DETAILED ACTION
Interview
Applicant’s representative Attorney Eustace Isidore sent an email to Examiner on 2/12/2026 requesting conduct an interview for instant application. Examiner called attorney Eustace Isidore and both agree to conduct an interview on 2/19/2026 1pm ET.
Attorney Eustace Isidore sent an interview agenda to Examiner on 2/18/2026. Examiner diligently reviewing interview agenda and preparing for the interview.
Examiner expecting a phone call from attorney on 2/19/2026 1pm ET to conduct an interview. Examiner did not receive phone call from attorney.
Examiner called attorney Eustace Isidore’s office 512-617-5525 on 2/19/2026 1:08 pm ET and left a voice mail asking Attorney’s call back to conduct interview.
However, Examiner did not receive any message from attorney regarding the interview.
Examiner attached conversation history for reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “in response to detecting that the first housing is in an angled position to the second housing, present display content from the second portion of the folding display within a display of the second electronic device.”
Applicant’s remark on page 8 note “Support for the claim amendment can be found at least at paragraph [0031].”
[0031] discloses
I/O subsystem 146 may include internal input devices 174 such as microphone 176, front and back image capturing device(s) 115 and 178, and touch input devices 180 (e.g., screens, keys, or buttons). I/O subsystem 146 may include internal output devices 182 such as folding display 114, audio output devices 184, lights 186, vibratory or haptic output devices 188, and back display 227. Internal input devices 182 may also include sensors such as pivot sensor 192 that detects and reports to processor one or more states of foldable housing 108, from among: (i) fully folded, (ii) partially unfolded; and (iii) fully unfolded. Pivot sensor 192 may detect one or more discrete values or a continuous range of values corresponding to different angles between first and second housings 109-110.
[0031] discloses “pivot sensor 192 that detects and reports to processor one or more states of foldable housing 108, from among: (i) fully folded, (ii) partially unfolded; and (iii) fully unfolded”.
However, [0031] does not disclose “in response to detecting that the first housing is in an angled position to the second housing, present display content from the second portion of the folding display within a display of the second electronic device”.
Therefore, claim 1 fails to comply with written description requirement.
Claims 8, 15 have same issues.
All dependent claims depends on claims 1, 8, 15 have same issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (WO 2024034851 A1, filed: 8/23/2022, Assignee: Samsung) in view of Koh et al. (KR 20250032763 A, Filed :11/7/2023, Assignee: Samsung).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses “A first electronic device, comprising:
a foldable housing (Fig. 16c, housing of electronic device 200 [0139]) comprising a first housing, (Fig. 16c, housing near numeral 223 [0139]) a second housing (Fig. 16c, housing near numeral 225 [0139]); and a hinge coupling the first housing to the second housing, (Fig 15, 16a, 16b, 16c, [0127] the electronic device (200) and displayed by folding based on a hinge) the first housing pivotable about the hinge relative to the second housing ([0127] [0129] [0135]) between a folded closed position ([0134]) and an unfolded open position, (Fig 15, 16a, 16b, 16c, [0127] The first display (220) may include an internal display (223) that is positioned inside the electronic device (200) and unfolds by unfolding based on a hinge) the foldable housing configured for angled positioning on a support surface the angled positioning comprising the second housing positioned on and aligned with the support surface and the first housing oriented away from the support surface; (Fig 15, 16c, [0129] [0135])
a folding display (Fig 15, 16a, 16b, 16c, display 220 [0129] [0134]) comprising a first portion positioned on an inward side of the first housing (Fig 15, 16a, 16b, 16c, display 223) and a second portion positioned on an inward side of the second housing; (Fig 15, 16a, 16b, 16c, display 225)
a communications subsystem; a communications subsystem; (Fig 15, 16a, 16b, 16c, [0026] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an electronic device (101) within a network environment (100) according to one embodiment of the present disclosure. Referring to FIG. 1, in a network environment (100), an electronic device (101) may communicate with an electronic device (102) through a first network (198) (e.g., a short-range wireless communication network), or may communicate with at least one of an electronic device (104) or a server (108) through a second network (199) (e.g., a long-range wireless communication network). According to one embodiment, the electronic device (101) can communicate with the electronic device (104) via the server (108). [0042] The communication module (190) can support the establishment of a direct (e.g., wired) communication channel or a wireless communication channel between the electronic device (101) and an external electronic device (e.g., electronic device (102), electronic device (104), or server (108)), and the performance of communication through the established communication channel.
[0042] The communication module (190) operates independently of the processor (120) (e.g., application processor) and may include one or more communication processors that support direct (e.g., wired) communication or wireless communication.
