DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 06/19/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention.
or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section
122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another
inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1-10, 12-15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAO et al. (US-20210376888-A1) hereinafter “CAO”.
Regarding Claim 1,
CAO discloses, ‘An apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories; and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a superimposed signal over a set of time frequency resources, the superimposed signal corresponding to a group common downlink control information (GC-DCI), the superimposed signal comprising a combination of a plurality of sequences’ (A wireless device configured to decode a group-common physical downlink control channel for group of UE comprises a target UE related to MIMO transmission control channel; decode UE-specific PDCCH target user and other UE in the group-UEs are superposed on same transmission resource to be transmitted, disclosure Claim 1. In Fig. 21 and Fig. 22 the group DCI received by the UE at 2104. At 2105 transmit downlink data to a group of UE in the time-frequency resource [0273]. And From GC-PDCCH received superposed signal flow according to control information [0281] and on the same time-frequency resource [0282].);
And discloses, ‘detect, among the plurality of sequences, at least one sequence of a first set of sequences associated with the apparatus’ (In Fig. 21, 2105 transmit downlink data to a group of UE. A UE detect the DCI includes DMRS/CDM and demodulates. The DMRS consists of scramble sequence [0246]);
And discloses, ‘and decode the at least one sequence to obtain data for the apparatus.’ (Decode UE-specific PDCCH based on the control information included in the GC-DCI in Fig. 22. And receive downlink data to group of UE includes specific-UE 2205. MU-MIMO downlink data channel configuration to specific-UE [0022]. The decode to obtain the data sent to the specific-UE [0108].)
Regarding Claim 2,
‘The apparatus of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein each sequence of the plurality of sequences is based on a respective bit pattern corresponding to data carried in the GC-DCI.’ (MU-MIMO downlink data channel configuration includes the targe UE [0022]. The configuration included in UE-specific DCI also bit [0219]. The DCI configuration includes CDM group indicated by coded words used by the ports and indicated by a bit information [0256, 0258].)
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The apparatus of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein: the superimposed signal is a linear combination of the plurality of sequences’ (The UE decode with the linear receiver to obtain the data sent to the specific-UE from the BS [0108] );
And discloses, ‘and each sequence is weighted by a respective precoder coefficient corresponding to a user equipment (UE) group associated with the sequence.’ (the MU-MIMO transmission to specific-UE and received from the BS includes channel to the specific-UE and precoding vector [0106-0107]. )
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The apparatus of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein: the first set of sequences is common to a plurality of user equipment (UE) groups comprising a first UE group that includes the apparatus’ (scrambling sequence for MU-MIMO [0246]. Perform MU-MIMO transmission and GC-DCI in Fig. 7 and GC-PDCCH and includes group common identifier (MU-PDCCH-RNTI [0327]) disclosure Claim 1.
CAO discloses, ‘and the at least one sequence is scrambled by a scrambling code common to the first UE group.’ (GC-PDCCH to MU-MIMO of UE-specific PDCCH includes scrambling ID [0291]. And, the scrambling sequence to the MU-MIMO [0307].)
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The apparatus of claim 4’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘ wherein the first UE group consists of the apparatus.’ (Fig. 19 includes the device/transceiver.)
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The apparatus of claim 4’ (disclosed above),
CAO discloses, ‘wherein the first UE group comprises a plurality of UEs.’ (group-common-identifier includes MU-PDCCH [0327].)
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The apparatus of claim 6’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein the at least one sequence comprises a first sequence based on the data for the apparatus and data for a second UE.’ (MU-MIMO of the data channel include in UE-specific [0282-0283]. In Fig. 33 illustrates GC-PDCCH and UE-specific PDCCH.)
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The apparatus of claim 4’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive signaling indicating that the apparatus belongs to the first UE group’ (group-common-identifier and UE-specific-identifier form the BS [0341] and in disclosure Claim 1 and Claim 2);
And discloses, ‘and receive a configuration of the scrambling code.’ (GC-PDCCH to MU-MIMO of UE-specific PDCCH includes scrambling ID [0291]. And, the scrambling sequence to the MU-MIMO [0307].)
