DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 16, 18, 21, 23-25, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 9975327), in view of Ookubo et al. (US 2013/0000499) and Codos (US 2002/0024544).
Regarding to claims 2, 16, 18, 21, 23-24, 27:
Yang et al. discloses a computer-implemented method for printing a pattern on a curved surface of a substrate (FIGs. 5B and 7C, element WATER BOTTLE) placed in a printing position to be printed by a printhead (FIGs. 5B and 7C, element PRINT HEAD) of an inkjet printing device, wherein the printhead is as one single component with a plurality of printing nozzles (FIGs. 5B and 7C, element PRINT HEAD), the method comprising:
placing the substrate in a printing position to be printed on by the printhead, wherein the printhead and the substrate are stationary to each other after the substrate has been placed in the printing position and during the printing process (FIGs. 5B and 7C: The printhead and the water bottle are in the printing position to face each other, wherein during the printing, the printhead and the bottle are stationary),
determining at least one printing parameter value while the spectacle lens substrate in the printing position faces the printhead (FIG. 3: The individual jet time (328) reads on the claimed printing parameter value);
grouping the plurality of printing nozzles into at least two printing nozzle groups (column 5, lines 45-50: The printing nozzles are grouped at least in two groups: Group I: Ejectors that are further from the object. Group II: Ejectors that are closer to the object); and
individually determining the printing parameter value for at least one adjustable printing parameter of each printing nozzle group (column 5, lines 45-50: The time to fire each nozzle group (closer and further) is individually controlled so that ink drops ejected from the groups are landing on the curved surface about the same time),
wherein a number of printing nozzles depends on geometric features of the substrate facing the printhead (FIG. 5A-B: Due to the curve of the bottle surface, the distance h(x,y) from each nozzle of the printhead surface to the bottle surface is difference; as a result, each nozzle is considered as a nozzle group having a distinct distance to the bottle surface), and
wherein the at least two printing nozzle groups are configured to print the pattern within a single printing pass (column 5, lines 35-50 and FIG. 5B: The plurality of printing nozzles are configured to print within a single printing pass but at different firing timing to compensate for the difference in the distance).
Yang et al. even though teaches obtaining at least some of the geometric features of the substrate before the substrate has been placed in the printing position (FIG. 2). In other words, in Yang’s printing apparatus, the sensor for sensing the bottle surface and the printhead are arranged in a manner that does not allow deriving the geometric features of the substrate after the substrate has been placed in the printing position.
Codos discloses an inkjet printing apparatus comprising an inkjet printhead to eject inkdrops on a curved surface (FIG. 2A: The printhead 30 having a nozzle 41 jetting inkdrops on the curve surface 16). The inkjet printhead comprises sensors for sensing the curved surface to provide the geometric feature of the curved surface when the curved surface is placed facing the printhead for printing purpose (FIG. 2A: The sensors 40b detect the curved surface 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to modify Yang’s printhead to attach the sensors for sensing the substrate/object surface to the printhead surface in order to sense the substrate/object surface and adjust the printhead printing operation accordingly during the printing operation to gain the printing quality as disclosed by Codos (FIG. 2A).
Yang et al. even though teaches the inkjet printing process for forming images on a curved surface, Yang et al. is silent wherein the curved surface is the curved surface of a spectacle lens substrate.
Ookuto et al. discloses a printing process for performing printing images from a printhead on a curved surface of a spectacle lens substrate (FIG. 8A-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to use Yang’s printing process to form images on the spectacle lens substrate as disclosed by Ookuto et al. Beside, it is just an intended use to use Yang’s printing process to form images on the spectacle lens substrate, such intended use does not carry patentable weight however.
Regarding to claims 3, 16, 24-25: wherein the at least one adjustable printing parameter is selected from the group consisting of an ejection temperature, a jetting duration, a jetting frequency, a norm value, a wave form parameter, and an adjustable ink property (Yang et al.: The firing timing for each printing nozzle is one of parameters of a waveform that is adjusted depending on the distance from a nozzle to the curved printing surface), wherein the printing parameter value for the at least one adjustable printing parameter of each printing nozzle group is individually determined such that a tilt angle of the printhead relative to the surface of the spectacle lens substrate does not have to be adjusted prior to printing and/or during printing (Both Ookubo et al. and Yang et al. do not teach tilting the printhead relative to the curve surface prior or during printing).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LAM S NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853