DETAILED ACTION
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-9, drawn to a device, classified in A61B 17/3421.
II. Claims 10-14, drawn to a system, classified in A61B 17/3421.
III. Claims 15-20, drawn to a method, classified in A61B 17/00234.
Groups I and II are related as combination-subcombination but the restrictions cannot be performed between these two groups since the combination requires the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability therefore, these both groups are combined into one.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions Groups I, II and Group III are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case, the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product such as placing the flexible tip at the wound to aspirate the fluid.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) The inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching
different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) The prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Upon election of either Groups I/II or Group III, the application contains the following disclosed patentably distinct species:
Species A: Figures 4A-4D
Species B: Figures 5A-5D
Species C: Figures 6A-6B
Species D: Figure 7A
Species E: Figure 7B
The species are independent or distinct because each embodiment is referring to different features/structures of the tips. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply:
The species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries)
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or a grouping of patentably indistinct species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the species to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Michael Martensen on 6/24/2026 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of Groups I, II, Species A claims 1-4 and 7-14. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 5, 6 and 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Additionally claim 11 appears to be reading over the non-elected species and applicant is requested to review the inclusion of claim 11 in the examination. For examination purposes, examiner has examined claim 11.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the lumen” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the recitation “wherein the tip is fixedly attached to a rigid cannula” renders the claim indefinite because the claim 1 upon which claim 9 depends recites “the tip is removably attached to a rigid cannula” in line 6. Therefore, the claim is unclear regarding how the tip can be fixedly attached and removably attached at the same time. For examination purposes, examiner construes that “fixedly attached” refers to a connection that can be removed only when the operator wants to remove instead of getting removed during the surgical procedure. Additionally, the recitation of “a rigid cannula” in claim 9 renders the claim indefinite because the claim is unclear if “a rigid cannula” is same as “a rigid cannula” recited in claim 1 or additional. For examination purposes, examiner construes “a rigid cannula” in claim 9 being same as “a rigid cannula” recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yarger (US 2007/0203449 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yarger teaches a device (figure 1) for laparoscopic surgery, comprising: a tip 40 having a main port 62 (figure 4B) at a distal end 45, a proximal port (opening in element 40 that allows insertion of element 40 over element 14) at a proximal end 43, a lumen (hollow portion inside element 40) extending from the main port 62 to the proximal port, a flexible and non-conductive wall (paragraph 0043, polymeric or plastic are non-conductive wall), and an attachment area (paragraph 0041, attachment that allows attaching element 40 to element 14 or 26) extending from the proximal end toward the distal end (elements 47, 52 are extending toward the distal end);
wherein the wall (wall of element 40) includes a preformed shape (shape of element 40); and
wherein the tip 40 is removably attached to a rigid cannula 14 (paragraph 0036, lines 11-15, “rigid”) of a laparoscopic device (figure 1 including device connected to element 38), the laparoscopic device being configured to perform suction or irrigation at a surgical site (paragraph 0036, lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 2, Yarger teaches wherein the attachment area (paragraph 0041) fits around the rigid cannula 14 (see figure 1), and an inner surface (inner surface of element 40) of the flexible wall (wall of element 40) mechanically interacts with the outer surface (outer surface of element 14) of the cannula 14.
Regarding claim 4, Yarger teaches wherein the preformed shape (shape of element 40) includes one of the following: a straight shape (see figure 4A); a 180 degree curve; a 90 degree curve; a 45 degree curve.
Regarding claim 7, Yarger teaches further comprising a specialized terminal section that includes one of: a Frazier tip (paragraph 0034, lines 9-13), or a Poole tip.
Regarding claim 9, Yarger teaches wherein the tip 40 is fixedly attached to a rigid cannula 14, and wherein the rigid cannula 14 is removably attached to the laparoscopic device (paragraph 0036, lines 1-11, due to presence of element 24, element 14 could be removably connected to the laparoscopic device).
