one of the second pull rings from the ring feeder (Column 6 Lines 38-49: the management device would be able to make the arm perform this because it controls the movement of the arm and the individual vacuum of the vacuum zones).
Regarding Claim 14, Parness discloses a ring manipulator for a pull wire assembly machine configured to assemble a pull wire to a pull ring (Figure 2: 220 each suction cup can pick up individual items, Column 6 Lines 61-69, Column 7 Lines 11-16), the ring manipulator comprising:
a robotic arm including a mounting base and link arms attached to the mounting base and to each other at joints (Figure 2: the robotic arm 202 has a mounting base at the bottom and two link arms connected to each other at a joint, Column 5 Lines 35-49: robotic arm can be any suitable material handling robot), the robotic arm being movable in three-dimensional space (Column 5 Lines 35-49: the robotic arm can move in three-dimensional space), the robotic arm having a distal end (Figure 2: there is an end of arm tool 204 at the distal end of the robotic arm); and
an end effector at the distal end of the robotic arm (Figure 2: 204), the end effector including a mounting bracket extending between a first end and a second end (Figure 2 and 7: the manifold 206 is a square bracket with four different ends, Column 13 Lines 59-60: there are multiple configurations), the end effector including a first vacuum nozzle at the first end of the mounting bracket (Figures 3 and 6: each suction cup assembly has a vacuum nozzle above the suction cup and the suction cup acts as a vacuum chamber, Figure 7: the picking assembly 770 has a first vacuum nozzle bottom right) and a second vacuum nozzle at the second end of the mounting bracket (Figure 7: the picking assembly 770 has a second vacuum nozzle bottom left 760), the first vacuum nozzle including a first vacuum chamber having a first diameter configured to receive first pull rings having the first diameter (Figure 2: 220 each suction cup acts as a vacuum chamber and can pick up individual items, Column 6 Lines 61-69, Column 7 Lines 11-16, Figure 6: the suction cups are cylindrical and there are different sized suction cups that can be used based on the object 610, 612, 614, which can correspond to an external diameter of a pull ring, Column 12 Lines 32-49), the first vacuum nozzle having first vacuum ports creating a vacuum in the first vacuum chamber to hold the first pull rings in the first vacuum chamber (Figure 4: the mesh filter 440 has vacuum ports and creates a vacuum in the first vacuum chamber), the second vacuum nozzle including a second vacuum chamber having a second diameter configured to receive second pull rings having the second diameter (Figure 7: the second vacuum nozzle would have a second suction cup that is a different size than the first and acts as a shroud to create a vacuum chamber), the second vacuum nozzle having second vacuum ports creating a vacuum in the second vacuum chamber to hold the second pull rings in the second vacuum chamber (Figure 4: the mesh filter 440 has vacuum ports and creates a vacuum in the second vacuum chamber).
Regarding Claim 15, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 14. Parness discloses the first vacuum nozzle includes a first shroud extending from a first end wall (Figure 7: first vacuum nozzle 770 bottom right, Figures 3 and 4: each vacuum nozzle has a suction cup that acts as a shroud with a mesh 440 that acts as an end wall), the first shroud being cylindrical and hollow with an interior surface of the first shroud having the first diameter to receive the first pull rings (Figures 3, 6, and 7: the suction cups are cylindrical, hollow and have multiple sizes 610, 612, 613 based on the vacuum nozzle), the first vacuum ports formed in the first end wall (Figure 4: the mesh 440 has multiple vacuum ports), the second vacuum nozzle includes a second shroud extending from a second end wall (Figure 7: second vacuum nozzle 770 bottom left 760, Figures 3 and 4: each vacuum nozzle has a suction cup that acts as a shroud with a mesh 440 that acts as an end wall), the second shroud being cylindrical and hollow with an interior surface of the second shroud having the second diameter to receive the second pull rings (Figures 3, 6, and 7: the suction cups are cylindrical, hollow and the second vacuum tube would have a suction cup that is a different size than the first suction cup, the second vacuum ports formed in the second end wall (Figure 4: the mesh 440 has multiple vacuum ports).
Regarding Claim 16, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 14. Parness discloses the first vacuum ports are arranged in a circular pattern around the perimeter of the first vacuum chamber (Figure 4: the mesh filter 440 has the ports in a circular pattern around the perimeter of the vacuum chamber), the second vacuum ports are arranged in a circular pattern around the perimeter of the second vacuum chamber (Figure 4: the mesh filter 440 has the ports in a circular pattern around the perimeter of the vacuum chamber).
Regarding Claim 17, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 14. Parness discloses a first vacuum tube coupled to the first vacuum nozzle in flow communication with the first vacuum ports (Column 5 Lines 16-24: there is a vacuum pump to provide negative pressure to the manifold, Column 6 Lines 38-48: the vacuum pump allows the manifold to pick up items using suction cup assemblies, Figure 2: vacuum pump 210, manifold 206 which is a bracket for multiple suction cup assemblies, the example use case 220 shows a vacuum tube above each suction cup assembly that would connect to the manifold) and a second vacuum tube coupled to the second vacuum nozzle in flow communication with the second vacuum ports (the vacuum nozzle would have a second vacuum tube in fluid flow commination to the vacuum ports similar to the first vacuum nozzle).
