DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 09/20/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 202322571430.6 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
As the Office notified on 08/17/2024, the Office was not able to retrieve the listed foreign application electronically out of five foreign priority documents.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/19/2024 and 06/23/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first end of the middle mounting portion being raised with respect to the two side mounting portions and the second end of the middle mounting portion being recessed with respect to the two side mounting portions in the third direction as recited in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the phrase may be amended as “a brush road[[.]],” in line 2.
In claim 1, the terms may be amended as “[[the]]a brush neck portion” in lines 9-10 and “[[the]]a third direction” in line 12.
In claim 9, the term may be amended as “[[T]]the middle mounting portion” in line 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dengler et al. (CN 106132240A, cited on 09/19/2024 IDS, hereinafter Dengler), in view of Kato et al. (JP H09252841A, cited on 09/19/2024 IDS, hereinafter Kato).
Regarding claim 1, Dengler discloses, in fig. 1A, a brush head (brush head assembly 100), comprising:
a brush rod (neck portion 40).
a brush plate (fig. 5, a network connection of retaining rings 50 and connections 91), and
an elastic structure (elastic body 30);
wherein the brush rod extends in a first direction; the brush plate is disposed on the brush rod (see fig. 1A and annotated Dengler fig. 5 below, the brush plate having bristles is disposed on the neck portion 40 [corresponds to the recited brush rod]); the brush plate comprises a middle mounting portion and two side mounting portions; the two side mounting portions are respectively disposed on two sides of the middle mounting portion in a second direction; at least one of the middle mounting portion and the two side mounting portions is connected to the brush neck portion (fig. 1A and annotated Dengler fig. 5 below, the network of retainer rings 50 [correspond to the recited brush plate] including the recited middle mounting portion and two side mounting portions is disposed at a neck plate 42 [corresponds to the recited brush neck portion]);
the middle mounting portion and the two side mounting portions comprise fixing rings configured to mount bristle bundles (fig. 2B and Dengler English translation, p. 11:4-17, the retaining ring 50s [corresponds to the recited fixing ring] of the recited brush plate retain a plurality of bristle bundles 21);
the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction are perpendicular to each other (see annotated Dengler fig. 5 below); and
the elastic structure is wrapped around outer peripheral walls of the fixing rings (figs. 1A, 2B, 3A, and 3B, the elastic body 30 [corresponds to the recite elastic structure] wraps an outer peripheral wall of the retaining rings 50), but does not disclose a thickness of each of the fixing rings of the middle mounting portion is greater than a thickness of each of the fixing rings of the two side mounting portion in the direction.
Kato teaches, in an analogous toothbrush field of endeavor, a thickness of each of the fixing rings of the middle mounting portion is greater than a thickness of each of the fixing rings of the two side mounting portion in the third direction (fig. 4(a)(b), Kato discloses a brush head portion 1 having brush bundles 4 wherein the head portion comprises a ridge portion 6 [corresponds to the recited middle mounting portion] and two side mounting portions in fig. 4 out of various embodiments. A thickness of the middle ridge portion 6 is greater than a thickness of the other side brush head portions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler to provide the thickness of the middle mounting portion to be greater as taught by Kato. It prevents the brush head from being bent so that brushing force is maintained for effective brushing in an oral cavity (Kato English translation, p. 4:34-5:2).
Annotated Dengler Fig. 5
Regarding claim 2, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein in the third direction, the middle mounting portion and one side of each of the side mounting portions are located on a same plane (see annotated Dengler fig. 5 above, the recited middle mounting portion and the two side mounting portions are disposed on the same plane along the recited third direction); or
in the third direction, two ends of the middle mounting portion are raised with respect to the two side mounting portions (Kato fig. 4, two ends of the ridge portion 6 [corresponds to the recited middle mounting portion] are raised so that its thickness is greater than the thickness of the two side mounting portions as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above); or
in the third direction, a first end of the middle mounting portion is raised with respect to the two side mounting portions and a second end of the middle mounting portion is recessed with respect to the two side mounting portions.