Regarding Claim 9,
‘The apparatus of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein: the plurality of sequences are associated with a plurality of user equipment (UE) groups comprising a first UE group that includes the apparatus’ (disclosure scramble module configured to group-common-identifier (MU-PDCCH) to generate GC-PDCCH and to obtain scrambles from the GC-PDCCH [0327-0328].);
And discloses, ‘and the first set of sequences is uniquely associated with first UE group.’ (In Fig. 25 and Fig. 26 [0304, 0306]. Scrambled bit by RNTI to specify/set to objects of DCI. Identifier to specific to a group. The UE descrambles the bit added to the DCI and determined the DCI is for the UE [0303].)
Regarding Claim 10,
‘The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a configuration of the first set of sequences.’ (In Fig. 21 includes DCI and configuration of DMRS consists of a scrambling sequence [0246].)
Regarding Claim 12,
‘The apparatus of claim 10’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of other sets of sequences associated with other UE groups in the plurality of UE groups.’ (A wireless device configured to decode a group-common physical downlink control channel for group of UE comprises a target UE related to MIMO transmission control channel; decode UE-specific PDCCH target user and other UE in the group-UEs are superposed on same transmission resource to be transmitted, disclosure Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 13,
‘The apparatus of claim 9’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein: the apparatus is associated with the first UE group based on one or more characteristics of a channel between the apparatus and a network entity.’ (MU-MIMO received by specific-UE and channel [0106-0107]. MU-MIMO tx between the UE-BS includes send/receive CSI illustrated in Fig. 14 and 21. Includes MU-CQI in Fig. 14.)
Regarding Claim 14,
‘The apparatus of claim 9’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive signaling indicating that the apparatus belongs to the first UE group.’ (In Fig. 21 receives signaling indication.)
Regarding Claim 15,
‘The apparatus of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein a number of sequences included in the first set of sequences is based on a number of bits represented by one sequence of the first set of sequences.’ (DCI in MU-MIMO includes port index and a scramble ID and sequence applied to multiple-UE [0100, 0291].
Scrambled bit by RNTI to specify/set to objects of DCI. Identifier to specific to a group. The UE descrambles the bit added to the DCI and determined the DCI is for the UE [0303].)
Regarding Claim 17,
‘The apparatus of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive an indication of the set of time frequency resources scheduled for the superimposed signal.’ (Disclosure claim 1 and Fig. 21.)
Regarding Claim 19,
Similar to Claim 1 disclosed above ‘An apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to:
generate a superimposed signal comprising a combination of a plurality of sequences associated with a plurality of user equipment (UE) groups, wherein each sequence of the plurality of sequences is based on a respective bit pattern corresponding to data for a respective UE group associated with the sequence; and
send the superimposed signal over a set of time frequency resources, the superimposed signal corresponding to a group common downlink control information (GC-DCI).’ (In Fig. 7, 21 and 22 and received generated signal [0120]).
Regarding Claim 20,
Similar to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A method for wireless communications by an apparatus comprising:
receiving a superimposed signal over a set of time frequency resources, the superimposed signal corresponding to a group common downlink control information (GC-DCI), the superimposed signal comprising a combination of a plurality of sequences;
detecting, among the plurality of sequences, at least one sequence of a first set of sequences associated with the apparatus; and
decoding the at least one sequence to obtain data for the apparatus.’
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claims 11, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO et al. in view of JANG et al. (US-20220209904-A1) hereinafter “JANG”.
Regarding Claim 11,
‘The apparatus of claim 10’ (disclosed above),
And didn’t discloses, ‘wherein the configuration of the first set of sequences comprises a sequence hopping pattern.’