According to one embodiment, the communication module (190) may include a wireless communication module (192) (e.g., a cellular communication module, a short-range wireless communication module, or a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) communication module) or a wired communication module (194) (e.g., a local area network (LAN) communication module, or a power line communication module). Any of these communication modules may communicate with an external electronic device (104) via a first network (198) (e.g., a short-range communication network such as Bluetooth, WiFi (wireless fidelity) direct, or IrDA (infrared data association)) or a second network (199) (e.g., a long-range communication network such as a legacy cellular network, a 5G network, a next-generation communication network, the Internet, or a computer network (e.g., a LAN or WAN)). These different types of communication modules may be integrated into a single component (e.g., a single chip) or implemented as multiple separate components (e.g., multiple chips). The wireless communication module (192) can verify or authenticate an electronic device (101) within a communication network, such as a first network (198) or a second network (199), using subscriber information (e.g., international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI)) stored in the subscriber identification module (196).) and
a controller (Fig. 16c, [0026] a processor (120)) communicatively coupled to the folding display and the communications subsystem, ([0042]) and which configures the first electronic device to:
connect, via the communications subsystem ([0042]), to the second electronic device; (Fig. 4, device 200 connect to device 300)
present a first logical display portion on the first portion of the folding display (Fig 16a, 16b, 16c, display 223) and a second logical display portion on the second portion of the folding display; (Fig 16a, 16b, 16c, display 225, Claim does not define “a first logical display portion” and “a second logical display portion” are same or different or overlapping logical display portion ) and
Jung does not disclose “in response to detecting that the first housing is in an angled position to the second housing, present display content from the second portion of the folding display within a display of the second electronic device”.
Koh discloses “in response to detecting that the first housing is in an angled position to the second housing, present display content from the second portion of the folding display within a display of the second electronic device”. (Fig. 4c discloses angle 441, Fig 6B, [0046] [0047] [0048] [0049] [0062] [0065])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate angle by Koh into device of Jung. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve efficiency. (Koh: [0066])
Regarding claims 6, 13, Jung and Koh disclose further comprising a pivot sensor communicatively coupled to the controller wherein the controller configures the first electronic device to detect the folding display being in the angled position based on position or movement input from the pivot sensor. (Jung [0026] [0027]]
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 is rejected for same reason as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected for same reason as claim 1.
Claims 2 – 5, 9 – 12, 16 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (WO 2024034851 A1, Filed: 8/23/2022, Assignee: Samsung) in view of Koh et al. (KR 20250032763 A, Filed :11/7/2023, Assignee: Samsung) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20220221910 A1, Assignee: Samsung, Filed: 1/11/2022).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 16, Jung and Koh do not disclose wherein the controller configures the first electronic device to: assign visible user interface (UI) content of a first application as the first logical display portion presented within the first portion of the folding display;
Lee discloses wherein the controller configures the first electronic device to: assign visible user interface (UI) content of a first application as the first logical display portion presented within the first portion of the folding display; (Lee Figs 5, 7, [0085] – [0090]) and
assign input controls of the first application as the second logical display portion presented within the second portion of the folding display. (Lee Figs 5, 7, [0085] – [0090])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate user interface by Lee into device of Jung and Koh. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide user’s convenience to assign user content. (Lee: [0085])
Regarding claims 3, 10, 17, Jung and Koh do not disclose wherein the controller configures the first electronic device to: assign first user interface (UI) features of a first application as the first logical display portion presented within the first portion of the folding display; and
assign second UI features of a second application as the second logical display portion presented within the second portion of the folding display.
Lee discloses wherein the controller configures the first electronic device to: assign first user interface (UI) features of a first application as the first logical display portion presented within the first portion of the folding display; (Lee Figs 5, 7, [0086] – [0089] [0092] [0110] – [0114]) and
assign second UI features of a second application as the second logical display portion presented within the second portion of the folding display. (Lee Figs 5, 7, [0086] – [0089] [0092] [0110] – [0114])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate user interface by Lee into device of Jung and Koh. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide user’s convenience to assign user content. (Lee: [0085])
Regarding claims 4, 11, 18, Jung and Koh do not disclose
wherein the controller configures the first electronic device to: in response to receiving, from the second electronic device via the communications subsystem, a pointer input directed to the second portion of the folding display:
present the second logical display portion on the first portion of the folding display; and
present the first logical display portion on the second portion of the folding display.
Lee discloses wherein the controller configures the first electronic device to: in response to receiving, from the second electronic device via the communications subsystem, a pointer input directed to the second portion of the folding display: (Lee Figs 5, 7, [0085] – [0090])
present the second logical display portion on the first portion of the folding display; (Lee Figs 5, 7, [0086] – [0089] [0092] [0110] – [0114]) and
present the first logical display portion on the second portion of the folding display. (Lee Figs 5, 7, [0086] – [0089] [0092] [0110] – [0114])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate user interface by Lee into device of Jung and Koh. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide user’s convenience to assign user content. (Lee: [0085])
Regarding claims 5, 12, 19, Jung and Koh do not disclose
wherein the controller configures the first electronic device to:
receive, while universal input control is enabled, an indication of user input received by the second electronic device via an input control device connected to the second electronic device directed to a first content portion of the second logical display portion; and
perform an action corresponding to the user input and affecting an application associated with the first content portion.
Lee discloses wherein the controller configures the first electronic device to:
receive, while universal input control is enabled, an indication of user input received by the second electronic device via an input control device connected to the second electronic device directed to a first content portion of the second logical display portion; (Lee Figs 5, 7, [0085] – [0090]) and
perform an action corresponding to the user input and affecting an application associated with the first content portion. (Lee [0086] [0098])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate user interface by Lee into device of Jung and Koh. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide user’s convenience to assign user content. (Lee: [0085])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objection(s), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 - 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUN-NAN LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629