Regarding claim 3, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein in the second direction, a wall thickness of each of the fixing rings of the middle mounting portion is greater than a wall thickness of each of the fixing rings of the two side mounting portions.
Kato teaches, in fig. 4, a wall thickness of the recited fixing rings where the brush bundles 4 are integrally fixed in the ridge portion 6 [corresponds to the recited middle mounting portion] near a neck section 2 is greater that a wall thickness of the fixing rings of the two side mounting portions. Figs. 1-6 of Kato show the ridge portion 6 can be in various configurations, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato to provide the thicker wall to each fixing rings of the middle mounting portion. The ridge portion of Kato is the raised portion. The bigger ridge portion in width would prevent the brush head from being bent so that brushing force is maintained for effective brushing in an oral cavity (Kato English translation, p. 4:34-5:2).
Regarding claim 4, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein when being subjected to a brushing force, a deformation quantity of the middle mounting portion is less than a deformation quantity of each of the side mounting portions. (Kato English translation, p. 4:34-5:2, Kato teaches the ridge portion 6 [corresponds to the middle mounting portion], in fig. 4, prevents the brush head from being bent. Thus, it results is less deformation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato to provide the less deformation of the middle mounting portion as taught by Kato so that brushing force is maintained for effective brushing in an oral cavity (Kato English translation, p. 4:34-5:2).
Regarding claim 5, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein areas of cross sections of at least part of the fixing rings of the middle mounting portion are different from areas of cross sections of at least part of the fixing rings of the two side mounting portions; and/or shapes of the at least part of the fixing rings of the middle mounting portion are different from shapes of the at least part of the fixing rings of the two side mounting portions (annotated Dengler fig. 5 above, shapes of at least part of the retaining rings 50 [correspond to the recited fixing rings] in the middle mounting portions are different from at least part of the retaining rings in the two side mounting portions).
Regarding claim 6, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the brush plate is integrally formed (annotated Dengler fig. 5 above, all retaining rings 50 in the recited middle and side mounting portions are connected with network connections 91, thus the recited brush plate is integrally formed), and/or the brush rod and the brush plate are integrally formed (Dengler fig. 3A, the recited brush plate and the neck portion 40 [corresponds to the recited brush rod] are integrally formed).
Regarding claim 14, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein ends of the two side mounting portions away from the brush head are connected to surround an end portion of the middle mounting portion (Kato fig. 4(a), two ends of the recited side mounting portions away from the neck portion 2 are connected to surround an end of the ridge portion 6 [corresponds to the recited middle mounting portion]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato to provide the side mounting portions to surround the middle mounting portion as taught by Kato. The side mounting portions are more flexible than the middle mounting portion, thus it can provide good brushing result along a contour of teeth.
Regarding claim 18, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the elastic structure gradually increases from an outer side wall of the brush head to a middle portion of the brush head (Dengler figs. 3A and 3B, the elastic body 30 [corresponds to the recited elastic structure] increase from a distal edge 36 [corresponds to the recited outer side wall] of the brush head toward a middle of the brush head).
Regarding claim 19, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the elastic structure completely wraps connecting pieces disposed between the middle mounting portion and the two side mounting portions (annotated Dengler fig. 5 above and fig. 1B, the elastic body 30 [corresponds to the recited elastic structure] wraps all network connections 91 [correspond to the recited connecting pieces] between the middle and side mounting portions such that the connections 91 are not shown from a rear side of the brush head); and/or the elastic structure completely wraps a connecting piece disposed between the middle mounting portion and the brush rod; and/or the elastic structure completely wraps connecting pieces disposed between the side mounting portions and the brush neck portion.
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dengler in view of Kato, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Gatzemeyer et al. (CN 1703156A, cited on 09/19/2024 IDS, hereinafter Gatzemeyer).
Regarding claim 7, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose at least part of the fixing rings of the middle mounting portion is movable, and/or the middle mounting portion is movable with respect to the brush rod.