Regarding claim 10, Yarger teaches a system (figure 1) for laparoscopic surgery, comprising:
a laparoscopic device (figure 1 including device connected to element 38, paragraph 0036, lines 1-11) configured to perform suction or irrigation at a surgical site;
a tip 40 having a main port 62 (figure 4B), a proximal port (opening in element 40 that allows insertion of element 40 over element 14), a lumen (hollow portion inside element 40) extending from the main port 62 to the proximal port, and a flexible (paragraph 0043), wherein the flexible wall has a shape (shape of element 40) for facilitating access to the surgical site) and wherein the tip 40 is removably (paragraph 0041, lines 1-3) attached to a laparoscopic device (figure 1 including device connected to element 38), and one of the following coupled to the laparoscopic device: a vacuum source for supplying a suction force (paragraph 0036, lines 1-11) or a fluid source for supplying a fluid.
Regarding claim 11, Yarger discloses wherein the tip 40 further comprises one or more venting ports 60 configured to allow the transit of fluid and/or debris (paragraph 0056, lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 12, Yarger teaches the tip further comprising a specialized terminal section that is located near the main port that includes one of: a Frazier tip (paragraph 0034, lines 9-13), or a Poole tip.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moran (WO 02/064192 A1) in view of Kucklick et al. (US 2005/0043682 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moran discloses a device (figure 1) for laparoscopic surgery, comprising:
a tip 5 (figure 2) having a main port (see “P” in figure 2 below) at a distal end (see “D” in figure 2 below), a proximal port (see “PP” in figure 2 below) at a proximal end (end where element “PP” in figure 2 below is present), a lumen (hollow portion inside element 5) extending from the main port (see “P” in figure 2 below) to the proximal port (see “PP” in figure 2 below), a wall (wall of element 5), and an attachment area (area of portion of element 5 attaching to element 4) extending from the proximal end toward the distal end;
wherein the wall includes a preformed shape (shape of wall of element 5); and
wherein the tip is attached to a rigid cannula 4 (page 2, lines 14, “rigid”) of a laparoscopic device (figures 1-4), the laparoscopic device being configured to perform suction or irrigation at a surgical site (page 2, lines 1-4).
Moran is silent regarding a wall being a flexible and non-conductive and the tip is removably attached to a rigid cannula.
However, Kucklick teaches a design of a flexible plastic cannula (figure 7) comprising a wall being a flexible and non-conductive (paragraph 0044, lines 1-8) and the tip 102 is removably attached to a rigid cannula 103 (paragraph 0040, lines 1-4) for the purpose of preventing accidental trauma to the patient during a surgical procedure (paragraph 0044, lines 1-8) and to establish a connection between the tip and the rigid cannula using a well-known attachment means (paragraph 0040, lines 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the wall and the attachment of the tip with the rigid cannula of Moran to incorporate a wall being a flexible and non-conductive and the tip is removably attached to a rigid cannula as taught by Kucklick for the purpose of preventing accidental trauma to the patient during a surgical procedure (paragraph 0044, lines 1-8) and to establish a connection between the tip and the rigid cannula using a well-known attachment means (paragraph 0040, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Moran discloses wherein the preformed shape (shape of element 2) includes one of the following: a straight shape (see figure 2); a 180 degree curve; a 90 degree curve; a 45 degree curve.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moran (WO 02/064192 A1) in view of Kucklick et al. (US 2005/0043682 A1) and further in view of Riddick (US 4,022,218).
Regarding claim 2, Moran/Kucklick (hereinafter referred as “modified Moran”) discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Modified Moran is silent regarding wherein the attachment area fits around the rigid cannula, and an inner surface of the flexible wall mechanically interacts with the outer surface of the cannula.
However, Riddick teaches a design of a surgical suction tube (figure 2) wherein the attachment area (area of element 20 comprising element 28) fits around the cannula, 10 and an inner surface (inner surface of element 20) of the flexible wall (wall of element 20) mechanically (column 3, lines 19-21) interacts with the outer surface (outer surface of element 10) of the cannula 10 for the purpose of using a secure connection means that prevents disconnection between the two components when performing medical procedure (column 3, lines 19-25).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the attachment area of modified Moran to incorporate wherein the attachment area fits around the rigid cannula, and an inner surface of the flexible wall mechanically interacts with the outer surface of the cannula as taught by Riddick for the purpose of using a secure connection means that prevents disconnection between the two components when performing medical procedure (column 3, lines 19-25).