Regarding Claim 18, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 14. Parness discloses the robotic arm is movable to a ring feeder to pick up the pull rings from the ring feeder (Column 6 Lines 38-49: the management device controls the poses and orientations of the robotic arm, the operation of the vacuum pump, and controls the suction of suction zones, the robotic arm could perform a pick and place a pull ring at different locations), the robotic arm movable to a first pick position to position the first vacuum nozzle at the ring feeder to pick up one of the first pull rings from the ring feeder (Column 6 Lines 38-49: the management device is capable of individually controlling the suction force for each vacuum nozzle), and the robotic arm is movable to a second pick position to position the second vacuum nozzle at the ring feeder to pick up one of the second pull rings from the ring feeder (Column 6 Lines 38-49: the management device would be able to make the arm perform this because it controls the movement of the arm and the individual vacuum of the vacuum zones).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parness et al. (US 11865727 B1, hereafter Parness) in view of Sullivan et al. (US 2023/0330868 A1, hereafter Sullivan).
Regarding Claim 8, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 1. Parness discloses the robotic arm can be any suitable material handling robot and movable in three-dimensional space (Column 5 Lines 35-49).
Parness does not disclose the robotic arm is a six-axis robotic arm.
Sullivan discloses a vacuum pick and place robot that uses a six-axis robotic arm (Figure 1: 130) for the purpose of facilitating reliable pick-and-place and hand-off operations that may be utilized for a wide range of object types and sizes (Paragraph 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to
modify the invention of Parness by using the six-axis robotic arm disclosed by Sullivan for the purpose of facilitating reliable pick-and-place and hand-off operations that may be utilized for a wide range of object types and sizes.
Regarding Claim 10, Parness discloses the limitations of claim 1. Parness discloses the robotic arm can be any suitable material handling robot and movable in three-dimensional space (Column 5 Lines 35-49).
Parness does not disclose the robotic arm orients the vacuum nozzle vertically in the pick position and the robotic arm orients the vacuum nozzle horizontally in the place position.
Sullivan discloses a vacuum pick and place robot that uses a six-axis robotic arm (Figure 1: 130) for the purpose of facilitating reliable pick-and-place and hand-off operations that may be utilized for a wide range of object types and sizes (Paragraph 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to
modify the invention of Parness by using the six-axis robotic arm disclosed by Sullivan for the purpose of facilitating reliable pick-and-place and hand-off operations that may be utilized for a wide range of object types and sizes (the six-axis robotic arm would be able to orient the vacuum nozzle vertically and horizontally).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parness et al. (US 11865727 B1, hereafter Parness) in view of Habraken (US 2024/0206992 A1, hereafter Habraken) and Jiang (CN 104759757 A).
Regarding Claim 19, Parness discloses a pull wire assembly machine configured to assemble a pull wire assembly from a pull wire and a pull ring, the pull wire assembly machine comprising:
a ring placement system having a ring manipulator configured to position the pull ring at an assembly zone (Figure 2: ring manipulator 200, Figure 2: 220 each suction cup can pick up individual items, Column 6 Lines 61-69, Column 7 Lines 11-16: suction cups can pick up ring shaped objects), the ring manipulator including a robotic arm including a mounting base and link arms attached to the mounting base and to each other at joints Figure 2: the robotic arm 202 has a mounting base at the bottom and two link arms connected to each other at a joint, Column 5 Lines 35-49: robotic arm can be any suitable material handling robot), the robotic arm being movable in three-dimensional space (Column 5 Lines 35-49: the robotic arm can move in three-dimensional space), the robotic arm having a distal end, the ring manipulator including an end effector at the distal end of the robotic arm (Figure 2: there is an end of arm tool 204 at the distal end of the robotic arm), the end effector including a vacuum nozzle including a vacuum chamber and vacuum ports in the vacuum chamber (Figure 3 and 6: the suction cup assembly has a vacuum nozzle above the suction cup and the suction cup acts as a vacuum chamber, Figure 4: the mesh filter 440 has multiple ports), the vacuum chamber configured to receive the pull ring, the vacuum ports creating a vacuum in the vacuum chamber to hold the pull ring in the vacuum chamber (Column 6 Lines 61-69);
Parness does not disclose a wire placement system configured to position the pull wire at the assembly zone; and
a laser weld system at the assembly zone configured to laser weld the pull wire to the pull ring to form a pull wire assembly.
Habraken discloses a robotic arm capable of aligning a wire that can be at an assembly zone and configured to position a pull wire at an assembly zone (Figure 5: the instruments 106 of the robotic arm are capable of manipulating wires, Paragraph 14) for the purpose of allowing greater precision when handling instruments than human operators (Paragraph 4).
Jiang discloses a laser weld system that can be placed at an assembly zone and is capable of laser welding the pull wire to the pull ring (Figures 1 and 2: the omnidirectional laser sport machine is capable of omnidirectional welding, Paragraph 3) for the purpose of being able to weld components together from multiple directions without dead angles (Paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to
modify the invention of Parness by including the robotic arm disclosed by Habraken to the system for aligning the pull wire for the purpose of allowing greater precision when handling instruments than human operators and adding the laser weld system disclosed by Jiang to weld the components together for the purpose of being able to weld components together from multiple directions without dead angles.
Regarding Claim 20, Parness in view of Habraken and Jiang disclose the limitations of claim 19. The combination as applied in claim 19 discloses a pull wire assembly discard system configured to discard the pull wire assembly from the pull wire assembly machine (Parness Figure 2: the ring manipulator 200 is capable of picking and placing objects in different locations, it would be able to pick up the pull wire assembly from an assembly zone and discard it in another location).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Martin et al. (US 2020/0048015 A1) discloses a vacuum picker with vacuum ports arranged in a circular pattern, Barnes (US 6623236 B1) also discloses vacuum ports in a circular direction.
/J.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653