Gatzemeyer teaches, in an analogous brush head field of endeavor, at least part of the fixing rings of the middle mounting portion is movable (fig. 2 and 6, Gatzemeyer English translation, p. 9:8-13, a tuft block 38 having the recited fixing rings to fix toothbrush tuft 40 can move as shown by arrows 46. By combining with Dengler, the retaining rings 50 of the recited middle mounting portion can be movable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato to provide the fixing rings of the middle mounting portion to be movable as taught by Gatzemeyer. The toothbrush with moving tufts has good brushing, polishing, and whitening effect (Gatzemeyer English translation, p. 3:32-35).
Regarding claim 12, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the at least part of the fixing rings of the two side mounting portions is connected to the middle mounting portion and/or the brush rod (annotated Dengler fig. 5 above, at least part of the fixing rings of the side mounting portions is connected to the middle mounting portion), but does not disclose at least part of the fixing rings of the two side mounting portions are movable with respect to the brush rod.
Gatzemeyer teaches, in an analogous brush head field of endeavor, at least part of the fixing rings of the two side mounting portions are movable with respect to the brush rod (fig. 2 and 6, Gatzemeyer English translation, p. 9:8-13, a tuft block 38 having the recited fixing rings to fix toothbrush tuft 40 can move as shown by arrows 46. By combining with Dengler, the retaining rings 50 of the recited side mounting portions can be movable with respect to a neck 12 [corresponds to the recited brush rod]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato to provide the fixing rings of the side mounting portion to be movable as taught by Gatzemeyer. The toothbrush with moving tufts has good brushing, polishing, and whitening effect (Gatzemeyer English translation, p. 3:32-35).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dengler in view of Kato, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Varch et al. (CN 110913725A, hereinafter Varch) and Deane et al. (WO 2016/181319A1, hereinafter Deane).
Regarding claim 8, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the middle mounting portion comprises a first fixing ring group and a second fixing ring group; the first fixing ring group is located at an end portion of the middle mounting portion and is connected to the second fixing ring group through a third connecting piece; the first fixing ring group comprises at least one fixing ring; the second fixing ring group comprises a plurality of fixing rings.
Varch teaches, in an analogous brush head field of endeavor, the middle mounting portion comprises a first fixing ring group and a second fixing ring group; the first fixing ring group is located at an end portion of the middle mounting portion and is connected to the second fixing ring group through a third connecting piece; the first fixing ring group comprises at least one fixing ring; the second fixing ring group comprises a plurality of fixing rings (see annotated Varch fig. 4E below for the recited first and second fixing ring groups and the third connecting piece).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato to provide the first and second fixing ring groups and the third connecting piece as taught by Varch. The carrier network of cluster components 20/fixing rings provides a cost effective and efficient production of brush head (Varch English translation, p. 4:34-5:4).
Dengler as modified by Kato and Varch does not disclose explicitly the first fixing ring group is capable of swinging with respect to the second fixing ring group.
Deane teaches, in an analogous toothbrush field of endeavor, the first fixing ring group is capable of swinging with respect to the second fixing ring group (figs. 5B-5E and ¶ 0069-71, a flexible matrix 30” is disposed between bristle tuft retention elements 250 [correspond to the recited fixing rings] and allows the retention elements 250 to move. When combining with Varch, the third connecting piece of Varch can be replaced with the flexible matrix of Deane so that the first fixing ring group is capable of swing with respect to the second ring group. Specification of the instant application presents, for example in ¶ 0103, swinging does not necessarily means rotating, but deforming or moving).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato and Varch to provide the first fixing ring group to be capable of swinging as taught by Deane. It helps keep the bristle tips at an optimum angle with a surface being cleaned for better contact and therefore better cleaning (Deane ¶ 0080).
Annotated Varch Fig. 4E
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dengler in view of Kato, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Deane.