Regarding claim 3, modified Moran discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. While modified Moran does not explicitly recite wherein the attachment area fits inside the lumen of the rigid cannula, and an outer surface of the flexible wall mechanically interacts with the inner surface of the rigid cannula, one can construe from figures 1 and 2 of Moran that element 5 is connecting to element 4 via the attachment area that fits inside the lumen of the rigid cannula and an outer surface of the flexible wall mechanically interacts with the inner surface of the rigid cannula.
Additionally, Riddick teaches wherein the attachment area (area of element 10 that gets inserted into the element 32) fits inside the lumen of the cannula 30, and an outer surface (outer surface of element 10) of the wall (wall of element 10) mechanically interacts (column 3, lines 36-44) with the inner surface of the cannula (inner surface of element 30) for the purpose of having a secure yet easily detachable connection between the flexible wall and the rigid cannula (column 3, lines 36-44).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the attachment area of modified Moran to incorporate wherein the attachment area fits inside the lumen of the rigid cannula, and an outer surface of the flexible wall mechanically interacts with the inner surface of the rigid cannula as taught by Riddick for the purpose of having a secure yet easily detachable connection between the flexible wall and the rigid cannula (column 3, lines 36-44).
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yarger (US 2007/0203449 A1) in view of Giovannini et al. (US 2010/0160731 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yarger discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Yarger is silent regarding further comprising one or more fiducial markers to aid visibility or placement of the tip during a surgical procedure.
However, Giovannini teaches a design of a catheter (figure 5) further comprising one or more fiducial markers 503 to aid visibility or placement of the tip during a surgical procedure for the purpose of facilitating the navigation in the body during the surgical procedure (paragraph 0026, lines 5-11).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the tip of Yarger to incorporate further comprising one or more fiducial markers to aid visibility or placement of the tip during a surgical procedure as taught by Giovannini for the purpose of facilitating the navigation in the body during the surgical procedure (paragraph 0026, lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 13, Yarger discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 10. Yarger is silent regarding the tip further comprising fiducial markers to improve visibility or placement of the tip during a surgical procedure.
However, Giovannini teaches a design of a catheter (figure 5) including the tip (tip shown in figure 5) further comprising fiducial markers 503 to improve visibility or placement of the tip during a surgical procedure for the purpose of facilitating the navigation in the body during the surgical procedure (paragraph 0026, lines 5-11).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the tip of Yarger to incorporate further comprising fiducial markers to improve visibility or placement of the tip during a surgical procedure as taught by Giovannini for the purpose of facilitating the navigation in the body during the surgical procedure (paragraph 0026, lines 5-11).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yarger (US 2007/0203449 A1) in view of Ellman et al. (US 5,196,007).
Regarding claim 14, Yarger discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 10. Yarger is silent regarding wherein the system is useable concurrently with one or more laparoscopic instruments.
However, one can construe that Yarger is capable to be useable concurrently with one or more laparoscopic instrument if the instrument is separate from the system and operable by itself.
Additionally, Ellman teaches a design of a laparoscopic device (figure 3) wherein the system 30 is useable concurrently with one or more laparoscopic instruments (instrument in hand 70 in figure 3, column 5, lines 34-48) for the purpose of employing the use of other laparoscopic device as needed when performing the medical procedure (column 5, lines 34-48).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yarger to incorporate wherein the system is useable concurrently with one or more laparoscopic instruments as taught by Ellman for the purpose of employing the use of other laparoscopic device as needed when performing the medical procedure (column 5, lines 34-48).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Berger (US 2,742,701), Fergusson et al. (US 3,658,053), Sharp et al. (US 4,068,664), Bicakei et al. (US 2006/0100605 A1): discloses a design of a catheter including tip attached to the distal end of the catheter.
/NILAY J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783