JANG in the relevant art discloses, DCI transmitted by PDCCH identified by the UE uses scramble sequence includes DCI identifier and hopping [0104, 0107-0108].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of CAO and to include
with that of JANG to come up with the claim invention,
CAO motive to perform MU-MIMO transmission uses allocation scheme for DMRS-configuration includes layer and sequence for MU-MIMO [0142, 0145, 0146-0147]. Includes scramble identifier [0100]. In Fig. 21, 22 and 33 illustrates MU-MIMO transmission includes GC-DCI and DMRS configuration that includes scrambling sequence [0246]. JANG includes signaling for group common DCI [0348] and PDCCH DCI includes, identifier DCI and hopping [0106] table 4 and table 5 [0107]. This would reduce delay and optimize system performance [0372].
Regarding Claim 16,
‘The apparatus of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And didn’t disclose, ‘wherein to detect the at least one sequence, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to perform non-coherent detection to detect the at least one sequence.’
JANG in the relevant art discloses, NC-JT applied and received by the UE DCI for NC-JT configured based on multi-PDCCH. NC-JT supporting non-coherent precoding between cells, TRPs and/or beams. And, TCI indication to the channel characteristics for each link between each cell TRP and/or beam and the UE [0303]. The UE supporting NC-JT receiving configuration [0327]. A UE can use cooperative communication applied formats specific indicator are scrambled. Reception by the UE to which cooperative communication is applied condition NC-JT [0341].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of CAO and to include
with that of JANG to come up with the claim invention,
CAO motive to reduce the delay of detecting PDCCH and optimize the system performance [0372]. Perform MU-MIMO transmission includes group common PDCCH uses DCI and UE-specific DCI in Fig. 22 and Fig. 33. Uses common search space [0280]. MU-MIMO transmission carried GC-PDCCH [0281]. JANG complements motive to perform NC-JT based on PDCCH [0327, 0341] and perform cell search and monitoring uses PDCCH [0118]. And, NC-JT to improve the throughput [0309].
Regarding Claim 18,
‘The apparatus of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
CAO discloses, ‘wherein the data comprises at least one of:
a hybrid automatic repeat request indication for uplink communications’ ( UE-specific PDCCH uses specific transmission control includes hybrid automatic repeat request [0293]);
And didn’t disclose,
‘a transmit power control indication for the uplink communications;
a timing advance command;
a preemption indication;
a wakeup signal;
a paging indication; or
a discontinuous reception indication.’ (JANG discloses DCI includes TPC scrambled UE-specific [0105]. And, table 5 and table 6 [0108-0109, 0122]. Motive would be identical disclosed in Claim 11 and Claim 16.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Liu et al (US20240031103A1) “Methods and Apparatus for SRS Transmission and Signaling”; non-coherent [0135-0136] and detect the DCI to decode the DCI [0166, 0229].
SungKwon Hong et al. (US20190393987A1), “Advanced polar codes for control channel”, Multiple DCIs configured and scheme provide to multiple DCIs. Scheme based multiple DCIs. Signaling may be WTRU-specific or group specific (e.g., common for a group of WTRUs or UEs) [0173]. And, a First DCI is masked at least part of WTRI ID or group ID, disclosure Claim 32. Includes scheme based group-specific signaling [0173]. Scheduled WTRUs of multiple groups includes identifier. A DCI group may be indicated binary-bit-map or sequence. A WTRU monitor group-based DCI [0153]. Relevant disclosures in Fig. 3, 4, 11 and 19.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #90, R1-1712976, Prague, Czech Republic, 21st – 25th August 2017, On transmission of pre-emption indicator using Group Common DCI (Year: 2017).
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #82, R1-153949, Beijing, P.R. China, August 24th – 28th, 2015, Initial system-level simulation results on DL superposition transmission (Year: 2015).
J. Jiao, J. Zhou, S. Wu and Q. Zhang, "Superimposed Pilot Code-Domain NOMA Scheme for Satellite-Based Internet of Things," in IEEE Systems Journal, vol. 15, no. 2, pp. 2732-2743, June 2021,
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466