Regarding claim 9, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the middle mounting portion is connected to the brush rod, and/or the middle mounting portion is at least connected to one of the two side mounting portions (annotated Dengler fig. 5 above, the middle mounting portion is connected to the two side mounting portions via the network connections 91), but does not disclose explicitly the middle mounting portion is capable of swinging and/or being deformed with respect to the brush rod.
Deane teaches, in an analogous toothbrush field of endeavor, the middle mounting portion is capable of swinging and/or being deformed with respect to the brush rod (figs. 5B-5E and ¶ 0069-71, a flexible matrix 30” is disposed between bristle tuft retention elements 250 [correspond to the recited fixing rings] and allows the retention elements 250 to move. By combining with Dengler, the middle mounting portion of Dengler would move with respect to the neck portion 40 [corresponds to the recited brush rod]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato to provide the middle mounting portion to be capable of deforming as taught by Deane. It helps keep the bristle tips at an optimum angle with a surface being cleaned for better contact and therefore better cleaning (Deane ¶ 0080).
Regarding claim 10, Dengler as modified by Kato and Deane teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 9, wherein the two side mourning portions are connected to the brush rod (Dengler fig. 1, the recited brush plate is connected to the neck portion 40 [corresponds to the recited brush rod], therefore, the two side mounting portions are connected to the neck portion 40); the middle mounting portion is connected to at least one of the two side mounting portions through at least one first connecting piece (see annotated Dengler fig. 5 above); one end of the middle mounting portion facing the brush neck portion is spaced apart from the brush rod (Kato fig. 1, a head section 1 including the recited middle mounting portion is spaced apart from a hold section 3 [corresponds to the recited brush rod] via a neck section 2 [corresponds to the recited brush neck portion]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato and Deane to provide the middle mounting portion spaced apart from the brush rod as taught by Kato. It provides a length for a brush head to reach inside of an oral cavity for effective cleaning.
Regarding claim 11, Dengler as modified by Kato and Deane teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the at least one first connecting piece comprises a plurality of first connecting pieces; the middle mounting portion is connected to the two side mounting portions through the plurality of first connecting pieces (see annotated Dengler fig. 5 above); the plurality of first connecting pieces are elastically deformable (Deane figs. 5B-5E and ¶ 0069-71, a flexible matrix 30” [corresponds to the recited first connecting piece] is disposed between bristle tuft retention elements 250 [correspond to the recited fixing rings] and allows the retention elements 250 to move); the plurality of first connecting pieces are embedded in the elastic structure to be wrapped by the elastic structure; the plurality of first connecting pieces are not exposed at all, or the plurality of first connecting pieces do not protrude with respect to the elastic structure (annotated Dengler fig. 5 above and fig. 1B, the elastic body 30 [corresponds to the recited elastic structure] wraps all network connections 91 [correspond to the recited first connecting pieces] between the middle and side mounting portions such that the connections 91 are not shown from a rear side of the brus head).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dengler in view of Kato and Gatzemeyer, as applied to claim 12, and in further view of Varch.
Regarding claim 13, Dengler as modified by Kato and Gatzemeyer teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 12, but does not disclose at least one of the two side mounting portions comprises portions disposed at intervals; the portions thereof comprise corresponding fixing rings, a first one of the portions thereof is connected to the brush rod, and a second one of the portions thereof is connected to the middle mounting portion through at least one first connecting piece.
Varch teaches, in an analogous brush head field of endeavor, at least one of the two side mounting portions comprises portions disposed at intervals; the portions thereof comprise corresponding fixing rings, a first one of the portions thereof is connected to the brush rod, and a second one of the portions thereof is connected to the middle mounting portion through at least one first connecting piece (annotated Varch fig. 4E above, a carrier web 28 [corresponds to the recited brush plate] comprises the recited middle mounting portion and two side mounting portions similar to the brush plate of Dengler. The side mounting portions comprises portions disposed at intervals. Each portion comprises one or two cluster components 20 [correspond to the recited fixing rings]; fig. 1, one portion would be connected to a neck 40 [corresponds to the recited brush rod] and another portion is connected to the recited middle mounting portion through the recited connecting piece).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato and Gatzemeyer to provide the portions at intervals as taught by Varch. The carrier network provides a cost effective and efficient production of brush head (Varch English translation, p. 4:34-5:4).
Dengler as modified by Kato, Gatzemeyer, and Varch teaches the at least one first connecting piece is embedded in the elastic structure to be wrapped by the elastic structure; the at least one first connecting piece is not exposed at all, or the at least one first connecting piece does not protrude with respect to the elastic structure (annotated Dengler fig. 5 above and fig. 1B, the elastic body 30 [corresponds to the recited elastic structure] wraps all network connections 91 [correspond to the recited first connecting pieces] between the middle and side mounting portions such that the connections 91 are not shown from a rear side of the brus head);
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dengler in view of Kato, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Tao et al. (CN 112890410A, cited on 09/19/2024 IDS, hereinafter Tao).
Regarding claim 15, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the brush head comprises recessed portions; each of the recessed portions is formed at a connection portion of each two fixing rings connected to each other.
Tao teaches, in an analogous toothbrush field of endeavor, the brush head comprises recessed portions; each of the recessed portions is formed at a connection portion of each two fixing rings connected to each other (Tao English translation, p. 4:27-35 and fig. 1, a brush head 1 comprises flow channels 4 [correspond to the recited recessed portions] formed between a plurality of round convex 3 [corresponds to the recited fixing ring]. The connections are formed between two fixing rings as shown in Dengler fig. 5, therefore, the flow channels are formed at the recited connection portion of the fixing rings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato to provide the recessed portions as taught by Tao so that debris between the fixing rings are easily washed. The recessed portions also enhance ventilation property for easy drying of the toothbrush (Tao English translation, p. 5:25-31).
Dengler as modified by Kato and Tao teaches in the second direction, each of the recessed portions of the middle mounting portion directly faces an outer peripheral wall of a corresponding fixing ring of one of the two side mounting portions; and/or each of the recessed portions of the two side mounting portions directly faces an outer peripheral wall of a corresponding fixing ring of the middle mounting portion (annotated Dengler fig. 5 above, an wall of a fixing ring in the middle mounting portion faces an outer peripheral wall of the fixing ring in the side mounting portion. By combining with Tao, the flow channels [corresponds to the recessed portions] are formed between the walls of the fixing rings of the middle mounting portion and the side mounting portion to face the walls of the fixing rings of the middle mounting portion and the side mounting portion).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dengler in view of Kato, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Imai (JP 2021007555A, cited on 09/19/20024 IDS).
Regarding claim 16, Dengler as modified by Kato teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the fixing rings comprise bristle fixing holes; each of the bristle fixing holes runs through a corresponding fixing ring in the third direction; at least one of the bristle fixing holes comprises a middle section and two end sections; the middle section and the end sections are disposed in the third direction; the middle section is communicated with the end sections; at least part of areas of cross sections of the end sections gradually decreases in a direction toward the middle section.
Imai teaches, in an analogous toothbrush field of endeavor, the fixing rings comprise bristle fixing holes; each of the bristle fixing holes runs through a corresponding fixing ring in the third direction; at least one of the bristle fixing holes comprises a middle section and two end sections; the middle section and the end sections are disposed in the third direction; the middle section is communicated with the end sections; at least part of areas of cross sections of the end sections gradually decreases in a direction toward the middle section (fig. 3(b) and Imai English translation, p. 4:32-41, a hair-implanted hole 10 [corresponds to the recited bristle fixing hole] runs through the recited fixing ring in a vertical direction [corresponds to the recited third direction]. The hole 10 comprises a middle section and two end sections wherein a diameter of the hole decreases toward the middle section such that a diameter D3 is the smallest diameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato to provide the bristle fixing holes as taught by Imai. The hair-implanted holes 10 of Imai hold hair bundles 22 according to situation to achieve good usability and cleanability in efficient plaque removal (Imai English translation, p. 2:28-3:2).
Regarding claim 17, Dengler as modified by Kato and Imai teaches the brush head as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein in the third direction, areas of cross sections of the middle section are equal to each other (Imai fig. 3(b), a cross-sectional area of the middle section of the hair-implanted hole 10 is constant. Examiner notes claim does not define a length of the middle section. A length of the middle section of Imai is short, but the cross-sectional area is constant regardless of the length of the middle section).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler as modified by Kato and Imai to provide the equal cross section area in the middle section as taught by Imai. The middle section of Imai has the smallest diameter, and it can help holding the bristles securely.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dengler et al. (CN 106132240A, cited on 09/19/2024 IDS, hereinafter Dengler), in view of Kato et al. (JP H09252841A, cited on 09/19/2024 IDS, hereinafter Kato) and Deane et al. (WO 2016/181319A1, hereinafter Deane).
Regarding claim 20, Dengler discloses a toothbrush, comprising:
a brush head (fig. 1A, a brush head assembly 100);
wherein the brush head comprises a brush rod (fig. 1A, neck portion 40), a brush plate (fig. 5, a network connection of retaining rings 50 and connections 91), and an elastic structure (fig. 1A, elastic body 30);
the brush rod extends in a first direction; the brush plate is disposed on the brush rod (see fig. 1A and annotated Dengler fig. 5 above); the brush plate comprises a middle mounting portion and two side mounting portions; the two side mounting portions are respectively disposed on two sides of the middle mounting portion in a second direction; at least one of the middle mounting portion and the two side mounting portions is connected to the brush neck portion (fig. 1A and annotated Dengler fig. 5 above, the network of retainer rings 50 [correspond to the recited brush plate] is disposed at a neck plate 42 [corresponds to the recited brush neck portion]);
wherein the middle mounting portion and the two side mounting portions comprise fixing rings configured to mount bristle bundles (fig. 2B and Dengler English translation, p. 11:4-17, the retaining ring 50s [corresponds to the recited fixing ring] of the recited brush plate retain a plurality of bristle bundles 21); the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction are perpendicular to each other (see annotated Dengler fig. 5 above); the elastic structure is wrapped around outer peripheral walls of the fixing rings (figs. 1A, 2B, 3A, and 3B, the elastic body 30 [corresponds to the recite elastic structure] wraps an outer peripheral wall of the retaining rings 50), but does not disclose a thickness of each of the fixing rings of the middle mounting portion is greater than a thickness of each of the fixing rings of the two side mounting portion in the direction.
Kato teaches, in an analogous toothbrush field of endeavor, a thickness of each of the fixing rings of the middle mounting portion is greater than a thickness of each of the fixing rings of the two side mounting portion in the third direction (fig. 4(a)(b), Kato discloses a brush head portion 1 having brush bundles 4 wherein the head portion comprises a ridge portion 6 [corresponds to the recited middle mounting portion] and two side mounting portions. A thickness of the middle ridge portion 6 is greater than a thickness of the other side brush head portions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brush head of Dengler to provide the thickness of the middle mounting portion to be greater as taught by Kato. It prevents the brush head from being bent so that brushing force is maintained for effective brushing in an oral cavity (Kato English translation, p. 4:34-5:2).
Dengler as modified by Kato does not disclose the toothbrush comprises a brush handle.
Deane teaches, in an analogous toothbrush field of endeavor, the toothbrush comprises a brush handle (fig. 1 and ¶ 0036, a personal care appliance 10 comprises a brush had assembly 100 and a handle 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the toothbrush of Dengler as modified by Kato to provide the brush handle as taught by Deane. The handle of Deane allows the brush head assembly to be removed and replaced by another brush head assembly (Deane ¶ 0036).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schaiper (US 4,864,676) disclose a tooth brush comprising a flexible brush head.
Dengler (WO 2022/106249A1) discloses a brush head comprising a plurality of portions.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723